• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Investor

one of the girls name sounds like a mainland China girl to me.
my guess is that they were probably china pros would tried to smuggle themselves into Malaysia at that wee hours thinking security would be lax (probaly social visa in singapore expired )

Lim Lili and Zhan Tingting (not their real names) drove across the Causeway for supper at about 1:30am.

P

polyman

A philosophical perspective

Hi all. I have been looking at JB houses since more than 10 years ago when i was in my late 20s. I used to drive into Johor very often during my off days. Back then Bukit Indah was still developing and the showhouses there were both big and beautiful, not to mention cheap. Like what i always say to my wife "See already saliva all come out!" Prices were around RM250K then. The plan then was to buy a holiday home with a view to retire when old. At least that was the plan then. After reading some posts in this forum, it seems that this have changed - at least for some people. Nowadays, it is more to live there and commute everyday to Sing.

Wow.

I convinced myself then that I will not be able to afford a landed house in Sing. The only way to make a landed dream come true is in JB. This is of course true till today. :biggrin:

The JB house bug never go off and till today, I am still admiring JB houses. :biggrin: However what makes me hesitate to commit is not so much the crime news, not so much the whimisical and fanciful policies changes (the recent finger printing being a prime example) which the M'sian govt is famous for but more because I realise that a house/family is more than just the 4 walls. It is not so much how beautiful or big a house is...it is more of what is contained within.

You see, I reckon that a big and beautiful landed home will not make my wife and kids happy forever. True, they will be mesmerised in the beginning but the magic will soon wear off when you start to realise you have a another home to upkeep - reno, maintenance, fees, furnitures, etc....a large undertaking if you want to keep the magic going. Do i have the time and energy? not to mention about the $.

At least for me, the analogy its like buying toys for kids...after couple of days, they are no longer interested in that toy and are looking for something else...and yet many of us never realise true happiness cannot be bought and we still go out to buy the next toy for our kids..

Looking at the abandoned houses in some of the older parts of Bukit Indah serves as a reminder that it is not easy to always keep this magic going.

For those who have committed and who are living in JB, I read your posts with admiration and even envy, at least you have more balls than me. :biggrin:

toyohon

KUALA LUMPUR: RON95 petrol and NGV fuel will be banned from being sold to foreign registered vehicles from tomorrow, the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism announced today.
RON95 petrol would however be allowed to be sold to foreign registered motorcycles as an exception.

Following the move, the requirement to produce Mykad by Malaysians using foreign registered vehicles for purchasing RON95 petrol at all petrol stations throughout the country had been withdrawn, the ministry said in a statement here today.

On August 1 last year, a directive to ban sales of RON95 petrol to foreign registered vehicles nationwide was imposed with the exception given to Malaysians who could produce the Mykad for verification.

The ministry in the statement clarified that the government had received feedback of leakages due to abuse of of the Mykad for purchasing RON95 petrol.

According to the ministry, petrol station operators at border areas had also complained of difficulties in controlling and ensuring the directive on the petrol ban was fully complied with.

"On this issue, the government is of the view that the ban on all foreign registered vehicles from buying RON95 petrol and the withdrawal of the condition that allowed purchase of RON95 petrol on producing the Mykad throughout the country with the exception of motorcycles, is reasonable," the ministry said.

The ministry clarified that the ban also covered NGV fuel following the discovery that 311,000 litres of NGV fuel were sold to foreign registered vehicles each year.

" At the rate of the current subsidy, the NGV fuel subsidy enjoyed by foreigners amounted to RM360,000 each year," the statement added. -- BERNAMA

toyohon

Ron95 petrol, NGV off limits to foreign registered vehicles from tomorrow
KUALA LUMPUR: RON95 petrol and NGV fuel will be banned from being sold to foreign registered vehicles from tomorrow, the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism announced today.
RON95 petrol would however be allowed to be sold to foreign registered motorcycles as an exception.

Following the move, the requirement to produce Mykad by Malaysians using foreign registered vehicles for purchasing RON95 petrol at all petrol stations throughout the country had been withdrawn, the ministry said in a statement here today.

On August 1 last year, a directive to ban sales of RON95 petrol to foreign registered vehicles nationwide was imposed with the exception given to Malaysians who could produce the Mykad for verification.

The ministry in the statement clarified that the government had received feedback of leakages due to abuse of of the Mykad for purchasing RON95 petrol.

According to the ministry, petrol station operators at border areas had also complained of difficulties in controlling and ensuring the directive on the petrol ban was fully complied with.

