• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 2 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

DREAMorACTION

Haha. So funny. I can just imagine that picture now. Bro, I'm also sticking mine out now :p :p :p hehe. Ok, just joking

Btw, for security film, while it's a good idea, but please don't paste such security film all over the car. This is crucial, because in the event of an accident (touch wood), and if the civil defense ever need to break the glass/windows to access for rescue purposes, these film will delay their rescue time. Cheers

The guy i know closed down already else this will become another standard in all my cars. Its so good that my wife and son can be sticking out their tongues at me
but i cannot see(yes they did). I have a habit of waving thanks to people when they let me pass but wife told me not to when in that car, as they can never see inside. One time i was guiding my wife in another car and i was using this car in front, all the gestures, she could not see, only those where i rolled down the windows and pointed.

DREAMorACTION

Hehe. I have a suggestion. U paste those angry bird stickers on your kimchi ... Paste a lot of that white angry bird. I guess u know what the white bird's secret weapon is ... No matter how much bird shit is on your car, they will all be camouflaged :p save car wash money also hehehe

really , but i super dislike bird shit on my car .....

geritan

Actually doesn't have to be 100% dark, just get the gold dust one from Vcool. (looks like the colour of the visor on Master Chief's helmet - HALO)
Cannot see in in the day, in the night, even worst as i used double layers for one of my cars, one normal and the other from Vcool. From inside can
see out but from outside, virtually impossible. I use it only for the back boot area, etc so unless you use a very powerful torch light, else can't see
anything.

Is tis type legal? I got friend kena warning from TP. If kena again, fine will be rm 300.

crystal_tiong

Hehe. I have a suggestion. U paste those angry bird stickers on your kimchi ... Paste a lot of that white angry bird. I guess u know what the white bird's secret weapon is ... No matter how much bird shit is on your car, they will all be camouflaged :p save car wash money also hehehe

Tsk Tsk Tsk .....

avalon74

This may become bad, check on the aircon wiring and if there was any new equipment/appliance that was installed. Normally last in first out when troubleshooting electrical stuff. Get an electrician to double check.

Thanks to all comments.. not sure why it happened since I did not install anything new..
when I am away only fridge & alarm drawing power..
If trip again will inform Setia but expect long troubleshooting process..

sgtsk

Is tis type legal? I got friend kena warning from TP. If kena again, fine will be rm 300.

Vicom inspector failed my car once for having a darker tint. Looking at a lot of cars at the moment, the tint I had was lighter than many of the cars in Sg.

marineblue911

Bro avalon74,

Just a thought. My bro-in-law's place in Malaysia had a leak in the water tank in the roof and it was shorting out the wires in the ceiling, esp the one leading to the fan on the second floor landing. So the power kept tripping but had to really troubleshoot to find that out.

Suggest you turn off all the individual circuit breakers at both the second floor and the main one at the ground floor. Then turn on the main ELCB (the large circuit breaker on the ground floor). Then slowly turn on each breaker one by one. See if any trips. Then try turning on the upstairs breakers again one at a time to see which line is tripping.

This should be able to at least figure out which floor or line is causing the trip. Then its easier to find out the appliance or cause of it.

Cheers

Investor

For those who are looking around for their dream home in Iskandar Johor, don't miss the iProperty.com EXPO International Collection at the exclusive Sands Expo & Convention Centre on the 20-22 April.

Some featured developers include Mah Sing Properties, UEM Land, Horizon Hills Development, OZ Property Group, ECG Holdings, TSR Ocean Park, Mudra Tropika, Dijaya Corporation, CTL Group, Elite Forward, Hatten International, and Mahabuilders.

Here's the link http://expo.iproperty.com/expo/sands_expo_convention_centre_singapore2/

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Usually, before a robbery, the motorcyclist will have driven past the car once or twice to take a quick glance to see if it has 'potential'. At 70% tinted & at his speed, he has difficulty to decipher how many people are in the car & where is the handbag put. My friend has also claimed it is harder to smash tinted film but I am not sure how true this claim is.......Anyway she put full tinted after the case, and intends to give kopi money if stopped by police....haha

Agree, recon first before doing anything. The trick is to spot such kind of activity first and protect yourself or leave the area immediately.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Haha. So funny. I can just imagine that picture now. Bro, I'm also sticking mine out now :p :p :p hehe. Ok, just joking

Btw, for security film, while it's a good idea, but please don't paste such security film all over the car. This is crucial, because in the event of an accident (touch wood), and if the civil defense ever need to break the glass/windows to access for rescue purposes, these film will delay their rescue time. Cheers

Hahaha. Yes, It also depends on the use, they are not meant to be 100% unbreakable even the bullet proof ones and most of the guys have heavier equipment which will take care of the doors easily without even using hydraulics.
The trick is not to use the darkest one nor the thickest. Its about using the right type for the right job. The gold dust from Vcool is sufficiently reflective enough for the would be attacker to comb his own hair.

