• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Newbie questions

Re: LOOKING FOR NEW FREEHOLD LANDED PROPERTY NEAR TUAS 2nd LINK

Very nice! I am quite sure you will enjoy it.

Unfortunately, I need to wait to live in a carefree state like you.

My unit is 20+ I think, not quite sure yet but was told by the agent.

Hope you are my neighbour!

How come you have agent, you bought sub-sale? Btw every street there has unit number 20+, you must disclose your street number then people know which is the unit lah. :smile:

Dragoon123

Hey guys, have some question here.
I note that there are people are interested to give it a try to stay in JB and work in Singapore,
however most of the people were worry that the kind of life might be tiring and would not be suitable for them.

Here's some suggestion:
Lets say I have one rental properties in JB and willing to rent to people who interested to give it a try to stay in JB,
Well if the kind of life is acceptable for your then you may just proceed to rent it while if it is not ok you can simply quit it.
In that case then you can still retain you properties in SG and rent it to someone else while you staying in JB.

How? Anyone interested?

whoami

Seriously, it is fine to meet up.

We are just making friends and not marrying each other. :smile:

Guess lies would not hurt in this instance.

I would say crystal aka kampong chief, ginfreely...to name a few, should be ok. Can see fm their post..sincere and serious. If u talk abt meeting or getting married to them, should be ok lah. :smile: Kiddin ya.

I am actually referring to clones here. According to some bros here, zapping still going around even in this serious forum. Wat more in other threads? Tat doesnt augers well. Cos it mean someone not happy...either with our comments, opinions and posts. And who are they behind those nicks?

Do take note:

http://www.sammyboyforum.com/showpost.php?p=1620133&postcount=1

Funds Transfer

I would say crystal aka kampong chief, ginfreely...to name a few, should be ok. Can see fm their post..sincere and serious. If u talk abt meeting or getting married to them, should be ok lah. :smile: Kiddin ya.

I am actually referring to clones here. According to some bros here, zapping still going around even in this serious forum. Wat more in other threads? Tat doesnt augers well. Cos it mean someone not happy...either with our comments, opinions and posts. And who are they behind those nicks?

Do take note:

http://www.sammyboyforum.com/showpost.php?p=1620133&postcount=1

Thanks Bro Whoami

Very good advice and also the posting was useful.

Who knows, there could be MIWs here as well. :eek:

Funds Transfer

How come you have agent, you bought sub-sale? Btw every street there has unit number 20+, you must disclose your street number then people know which is the unit lah. :smile:

Alamak, I am also not sure of the street name. Just know that it is inside Duta 2.

No agent. I bought direct from developer last year.

Was referring to IJM agent.

Funds Transfer

No la. Bro i am married. Just want to shake her hand for been so wonder woman.

Respect her bravery!

All of us who venture into Iskandar Malaysia have an extra ounce of courage. But I agree with you that there are greater individuals out there as compared to me. I am sure that Sis Crystal is one of them.

Arowana88

All of us who venture into Iskandar Malaysia have an extra ounce of courage. But I agree with you that there are greater individuals out there as compared to me. I am sure that Sis Crystal is one of them.

Maybe should give her an award! Chief of NI ! Ta Jie Ta!!! :biggrin:

sgdina

Agree, it is and there isn't any fallback net. Yes you definitely can. I thought so too but there are inner parts of Johore even that are still reasonable. This is really a good place if one lives within their means. I ignored Johore for too long back then.

A wise old gent once told me, SG is like a river, you can grow but SG is still a small river no matter how deep it goes. One needs to go to the sea (the world) where though it has more dangers, is also big enough for one to grow to his fullest potential.

Love the quote from the wise old gent, wuqi. Very true indeed!!

boyka

Seeking objective opinions

Hello. I would like to ask for some opinions. I am having a dilemma at the moment, so, would like to hear some objective views on the matter.

I am a Singapore PR. I came to study in Singapore since secondary school and have been working here after graduation. Recently, I moved back to stay in JB because the rental in Singapore has risen quite a lot, and I am trying to save up some money.

With my current salary, I am not able to afford to buy a private property in Singapore and am not eligible to buy HDB as I am still single. I am approaching the age of 35. I am considering applying for Singapore citizenship so that I could buy a HDB under the single-citizen scheme. The advantage is that I can reduce the commute time, and also able to make use of the CPF to pay for the downpayment and mortgage. This would also ease my cashflow since I would not be paying rental anymore.

The other alternative is to hold on to my Malaysian citizenship and purchase a place in JB. This would mean that I have to pay the downpayment and mortgage with cash. The advantage is the lower cost of living, and space.

If you were me, what would you do? Maybe there is another way?

Thanks in advance.

EDTBA

Re: Seeking objective opinions

I would consider the second option.

As a Malaysian, you are not subjected to the restrictions for foreigners when purchasing a property (min. RM500K, etc). There are plenty of houses under RM300K that are in the market that you can look at and consider.

If you take a loan to finance the purchase, there is still a question of cash-flow so you still need to do your sums. But it beats renting a place in Singapore anytime as you own the property.

Don't wait too long to decide seeing how property prices are escalating both in Johor and Singapore.

FHBH12

It depends on whether you intend to stay in Singapore for your career and how much you value your time. It will get harder to convert to SC as time passes and we cross the 6 million population mark.

I value time and energy more. I would rather convert to SC and buy a HDB. After 5 year MOP, rent it out to subsidize another much cheaper house in JB (bought under parents' name to overcome the $500k limit) for own stay.

STUCK_HERE

It depends on whether you intend to stay in Singapore for your career and how much you value your time. It will get harder to convert to SC as time passes and we cross the 6 million population mark.

I value time and energy more. I would rather convert to SC and buy a HDB. After 5 year MOP, rent it out to subsidize another much cheaper house in JB (bought under parents' name to overcome the $500k limit) for own stay.

Hello, PR can buy HDB flat. Convert to Singapore Citizen? Tell that to the millions of PRs laughing all the way to the bank.