• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
There is actually a very nice chicken rice/char siew rice place near the Crystal Pearl cafe. Its opposite the Crystal Pearl/Maid cafe and in the same row as some florist, mechanic and the Cheriehearts preschool.

The chicken rice and especially the char siew really reminds me of when i was young. Also reminded me of the time (almost forgot but my sister reminded me) we went for my grandfathers funeral, my learned relatives (a special branch) bought chicken rice with drumsticks for their family but bought the smallest charsiew portion for us and everyone else.

This was out of the "white gold" money they took out of the pot and supposed to be shared with all. Supposedly from a family full of learned people who have all attended university education in SG and even a couple of presidents scholars.

I wonder what goes on in their minds when they do what they did, i didn't even believe my sister back then, arguing they won't do that, we are all relatives. I even thought it was because the place was out of chicken. Silly me even went over to check.

I left disappointed. My respect for these people evaporated ever since then. Got money and education so = bully people? I will have non of that. I don't need my son to be rich or no. 1 but i would want him to be a good and decent person who treats others with respect.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wondering what is happening, first maid body in water tanks, then now half a body in the reservoir? A couple of years back, remembered the reservoir at Khatib area always had some regular suicides now and then but half a body, i think everything is out in the water.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Traumatizing period back then, one of the sisters even bullied me and complained to my dad when she found i wasn't responding to her questions. How could i? My dad's dad just passed away and i just got conscripted into the army, not in any frame of mind to answer any questions.

Few years later, saw me at a shopping centre that is outside my home in SG. Despite her living far away, have the cheek to ask me, what are you doing here, why are you here? As if i cannot visit a public place, always get this type of people in Singapore. I just smiled and asked why are you asking me? Then made another polite greeting to her husband and just walked off.

By the way, i never took revenge on them and never will. The one who said my dad covets her roasted duck? We treated her to a 6 course meal at a restaurant consisting of nothing but duck. The ones that always bullied my mother and also shortchanged us? We got them catered buffet with Yu sheng, one Chinese New Year. Just want to "yi de bao yuan" and don't want to carry on the feud. I was glad though, my good and kind relatives got to eat as well.

Wanted to show a good example to my sisters and that we don't have to stoop to that level though we are not as rich or as "educated".

Despite having family and relatives like that and a "normal" background without any special education/treatment, i am on my way to making it. If a useless fellow such as one like me can do it, please don't give yourself any excuses that you can't. Successful people succeed "in spite of", people who fail are full of excuses. They simply gave themselves too many excuses for not succeeding.

There really is no special formula unless your dad is some minister or major businessman.

jasonjst

May I know where can I get some solar powered pillar lights? Those they sell online seems very expensive to be put outside. Someone might just dig it out. I hope don't sound paranoid. :biggrin:

Saw them selling at Ikea for abt s$25/= . Can save elec bill meh ? That thing look very crapy , still got no confident in those solar lights , haha !

For me I use a very low power 5W bulb , control via a timer , alway will on at 7.30pm off at 7am . Should be cheaper but need a bit of wiring work though.

euphony

dear forumers. If I may point you to another forum that is abuzz with updates on new developments that may be sprouting up in and around JB in the future to come (lazee to copy and paste over) plus a scenic photographic capture of the new bridge to desaru. =)

Yalor, 2 yrs minimum means anything less I will need to forfeit the rest. Which means times by 4 for me. I'd rather fill up the white cards instead. :wink:

Yeah I also not renewing my Macs after expiry end this year, see no point to waste my passport period. Also got to spend few hours of parking at City Square and lots of walking to reach the CIQ counter to apply, although the actual time taken was about half an hour. Might as well spend one hour to write 52 cards (max trips) and save the car park and Rm30.

Uninterruptible power supply? Its basically a large battery so you can continue having power even if there is a trip or blackout.
I have taken out some of my UPS units to the shop, there were times when we have power trip and i didn't realise as the fans
kept spinning and the TV/Astro kept going on. Only realised it when i tried to turn on the porch lights.

Hi Wuqi, is one unit of Ups needed for each appliance? Example air con and fridge will need two units of Ups? Thanks.

jasonjst

Hi Wuqi, is one unit of Ups needed for each appliance? Example air con and fridge will need two units of Ups? Thanks.