"On this issue, the government is of the view that the ban on all foreign registered vehicles from buying RON95 petrol and the withdrawal of the condition that allowed purchase of RON95 petrol on producing the Mykad throughout the country with the exception of motorcycles, is reasonable," the ministry said.

The ministry clarified that the ban also covered NGV fuel following the discovery that 311,000 litres of NGV fuel were sold to foreign registered vehicles each year.

" At the rate of the current subsidy, the NGV fuel subsidy enjoyed by foreigners amounted to RM360,000 each year," the statement added. -- BERNAMA

Malapore

Was at Horizon Residence sales office today. Very impressive design and was told there will be Gurkha guards. Prices pretty reasonable but limited units left to choose. Feel so tempted. Should I or should I not? Any advice?

hangyong

Re: A philosophical perspective

Hi all. I have been looking at JB houses since more than 10 years ago when i was in my late 20s. I used to drive into Johor very often during my off days. Back then Bukit Indah was still developing and the showhouses there were both big and beautiful, not to mention cheap. Like what i always say to my wife "See already saliva all come out!" Prices were around RM250K then. The plan then was to buy a holiday home with a view to retire when old. At least that was the plan then. After reading some posts in this forum, it seems that this have changed - at least for some people. Nowadays, it is more to live there and commute everyday to Sing.

Wow.

I convinced myself then that I will not be able to afford a landed house in Sing. The only way to make a landed dream come true is in JB. This is of course true till today. :biggrin:

The JB house bug never go off and till today, I am still admiring JB houses. :biggrin: However what makes me hesitate to commit is not so much the crime news, not so much the whimisical and fanciful policies changes (the recent finger printing being a prime example) which the M'sian govt is famous for but more because I realise that a house/family is more than just the 4 walls. It is not so much how beautiful or big a house is...it is more of what is contained within.

You see, I reckon that a big and beautiful landed home will not make my wife and kids happy forever. True, they will be mesmerised in the beginning but the magic will soon wear off when you start to realise you have a another home to upkeep - reno, maintenance, fees, furnitures, etc....a large undertaking if you want to keep the magic going. Do i have the time and energy? not to mention about the $.

At least for me, the analogy its like buying toys for kids...after couple of days, they are no longer interested in that toy and are looking for something else...and yet many of us never realise true happiness cannot be bought and we still go out to buy the next toy for our kids..

Looking at the abandoned houses in some of the older parts of Bukit Indah serves as a reminder that it is not easy to always keep this magic going.

For those who have committed and who are living in JB, I read your posts with admiration and even envy, at least you have more balls than me. :biggrin:

welcome to the forum.

However, not many people here bought the house solely for material needs, or the feel of owning a big unit with land and all only.

Its the better quality of life, a more relaxed environment, which you cannot get in Singapore.

And also the savings that you can get by staying in JB.

having a big unit with land is more of a bonus to many of us.

Skippy

Hi bros come across this page that maybe useful to us for foods , bus services

http://wikitravel.org/en/Johor_Bahru

Hi Bro Jasonjst,

I've tried a couple of the food hawker and resturants listed... Chez papa is one... nice place... but the chairs may be a little too hard n tiny... i guess it french.... no offence.

They have a drink bar jus beside.. it's been a while since i last visit ... i love their desserts though... it's lovely. Like the web shared it's a slurge.... hee hee...

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wow Polyman, you were there long ago and yet you did not buy?

Its true that a house does not necessarily equate to a home. Its not a new toy though, at least to my wife and immediate family members. Its an escape valve and a new way to live your life with more greenery and fresher air whilst not having to keep watching the taps, lights or aircon usage every other day.

My wife for one dreads going back to SG, same for my dad as well now. My son has much more space to run around and drive his toy cars around my porch. Its something that we can move around in and the high ceiling and internal park helps as well whenever i need to relax. Being in SG, where i live, there are so many people (quite a few of which are foreigners) loitering around our void decks, making noises, drinking and dirtying the place. Sometimes we even got woken up by loud motorcycles/motor cars or their antics downstairs when they inevitably got drunk.

These and the ever spiraling costs of living are the things we are fed up with. You can't buy happiness with money but you sure can get yourself more options. At least now with houses in MY, i can have "holidays" in both countries and also change the scenery whenever my wife want.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Actually MY girls are in some ways better than our girls. On the whole, less materialistic and always ready to stand by her man. Gives him face too from the examples that i have seen rather than our girls who are very keen to put down their bfs or husbands anytime they get. One of my neighbours regularly kenna, feel bad for him but cannot say much as they are much older than us

jasonjst

Wow.

