• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Young charity volunteers pick ang mos over Sporns

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Young charity volunteers pick ang mos ov</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>metalslug84 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jul-9 8:59 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>35904.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>'Pick and choose' attitude of young charity volunteers a big disappointment

pick_and_choose_attitude_of_young_charity_volunteers_a-thumbnail.gif

These fund raisers seemed to choose Caucasians as target donors over locals, and did not even thank STOMPer Wei Wei and her family when they made a donation.

Wei Wei said:

"I was with my three kids along Orchard Road yesterday afternoon and saw some fund raising activities along the pedestrian walk in front of Takashimaya.

"I thought it would be good to educate my kids on Charity so I pull out three $10 notes and ask them to drop into the can at the booth.

" But they did not even get the little flower souvenir that confirms our donation in return. Instead, the boys told us it's out of stock.

"We were saddened at the attitudes of these boys manning the station. They were restless and did not even thank us for our donation.

"Such cavalier attitude! These kids are not even willing to perform their volunteer work.

"Worst Still, some of the volunteers were choosing their targets - only Caucasians. But they were shoo-ed away as they approached them.

"We waited for one hour and observe the volunteers, while taking their pictures, to educate my kids not to behave the same.

"Why did Children's Cancer Foundation not do proper interviews?

"If kids love to do donation drives, why do they target only Caucasians for donations? When we walk into the booth to make donation, we did not even receive a word of thanks."

"My kids said: 'Mum if we dye our hair like Caucasians, they will treat us different.'"
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Ang Moh................??? what is the chorus line? ha ha ha ha ha even the younger girls know....heh heh heh

Volunteers my arse!

These kids are "FORCED" to do the YOG jobs. Cheap labour.

That is why their attitude is such.

Everything in Singapore is PLASTIC and fake.......just about everything from economy to GDP to CPF to GLC to EDUCATION to SLEAGUE......everything is and can be fixed......even OPPOSITION can be fixed.

<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

we did it to ourselves. kids/teens are smart, why waste time with locals who don't donate?

just ask anyone who has been a flag day volunteer what demographic group tends to donate more...

also, the parent could have been more discerning and looked for a volunteer who seemed genuinely interested in fund raising (there are always a few 'black sheep' amongst the bo chup teens who actually do care about the charity)

the parent was more interested in instant gratification... whip out 3 $10 bills to give his kids a quick lesson (albeit a good one).

simple moral of the story here: look before you leap/(give).

I found this report hilarious.
I'm constantly trying to avoid salesmen trying to sell me charity and here they are vounteering to buy these salesmens' product and got rejected.

I found this report hilarious.
I'm constantly trying to avoid salesmen trying to sell me charity and here they are vounteering to buy these salesmens' product and got rejected.

Of all things to complain about, why is this person complaining:confused:
Who likes to be pestered by beggars?

In the old days there were no beggars in Spore.
That all changed with the appearance of the tissue sellers , after that the doors were opened to the condo time share reps, insurance salesman, credit card salesman, monks, school sponsored begging,....

Of all things to complain about, why is this person complaining:confused:
Who likes to be pestered by beggars?

In the old days there were no beggars in Spore.
That all changed with the appearance of the tissue sellers , after that the doors were opened to the condo time share reps, insurance salesman, credit card salesman, monks, school sponsored begging,....
And nowadays the latest - charity salesmen whose first words are to tell us not to worry and that they are not selling anything.

I've seen alot of "prospects" just walk on by ignoring them :D

Maybe the same thing will happen during the next election, people will ignore the PAP & look towards the opposition:confused:

How to ignore the PAP, when they give 'door gifts' (GST credits etc), in some places you get MacDonald's breakfast & Abalone soup, before the 66.6% goes to the polling station...
Accept the door gifts with a smile and mark the opposition party box with a grin.

I've learnt that it's better to walk past them and ignore them even though it appears rude.
If you stop and try to explain why you are not donating, they will pepper your every statement with a "why".
"I don't wish to donate."
"Why?"
"I don't have any money."
"Why?"
"I already donate directly to NCSS."
"Why?"
"I don't like to donate to salesmen earning commission."
"Why?"
"You should go and ask rich people to donate."
"Why?"
"Knnbccb."
"Why?"

'Pick and choose' attitude of young charity volunteers a big disappointment

Wei Wei said:

" But they did not even get the little flower souvenir that confirms our donation in return. Instead, the boys told us it's out of stock.

"We were saddened at the attitudes of these boys manning the station. They were restless and did not even thank us for our donation.

Charity is giving without expecting anything in return - not even a token or a thanks. The lady is not teaching the spirit of charity correctly to her daughter.

"Such cavalier attitude! These kids are not even willing to perform their volunteer work.

These kids are forced to do the collection by their school, whether they like it or not.

"Why did Children's Cancer Foundation not do proper interviews?

What kind of interview does the lady want? Maybe the Children's Cancer Foundation should also engage private investigators to do a background check on each and every kid.

"My kids said: 'Mum if we dye our hair like Caucasians, they will treat us different.'"

Just because the lady did not get a thank you for her $30, she is now making this a racial issue. Seriously, things will be better if she kept her $30 or spend them on her kids.

I've learnt that it's better to walk past them and ignore them even though it appears rude.
If you stop and try to explain why you are not donating, they will pepper your every statement with a "why".

I just give a smile, shake my head & walk on by. :)

Have saved alot of time & energy that way.

Remember that it's your money & you don't have to justify to anyone what you do with it. While the ones that should feel guilty are those fat cat PAP MPs.