• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yaacob: Orchard Rd Flood Was A New Learning Experience For Me

SNAblog

A new learning experience for Yaacob? Wasn't there a serious flooding at the same Orchard/Scott Rd junction in 1984 which lead to the widening of the Stamford Canal? Yaacob is paid more than a million a year - much more than the United States president - and he is telling us that he is still under On-Job-Training as a minister? From the way he put it, he seems to be telling us to expect more cock-ups from him and his ministries as "new learning experiences". :mad:

800px-Yaacob.jpg

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1064320/1/.html

Govt to review canals across S'pore as part of effort against floods
By Jeremy Koh | Posted: 19 June 2010 1636 hrs

SINGAPORE : Following Wednesday's Orchard Road floods, the government will be reviewing all canals across Singapore to see if such floods can be prevented.

Environment and Water Resources Minister Yaacob Ibrahim said this on Saturday on the sidelines of a Mendaki event.

He added that it is a matter the government is taking "very seriously".

Dr Yaacob said the government will be reviewing all canals in Singapore to see what more can be done.

It will also look at whether the maintenance regime can be improved.

For example, the cleaning contracts for canals will be extended from three to five years so that contractors can invest in new technologies to clean the canals.

"Every event is a new learning experience for us. This rainfall was totally unexpected, I can be very honest about it. If you look at rainfall patterns, we've never seen such a pattern," said Dr Yaacob.

"Having said that, it means there are new things happening, so the approach we should be taking is to learn from this, improve upon it, and assure Singaporeans that we'll do our best to prevent this as much as possible," he added.

"The Marina Barrage works because when the rainfall came, we opened up six gates and the water flowed out and there was no flooding downtown. So had there not been a blockage, it'll be a very good system as far as we're concerned," he said.

Dr Yaacob said early investigations show that both sections of the Stamford Canal in Orchard Road are able to handle the storm surge, if not for the blockage in one of them. So this is one area that agencies like PUB and the National Environment Agency (NEA) will be looking into to prevent a future occurrence.

"The ministries responsible will have to take it up. On my part, PUB and NEA will do their part to improve this, (and) if we have to work with NParks, we'll work with NParks. The PUB will be going around, looking at which buildings are susceptible to such rainfall and see what we can do with them," said Dr Yaacob.

The minister also said the response by PUB and other agencies has been commendable, as they've done their best to help the businesses and people affected.

Asked about compensation for the damage, Dr Yaacob said the government will assist those affected as much as possible.

He also said that new buildings and construction in the area are not a contributing factor to the floods, contrary to what some believe. - CNA

That is the most cock excuse I have heard. If he doesn't know enough to do his job, he should step aside and let someone who does not need learning experience to take over.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
We pay our ministers millions for them to have new experiences, being honest and unexpected....definitely not being sorry or apologetic....

Singapore is an Island. As a Island should not have flood because water will be very fast flow out to the sea unless poor managment and planning. All building are above sea level so what is the problem. Unless Singapore like Holland below sea level that will be different.
Whole world will be laughing Singapore now.

ccchia

Why are we paying our minitoots and PM millions to "learn"? Shouldn't we be getting people who already know what to do, for the big bucks that we are paying?

These guys seem to be always learning. First it was French Cooking, then now, it is how to handle floods and inspecting of storm drains.

sinren67

Yaacob: Every time when there is a flood, we always to be blamed for not doing enough. But when there is no flood for decades, people will take for granted and say we chor bo lan, so might as well create an honest mistake so ppl won't take us (PUB) for granted. Never mind kena whack by public, but at least we keep and even create more jobs.

R

redlightmeansgo

Wow, they have graduated from making honest mistakes, to having new learning experiences.

I'd thought, when they found out that a man who hobbles on one leg, could actually scale a wall and swim across a huge body of water, that in itself was an education.

MIW never stop reinventing themselves.

Talking Donkey

Alfrescian (S)
Wow, they have graduated from making honest mistakes, to having new learning experiences.

I'd thought, when they found out that a man who hobbles on one leg, could actually scale a wall and swim across a huge body of water, that in itself was an education.

MIW never stop reinventing themselves.

HaHa,good one bro...now we shall see who is going to be the next minister to have a learning experience:p

hairylee

This minister was learning all these years no wonder his officials were caught off guard.
Very expensive OJT for this minister.
He was the one who say the Bukit Timah flood happens once in 50 years.
As far as i can recalled I experienced Bukit Timah flooding 3 times in my 50 years.

Logisex

It does not add up leh.............

PUB said the root cause is clogged drains and they will increase their frequency of clearing them - then how can this be a new learning expeinece since even a primary school kid knows that clogged drains lead to overflowing and the solution is simply clear it more often?

So what's new?

He already experienced "one new experience" in Bukit Timah not long ago, how many "new experience" does he need before he take action?

Boliao

The fact is that with LHL as PM, you can forget about ownership and accountability. Fat hope of any ministers taking responsibilities for their multimillion dollar failures.

With the most serious being Mas Selemat escape and yet LHL defended WKS aggressively, I am 100% certain that tiny winy case like Orchard flooding (even though it is repeated failure) will not even raise an eyebrow.

Yaacob will continue to relax one corner in his multimillion job and collect a fat pension reward at the end of his second term.

That's uniquely Singapore.
:oIo:

Watchman

The fact is that with LHL as PM, you can forget about ownership and accountability. Fat hope of any ministers taking responsibilities for their multimillion dollar failures.

They will again justify that this incident was one caused by .....

Time to UP Minister's pay again and everyone under the umbrella .

We should be thankful that he didn't say "Singaporeans are the weakest link in the fight against flooding".

Logisex

Next time if it floods in Raffles Place, will he also say its another new learning experience for him since the previous 2 floods did not happen there?

elephanto

PAPPIE MINITOOT'S 'HIGH FIVE' SWEARING-IN OATH:-
- Never complain
- Never explain
- Never apologise
- Never resign
- Always Move On !
:oIo:

wat hv u learned? ...

eating rojak in sg can kill ...

events dat r supposed 2 happen once in 50 yrs can actually happen ... n can happen mor than once in 50 yrs ...

blocked canals can cos floods ...

hv u learned enuff? ...