• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Analytical Professor

Thanks bro.

Who would think a community that comprises several gated and guarded communities would have armed robbers roaming freely amidst them?

This means the robbers are just not scared.

In the complaint IRDA was mentioned. But how can they help?

Analytical Professor is right, normal grilles can be cut easily. A knowledgeable Malaysian friend once told me that even iron grilles were being cut. He advised to install grilles from professional security company, because their grilles are specially design to prevent break-in from cutting or ripping and bending with crowbar. They use the right material which had gone thru stress test. Why install a normal grille which doesn't do the job of preventing break-in and put your family in danger of break-in by armed robbers?

Another thing is, never place your safety in the hands of security guards, not even the police. What I mean is that you Must do your own part to install all security features. Criminals look for the easiest target, so don't be one.

The Adda heights case clearly stated that the robbers' first target was his Singaporean neighbour's house but couldn't break the locks, thus changing their target to his house. He would definitely not be the victim that night if his house was fully secured with 'security' grilles and other home protection systems.

Don't be the easy target.

Analytical Professor

Yes you can use tempered glass. However it can still be broken. Just that it cant be broken that easily. If you add a security film it will prevent the glass from cracking. Thats again temporary.

Cause eventually it can still be cut through.

I dun think there is any glass that cant be broken even if security film is pasted onto it. IT can only delay the process of breaking in

I've been thinking about grills for windows since I have this impression that those imposing robust grills can be pretty ugly and lessen the beauty of the house design with those nice large windows. I'm wondering if we can install really strong thick glass for our windows/sliding doors and then layering it with film that won't tear easily (like those car windscreen films that hinder car theft that I saw commercials for awhile back - not sure if it's realistic or not).

LeMans2011

I've been thinking about grills for windows since I have this impression that those imposing robust grills can be pretty ugly and lessen the beauty of the house design with those nice large windows. I'm wondering if we can install really strong thick glass for our windows/sliding doors and then layering it with film that won't tear easily (like those car windscreen films that hinder car theft that I saw commercials for awhile back - not sure if it's realistic or not).

Maybe you can try Llumar. Obviously the idea is not to stop a break in totally, but given that the thief will have to smash the glass several times to break the glass by then home occupants would have been alerted. I have been thinking about this approach :smile:

LeMans2011

...Now there's another concern about my wife and my travel in/out of SG daily. Our plan is to travel in/out together... either one of us will need to make sacrifices in terms of waking earlier to go in together and staying back late to return to Nusajaya together. But last Thurs, she returned home at 4am because of quarter closing. And the next night, it was 11pm. Although this will be a rare issue, but we definitely need to find a way around this when it happens, for our safety and convenience... any suggestions?

There is always hotel 81... hahaha just kidding... stay in relative or friend's house loh... in return invite them over to JB for makan

cathylmg

The grille is to make the robbers think twice first before striking. Although you can good quality one, glasses still looks fragile to me.

Investor

The problem is not the glasses but the flimsy sliding doors itself. They are of zero security standard I would say. Those sliding doors can easily be removed. Don't compromise safety for the sake of better appearance, it is definitely not worth it. Why do you think Ms Tessensohn's (mallow) home is now installed with razor wires use by high security facilities(shown in Straits Times)? Our lives are, without much thought, more important than the appearance of our house.

Investor

The grille is to make the robbers think twice first before striking. Although you can good quality one, glasses still looks fragile to me.

Precisely, it also means the more obvious the grilles are, the better! Best is that they can see your ugly grilles far far away from Penang and don't target your house at all.

Investor

If we Zoom out to look at the big picture, it is good that this victim decided to voice out(maybe because he is angmo). Storm the whole of Singapore and Malaysia with such news so that Malaysia Government will be pressured to invest more money into their police force if they still want Iskandar region to be a hit with Singaporeans in near future as the place develops. If everyone kept quiet about such incident, why should Malaysia Government improve?

