• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You voted for PAP

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>BART (cfkm) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Oct-9 10:06 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>22498.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>By fuckwarezone forumer Ixnay
You voted for PAP, and you get to pay 7% GST instead of 5%.
You voted for PAP, and they peg power to the price of oil even when
80% of Singapore’s power comes from natural gas.
You voted for PAP and your CPF money gets lock up for another 3 years
more than the original.
You voted for PAP, and your ministers demanded a 85% pay raises.
You voted for PAP, and your job went to a foreigner.
You voted for PAP, and your neighbors become foreigners.
You voted for PAP, and your elderly gets to enjoy the dignity of
employment by cleaning toilets, scavenging trash bins for aluminum
cans and selling tissue papers.
You voted for PAP, and your minsters tell you it is your fault that
Mas Selemat escaped.
You voted for PAP, and your government would rather lose millions at
sinking foreign banks rather than to save you from starvation.
You voted for PAP, and not only do your ministers literally spit on
you, but their scions tell you to “get out of their elite uncaring
faces”.
You voted for PAP, and you are amply rewarded with ERPs at your doorstep.
You voted for PAP, and Lee Hsien Loong pledged to fix the oppositions.
You voted for PAP, and you got a Division 3 Prime Minister who needs 2
mentors to hold his hand.
You voted for PAP, and you got a large serving of Mee Siam Mai Hum, at
your own expense.
You voted for PAP, and your salary stayed stagnant for more than a
decade while the cost of living shoot sky high.
You voted for PAP, and you see the foreign kids get a place in school
while you child get zilch.
You voted for PAP, and you find that your public transport is no
longer “public”.
You voted for PAP, and your ministers want to house 1,500 foreign
workers right smacked in the middle of a peaceful neighborhood without
any concerns for you.
You voted for PAP, and the government readily reward your men with
more hookers than they can ever poked in Geylang.
You voted for PAP, and your government happily demands $5000 ang pao
from you when your maid runaway or get pregnant even though you had
nothing to do with it.
You voted for PAP, and your government glorify themselves with Olympic
sized banners of their ghastly faces to scare away ghosts during the
Chinese 7th month, courtesy of your S&C contribution to your town
councils which is suppose to go toward making life in your
neighborhood better.
You voted for PAP, and they protect the interests of the petrol
companies by making you pump 3/4 tank before you cross the causeway.
You voted for PAP, and they see nothing wrong with fining you for
driving a foreign registered car into Singapore.
You voted for PAP, and you discover that world-class super talented
multi-million dollar minister with all the state resources and
manpowers cannot even catch a limping man in this tiny island state
after more than half a year.
You voted for PAP, and you realise that your MP’s job is not to speak
out for you in parliament, but to tell you to tighten the belt, bite
the bullet, eat lesser and work longer.
You voted for PAP, and your kids have to stay with you till 40 years
old, as they cannot afford the cheapest “public” housing.
You voted for PAP, and your government tells you that their
interpretation of subsidies is the profit that they forgo making,
instead of actually paying part of the cost.
You voted for PAP, and everyone in Singapore suddenly got elevated to
Swiss standard of living, except you, and everyone around you.
You voted for PAP, and your neighbors can sell your home for you
(en-block), whether you like it or not.
You voted for PAP, and your organs automatically belongs to the
government (HOTA).
You voted for PAP, and you have to pay administration fee to use your
own money when you are sick (Medisave).
You voted for PAP, and your sons get to spend 2 or more years as free
labour in National Service and 13 more years as reservists, so that
the foreigners can have a safe country to work in.
You voted for PAP, and you found out that each of your son is worth
$30k, because that is what you are going to get if your son die while
serving the foreigners.
You voted for PAP, and you get a grand party every year on 9th August
celebrating more salaries for PAP.Not everyone is invited though, you
will still have to ballot for it.
You voted for PAP, and they tell you that there is a corner called
Hong Lim Park where you can go to talk all you want, other than that,
shut up unless you have something nice to say.
You voted for PAP, and you get a world-bottom “nation-building” press
serving you the latest propagandas, regardless of truth.
You voted for PAP, and in order to buy a car, you have to first pay
for a piece of paper that cost more than the car itself.
You voted for PAP, and you must vote for PAP! You cannot even think
about not voting for PAP. Because a certain inaccurate old man said
that he will call in the army if you don’t.
So vote for PAP. Read the list above again, and vote for PAP. Go
ahead, vote for PAP. More good years eh? Vote for PAP. For Swiss
standard of living. Vote for PAP. Mee Siam Mai Hum ok?
Source: fuckwarezone Forum
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Some of us never got a chance to vote...

Some of us voted for opposition but the majority of Sporeans are selfish.

For years I would hear people telling me "why rock the boat?" Anti-PAP sentiments were not popular lunch time topics.

When you have a parasite its better to get rid of it early on before it has a chance to breed & weaken you. In Spores case the infestation could be critical:rolleyes:

Referring to the first post

I believe you proved your point about why you should not vote PAP.

Now you should tell us why you should vote Opposition.

