• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Birkhall, Queenstown, Hua Yi, Margaret Drive Primary Schools alumni fall in here !

Re: 卢瑞恩

Madam ? Who ? You mean the Media Cock police inspector Rui En ? But, she's from SCGS, rite ? One of my neighbours was an SCGS.

Wife la Conqueror.

Conqueror you seem to know where I live now you started to post Clementi I used to live near there for 4 years

Wife la Conqueror.

Conqueror you seem to know where I live now you started to post Clementi I used to live near there for 4 years

From queenstown cannot suka suka jump to clementi without first passing by holland and dover lah...
Also must give mention to ghim moh...
You guys dun follow proper procedure

LumparChee

From queenstown cannot suka suka jump to clementi without first passing by holland and dover lah...

Ghim Moh Sec Sch girls damn chio. I almost screw one from there. Missed it.

Wah lan eh, this thread brings back fond memories ........

Conqueror

Re: 2nd Story, Winter Clothing

Hey conqueror you also Q'town boy/girl? I lived in 27A overlooking the primary schools' field from 1971 after chased out of the old ABC Brickwork estate.

I'm a guy lah. ABC Brickwork quite far from your prev estate, rite ?

Not leh. Can walk la. You know when I was living in Q'town I used to walk to Queensway shopping centre cutting through Stirling and Mei Ling. Queensway shopping centre is just diagonally across ABC.

Conqueror

Ghim Moh Face Off

Yah, you are right. Ghim Moh residents also facing another form of challenges. Their green and open scenery disappeared too - blocked by tall HDB buildings.

After year 200X upgrading and facelifts, many things has changed. Some open car parks disappeared.

ghim_moh_road_block_20_market_and_food_centre

Re: Ghim Moh Face Off

Yah, you are right. Ghim Moh residents also facing another form of challenges. Their green and open scenery disappeared too - blocked by tall HDB buildings.

After year 200X upgrading and facelifts, many things has changed. Some open car parks disappeared.

ghim_moh_road_block_20_market_and_food_centre

Love the market. For a period of time I had breakfast there almost every morning with a big bottle of Guinness Stout driving the mrs to work there. Fond memories of that place. I just posted some pics in the Queenstown thread when I went there about 6 months ago.

Conqueror

Not leh. Can walk la. You know when I was living in Q'town I used to walk to Queensway shopping centre cutting through Stirling and Mei Ling. Queensway shopping centre is just diagonally across ABC.

I always mix it up with Farrer Road's food centre.

Go sleep now. Gotto wake up early. Goodnight guys.

yinyang

Re: Birkhall, Queenstown, Hua Yi, Margaret Drive Primary Schools alumni fall in here

Or-Kio-Tau ah? Only think I hate is teochew porridge so expensive but sometimes lan lan still eat there.
Ganges whereabouts? Used to have aunt staying in former 1 room flat next to main road. Sg in another era -downstairs 1st flr got this sweat shop making this pirated Hazeline Snow (popular with chabors then for white fair skin). Kns, smell the fragance all round clock ..free smells like Amos cookies now. And yo, teochew muay kns expensive ..suspect check bin go by headcount. Worse than Owen rd.

And space was tight then, my uncle and some neighbours slept in dark corridors (on camp beds). Advent before shoe box apartments. Only excursion was bus trip to Queenstown cinema and Tai Chung spots. Or maybe go paktor to Van Kleef aquarium (river valley next to ex national theatre). If no money, just go up Fort Canning Park.

Re: Birkhall, Queenstown, Hua Yi, Margaret Drive Primary Schools alumni fall in here

Ganges whereabouts? Used to have aunt staying in former 1 room flat next to main road. Sg in another era -downstairs 1st flr got this sweat shop making this pirated Hazeline Snow (popular with chabors then for white fair skin). Kns, smell the fragance all round clock ..free smells like Amos cookies now. And yo, teochew muay kns expensive ..suspect check bin go by headcount. Worse than Owen rd.

And space was tight then, my uncle and some neighbours slept in dark corridors (on camp beds). Advent before shoe box apartments. Only excursion was bus trip to Queenstown cinema and Tai Chung spots. Or maybe go paktor to Van Kleef aquarium (river valley next to ex national theatre). If no money, just go up Fort Canning Park.
I remember there used to be a giant size advertisement of F&N on the side of one of the HDB blocks. Highly visible if you are coming from Alexandra road towards havelock road. OK, there also use to be an O Peh Hak (leaves) Fried Hokkien Mee in one of the corner coffess shop but think extinct liaoz since 2 decades ago.

