• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Newbie questions

FHBH12

Re: Married couple looking to spend CNY arond Nusajaya/HH for 2 nights(Any house/Reso

Hi guys need advice on TT money to malaysia
1)my agt say to TT money to lawyers account ,is it ok as maybe the lawyer is taking charge of the signing of agreement.
2)try some remittance agts at lucky plaza but no one is doing to mlysia ,so i suppose i must go to jurong point unless any of u can suggest nearby town area n need to submit by this sunday as signing of agreement ,any suggestions would be welcome thanks.

I suppose a lot use The Arcade at Raffles Place. Quite good rates from what I gathered here, especially those in the upper levels.

Manager

Don't mess with me
Re: Married couple looking to spend CNY arond Nusajaya/HH for 2 nights(Any house/Reso

hello bros. i am seriously considering buying a house in JB,
can 150kSGD get me a house in the Iskandar Area,
looking for new project.

pls advise. kum sia:smile:

crystal_tiong

looking for new project.

possible , if u dun mind NON GATED & GUARDED .
or buy 1 bed room leasehold at medini area.

OracleMasia

I will never TT any money to the lawyer except their fee and State consent levy.

You should open a bank account in JB; TT the money to the bank account of YOURS. Issue out check payable to developer.

Another way is to TT directly to developer.
I agree. You should not TT to lawyer/marketing agent. This is not the correct practice. Be careful

Skooz

ok but i see the loan docs. also stated this lawyers name with address and account no ,i mean if i deposit this account it will reflect as i have paid the money right unless he decides to run off then i in trouble .

Manager

Don't mess with me

ok bros. guess i have to be more precise

i am a singaporean, chinese, looking to buy a house in JB,
can 150kSGD get me a house in the Iskandar Area?(willing to increase to 250sgd max. 150 cash and 100sgd bank loan)
looking for new project, freehold, security. at least 2 bedroom..

pls recommendation and advise. kum sia

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

I agree. You should not TT to lawyer/marketing agent. This is not the correct practice. Be careful

Absolutely agree with shtaw as TT should only be done to developer or to a lawyer that one is very familiar with. Else best not to.

There is a book selling in Popular, its basically how to complain correctly and they have all the details that one needs to lodge a complaint effectively.
Even includes most professional bodies. Good reference to start with.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

ok bros. guess i have to be more precise

i am a singaporean, chinese, looking to buy a house in JB,
can 150kSGD get me a house in the Iskandar Area?(willing to increase to 250sgd max. 150 cash and 100sgd bank loan)
looking for new project, freehold, security. at least 2 bedroom..
pls recommendation and advise. kum sia

With 600k, yes you can, gated/guarded, etc. Try checking Nusa Sentral or look for subsale at terrace for Nusa Duta, etc.
www.iproperty.com.my has quite a few.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

ok but i see the loan docs. also stated this lawyers name with address and account no ,i mean if i deposit this account it will reflect as i have paid the money right unless he decides to run off then i in trouble .

Lawyers do run off occasionally across both sides of the causeway. Always be careful and use larger firms as more partners involved and more folks to pay up in case one guy/gal runs off.

aliensmotor

looking for new project.

Question : are you singaporean or malaysian ? fyi. Min. Investment value for foreigner is 500k Rm.

tigerbear

By Farah Wahida:
http://www.propertyguru.com.my/prope...for-foreigners

The government has no plans to raise the RM500,000 minimum property price for foreigners, according to Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Seri Chor Chee Heung.

While the ministry had considered increasing the minimum price, it discovered that foreign buyers accounted for less than 10 percent of the overall transactions, with Singaporeans making up about five percent.

Nonetheless, “the government may review the ceiling price in future,” he noted, adding that the base price is a bit low considering the present circumstances.

Meanwhile, Malaysia is quickly becoming South East Asia’s education hub, attracting many parents from the region, especially in China, to buy houses in the country for their children, said Chor.

However, “property buyers should see the properties personally instead of making their decision solely on online information,” he told the media after launching a new property portal called Malaysia.SouFun.com.

“We’ve received many reports about false promises and advertisements for online purchases of other products.”

Hence, buyers are advised to visit Malaysia and view the properties to make sure that everything is alright. Moreover, developers can also set-up tours for buyers to view their properties, he added.

joshcct

Hi all gurus,

I'm interested to get a landed property in JB for longterm staying and would like to seek all your advise on how to start. I'm looking at gated and guarded property, and wonder whether are there any properties launching by reputable developer in the near future.

Also seeking advise where to get latest on development for consideration. I'd gotten some info from the livinginjb.info but not sure is it updated.