I will talk about the WP instead as I do not know what to say about the SDA.

In the WP website wp.sg, under their Statement of Principles of Political Engagement, it was stated that:
Whenever the Workers’ Party disagrees with policies and laws of the ruling party, it highlights these during and off election periods to increase voters’ awareness and to hold the government to account.

The key is 'whenever the Workers' Party disagrees'.

If there is no 'disagreement', there is no 'highlight'.

So if you vote for the Opposition (WP) out of frustration with the PAP, your frustration will continue if the WP is in agreement with the PAP.

For example, CPF Life. If you disagree with the concept of CPF Life and you wish to signal the PAP by voting for the WP, then you are in for a rude surprise because the WP is in agreement with the PAP on the basic need for CPF Life (http://www.wp.sg/wordpress/2009/02/cpf-savings-as-retirement-funding/). The WP is concerned about one detail of implementation. That makes a big difference to you if you think your frustration will disappear if you vote Opposition.

Therefore whatever you dislike about the PAP in the above post quoted by the threadstarter, you need to make sure that the Opposition (WP) also dislike it, otherwise it makes no difference to you if you vote against PAP.

The only solution is for the Oppositions to detail out their value, not in motherhood statements, but in specific to the points of frustrations faced by Singaporeans - foreign talent, inflation, CPF, etc and see where they stand in relation to you before you decide on a knee-jerk or simplistic reaction that does not add to your quality of life.

Opposition tactics today play upon the frustrations of Singaporeans with the PAP. That people are frustrated is without doubt as the quality of Opposition is not relevant - any Ahmad, Ah Singh or Ah Tan can get good votes.

At least for the WP, you can derive their stand from what they post and thus vote accordingly.

Hopefully the other parties can do the same.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>BART (cfkm) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Oct-9 10:06 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>22498.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>By fuckwarezone forumer Ixnay
more than the original.
Mas Selemat escaped.

your own expense.

What a long load of typical Sinkie complaints.

I never voted. Kena walkover. Then I migrated. Boo.

:oIo:

:oIo:

As usual another motherlode of KPKB from the Ah Bengs. Sigh. When will these dummies grow up and understand you can't vote a regime out.

Actually you can because the voting process is democratic.

It is important that the Oppositions know they can only blame the voters and the PAP so much.

It is more effective for the Oppositions to give these voters good reasons.

The question is: are these voters asking too much of the Oppositions to act their act right?

Apparently it is.

more than the original.
Mas Selemat escaped.
You voted for PAP, and your government would rather lose millions at
sinking foreign banks rather than to save you from starvation.
You voted for PAP, and not only do your ministers literally spit on
you, but their scions tell you to “get out of their elite uncaring
faces”.
You voted for PAP, and you are amply rewarded with ERPs at your doorstep.
You voted for PAP, and Lee Hsien Loong pledged to fix the oppositions.
You voted for PAP, and you got a Division 3 Prime Minister who needs 2
mentors to hold his hand.
your own expense.
You voted for PAP, and your salary stayed stagnant for more than a
decade while the cost of living shoot sky high.
You voted for PAP, and you see the foreign kids get a place in school
while you child get zilch.
You voted for PAP, and you find that your public transport is no
longer “public”.
You voted for PAP, and your ministers want to house 1,500 foreign
workers right smacked in the middle of a peaceful neighborhood without
any concerns for you.
You voted for PAP, and the government readily reward your men with
more hookers than they can ever poked in Geylang.
You voted for PAP, and your government happily demands $5000 ang pao
from you when your maid runaway or get pregnant even though you had
nothing to do with it.
You voted for PAP, and your government glorify themselves with Olympic
sized banners of their ghastly faces to scare away ghosts during the
Chinese 7th month, courtesy of your S&C contribution to your town
councils which is suppose to go toward making life in your
neighborhood better.
You voted for PAP, and they protect the interests of the petrol
companies by making you pump 3/4 tank before you cross the causeway.
You voted for PAP, and they see nothing wrong with fining you for
driving a foreign registered car into Singapore.
You voted for PAP, and you discover that world-class super talented
multi-million dollar minister with all the state resources and
manpowers cannot even catch a limping man in this tiny island state
after more than half a year.
You voted for PAP, and you realise that your MP’s job is not to speak
out for you in parliament, but to tell you to tighten the belt, bite
the bullet, eat lesser and work longer.
You voted for PAP, and your kids have to stay with you till 40 years
old, as they cannot afford the cheapest “public” housing.
You voted for PAP, and your government tells you that their
interpretation of subsidies is the profit that they forgo making,
instead of actually paying part of the cost.
You voted for PAP, and everyone in Singapore suddenly got elevated to
Swiss standard of living, except you, and everyone around you.
You voted for PAP, and your neighbors can sell your home for you
(en-block), whether you like it or not.
You voted for PAP, and your organs automatically belongs to the
government (HOTA).
You voted for PAP, and you have to pay administration fee to use your
own money when you are sick (Medisave).
You voted for PAP, and your sons get to spend 2 or more years as free
labour in National Service and 13 more years as reservists, so that
the foreigners can have a safe country to work in.
You voted for PAP, and you found out that each of your son is worth
$30k, because that is what you are going to get if your son die while
serving the foreigners.
You voted for PAP, and you get a grand party every year on 9th August
celebrating more salaries for PAP.Not everyone is invited though, you
will still have to ballot for it.
You voted for PAP, and they tell you that there is a corner called
Hong Lim Park where you can go to talk all you want, other than that,
shut up unless you have something nice to say.
You voted for PAP, and you get a world-bottom “nation-building” press
serving you the latest propagandas, regardless of truth.
You voted for PAP, and in order to buy a car, you have to first pay
for a piece of paper that cost more than the car itself.
You voted for PAP, and you must vote for PAP! You cannot even think
about not voting for PAP. Because a certain inaccurate old man said
that he will call in the army if you don’t.
So vote for PAP. Read the list above again, and vote for PAP. Go
ahead, vote for PAP. More good years eh? Vote for PAP. For Swiss
standard of living. Vote for PAP. Mee Siam Mai Hum ok?
Source: fuckwarezone Forum
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