The teochew porridge stall is damm expensive. Maybe because of the Andy Lau posing there photos on the wall. Remember this plump guy and the middle age aunty with a thick black spectacles counting the empty plates before paying. Knn, sometimes like aga aga one.

The infamous block 51. The F & N billboard was a landmark.
Gangsters hangout very rowdy place my parents forbade us to venture anywhere near there especially at night.
The fried hokkien mee there was well known throughout Singapore.
Not sure when the porridge shops came about had no recollection of that stretch then.
Only rediscover that place for teochew porridge first time in the 90s.

I remember there used to be a giant size advertisement of F&N on the side of one of the HDB blocks. Highly visible if you are coming from Alexandra road towards havelock road. OK, there also use to be an O Peh Hak (leaves) Fried Hokkien Mee in one of the corner coffess shop but think extinct liaoz since 2 decades ago.

The teochew porridge stall is damm expensive. Maybe because of the Andy Lau posing there photos on the wall. Remember this plump guy and the middle age aunty with a thick black spectacles counting the empty plates before paying. Knn, sometimes like aga aga one.

fredteo

Fredteo gor-gor, I also from Margaret Drive Primary School enter 1973 left 1978. My time principal is an angmoh lady Mrs Quinn or something sound like queen. Don't know why my time school has many Indians. So you must also be staying in Q'town area.

Yes, my family has moved from Prinsep Street to Queenstown in 1959 and I have been staying in Queenstown since. During my primary school years, there were many Chinese and most of my friends were living at Margaret Drive. Do not understand why the government had to demolish all those blocks along Margaret Drive and forced all my childhood and school friends to move away. The long and large vacant plots of land along Margaret Drive have been left vacant for about 40 years now and most memorable landmarks have been erased along with my friends.

fredteo

Queenstown was started in the 50s. Around mid-50s several blocks had been up stretching from Margaret Drive and Strathmore Ave all the way to Alexandra Rd. Tanglin Halt comes in later. And Bukit Ho Swee only after the fire (late 50's).

Hi Fook Seng,
Are you Wong Fook Seng who was also studying at Margaret Drive Primary School (MDPS). You were a little chubby boy and lived right across MDPS in the SIT two-storey terrace, right?

Fook Seng

fredteo said:
Hi Fook Seng,
Are you Wong Fook Seng who was also studying at Margaret Drive Primary School (MDPS). You were a little chubby boy and lived right across MDPS in the SIT two-storey terrace, right?

How to answer such a question? Even if I am who you say I am, I did not study in Margaret Drive.

Conqueror

SAFRA Going To Be Gone

Ghim Moh / Farrer ? Far apart buddy.

Normally, I bypass ABC and go straight to Bukit Merah food centre.

Oh yah, one more thing I need to add, the SAFRA building at Bukit Merah is already half torn down. The semi circle looking entrance is already gone.

bukit-merah-safra2.jpg

Re: SAFRA Going To Be Gone

Thankd everyone for contributing the pics plus the info of thid old town call queenstown. Sad to see so many place gone. 10 storey is my last stronghold. Used to work in great malaysia textile during the weekends and school holidays. Pay was 13 dollar per day for 8 hours work. Yes, i carry rolls of textile from the store to the production line.

Re: SAFRA Going To Be Gone

Yes, my family has moved from Prinsep Street to Queenstown in 1959 and I have been staying in Queenstown since. During my primary school years, there were many Chinese and most of my friends were living at Margaret Drive. Do not understand why the government had to demolish all those blocks along Margaret Drive and forced all my childhood and school friends to move away. The long and large vacant plots of land along Margaret Drive have been left vacant for about 40 years now and most memorable landmarks have been erased along with my friends.

So you're still in Q'town? My mom and bro kenna enblock so moved to Tanglin Halt 10 storey new flats the one with Shing Shong.

Thankd everyone for contributing the pics plus the info of thid old town call queenstown. Sad to see so many place gone. 10 storey is my last stronghold. Used to work in great malaysia textile during the weekends and school holidays. Pay was 13 dollar per day for 8 hours work. Yes, i carry rolls of textile from the store to the production line.

Factory girls then happening or not?