Cannot lah UPS to run air - con ? I think you need generators lor ! UPS most likely is for basic lighting and computers , right ?

mallow

Yeah I also not renewing my Macs after expiry end this year, see no point to waste my passport period. Also got to spend few hours of parking at City Square and lots of walking to reach the CIQ counter to apply, although the actual time taken was about half an hour. Might as well spend one hour to write 52 cards (max trips) and save the car park and Rm30.

Have a friend who is from NZ. In the days before MACS, he measured carefully and did a "template" of the immigration card and printed out in thick black ink all the answers for the immigration card and kept a stack in the car, which he then just needed to sign and date. It was not difficult to do and we too did that for quite a while too. Give it a try?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Fridge and aircon you will need a genset like what bro Jason has replied.
You might get away with a large UPS unit for a small fridge but airconditioning
normally not unless you get the 13amp type of air con units like that of the portable brand, Splendid. This type of aircon does save electricity though somewhat noisy.

Gensets are also noisy, i was exploring having some type of wind/solar power over here so i can take myself or reduce the burden on the grid. Then again, everytime i suggest this, my boss at home will shoot it down, saying i will waste more money than i save given that these technology are still expensive and utilities here are reasonable.

So i basically have UPS units for:

Critical desk/stand fans
Tv and Astro
Critical Printers
Critical fax machine
Critical lights
Internet modem/wifi backed up by Celcom broadband - That way, i can fall back to using laptop and remain working for at least 8 hours even after a power outage with the Celcom broadband plugged in.
2nd floor DC powered water pump, can still bathe :smile:

There were about a total of 8 power outages in my 2 plus years here, none really bothered me. Sometimes, my wife had to come and tell me, else the beeps from the UPS units would remind me.

Stairs, i use those self powering on types from Philips that would just power on when they sense movement, good for emergencies or times when i don't need to switch on the lights.

P

polyman

hi guys...this is my situation..

my HDB flat is fully paid up...its value is around S$0.5mil. i have close to S$1mil in cash savings...My wife and I have around S$0.5mil in CPF savings (OA and SA)...so technically our assets is close to S$2m...i am 40 years old this year. our only liability is the 40K loan on our 3 year old car.

I am not boasting about what i have as I know there are loads of people out there who are doing much better than me...having said this, I would like to believe that i am doing relatively ok for my age given that i started with $0 to my name fresh from Uni 15 years ago. my wife and i lived frugally and we started with a 3rm HDB flat and moved up from there. I owned a condo before and have since sold it.

As i posted earlier, I was very tempted to commit to a JB house more than 10 years ago and is in fact still tempted today. even to a person like myself, i find it unthinkable to be able to retire comfortably in Sing given the way things are today - the unending rise in price of almost everythin. I held the thought 10 years ago and even more so today with 3 kids in tow. however what makes me stop each time is the simple notion of "value". No matter how expensive Sing houses are, there is an intrinsic premium that is associated with it. in other words, there must be a reason why even the shabbiest of 3 room HDB flat in Sing is worth more than the average terrace or semi-d in JB.

so instead of buying a JB house with the little money i have 10 years ago, i bite the bullet and bought a cheap condo in Sing...as it turned out, i made a better decision then.

However that was then, looking at the way things have panned out in JB, it seems that the tides have changed and now i think its the right time to get my dream house in JB.

or is it? :confused:

Still looking... :biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Have a friend who is from NZ. In the days before MACS, he measured carefully and did a "template" of the immigration card and printed out in thick black ink all the answers for the immigration card and kept a stack in the car, which he then just needed to sign and date. It was not difficult to do and we too did that for quite a while too. Give it a try?

You have a very smart friend, i actually wanted to do that too so that just the signature, address and dates will need to be changed until i did the MACS thing at Danga bay.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Cannot lah UPS to run air - con ? I think you need generators lor ! UPS most likely is for basic lighting and computers , right ?

Hi bro jasonjst, thanks for sharing, yes most are not meant for high loads, those that will support will be very large industrial ones and mostly are backed up by a genset anyway as it doesn't make sense. UPS units are quite handy for lighting/autogate/fans/tv/radio.

