• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wooden Encourage Elderly to Take Part in Wellness Programme Woh!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>Kiasu Seng (TanKimSeng) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:34 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>32682.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>http://www.thegovmonitor.com/world_news/asia/singapore-launches-national-wellness-programme-for-seniors-29774.html
Singapore Launches National Wellness Programme For Seniors
Source: Government of Singapore Posted on: 3rd May 2010
Speech by Mr Goh Chok Tong, Senior Minister, at the launch of Singapore’s National Wellness Programme, 02 May 2010 at Marine Parade Community Club.
The National Wellness Programme aims to reach out to seniors aged 50 years and above and encourage them to take charge of their own health and well-being.
Our goal is to bring about a positive outlook about our future and that we can control how we age.
To achieve this, we need to change our behaviours and mindsets. We need to take a keen interest in our own health, like going for health screening, which is available under the Wellness Programme at subsidised rates. We need to exercise regularly, eat moderately, have a balanced diet and remain mentally and socially active. Those who still smoke should try to quit.
Australia plans to stop all colour and branding logos from cigarette packets by 2012, in order to reduce smoking and cut down smoking-related deaths. We should consider doing likewise in Singapore. Of course, ageing well involves many other aspects as well; such as planning early for your post-retirement financial needs and working for as long as you can, not only for the income, but to remain socially engaged.
But for today, I will focus on the Wellness Programme, which is mainly about staying active and healthy.
The pilot phase of the Wellness Programme was launched two years ago at 12 sites around Singapore. PA’s initial target was to reach out to 1,000 seniors per site, or a total 12,000 seniors. We exceeded our target and we managed to reach out to more than 17,000 seniors in the past two years. Following the success of the pilot phase, we will now launch the Wellness Programme in another 30 new sites; beginning with 9 sites in Marine Parade GRC, Jalan Besar GRC and Potong Pasir this month.
Singaporeans are now working out more frequently. Visitors to the Singapore Sport Council’s facilities – such as sports halls, gyms and swimming pools – have risen steadily in the past few years, from 10.9 million in 2006 to 12.8 million in 2009. But more needs to be done, especially in getting seniors to lead active and healthy lives. Let me share with you three reasons why we are doing this on a national scale.
First, the number of elderly Singaporeans – defined as those aged 65 and above – is increasing. In 1965, our life expectancy at birth was 64.5 years. Today, it is 80.9 years. Today, 330,000 or around 9% of Singaporeans are aged 65 years and older. This number is expected to almost treble to 893,000, or 19.5% of the Singaporean population by 2030.
However, we are not alone in ageing as a society. In Australia, the proportion of people aged 65 years or over is expected to increase from 13% now to 23% by 2050. In Japan, the proportion of the elderly is projected to rise from slightly over 20% now to nearly 40% in 2050. But knowing that many other developed countries are in the same boat as us is cold comfort.
What we want is warm comfort. And there are reasons for us to look on the bright side. First, Singaporeans are now better educated. Second, we have put aside savings in our CPF. Third, there are many active ageing programmes for our seniors. For example, YAH! Community College provides opportunities for lifelong learning. The recent 50Plus Expo organized by the Council for Third Age showcased the opportunities in our silver market. The Wellness Programme is another key programme that promotes active, healthy lifestyles among seniors.
Next, there are increasing numbers of elderly Singaporeans living alone. This is the second reason for our paying more attention on the ageing population issue. The number of elderly HDB residents living alone has increased from 14,300 in 2003 to 22,000 in 2008 and is expected to rise further. Living alone is one of the highest risk factors for social isolation. Elderly residents who live alone are much more likely to show symptoms of depression.
Even if they are not living alone, those with weak social networks outside the household are also much more likely to show symptoms of depression, compared to those with strong social networks. A New England Centenarian Study at the University of Boston discovered that people who live to 100 “often have many friends, strong ties to relatives and high self-esteem”. The message is clear. If we want to live long and age well, we should venture out of our homes, interact more with friends and relatives, and join interest groups.
The Wellness Programme aims to reach out to all seniors, particularly those who may be at risk of social isolation. By participating in social interest groups, we hope that the friendship forged among seniors would translate into mutual care and support in times of need. We have seen encouraging outcomes in the pilot phase of the programme. I was told that the participation rates in grassroots activities and interest groups have gone up with the introduction of the Wellness Programme. Many respondents have also indicated that they now know more friends and neighbours within the neighbourhood, compared to when they first joined the Wellness Programme.