So did you not feel that you should have bought your dream home @ 250K 10yrs back , and you could have profited rm500K and free stay for the last 10 years ? As for me , bought my Casina custer home for 400K , 3yrs back and I am still grad that I did it .

mallow

Hi all. I have been looking at JB houses since more than 10 years ago when i was in my late 20s. ...The plan then was to buy a holiday home with a view to retire when old. At least that was the plan then. After reading some posts in this forum, it seems that this have changed - at least for some people. Nowadays, it is more to live there and commute everyday to Sing.... At least for me, the analogy its like buying toys for kids...after couple of days, they are no longer interested in that toy and are looking for something else...and yet many of us never realise true happiness cannot be bought and we still go out to buy the next toy for our kids...Looking at the abandoned houses in some of the older parts of Bukit Indah serves as a reminder that it is not easy to always keep this magic going. For those who have committed and who are living in JB, I read your posts with admiration and even envy, at least you have more balls than me. :biggrin:

We all have our basket of reasons why we chose to move over to Johor - and some have moved back too, for various reasons. Hangyong's note reflects the jist of the core reasons. And those who both work in Singapore and with children not being home-schooled or in good private schools have a hugely difficult time balancing it all with little time for sleep.There are many other reasons, chief of those being that many simply cannot continue to afford to live in Singapore with any degree of comfort.

But yesterday I found one that gave me pause: a dear friend who is only 44 has just been diagnosed with cancer. Highly successful, happy family, highly stressed for years in a job he actually enjoyed. I was finally able to visit them, two months after the diagnosis. Now, while he is getting the best possible treatment and can afford the special food and such, my personal feeling was that the quality of air (HDB apartment in AMK) was quite different from Nusajaya's. He is on chemo and has to be very careful of the possibility of infection. It was worrying.

Investor

worst possible news for me as i pump both. siao liao! gota employ a driver and buy malaysia car to ferry me around monday-friday in and out of singapore already cos the savings will be at there

Since you clock such high mileage, you should consider getting a Toyota Prius Hybrid 1.8 S(A) which can travel 30.4km/litre of petrol. Say if your present car can only travel 10km/litre and you are paying about SGD900/month on petrol. Your expenses on petrol will become SGD300/month. You can see it in sgcarmart http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_listing.php?BRSR=15&MOD=Toyota

Analytical Professor

S’pore duo to file complaint against M’sia Immigration

By Jeanette Tan and Faris Mokhtar
The two Singaporean women who were detained and allegedly mistreated by the Johor Customs are set to file an official complaint against the Immigration Department of Malaysia.
A spokesperson from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) told Yahoo! Singapore that the two women had met its consular officers to discuss the issue, with the women also recounting the incident to them.
He said the women had indicated they wanted to lodge a formal complaint to the Malaysian High Commission about the alleged mistreatment that they experienced while being detained in Johor.
It is understood that the MFA will help to forward the complaint, once it has been made, to the Malaysian High Commission.
The spokesperson added that its consulate in Johor Bahru has also contacted the Malaysian immigration authorities to inquire on the immigration and detention procedures the Singaporean women were subjected to.
Last week, the two Singaporean women in question -- Lim Lili and Zhan Tingting (not their real names) -- drove across the Causeway for early morning supper without getting their passports stamped.
They claim to have used a lane which was not manned and, as it was their first time experiencing the new biometric scanner at the counter, Lim used the intercom and tried to ask another officer for help.
Both waited at the counter for five minutes before they decided to move on as Lim thought that there would be another counter for them to scan their fingers. But they realised there were none.
Shortly after when they realised their mistake, they returned to the customs checkpoint but were subsequently sent to a nearby detention centre and ordered to strip and do squats in the nude.
Both women were detained in a locked, crowded room until 5pm the next day and were initially asked to pay a fine of RM6,000 (S$2,440). They were eventually let off with a stern warning.
The case has sparked outrage among Singaporeans with some questioning the standard procedures that detainees are subjected to by the immigration authorities in Malaysia. Others also called on the MFA to launch a proper investigation on the incident.
Meanwhile, the Immigration Department of Malaysia is conducting an internal probe into the case.
But the assistant director of the Special Administration Unit at the Malaysian Immigration headquarters, Kaisan bin Kassim, told Yahoo! Singapore that he is not in a position to comment, as the case is now being handled by the Malaysian Ministry of Home Affairs.
However, his department, which is based in Putrajaya, Kuala Lumpur, is taking steps to look into the incident internally.
"We will investigate this issue since it has been raised by Singapore through various reports, and we will take this issue seriously," he said in Malay. He said this also in response to comments from opposition Malaysian MPs about the incident.
He declined to comment further asked if what the Singaporean women had allegedly experienced was standard procedures.
However, other representatives from within the Immigration Department headquarters that Yahoo! Singapore spoke to said the two women could have "blown the story out of proportion".
A public relations officer, who wanted to be known only as Haidir, said the two ladies should have waited at the immigration counter for an officer to assist them, even if the booth was unmanned.
Otherwise, they should have approached any of the other officers in adjacent lanes, he added.
"It is common sense for one to get his or her passport stamped upon crossing the Causeway," said another immigration officer at the Immigration of Johor State headquarters.
"Just like Singapore, you need to get your passport stamped before you enter the country; if not, you will be arrested... so it is the same procedure in Malaysia," said the officer, who declined to be named.
While declining to comment further on the RM6,000 fine allegedly slapped on the Singaporeans, Haidir said it was possible that the women were making that part of the story up.
He further added that it was indeed standard procedure for detainees under the Immigrations department to be subjected to nude squats, particularly for females.
He added, however, that male officers will never conduct these strip searches and nude squats where female detainees are involved.
"It is always a female officer who will handle a female detainee," he emphasized.