Still remembered the techs voice and the collecting guys face from a reputable UPS company when i called to service my UPS. Which company are you calling from? I was asked, i said, i am a homeuser.
Ok sir, what is wrong with your unit, oh i have about 9 units down. Long pause.......Sir, you mean 9 or 5? 9? Are you really sure, can i have the serial number, we will also need the receipt.

After giving her all 9 serial numbers(took quite a while to find receipts), ok sir, we will be giving you a call when we reach your company. Quite a good company, changed out and got all 9 back within a week. Not sure what happened as i had a large surge at home (SG) as the following 2 weeks, had another 3 broke down(not from the batch of 9) Same thing that followed and have to explain over and over again that i am not from a company, no these are not stolen goods and yes i have receipts, etc.

jasonjst

Fridge and aircon you will need a genset like what bro Jason has replied.
You might get away with a large UPS unit for a small fridge but airconditioning
normally not unless you get the 13amp type of air con units like that of the portable brand, Splendid. This type of aircon does save electricity though somewhat noisy.

Gensets are also noisy, i was exploring having some type of wind/solar power over here so i can take myself or reduce the burden on the grid. Then again, everytime i suggest this, my boss at home will shoot it down, saying i will waste more money than i save given that these technology are still expensive and utilities here are reasonable.

So i basically have UPS units for:

Critical desk/stand fans
Tv and Astro
Critical Printers
Critical fax machine
Critical lights
Internet modem/wifi backed up by Celcom broadband - That way, i can fall back to using laptop and remain working for at least 8 hours even after a power outage with the Celcom broadband plugged in.
2nd floor DC powered water pump, can still bathe :smile:

There were about a total of 8 power outages in my 2 plus years here, none really bothered me. Sometimes, my wife had to come and tell me, else the beeps from the UPS units would remind me.

Stairs, i use those self powering on types from Philips that would just power on when they sense movement, good for emergencies or times when i don't need to switch on the lights.

Hmm ... u really spent quite a lot of $$ on UPS . For me only invested an emergency light for S$50/=. Encounter only once power down for 6hrs! Really very stuffy, you can never sleep in those conditions. Best solution is drive the whole family for Kopi at 24hrs McDonald nearby, which was what I did lor . For HH resident can go to the McDonald at Indah Circle, you buy one coffee and some snacks, drink for hours ha-ha! Best for family time too.

BTW this week we suppose to talk about places of interest.
So far for the last 2yrs, things are really very routine for me and family. (Weekend home for me) Usually upon arrival at our beloved JB home after 10pm normally. Everybody get change, watch TV, coffee and snacks until very late at night. On the air -con and sleep until very late next day, ha-ha only chance to sleep peacefully with air con. (Back in SG air con only allow in extreme hot days). Usually will go out looking for some nice and cheaper makan, shopping. Back at home, I will do my gardening, wifely busy house cleaning, kid cant be bother with anything but computers and TVs! KNN, these simple things can keep us occupied for 2 yrs! Now that the garden and cleaning, packing is more or less stable, look like got time for some outing liao.
Bros, any good ideas?
For the start, next weekend I am going to buy a few Kites, bring the whole family to the open ground near Indah Circle to test my kites flying skill. Have watch everyone doing it for pass 2 yrs, just got no time for that.

BTW, yesterday my estate got a SG young couples rented a house for 3.5K from my MY neighbors’. Seem that these people are testing water before taking a plunge leh . Last time, only senior citizen will buy for retirement leh! New twist, really?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi Jasonjst, definitely seeing more and more young couples who have looked beyond the lies or realised that the new direction from our government is actually pointing west eventually.

Yes, with the MacDonalds, thats what i did as well but i go to the other restaurants such as Station One as they have free power points for use.
There are actually emergency lights that one can buy for about 29 RM from Tesco and also lights with fans from Giant/Jusco. Prices went up for these
though as they are now about 69-79 RM each. Works well when you need an emergency fan and light that lasts for hours. :smile:

abugumgum

For me who travel in by bus, the filling in of white cards is just part of the reason to apply for Macs (a small part).
The main reason is the faster clearing of Macs holders by Customs.