Any advise is appreciated.

TIA

shctaw

Do not risk it. The lawyer name and address is on all developers project details.

It does not mean the developer want you to sent the lawyer money.

Unless you have lot of money and losing a bit does not matter. Then we have a different case.

shctaw

Straits Times

Page A5

Maybank offering financing of Malaysia properties denominated in Singapore dollar.

Pros
Convenience
Can be done in Singapore

If you bet Ringgit will be strong in the long run

Arbitrage loan rate between Malaysia loan vs Singapore loan. (Save you around 1.5%~2% annually)

Cons
Bank use lousy rate to convert your loan from Ringgit to Singapore dollar. (1-2%)

Maybank may not be on your developer panel of bankers.

Not for you if you think Singapore dollar will be stronger in the long run.

Conclusion
Personally I will consider using them even if I will lose 1-2% initially. (One off lost)

The saving from the better loan rate (1.5%~2% yearly) may actually offset the gain from the rise of Singapore dollar.

It will be possible for you to transfer your saving into Malaysia quietly. You pay up your loan in Singapore while you bank in your rental in Malaysia. Very good move if you do not want the Singapore government to see all the money you have.

jade apple

Straits Times

Page A5

Maybank offering financing of Malaysia properties denominated in Singapore dollar.

Pros
Convenience
Can be done in Singapore

If you bet Ringgit will be strong in the long run

Arbitrage loan rate between Malaysia loan vs Singapore loan. (Save you around 1.5%~2% annually)

Cons
Bank use lousy rate to convert your loan from Ringgit to Singapore dollar. (1-2%)

Maybank may not be on your developer panel of bankers.

Not for you if you think Singapore dollar will be stronger in the long run.

Conclusion
Personally I will consider using them even if I will lose 1-2% initially. (One off lost)

The saving from the better loan rate (1.5%~2% yearly) may actually offset the gain from the rise of Singapore dollar.

It will be possible for you to transfer your saving into Malaysia quietly. You pay up your loan in Singapore while you bank in your rental in Malaysia. Very good move if you do not want the Singapore government to see all the money you have.

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/loans/property-loans/overseas-residential-property-loan.aspx

Malaysia Residential Property LoanOur Malaysia Residential Property Loan offers you the convenience of financing your property purchase right here in Singapore. Besides attractive interest rates, benefit from favourable exchange rate movements with a loan denominated in Singapore Dollars. For the convenient way to finance your Malaysian Property, speak to us today.
Key info

•Attractive interest rate package that is pegged to the 3-month Singapore Interbank Offer Rate.
•Financing in Singapore Dollars allows you to take advantage of favourable exchange rate movements.
•Obtain financing of up to 70% of purchase price or market valuation, whichever is lower
•Get advice and apply for financing conveniently in Singapore
Who can apply
•Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents
•Minimum 21 years of age
To apply, visit any of our 22 Branches in Singapore or make an appointment online now

jade apple

http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/loans/property-loans/overseas-residential-property-loan.aspx

Malaysia Residential Property LoanOur Malaysia Residential Property Loan offers you the convenience of financing your property purchase right here in Singapore. Besides attractive interest rates, benefit from favourable exchange rate movements with a loan denominated in Singapore Dollars. For the convenient way to finance your Malaysian Property, speak to us today.
Key info

•Attractive interest rate package that is pegged to the 3-month Singapore Interbank Offer Rate.
•Financing in Singapore Dollars allows you to take advantage of favourable exchange rate movements.
•Obtain financing of up to 70% of purchase price or market valuation, whichever is lower
•Get advice and apply for financing conveniently in Singapore
Who can apply
•Singapore Citizens or Singapore Permanent Residents
•Minimum 21 years of age
To apply, visit any of our 22 Branches in Singapore or make an appointment online now

Just went to Maybank to check:
For first 2 years: interest sibor + 2.5
Subsequent : interest sibor + 3

For first 2 properties: 70% loan margin
Subsequently 50% loan margin

RedsYNWA

Maybank offer is quite decent. I called CIMB also, & am waiting for their personal banker to call me. The only issue is that (1) Sibor rates can rise dramatically in tandem with USA, while the Malaysian BLR has been quite stable. (2) MAS policy is to allow for a gradually strengthening SGD. Can the Sibor savings offset the rise in the SGD?

Manager

Don't mess with me
sorry bros. me really noob. so got alot of queries. hopefully someone can help.

1. do i need to engage agent fee i have to pay if buy freehold in jb?
2. are there any intangible fees i need to look out besides the selling price.
3. is it better to engage a agent to help me out?

any reliable agent here can help?