Analytical Professor

Malaysia investigates alleged abuse of S'porean duo at customs

UPDATE
The Johor Immigration Department says it has completed its probe into the alleged mistreatment of two Singaporeans by immigration officers at the Johor Bahru customs checkpoint last week.
But when asked to comment, department director Mohd Nasri Ishak said, "Please wait for the decision by the department headquarters and the (home) ministry."
He declined further comment, reported Malaysian news portal Malaysiakini, as he said he did not want to contradict anything the headquarters might say.
However the case -- which saw two Singaporean ladies being strip-searched and ordered to do squats in the nude while being detained -- has sparked widespread outrage among Singaporean netizens.
Since it was first posted late on Tuesday evening, the story has been shared on Facebook over 3,000 times and drawn over 700 comments.
Some have called for a boycott of shops in Johor Bahru while others called for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to launch a proper investigation into the alleged abuse.
Yahoo! Fit-to-Post reader SH commented, "As consumers and tourists, we should vote with our pockets, boycott poor service shops and countries which do not appreciate our tourism dollars."
Another reader Koh wrote, "Is the Ministry of Foreign Affairs doing something about this ? This is a common trick of Malaysian Immigration to extort money from Singaporeans. Why do we need to go to JB to save money. Patronize a country that obviously do not welcome you?"
Yet others questioned why the two ladies ventured up to Johor Bahru for supper at such a late hour.
Reader Patriot wrote, "1.30am going to JB for supper just two ladies ? Must be out of your mind right? Singapore got so many night haunts for supper and yet you choose JB."
The two Singaporeans in question were reportedly detained by Malaysian law enforcement officers in Johor Bahru early last Thursday morning after they were accused of entering Malaysia illegally.
The pair were also ordered to strip and do squats with their hands on their ears for 10 times when they were sent to a detention centre.
The ordeal happened when Lim Lili and Zhan Tingting (not their real names) drove across the Causeway for supper at about 1:30am. When they reached the Malaysian customs checkpoint, both women inadvertently did not get their passports stamped.
According to Lianhe Zaobao, Lim said she had entered a lane that displayed a green light which signalled that the lane was in operation.
Lim recalled seeing that the lane had no immigration officer at the counter and it was at this point that they didn't get their passports stamped. Zhan then alighted to purchase a "Touch N Go" prepaid card to pay for their entry into Malaysia.
As it was their first time experiencing the new biometric scanner at the counter, Lim used the intercom and tried to ask another officer for help. Both waited at the counter for five minutes before they decided to move on as Lim thought that there would be another counter for them to scan their fingers.
But instead, they drove into Johor Bahru without getting their passports stamped and fingerprints scanned. Realising something was wrong, Lim drove her car back to the customs to obtain an entry chop for their passports.
However, when reached the customs at 2am, they were accused of entering Malaysia illegally and questioned by Malaysian law enforcement officers.
"When my statement was taken, both of us tried to explain ourselves and requested for them to check with Singapore's immigration department to check their departure timings and CCTV footage to clarify that once we knew there was a mistake, we quickly turned back," said Zhan.
The officers then curtly informed them of the offence and punishment, emphasising the RM10,000 (S$4,069) and jail term.
Both women were detained in a room until 5pm on 10 June and were only allowed to make a phone call each.
One of them called a friend while the other spoke to her brother, who contacted the Singapore High Commission in Malaysia and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
"Somebody with a higher rank came and started speaking to us in Malay. A translator told us if we were willing to accept a fine of RM3,000 (S$1,220) to resolve the situation," said Zhan.
"And because we were so tired, we agreed to pay the fine and we signed an agreement that was in Malay," Zhan added.
Officers led the two women to an ATM machine to withdraw cash to pay the fine. But the women received another shock when the officers suddenly said that they will be sent to a detention centre in Pontian district and will be detained for up to 14 days.
