• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

Re: A philosophical perspective

anything bought 2 years back already got profit right?

urs 3 years back ah? Wah.... must be now valued at close to 800k upwards right based on where you bought it?

Setia is about 1 mil.... So if ur at HH could be about the same/higher?

So did you not feel that you should have bought your dream home @ 250K 10yrs back , and you could have profited rm500K and free stay for the last 10 years ? As for me , bought my Casina custer home for 400K , 3yrs back and I am still grad that I did it .

lastresort

Was at Horizon Residence sales office today. Very impressive design and was told there will be Gurkha guards. Prices pretty reasonable but limited units left to choose. Feel so tempted. Should I or should I not? Any advice?

Hi Malapore, I wouldn't recommend Horizon Residence for many reasons. My family booked a couple of large units on a few of the highest floors in Dec. Paid the first 10 percent down payment. From Dec until now, the prices have increased by at least 20.5% for our units. But we chose to cancel our units and demand refund. I wouldn't go into the details as yet because we have not gotten our full refund (still chasing them every week).

But I need you to know they started selling this project since late last year even though they say they had a soft launch in Jan and an official launch in March, the contruction site is still pretty much the same since Jan, the progress is very slow.

Even though I bought at a discount, the price is still much higher than the price we paid for a much bigger unit at Fairway Suites which is within Horizon Hills (difference of more than 150 psf). Of course the gap has narrowed recently and more so in future as HH will price the condo higher knowing there is great demand outside. Horizon Residence's selling point is that they have very good view of the golf course at Horizon Hills. Location wise, it definitely cannot be compared to Sky Loft or Fairway Suites. Location is always more important than the design. An old condo at beach road/sixth avenue can win any suburban new condo handsdown anytime. :biggrin:

Also bear in mind, they claimed that there will be a new road leading to the main road used by NI residence, but I have also seen a notice written in Malay warning the contractor not to touch or use the road during construction as it is UEM property. I have asked NI sales exec, they say it is not confirmed whether or not the road will be linked as it has not being approved (UEM-gov linked). If not, the future residents will have a hard time taking a long route, passing by all the empty shop houses to reach the main road.

Also, don't quote me, but I heard they were involved in a lawsuit with another developer, I will not say who and what.

Yes, it is cheap compared to SG prices, but definitely expensive compared to MY prices. So is it still reasonable?

I do hope you consider carefully! If you want to know more, talk to the locals.

hangyong

Since you clock such high mileage, you should consider getting a Toyota Prius Hybrid 1.8 S(A) which can travel 30.4km/litre of petrol. Say if your present car can only travel 10km/litre and you are paying about SGD900/month on petrol. Your expenses on petrol will become SGD300/month. You can see it in sgcarmart http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_listing.php?BRSR=15&MOD=Toyota

I am using the Civic Hybrid 1.3 and the mileage is about 18-19km/L while the manufacturer claimed 21.5km/L.
However, in Malaysia, as I constantly need to drive faster (using the highway most of the time in MY), it gets about 15-16km/L.

on the Prius, although its a 1.5L, the mileage is hitting about the same in Singapore, and slightly better for MY as the 1.5L engine is slightly better to handle the 110km/h speed than a 1.3L.

Both car mileage above are measured with 3 adults and 2 children on board, over about 1 month (for MY part) and a much longer period for the SG part.

I doubt the 1.8L will perform better leh. But I could be wrong lah... just stating my experience with the above 2 cars

Analytical Professor

Despite my wife being 100% pure Singaporean i have luckily no problems with her. (Touch wood touch wood).... She has done a lot for me.......

Having said that i have seen so many Singaporean women doing exactly what our dear Bro Wuqi says:

1) Order their husbands around
2) Worst of the times.... queue up for HK at MAcs East Coast years ago... Remember that?
3) Woo them like no tomorrow?
4) Treat them like demigoddesses.... Need a nice and spankingly beautiful kitchen... But will never cook.... this one takes the cake eh??
5) I have seen wifes berating husbands in front of their workplace colleagues. Do you think this husband got any face when he meets the wifes colleagues next time?

Eh feminists.... Dun whack me ah.... I just said what i saw and u r free to say what you saw...