Tourists (in groups) will not apply for Macs and we are bound to bump into them during our trips. It will be a long queue.

euphony

BTW this week we suppose to talk about places of interest.
So far for the last 2yrs, things are really very routine for me and family. (Weekend home for me) Usually upon arrival at our beloved JB home after 10pm normally. Everybody get change, watch TV, coffee and snacks until very late at night. On the air -con and sleep until very late next day, ha-ha only chance to sleep peacefully with air con. (Back in SG air con only allow in extreme hot days). Usually will go out looking for some nice and cheaper makan, shopping. Back at home, I will do my gardening, wifely busy house cleaning, kid cant be bother with anything but computers and TVs! KNN, these simple things can keep us occupied for 2 yrs! Now that the garden and cleaning, packing is more or less stable, look like got time for some outing liao.
Bros, any good ideas?
For the start, next weekend I am going to buy a few Kites, bring the whole family to the open ground near Indah Circle to test my kites flying skill. Have watch everyone doing it for pass 2 yrs, just got no time for that.

BTW, yesterday my estate got a SG young couples rented a house for 3.5K from my MY neighbors’. Seem that these people are testing water before taking a plunge leh . Last time, only senior citizen will buy for retirement leh! New twist, really?

danga bay, JSNAC tour, malls, crocodile/ostrich farm desaru, food places, pasir gudang kite festival, show room viewing (haha), persada johor, roadtrips up north etc...

=) i think its a sign of the turning tide especially when 2012 comes a knockin.

euphony

or is it? :confused:

Still looking... :biggrin:

wow i envy your financial standing building up assets in relatively short period of time with 3 kids, salute! being cautious is prudent and a necessity especially for a big ticket item even more so in JB but too cautious and you'll never find a good time to enter. think you mentioned some time back you have seen some developments? I guess a good start is to narrow down the one you really like and perhaps like jason mentioned do a short term rental and see for yourself and family if this arrangement fits like trying on shoes in a shoe boutique buy if it fits and you like otherwise can always go back to what you already have.

euphony

I attach the following story posted on the onlinecitizen for some mulling over...

Miss Lee (not her real name) is a 37-year-old Permanent Resident (Malaysian citizen), with four young children. Her husband is a 39-year-old Singaporean businessman and they have been married for about ten years. He abandoned her and the children, after leaving for China to do business. Taking with him their entire life savings of more than $100,000. He also sold their HDB flat.

No Birth Certificate for the Fourth Child

When she gave birth to her fourth child, a boy who is seven months old, the authorities refused to grant him a birth certificate, citing the unknown whereabouts of her husband as a reason. She went to see her Member of Parliament (MP) twice regarding her predicament, and the MP wrote twice to the authorities, but nothing came out of it.

She then went to another MP (her identity card had the address of the HDB flat which her husband had sold) and this MP referred her to a lawyer from his grassroots. The lawyer acted pro-bono for her and wrote to the authorities on her behalf.

Three Citizens and One Non-Citizen

After about seven months (following the child’s birth), of filing reports to the Police and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) with regards to her husband missing in China, she finally got a “non-citizen” birth certificate. According to MFA, the address in China that was given by her husband was fake and he never stayed there.

As Miss Lee is in a homeless shelter, she arranged for her four children to stay with her retired mother in Penang, Malaysia on a temporary basis.

I asked her what her greatest concern was, and she said, “I cannot understand why after having three children as Singaporeans, my fourth child was denied citizenship? At the interview, they asked me how do I know that my latest child is my husband’s, since he is missing? I felt so insulted and humiliated.”

Searching for a Job, a Special Needs Child, and Undefined Marital Status

Miss Lee has a degree from a Malaysian university but has only worked for a year in the last decade, as she was helping her husband in his business. I asked her what her plans were and she said, “I am trying very hard to get a job, so that I can earn enough to take care of my children. One of my children has to be in a special school due to his behavioral problems. I am very grateful to the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), for referring me to this homeless shelter, and also the very kind volunteer at my MP’s Meet-the-People (MPS) session, who brought me to MCYS”.

I asked her if she plans to remarry and she said “Maybe, but I have gone to the Legal Aid Bureau, and was told that since my husband is missing, I will have to wait four years, before I can be divorced, legally; but who will marry a ‘married’ woman with four kids?”

Status
Not open for further replies.