The third reason for focusing our attention on seniors is that it is inevitable that some of us will develop chronic ailments as we grow old. During the pilot phase of the Wellness Programme, around 12,000 seniors undertook health screening. Of this group, nearly 9,000 – or a shocking 75% – were diagnosed with “at risk” results. This means that they showed signs or symptoms of chronic ailments.
If we can detect these symptoms early, such as high body mass index, high blood pressure, high sugar level and high cholesterol level, we can take active steps to try to reduce the likelihood of more serious conditions such as heart attack, stroke or kidney failure. I am glad to learn that the majority of those identified as being “at risk” through the pilots have subsequently gone on to see doctors for follow-up consultation or Nurse Educators from the Health Promotion Board for health advice.
Staying active and healthy is not difficult. You do not need to join an expensive country club. Our CCs and RCs organise a wide range of activities that cater to the different interests and needs of residents. In Marine Parade GRC for example, activities available include the Marine Parade Community Drumming Group, the Chinese Calligraphy Interest Group at Braddell Heights; the Geylang Serai Creative Handicraft Interest Group; the Kaki Bukit Mahjong and Mind Games Interest Group; Qigong at Kampong Ubi-Kembangan; and the Mountbatten Green Fingers Gardening Group.
In short, almost anyone should be able to find an activity that appeals to him and which he can participate in. The Active Ageing Committees (AACs) in Marine Parade GRC, MacPherson and Potong Pasir have even packaged various activities that are suitable for seniors under a “3R Certificate Programme”.
The 3Rs stand for “Regenerating your body” with physical activities, “Refreshing your Mind” with mental activities and “Rejuvenating Your Soul” with social activities. Seniors who take part in all three categories of activities and meet targets set by the AACs will be given Certificates of Achievement. This is a creative way to encourage seniors to come forth to acquire new knowledge or skills and make new friends.
Let me share with you a success story from MacPherson, one of the constituencies which piloted the Wellness Programme. Madam Maria Yong Yoon Fong, who is in her 50s, joined the Community Dance Interest Group under the Wellness Programme in 2008.
Since then, her social life has been completely changed. The organiser of the Dance Group made a conscious effort to facilitate post-course activities to increase interaction among participants after the class. Madam Yong started going for coffee sessions with her newfound friends after the dance sessions, and this has now become a regular past-time for her. Madam Yong and her course mates have now become good friends.
Madam Yong even convinced her husband, Mr Francis Tay, to join this dance group, so he has also benefited from the programme. Madam Yong is now the leader of the Community Dance Interest Group in MacPherson and she encourages the women in her group to bring their husbands along. I have no doubt that when husbands and wives take part in activities together, their relationship in old age will also strengthen. Can I invite Mr Tay and Madam Yong to raise their hands so we can acknowledge them?
There are also many elderly residents in Marine Parade who maintain active and healthy lifestyles. One example is Leonard Seow, Chairman of the Marine Parade Senior Citizens’ Executive Committee (SCEC). Leonard is over 70 years old, but he is still active as a black-belt Taekwondo instructor.
Another example is Tang Wing Kee, Vice Chairman of Marine Parade Constituency Sports Club (CSC), who is also 70. Wing Kee won the Active Agers Award 2008 and is our Active Ageing Ambassador. He took up in-line skating recently and was instrumental in setting up the In-line Skating Interest Group in Marine Parade CC.
Then there is Mrs Chara Singh nee Agia Kaur (71), Secretary of the Marine Parade Indian Activity Executive Committee. She leads the Mariners Adventure Club – an Interest Group in the CC – and has organised many expeditions and hiking trips. These range from very short trips to Bukit Timah Hill to more adventurous expeditions to Mount Kinabalu, Nepal and India.
I cite these examples to emphasize that it is up to us to determine how we want to age – actively or passively. Ageing well is not something which we should put off till old age. When it comes to health and wellness, we should start now or if we can turn the clock back, start young. It is never too late to pursue new interests and hobbies and to make new friends.
I encourage you to take part in the Wellness Programme, which we are rolling out on a national basis.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>