getting a little bit more sold to the idea...

will consider carefully what to do with my next vote...

Anyway if my posts above offend anyone, please ignore it.

They are not intended to offend.

They are placed there in the hope that the Oppositions will give 'us' good reasons to vote them in.

'Us' refers to the 66.6%.

'Us' requires a different strategy than that for the 33.4%.

Actually you can because the voting process is democratic.

It is important that the Oppositions know they can only blame the voters and the PAP so much.

It is more effective for the Oppositions to give these voters good reasons.

The question is: are these voters asking too much of the Oppositions to act their act right?

Apparently it is.

I think what he meant is that you vote a government in for 5 years, what if during that term, they introduce policies you disagree with vehemently? The solution is to have something like a citizen-initiated referedum. Gather a number of signatures (e.g. 100,000) and the government must call a referendum on their policies. What if there is no such thing? Then the citizens need to fight for their rights and guard them zealously. If the citizens are not passionate about such issues that affect them (note that it is ok to be indifferent about policies but not ok to be bochup when it comes to shackling you, telling you what you can/cannot think and say), they do not deserve any respect.

Remember that the government is there to serve the people and not the other way around. If they are in it for the perks and benefits only, they should not be there in the first place.

take out the dragon's dens....

we'll slay the dragons..

I think what he meant is that you vote a government in for 5 years, what if during that term, they introduce policies you disagree with vehemently? The solution is to have something like a citizen-initiated referedum. Gather a number of signatures (e.g. 100,000) and the government must call a referendum on their policies. What if there is no such thing? Then the citizens need to fight for their rights and guard them zealously. If the citizens are not passionate about such issues that affect them (note that it is ok to be indifferent about policies but not ok to be bochup when it comes to shackling you, telling you what you can/cannot think and say), they do not deserve any respect.

Remember that the government is there to serve the people and not the other way around. If they are in it for the perks and benefits only, they should not be there in the first place.

I acknowledge that the world of politics is far more complex than what we citizens can ever know.

I am not certain if citizen-power is arrived at unanimously and not manipulated from without. Where revolts happened and the mastermind was conveniently hundred of miles away. Only to appear at the right moment to partake of the benefits of the chaos.

What we have is the value of a one-man one-vote system. There are two ways that can impact this system: change the value of the vote OR change the value of the man. With the entry of the new citizens, the value of the man has changed. The system today is different from that of the past GE.

We are also looking at a stable period of the PAP's life and perhaps this accounts for the ineffectiveness of the opposition.

My guess is as good or maybe even inferior to yours if yours is from a practitioner point of view.

Be that as it may, it is hoped that the opposition will create the type of value that the 66.6% will understand.

Not that it will make much of a dent in the PAP's armour. But perhaps one or two more worthwhile opposition will emerge to add to the value of LTK in Parliament.

One can hope that a charismatic leader emerges from the opposition's rank. That is not likely to happen.

Apparently it is.

PAP has set the bar very low. It won't take much for the opposition to win peoples vote.

If opposition can promise to: pay cut of MPs pay, return CPF, jobs for locals, control public transport costs, reduce public utilities cost, make PAP pay taxes, reduce length or abolish NS, abolish Temasek, reasoable HDB cost, ....

If they can promise one or more I'm sure they'll get enough votes to topple the PAP :rolleyes:

The present government has forgotten that they exist to serve the people. Or perhaps they never thought that in the first place.

I am under no illusions that the alternative parties will do a better job than the present government. In fact, I have real concerns that they will not in many areas. Do we really believe that they will stop having the highest ministers' salaries in the world when they take power? I really doubt it, people are still people after all. They will get the best benefit for themselves.

What I envision is having a strong opposition presence in parliament, such that the government will be accountable for every thing that they do or say. The government will be forced by the criticism and oversight of the strong opposition presence to have policies that will benefit the citizens / voters. For key matters, they will have to hold a referendum. The citizens' come first, and the ordinary citizens are always looked after no matter which party is in power.