• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP won't contest in 2 GRCs

RonRon

THE Workers' Party (WP) is unlikely to contest in two group representation constituencies (GRCs) in the general election due by February 2012.

One is Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC, while the other is Ang Mo Kio GRC where a group of first-time WP candidates challenged the People's Action Party (PAP) team led by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong in the 2006 elections.

The two constituencies are no longer potential battlegrounds, as the WP has shut down its committee in charge of reaching out to voters in what it has designated the central area, which includes the Yio Chu Kang single-seat ward.

Area committees plan and conduct house visits in a designated area.

Members and volunteers on the central area committee have been re-deployed to the northern, eastern and northeastern areas, WP's organising secretary Yaw Shin Leong told The Straits Times.

However, the party still holds regular walkabouts at the three constituencies, he added.

Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

So WP wouldn't be going against WKS and LHL? I'm sadden by their decision as it means that they have no guts. How to expect such opposition to fight for Sinkie even if elected? They will only be bench warmers and collect pay.

Char_Azn

I think it's a wise decision for WP to concentrate on 1 GRC. If the last elections is anything to go by, the have the best chance among all the opposition party of grabbing a GRC. However this might also mean that we'll have uncontested ward again. :(

Hopefully the other opposition parties can fill up the gap

ahleebabasingaporethief

If whole of Singapore not contested in the coming Erections, all OPPOSITION PARTIES in Singapore can GO FUCK SPIDERS.

In other words, FUCKING HOPELESS.

BTW, the bye erections strategy is old and proven useless.

Internet Brigade

I think it's a wise decision for WP to concentrate on 1 GRC. If the last elections is anything to go by, the have the best chance among all the opposition party of grabbing a GRC. However this might also mean that we'll have uncontested ward again. :(

Nobody said they are concentrating on 1 GRC. They are spreading around to have a higher chance of becoming the best performing loser.

Sideswipe

Didn't PAP say SMC will be increased to 12, GRC sizes will be reduced which mean a few new GRC will appear.

expect major changes in the electoral map this GE.

ahleebabasingaporethief

So many mistake mad by THE SCUMS.

So many incidents of mis-doings.

So many arrogant MPs looking down on Singaporeans.

So many words putting Singaporeans down.

And the OPPOSITION are not capitalizing?

THE WHOLE OF SINGAPORE MUST BE CONTESTED IN THE UPCOMING ERECTIONS OR THE OPPOSITION PARTIES HAVE NO CREDIBILITY.

dunbluffme

Not easy to be an opposition candidates you know... U are being watched ...not surprising on surveillance...Very stressful one...u also have to walk your talk otherwise your big news will be everywhere by now...

But nevermind if more scholars join the governing party as moles for Opposition Party... Heeeheeeheee... maybe that is why no more active opposition members on the ground leow... Heeeheeeheee

So many mistake mad by THE SCUMS.

So many incidents of mis-doings.

So many arrogant MPs looking down on Singaporeans.

So many words putting Singaporeans down.

And the OPPOSITION are not capitalizing?

THE WHOLE OF SINGAPORE MUST BE CONTESTED IN THE UPCOMING ERECTIONS OR THE OPPOSITION PARTIES HAVE NO CREDIBILITY.

Perspective

If they no guts they wouldn't have gone in the 1st place. When they go they made a name for themselves, some opp and their supporters start to criticize them. Don't go means no guts. You can never pls Sporeans

popdod

If they no guts they wouldn't have gone in the 1st place. When they go they made a name for themselves, some opp and their supporters start to criticize them.

Don't go means no guts. You can never pls Sporeans

Hannor hannor.

If sinkies hab so much guts...they oledi joined opposition parties nong time ago
and make a difference
wont be keyboard warriors liao...

:biggrin: :p :biggrin:

HellAngel

1171885816_dbb7a02bcf_o.jpg
You think WP got guts meh?

cleareyes

So WP wouldn't be going against WKS and LHL? I'm sadden by their decision as it means that they have no guts. How to expect such opposition to fight for Sinkie even if elected? They will only be bench warmers and collect pay.

Talk about no guts.

a bunch of keyboard warriors typing away in cyberspace when what happen in the real world will do them no harm.

U got guts right? go and contest then...why still typing here?

Highfalutin

Talk about no guts.

a bunch of keyboard warriors typing away in cyberspace when what happen in the real world will do them no harm.

U got guts right? go and contest then...why still typing here?

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/RV6MZHRE3jU&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RV6MZHRE3jU&hl=en_US&fs=1&rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

cleareyes

Politics is a game played to win and not played just for the noise making.

In the last election, most of WP's objective were met, the only one not met was to win a GRC. To contest AMK and Bishan-Toa Payoh when u know u cant win them dont seem to be much of a objective winner. ( AMK was to give LHL a bloody nose...how many bloody nose can WP give them anyway?)

Besides, Chiam wants to go Bishan-Toa Payoh. You think WP should be like SDP, say wont conest Sembawang but still move in last minute, almost creating a 3 corner fight?

i_am_belle

how come the various opposition parties don't want to unite & gang up to form one big group ? they'll be stronger that way ... and eventually attract more qualified ppl to join them ... they shd put aside their differences, unite, & kick the shit out of greedy MIWs ... provide some badly needed checks & balances around here ...

IR123

I suppose the favour will be returned somehow :rolleyes:

Hougang boundary remain the same; no co-opting of non-Teochews, Indians, Malays and younger people into Hougang. LTK continue to impose his brand of impotent leadership on the young and enthusiastic, leading to continued non-performance for another 25 years.

Let them be - the results are already known.

IR123

how come the various opposition parties don't want to unite & gang up to form one big group ? they'll be stronger that way ... and eventually attract more qualified ppl to join them ... they shd put aside their differences, unite, & kick the shit out of greedy MIWs ... provide some badly needed checks & balances around here ...

They had already explained that at length.

Though the impression i retained of their explanation is that they are incapable of unity.

In which case, let's forget about unity.