Lim then asked the officers, "I thought we already settled the case?"
They were later handcuffed and sent to the women's division at the detention centre. Lim and Zhan met a female officer who ordered a strip search. Both women were made to strip and do squats with their hands on their ears for 10 times before they were allowed to change into their prison uniforms.
Zhan said: "The place was dirty and smelly, the roach-infested room was two-thirds of the basketball court, no bed, four wooden walls, with 50 people in it."
"We were treated like criminals even before we were pronounced guilty, it was humiliating. Most of the detainees were Filipinos and Indonesians without passports. We were the only Singaporeans."
After a night in the centre, the officers woke them up at 5am to do the Islamic morning prayers.
She said in the span of 24 hours, besides eating and praying, we were stuck in the room. When it was time to eat, we did not have forks and spoons and ate with our hands. We did not dare to finish eating, but the rest of the detainees told us to finish because if we did not, the officers will punish us."
At the detention centre, the two of them were bitten by mosquitoes and bugs the whole night. Zhan's hands and legs had red spots and her whole body hurt while Lim's back and neck were bitten, and her skin was red and itchy.
Both women were detained at the centre for 24 hours before another immigration officer transferred them back to the Malaysia customs and detained them for another six hours.
Zhan said that other immigration officers mocked them and asked if the detention centre was like a five-star hotel.
On Friday night, an official handed both woman a warning letter and informed them that they will not be charged, jailed or fined.
When Lim went to retrieve her car, she saw it was badly scratched and damaged. They were also told by an immigration officer who handled their departure proceedings that they would not be able to enter Malaysia easily next time.
Looking back, Zhan acknowledged their mistake but said, "This is only a trivial mistake. Does it warrant a need to detain us at the detention centre?"
The pair angrily added: "Next time even if you invite me over to Malaysia I wouldn't want go in!"
They were worried that the incident would affect their jobs, and wanted to remind their friends to be more careful when travelling to Malaysia.
Under their lawyer's advice, the pair might seek compensation from the Malaysian authorities.
This is not the first time Malaysian authorities have been accused of abusing their power. In November 2005, another woman was made to perform nude squats.
According to police, the nude squats are meant to dislodge any hidden illicit drugs but the incident led to the formation of an independent commission, which subsequently recommended that the practice be stopped.

cathylmg

Actually MY girls are in some ways better than our girls. On the whole, less materialistic and always ready to stand by her man. Gives him face too from the examples that i have seen rather than our girls who are very keen to put down their bfs or husbands anytime they get. One of my neighbours regularly kenna, feel bad for him but cannot say much as they are much older than us

Not really so for Malaysia girls nowaday. The standard has dropped. For every good example you quote, I can match it up with bad ones too.

My Malaysia tenants who graduated from University in Malaysia(the top one) actually showed black face at her JB boyfriend when he came looking for her, asking him why he came, in a terrible tone. Slam the door as she like She even left the room in a dusty state. Her room was in a mess during her stay. Not much different from those china girls that I rented my rooms too a couple of years ago. She moved out last year. After I keep increasing her rent she show me her true colours. But that was to make her leave without me show her the door.

At the beginning of this year, my cousin's wife from Ipoh was pregnant and irritated, she beat up his mum. Her whole family from Malaysia will turn up if you are not nice to her.

I guess to err is human, for most malaysian girl their education standard is lower and so tried to upgrade by marrying a Singaporean. Because Singaporean man are still perceived as the RICH son-in-law. At least a few living around me showed signs of it. Not long after, if not before marriage, they will make you buy things like houses, cars in their home town, so that they can retire there after the children have grown up. Which is perfectly fine too. But unless their idea of a retirement house is in a location that you can accept. I have friends whos wives came from Ipoh, Malacca...which their wives have insisted that they retire there.

