• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wife Beating Unnerves Singapore Muslims Who Attended Pre-Marriage Course

Onislam.net, 4 Nov 2012

A lecturer offering pre-marriage courses has sparked outrage among Singaporean Muslims after advising Muslim men to beat their wives to control them.
“He pulled out a chair, like this, and then started hitting the chair like it was the wife” an attendee told Bikya Masr website on Sunday, November 4.
The controversy erupted after several attendees at the pre-marriage course offered at Darul Arqam, Singapore’s leading association for Muslim converts, alleged that male students are encouraged to beat wives who refuse to submit to sex.

Lee5604

In fact, I was told, Muslim husbands are encouraged to beat their wives according to the prophet.

Sideswipe

Indian and Arab males treat their womenfolk like dogs. the Singapore Muslim are learning it from the Arab.

tualingong

that is just tip of the iceberg. you don't see other religions doing this?

muslim_protest_2.jpg

chupacabra

Just ask keling men in the how tos of beating your wife. No need to attend courses. Go to any kopi tiam and find keling drinnking 2 cans of beer. Buy him the 3rd one and follow him home for demonstration.

nothing wrong in beating wife who mis behaves,,,if we still have such laws,,u think women dare to full around? now sinkie men are slaves to their wives thanks to the womens crapster etc,,,we need to go back to the past and put women in their place,,,too much womens rights is bull shit..

Seriously speaking, some SPG sluts really do need a beating once in a while..

Devil Within

Religion of peace teaches you to beat your wife! LOL!.... Only retards will believe it's a religion of peace.

Woman's charter got people complain....
Wife beating also got people complain....
You can't please everyone....

moolightaffairs

so many people crazy about korean drama. when i watch some during dinner time, it actually show a lot of wife beating scene. always when the woman got unreasonable, the korean man will give one tight slap and follow by some hitting on the head when the woman is on the floor. but in chinese show, the man just walk out when the woman get unreasonable. i always believe hitting woman is nothing wrong. i know a lot of cheehong kiah will jump out and say not gentleman lah, what lah, blahblahblah. stop all these crap!!! if u can hit another man and start fighting with him when got into an argument why can't u hit another woman because of that??? i have seen woman hitting man in public and the man just stand there and let her hit. u think nowadays girls like last time china sickly beauty??? i believe in gender equality and human rights. not some stupid woman charter.

<iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/T5o5xJXihRY" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" width="420"></iframe>

PS. some cheehongkiah will said your mother not woman meh. i want to ask them back is your father a man???

Onislam.net, 4 Nov 2012

A lecturer offering pre-marriage courses has sparked outrage among Singaporean Muslims after advising Muslim men to beat their wives to control them.
“He pulled out a chair, like this, and then started hitting the chair like it was the wife” an attendee told Bikya Masr website on Sunday, November 4.
The controversy erupted after several attendees at the pre-marriage course offered at Darul Arqam, Singapore’s leading association for Muslim converts, alleged that male students are encouraged to beat wives who refuse to submit to sex.

Sound like Malaysian obedient wife club under a different package has come to Singapore.

Islam is a wonderful religion

This is the way a woman should be treated. With the Women Charter so strong, at least there is one fraction of the society is making sure that women toe the line and behave the way they should be.

SINGAPORE – A lecturer offering pre-marriage courses has sparked outrage among Singaporean Muslims after advising men to beat their wives to control them.

The controversy erupted after several attendees at the pre-marriage course at Darul Arqam, Singapore’s leading association for Muslim converts, complained that male students are encouraged to beat wives who refuse to submit to their sexual needs.

The students offered copies of the course materials supporting their allegations.

The materials quote an English translation of the Noble Qur’an, stating “as to those women on whose part you see ill-conduct, first admonish them, next refuse to share their bed, and last beat them”.

It also advise husbands, “it is your right that they [wives] do not make friends with anyone of whom you disapprove”, and wives are reminded that in the event of a marital disagreement “her husband has to make the final decision and [she has] to respect it.”

The course materials recommend that wives be beaten if they commit Al Nushooz.

Al Nushooz is defined in the course materials as “the disobeying of the wife toward her husband and elevating herself above what Allah has obliged upon her and her raising herself above fulfilling her obligatory role”.

Muslim scholars agree that Islam does not condone violence against women or making a wife have sex with her husband against her will.

The word "beating" of wives is used in a verse of the Qur'an, but scholars maintain it does not mean "physical abuse".

Scholars stressed that Prophet Muhammad (peace and blessing be upon him) generally used to discourage his followers from taking even this measure.

There is no record of the Prophet striking one of his wives; rather, he would withdraw when angered.

In Islam, the marriage of a man and a woman is not merely a financial and physical arrangement of living together but a sacred contract, a gift of God, to lead a happy, enjoyable life.

Investigation

Informed of the allegations, Singaporean gender equality advocacy group, AWARE, has launched an investigation into the claims.

Photocopies of course materials, which support the students’ allegations, have been passed to AWARE.

AWARE also forwarded an evidence based report to MCYS, says AWARE executive director Corinna Lim.

According to Lim, AWARE has discussed the allegations with the Minister of State for the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport (MCYS), Madam Halimah Yacob.

Muslims in Singapore are estimated between 450,000 to 500,000, making around 14 to 15 percent of the population.

The pre-marriage guidance courses, which are also supplied by other Singaporean Muslim organizations such as the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore (MUIS) and the Registry of Muslim Marriages (ROMM), are a compulsory requirement for all Singaporean Muslims to undertake before they marry.

The courses cost between $100-$200 each, and, according to the Registry of Muslim Marriages (ROMM) website, the courses are conducive to developing ‘harmonious family ties’ and ‘communication skills’.

Beside this, there is a book on "How to beat wife" (http://www.onislam.net/english/news/americas/456362-wife-beating-book-outrages-canada-muslims.html)

chuckyworld

Re: Islam is a wonderful religion

This muslin gal, kudos to her.

http://www.rferl.org/content/article/1076493.html

May 15, 2007(RFE/RL) -- Irshad Manji is a Canadian journalist and Muslim author of the international bestseller "The Trouble With Islam Today: A Muslim's Call For Reform In Her Faith." Manji encourages Muslims to question and debate traditional interpretations of Islam. Currently a senior fellow with the European Foundation for Democracy, Manji spoke with RFE/RL correspondent Golnaz Esfandiari on May 14.

Agoraphobic

Re: Islam is a wonderful religion

One aspect of Islam's policy I agree and support - women shouldn't be allowed to drive.