Of course demand for Johor's properties will be affected in the short term. Keeping quiet and not discussing about such incidents is not a long term solution. Think far.

aangsc

Time to put on your number 4 and do some patrolling on foot or bicycle like the SG style neighbourhood Watch. See there are some use for NS. Need a catapult ?

rw6akr

aangsc

Is that legal to purchase Stunt Gun (Electro Shocking Device) or Pneumatic (Air Pressure) Gun in Malaysia? I know it is not allowed in Singapore but might be a good option for self-defence in Malaysia. That could help those with intention of BBQing robbers :smile:

For those who doesn't know what are those devices please see links below:
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/381957688/Electric_Shock_928_type_12000KV_.html
http://www.pyramydair.com/s/m/Beeman_P3/556

double edges sword, depend who get the "shiok" first !

Investor

Is that legal to purchase Stunt Gun (Electro Shocking Device) or Pneumatic (Air Pressure) Gun in Malaysia? I know it is not allowed in Singapore but might be a good option for self-defence in Malaysia. That could help those with intention of BBQing robbers :smile:

For those who doesn't know what are those devices please see links below:
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/381957688/Electric_Shock_928_type_12000KV_.html
http://www.pyramydair.com/s/m/Beeman_P3/556

Is there any weapon which could spray fire, I think it would be a better weapon against 3-4 armed robbers, rather than a stunt gun whereby you must be a marksmen to hit all 4 of them before they strike you.

rw6akr

double edges sword, depend who get the "shiok" first !
It is better to have a chance to protect yourself. Especially in a country where you don't expect prompt and professional service of its Police Force. Somehow, even if those items are illegal but criminals would have those anyway and normal people don't even have a chance...

In Singapore it might be less important as crime level is comparable low but in Malaysia it would have made me more confident in personal security. Otherwise, only an aluminum baseball bat from Mustafa shopping center is an option.

rw6akr

Is there any weapon which could spray fire, I think it would be a better weapon against 3-4 armed robbers, rather than a stunt gun whereby you must be a marksmen to hit all 4 of them before they strike you.
The air gun is a better option for the situation described. It can help to fight multiple attackers and it is more difficult to cause an accident fire / unnecessary injuries (fire is a dangerous thing by itself).

Charlie258

Analytical Professor is right, normal grilles can be cut easily. A knowledgeable Malaysian friend once told me that even iron grilles were being cut. He advised to install grilles from professional security company, because their grilles are specially design to prevent break-in from cutting or ripping and bending with crowbar. They use the right material which had gone thru stress test. Why install a normal grille which doesn't do the job of preventing break-in and put your family in danger of break-in by armed robbers?

Another thing is, never place your safety in the hands of security guards, not even the police. What I mean is that you Must do your own part to install all security features. Criminals look for the easiest target, so don't be one.

The Adda heights case clearly stated that the robbers' first target was his Singaporean neighbour's house but couldn't break the locks, thus changing their target to his house. He would definitely not be the victim that night if his house was fully secured with 'security' grilles and other home protection systems.

Don't be the easy target.

Hey Mr Investor, yo are absolutely correct that even metal grilles can be cut. It's all a matter of how much time the robbers have. Given enough time, they can even dig and cut their way into Bank Negara.

In the old days in Singapore, a few friends and relatives had their big landed property broken into. They showed me their house after the event. The metal gates(main house) were cut clean through. No acetylene torch was used. The robbers just used a saw. Because they were away on a long trip, the robbers just jumped over the driveway main gate and slowly sawed away at the main house steel security gate until it gave way.

It happened in the 1970's. By now, such 'tua kong' robbers of Singapore are probably retired and hanging out at Geylang kopitiam's drinking coffee and watching China girls. But Malaysia still have these 'expert' house-breakers and robbers.

rw6akr

In the old days in Singapore, a few friends and relatives had their big landed property broken into. They showed me their house after the event. The metal gates(main house) were cut clean through. No acetylene torch was used. The robbers just used a saw. Because they were away on a long trip, the robbers just jumped over the driveway main gate and slowly sawed away at the main house steel security gate until it gave way.
All properties at East Ledang are installed with Chubb Security system and once the system is armed it will automatically track status of all the doors, windows and even movements inside the house. In case if any alarm it will not only make a loud noise through its own sound system but will also send message to the call center so that Security guards / Police can be alerted. That should help to protect from such straightforward cases of breaking in.

aangsc

I feel alarm still the best. Any gadget that produce the loudest noise would be the best. Best thing to wake up whole neighborhood.

Status
Not open for further replies.