A meek kitty cat also has the potential to turn into a tigeress. So those Singaporean man out there, know your status and know what you are getting in too. Don't be blinded by the love of wanting a submissive companion. Thats most important.

Happy mate hunting! :biggrin:

Analytical Professor

Please be careful as you reverse....

Most of us are not used to landed living....

Strictly order all children of the car driveway while reversing....

Boy, 2, dies after being hit by mum's car
AsiaOne
Wed, Jun 15, 2011
SINGAPORE - A little boy died on Monday afternoon after his mother accidentally reversed her car into him.

Two-year-old Henry was believed to have run up to his mother's car while she was backing the white multi-purpose vehicle into the driveway of their bungalow.

The Australian housewife, who was identified only as Mrs Harrington, did not realise that she had knocked over her son until a cab driver who was driving past the scene yelled at her to stop the car, reported The Straits Times.

Neighbours saw the distraught mother screaming and holding her son, according to The Straits Times report. She also performed cardiopulmonary resuscitation on her son while waiting for the paramedics to arrive, reported the Chinese media.

Henry was taken to KK Women's and Children's Hospital, where he was pronounced dead an hour later.

Police are investigating the accident and have questioned the child's parents

The Straits Times reported that the Harrington family had moved to Singapore last September for work. The Australian High Commission here has offered to assist the family.

The child's body will be repatriated to Perth, Australia, where the funeral will be held. He is survived by his parents and one older sister, aged 4.

Analytical Professor

Squats not part of SOP, says Johor Immigration chief
The Star/Asia News Network
Tue, Jun 14, 2011

JOHOR BARU: Conducting a body search sometimes requires detainees to remove their clothing for thorough checks but squats were not part of the standard operating procedure, Johor Immigration director Nasri Ishak said Tuesday.

Nasri was commenting on a recent report by a Singapore daily on two Singaporean women who were told to strip naked and perform squats after they were detained for not having their passports checked at the Causeway.

"Removing clothes, however, is sometimes needed as it is essential for our officers to ensure that the detainees are not hiding any weapons," he said

He, however, assured that the Home Ministry would conduct investigations into the matter.

He added that these types of checks were conducted in a private room and the two Singaporean women were attended to by a female immigration official
Nasri said the women were eventually taken to the Pekan Nenas detention centre pending investigations to their case.

"After we forwarded the investigation papers, the Deputy Public Prosecutor in charge of the case decided that they should be deported back to their country," he said, adding that there was no reason for his officials to purposely humiliate the women.

It was previously reported that the incident had occurred at around 1.30am last Thursday when the women were exiting Malaysia.
The women, who had failed to get their passports chopped decided to make a U-turn upon discovering their mistake but were detained by immigration officials instead.

The women were then allegedly detained at the checkpoint for several hours before they were taken to the Pekan Nenas detention centre.

They were then told to strip naked, perform 10 squats and jailed for one night before they were eventually released back to Singapore at around 5pm the next day with a warning letter.

Analytical Professor

cathylmg

Please be careful as you reverse....

Most of us are not used to landed living....

Strictly order all children of the car driveway while reversing....

Boy, 2, dies after being hit by mum's car
AsiaOne
Wed, Jun 15, 2011
SINGAPORE - A little boy died on Monday afternoon after his mother accidentally reversed her car into him.

Two-year-old Henry was believed to have run up to his mother's car while she was backing the white multi-purpose vehicle into the driveway of their bungalow.

The Australian housewife, who was identified only as Mrs Harrington, did not realise that she had knocked over her son until a cab driver who was driving past the scene yelled at her to stop the car, reported The Straits Times.

Neighbours saw the distraught mother screaming and holding her son, according to The Straits Times report. She also performed cardiopulmonary resuscitation on her son while waiting for the paramedics to arrive, reported the Chinese media.

Henry was taken to KK Women's and Children's Hospital, where he was pronounced dead an hour later.

Police are investigating the accident and have questioned the child's parents

The Straits Times reported that the Harrington family had moved to Singapore last September for work. The Australian High Commission here has offered to assist the family.

The child's body will be repatriated to Perth, Australia, where the funeral will be held. He is survived by his parents and one older sister, aged 4.

So sorry to hear that. Sending my condolence here. :(

Status
Not open for further replies.