• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

You have more freedom in Singapore than Australia

wendypoh

You have more freedom in Singapore than Australia.. because you can swear all you want, in English, Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and Hokkien in Singapore, when in Australia, you'll be fine for swearing!

http://www.news.com.au/national/que...uisance-offences/story-e6frfkvr-1225880162115

Oh sh*t, swearers hit with $100 fines

THOUSANDS of people could be slapped with fines for offences that would never have attracted police attention in the past under sweeping reforms to police powers.

Experts fear swearing in public, with a fine of $100, will be a major money spinner and could become the weapon of choice for frustrated officers on the beat.

Queensland Premier Anna Bligh announced the new powers for the state's police to issue on-the-spot notices for public nuisance offences.

Ms Bligh said the move would increase efficiency, save time and fast-track more important matters in the courts by stopping minor public nuisance offenders from clogging the justice system.

She said the measures, targeting offences such as public urination, disorderly conduct and abusive language, would save the Government between $18 million and $30 million.

The power to issue on-the-spot fines of between $100 and $300 could result in public nuisance prosecutions soaring 20 per cent, based on figures from a 12-month trial in South Brisbane and Townsville.

In 2008-2009 terms, that could see 5500 more people slapped with the offence across Queensland each year.

Ms Bligh said it was hard to estimate if the 20 per cent increase would hold true right across the state.

She attributed it to police having more time "on the beat" because the on-the-spot powers saved hours compared to the time spent processing an arrest.

But an evaluation of the trial by Griffith University said evidence existed that, given on-the-spot powers, police were more likely to issue tickets in situations unlikely to be considered criminal before the courts.

The NSW Ombudsman said the problem particularly concerned police fining people for swearing, saying: "The words spoken would not be considered offensive if the matter was to be determined by a court."

Queensland Council of Civil Liberties president Michael Cope said the powers were a concern when it came to offensive language and would see public nuisance offence rates soar.

"This will become the thing police just slap on someone whenever they aren't happy," Mr Cope said. "No one will fight them and ultimately people who are homeless or young will bear the brunt of this."

Trial figures showed 1 per cent of those charged had appealed.

Police Minister Neil Roberts said inappropriate behaviour in public places was not acceptable and would not be tolerated.

The legislation will be introduced to Parliament later this year, with the new powers to take effect by 2011.

Ash007

Misleading title, its up north in redneck country not where I am, Sydney. You can swear in Korean, Japanese, arabic, french, german etc etc, and the likely chance someone knows on the street is high here.

axe168

You have more freedom in Singapore than Australia.. because you can swear all you want, in English, Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and Hokkien in Singapore, when in Australia, you'll be fine for swearing!.

Bloody hell ! If you are right... I may throw eggs to the MPs during the meet-ppl- session ! Yahhooo !

fishbuff

qld govt is bankrupted and is looking at all sort of ways to get the money from the public. too bad it still have to pay welfare to those single mother teens staying in logan and ipswich, not to mention those jobless people that are on the dole.

redbull313

And that's why I say Australia is Singapore Part II. Very similar law, big brother watching you bullshit. No wonder so many idiots from Singapore choose Australia the government and law is almost the same. To hell with that.

neddy

You have more freedom in Singapore than Australia.. because you can swear all you want, in English, Mandarin, Malay, Tamil and Hokkien in Singapore, when in Australia, you'll be fine for swearing!

. . .

The legislation will be introduced to Parliament later this year, with the new powers to take effect by 2011.

Bloody hell! Revenue raising.

We have the right to remain silent.

I reckon that an easy solution is to erect a jail fence around the state, because everyone swear and do not carry much cash.

neddy

And that's why I say Australia is Singapore Part II. Very similar law, big brother watching you bullshit. No wonder so many idiots from Singapore choose Australia the government and law is almost the same. To hell with that.

How similar?
Everytime they pick something up from their Singapore holidays, Aussies shoot them down.

Meltdown

This proves that individuals in the State of Queensland no longer have the right to free speech and free expression.

It's only a matter of time when individuals for the entire country of Australia will lose their right to free speech.

Shame On You, Australia!!!

God Bless America where free speech is guaranteed by the 1st Amendment!

Aussie Prick

This proves that individuals in the State of Queensland no longer have the right to free speech and free expression.

It's only a matter of time when individuals for the entire country of Australia will lose their right to free speech.

Shame On You, Australia!!!

God Bless America where free speech is guaranteed by the 1st Amendment!

well Australia is alot more socialist but in the US they ban red light cameras because it violates privacy.

axe168

Huh? Who's watching me? The law here is relax lah.. I kena caught speeding.. challenged Vic Police to court in view of ambiguity and objected the 1month suspension.. now I continue to drive without paying for fine.. In SG, I probably go to jail & asset frozen till death.. :(

neddy

Huh? Who's watching me? The law here is relax lah.. I kena caught speeding.. challenged Vic Police to court in view of ambiguity and objected the 1month suspension.. now I continue to drive without paying for fine.. In SG, I probably go to jail & asset frozen till death.. :(

Good one!
I think it is more of a human element here in Australia. Something that the paranoid trolls will never understand or appreciate.

Aussie Prick

Then why do they call Australia the police state?

axe168

Then why do they call Australia the police state?

I dunno leh.. to me, this is a fantastic country !

I had 8 speeding tickets to date in Mel.. KNN, cameras everwhere.. the worst was kena caught by a snr sergeant on the road - 4 demerits, 1 month suspension & $400 fine :mad:, Bo-chup.. after 4months, I am still driving without paying the fine ! Previously, 5 appeals successful.. hehe, not too bad lah.. i am happy.

If i'm in SG, the 'HOME' team probably
a) lock me up,
b) freeze my assets..
c) force me to donate my organs
d) up my CPF retention..
e) call me a liar or terrorist !

Ash007

I dunno leh.. to me, this is a fantastic country !

I had 8 speeding tickets to date in Mel.. KNN, cameras everwhere.. the worst was kena caught by a snr sergeant on the road - 4 demerits, 1 month suspension & $400 fine :mad:, Bo-chup.. after 4months, I am still driving without paying the fine ! Previously, 5 appeals successful.. hehe, not too bad lah.. i am happy.

If i'm in SG, the 'HOME' team probably
a) lock me up,
b) freeze my assets..
c) force me to donate my organs
d) up my CPF retention..
e) call me a liar or terrorist !

Don't forget
d) Daft, ungrateful.

axe168

Don't forget