We also don't put it on all windows but the critical areas. Definitely the lighter and only single layer, front wind screen, just regular. Always do solar film until it gets to the edge of being illegal, then stop. :wink:

Avonup

Bro avalon74,

Just a thought. My bro-in-law's place in Malaysia had a leak in the water tank in the roof and it was shorting out the wires in the ceiling, esp the one leading to the fan on the second floor landing. So the power kept tripping but had to really troubleshoot to find that out.

Suggest you turn off all the individual circuit breakers at both the second floor and the main one at the ground floor. Then turn on the main ELCB (the large circuit breaker on the ground floor). Then slowly turn on each breaker one by one. See if any trips. Then try turning on the upstairs breakers again one at a time to see which line is tripping.

This should be able to at least figure out which floor or line is causing the trip. Then its easier to find out the appliance or cause of it.

Cheers

Had saw someone done it in another way. He switch-off all appliances and power switches and switch-on all individual circuit breaker. Next, he switch-on all appliances and power switches one by one. The one that causes the trip is the problem child.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Don't get those which are too dark, the type of film used is also very important, how reflective is it, etc. Don't cover the front
windscreen and definitely not the front 2 windows with film that is too dark or too many layers. Leave the multi layering to the back.

The crooks tend to spot your car from 3 areas, from:

1. The back (windscreen to see whether its a male or female)
2. The rear side mirror, to observe if there are others with you
3. Those approaching from the front (more for rural areas)

Front, you cannot do much except not to display anything on the seat or even on the floor of the front passenger seat.
At least then your weakest blindspots are all covered to a certain degree by solar film.

Again, never rely on anything 100% for protection, once it has done its job (hold on for 2-3 blows), you should have turned on all
your lights and sound your horn before the 2nd blow struck. When passing by areas where its dodgy and you see motorcyclist congregating
or someone looking at you for a longer time than they should, be more vigilant.

Note that most films are pretty useless against anything other than blunt trauma and even then bowling balls have been used even
in countries where we consider very safe to break windows. Its more to hide your things and add as a deterrence especially if its clear you have
solar film. The trick is to get something dark enough but not too dark.

Some folks though go all the way and just pay the fine everytime. Funny thing though, these are the very folks robbers would want to avoid.

Avonup

Dear all, a Malaysian friend just got robbed last week at Taman Century. Typical robbery:- motorcyclist off engine, glides down, smashes window and grabbed her handbag at the passenger seat.

One suggestion for all bros n sis to consider is to install tinted glass in the car. First, it is supposedly harder to smash the windows (dunno how true) and secondly, potential criminals cant view the interior of the car so easily to decide if the driver is a 'gd' target. I will be getting mine done soon, for everyone's info.

PS: The police inspector was more interested in sweet talking my friend, rather than spending his energy to catch the robbers! Haiz...

Some time ago, my wife sling handbag was snatched at Sentosa near the Shell petrol station. The motorbike was trailing us and minute she came off the car, the bike came pass us and snatch her bag. Understand Sentosa is not a safe area. Was told by a agent that sentosa is marked orange i.e. not safe. Be careful.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Had saw someone done it in another way. He switch-off all appliances and power switches and switch-on all individual circuit breaker. Next, he switch-on all appliances and power switches one by one. The one that causes the trip is the problem child.

Agree, i do that when troubleshooting but also i tend to turn off aircon or sources of heavy usage first. That way, it is easier to find out rather than to keep having trips while checking. Also, sometimes after a thunderstorm or a powertrip, the main breaker is still too hot to push back. Let it be for 30 minutes and then try again.