Actually MY girls are in some ways better than our girls. On the whole, less materialistic and always ready to stand by her man. Gives him face too from the examples that i have seen rather than our girls who are very keen to put down their bfs or husbands anytime they get. One of my neighbours regularly kenna, feel bad for him but cannot say much as they are much older than us

Analytical Professor

Aiyo now Malaysia girl also cannot.... PRC sure cannot.... Vietnamese beginning to create problems too

So where do Spore men turn to?

Philippines (Ang mohs love them) / Cambodian / Myanmarese / Laos / Tribals ??

A meek kitty cat also has the potential to turn into a tigeress. So those Singaporean man out there, know your status and know what you are getting in too. Don't be blinded by the love of wanting a submissive companion. Thats most important.

Happy mate hunting! :biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok thanks Cathylmg, AP and HH, i am glad mine is ok compared to your examples. Compared to my neighbours, i am lucky but issue is sometimes you love them more than they love you. You may treat them like you did your rifle but to them, you might just be a milk churning cash cow.

This is my rifle there are many like it but this one is mine

tansi

So sorry to hear that. Sending my condolence here. :(

My condolence.
Years ago I had a close encounter of similar sort in downtown SG. My car was parked in front of a grocery shop where 5 to 6 women were chatting noisily in the shop. As I started the car engine and just about to move off, someone shouted me to STOP and then he rushed to my car, bent down and PULLED out a toddler from underneath my car! The woman who was looking after the toddler got too absorbed in conversation and the toddler crawled out of the shop, across the 5-foot way, on to the street and got under my parked car. Luckily those days air-con car was rare, else i could have not hear the shouting and would move off my car.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
The greatest compliment a wife can give one:

When i first met you, i never knew you were so smart and capable.
When i first met you, i never expected i will be so happy.

The greatest compliment a massage lady can give one
(contributed by a learned friend)

Why is it so large?
Did any of your ancestor married caucasian?

(Talking about eyes lah)

Analytical Professor

HH has been well researched already.

Quite a good proposition.

U can buy there with eyes closed.

Many forummers bought already.

Just check the unit ur buyin.

Make sure u like it n then dive in.

Cheers

Was at Horizon Residence sales office today. Very impressive design and was told there will be Gurkha guards. Prices pretty reasonable but limited units left to choose. Feel so tempted. Should I or should I not? Any advice?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thats why what Zhang Wuji's mum told him (when she was dying was right), the prettier the lady, the more unreliable her words are.

cathylmg

Aiyo now Malaysia girl also cannot.... PRC sure cannot.... Vietnamese beginning to create problems too

So where do Spore men turn to?

Philippines (Ang mohs love them) / Cambodian / Myanmarese / Laos / Tribals ??

Aiyah...its about whos calling the shots. If you have a higher status, earns more money than her and her families, sure got face wherever you go one....no doubt about it.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Thanks for the vote of confidence bro AP.

Yes Hangyong, definitely not, in fact, as they cannot build a road connecting to Horizon Residence (again, not Horizon Hills) from the UEM/Nusa Idaman side, their perceived value has dropped quite a bit.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Aiyah...its about whos calling the shots. If you have a higher status, earns more money than her and her families, sure got face wherever you go one....no doubt about it.

This is partially true, some will still ride roughshod over you. Either they won't bother greeting you or even acknowledging your presence or they just turn away. This is despite your giving their family a monthly allowance and sponsoring exam fees for a few of them. It doesn't even affect them that you had to fix their kitchen, change sofa to the rosewood type and add in new kitchen cabinets. Worse is you give them another 29" tv(years back), they expect a plasma/lcd one.

euphony

Why the tread so fast moving?! haha

AP: Horizon residence is different from fairway suites the latter pushed by HH the earlie is not. Think a lot of people mistaken.

Skippy: not in HH nor EL so cannot initiate but will contribute dish when it becomes a reality.

about the MY SG wives etc. I say 'buyers' beware. cannot sweeping statements la. HKers anyone? haha

As for the 2 girls, I do sympathize what they have gone through though I think this is a precise opportunity for naysayers to come in and gash their teeth in disapproval. Firstly why so 'early' in night to enter and second what kind of 'supper' were they looking for? So many 24 hour supper places in SG which can reach within minutes they dunwan. There is a chinese saying roughly translated as ownself looking for trouble.

Status
Not open for further replies.