There is also a reset switch, on and off at regular intervals have been informed to press there to test it for safety reasons. The ground floor (first floor to us Singaporeans) is always the main hub. If your power trips on the ground floor, normally its definitely on the ground floor board. But if you are on the 2nd floor, the ground floor is the master in most if not all cases. So if you tried it and it doesn't work, then try the board on the ground floor. Leave the items and circuit breakers that are tripped on the 2nd floor and turn back the switch on the ground floor. Then start troubleshooting from the ground up with last in first out as the troubleshooting method. (works for me, may differ for you)

Also helps to have those cheap electronic test pens that detect current, etc in walls and ALWAYS demand for a architectura wiring diagram from the developer if you plan to add additional points, lights or tweak certain points. Having a fire extinguisher is a good option to have in a building as well as in cars.

Especially the dry power based ones, can be used for a WIDE variety of purposes other than putting out fires...
http://www.davidfhamilton.co.uk/Images/fs001.gif

Its always good to check the cabling with a certified electrician. I had a friend who insisted on buying a place where none of us think its good (famous developer). Electrician kept trying to troubleshoot, etc. Here are the things he found:

1. Back room and maid room - No power was ever connected to the wall socket.
2. Lights tripped every other day
3. Auto gate fuse burn out every month

Turns out that the wiring guy was too much in a rush and wired lots of things together
without using enough insulation, etc.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro avalon74,

Cheers

Agree, this is a good way. Thanks a lot for sharing :smile:
Its always good to find out earlier than later, power trips are sometimes life savers and early indication of something is wrong. Always err on the side of caution when it comes to electricity.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Is it safe to cummute everyday frm singapore back to jb via jb cab after 11pm from ciq? Any potential risk?

Best to call a cab when you are there and don't use the cab at the taxi stand unless its regular and you know the guy.
I would do this (but costly), take a yellow JOHOR cab from the ROCHOR taxi stand, it can send you back directly to your
place as long as its not too far away.

What i always do:

1. If going back to Singapore, use neither private cars nor vans at the taxi stand or when people are touting. If you must, then use those who
have a namecard stating the business or car/van pooling. Keep the card with you, always when using their services. As a general rule, I NEVER
use private cars that people are touting near the Singapore taxi stand. If you are bound for Rochor, then any licensed taxi will do. If you want to
go direct to your home, then use a Singapore taxi like Comfort, etc. Ask them for the rate to your destination and confirm they know your home/hotel, etc.
Then board.

When i drop friends at taxi stand,i always make it a point to be seen by the driver to be writing down the cab number and leave only after they drove off.
Did this for every country where i drove.

2. The same applies if you want to get home from Rochor, take the Yellow Johore cab and ask first if he knows the place, haggle and then then board.

Exceptional cases:
When in doubt in any cab, even if you do not have a line, pretend you can get a signal (or the batt isn't dead) and call home on your mobile and jokingly say,

I am in this cab (colour, description, car license number, etc) with this nice uncle (description) coming back. Then casually pretend the person on the phone
asking the name of the road you are on and then repeat it to the phone.

When in serious doubt, ask to get off at a gas station or police station. Remember cabs have been hijacked before, even in Singapore where recently a cabbie
was killed after taking up a passenger from Sembawang. Always be vigilant.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Vicom inspector failed my car once for having a darker tint. Looking at a lot of cars at the moment, the tint I had was lighter than many of the cars in Sg.

Sometimes its also not the darkness of the tint but the amount of light that can get through. Some darker looking ones surprisingly lets in more visible light than some lighter ones. Always
confirm with the solar film guy and use those who have done it for SG cars.

2bFree

Which breaker is constantly tripping? The main unit or the individual banks? If it is solely the ones that are running to the 2 A/C units then likely you have a ground fault. Warning, this is high current and voltage and will cause electric shock so if you do not know what you area doing, best to leave it to the professionals to troubleshoot.

You can also check the main black fuse outside the home where the electrical counter is located to make sure it is seated properly. Mine was slightly dislodged and caused intermittent trips previously.

------------------------------
Originally Posted by avalon74
Just back from SEG over weekend.. the circuit breakers keeps tripping through out the night though just turn on the 2 aircons like I did all the time..
Any one had such experience before?

Google & found 3 main causes
1. Circuit overload
2. Short circuit
3. Ground fault

Dun think its overload since same appliance in use, dunno how much will it take to troubleshoot..
btw, will it help if I use a higher rated fuse?

Status
Not open for further replies.