• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why you should vote for opposition: It can't get any worse

Thick Face Black Heart

Do you really think LKY & LHL could have implemented all those anti-lesser mortals policies if he had to explain himself to a parliament with more opposition members :confused:

Yes, as a matter of fact, I think he would have. 10 clowns in parliament versus just LTK, Sylvia and Chiam isn't going to change the way the PAP cabinet forces decisions through Parliament and manipulates the debates.

In fact, you're still going to see PAP members play the devils advocate and pretend to take a counter position, so that the press can continue to report that there is healthy debate in Parliament, and more impt, so that the press can portray that even the PAP members can out-debated the oppo clowns in terms of expressing dissent. Soon, the 10 clowns will be drawn into the charade too. That is why we need more than clowns to enter parliament.

silverfox@

Yes, as a matter of fact, I think he would have. 10 clowns in parliament versus just LTK, Sylvia and Chiam isn't going to change the way the PAP cabinet forces decisions through Parliament and manipulates the debates.

In fact, you're still going to see PAP members play the devils advocate and pretend to take a counter position, so that the press can continue to report that there is healthy debate in Parliament, and more impt, so that the press can portray that even the PAP members can out-debated the oppo clowns in terms of expressing dissent. Soon, the 10 clowns will be drawn into the charade too. That is why we need more than clowns to enter parliament.

10 isn't going to change anything. More questions, more answers but the result will still be the same. Look at the politics in Thailand, so much opposition in govt but all the objections will still get thrown out. Only way to change is complete overhaul. 43 capable opposition candidates are needed to see this change.

Sideswipe

Maybe if voting is not compulsory, Opposition will win more seats in the Parliament.

would work either ways.
if there is no compulsory voting.
voters who are unhappy with pap but disappointed with oppositions and likely to switch votes to oppo under compulsory voting will chose not to vote instead and vice versea.

silverfox@

would work either ways.
if there is no compulsory voting.
voters who are unhappy with pap but disappointed with oppositions and likely to switch votes to oppo under compulsory voting will chose not to vote instead and vice versea.

I forsee that if Voting is not compulsory, many of those who voted previously for PAP unwillingly will choose not to turn up instead rather than vote for the Opposition.

Those who vote for opposition are already pro opposition and anti pap so no matter what, they will turn up and vote.

Reduce in votes for PAP, remain in strength for opposition, that percentage will go up for Opposition.

I forsee that if Voting is not compulsory, many of those who voted previously for PAP unwillingly will choose not to turn up instead rather than vote for the Opposition.

Those who vote for opposition are already pro opposition and anti pap so no matter what, they will turn up and vote.

Reduce in votes for PAP, remain in strength for opposition, that percentage will go up for Opposition.
How is voting compulsory? You don't get arrested for not voting do you?
If you don't vote, your name gets struck off the electoral register.
The next time the GE comes around, you can get reinstated. You can also choose not to vote.

silverfox@

How is voting compulsory? You don't get arrested for not voting do you?
If you don't vote, your name gets struck off the electoral register.
The next time the GE comes around, you can get reinstated. You can also choose not to vote.

http://www.elections.gov.sg/voters_compulsory.html

What would be regarded as a valid and sufficient reason for not voting?
The following explanations have been accepted as valid and sufficient reason for not voting :
a. working overseas (including being on a business trip) at the time of the poll
b. studying overseas at the time of the poll
c. living with your spouse who is working or studying overseas
d. overseas vacation which was planned before the poll
e. illness, or delivering a baby

You need to substantiate your explanation when applying to restore your name to the register of electors. For example, those who claim to be overseas to work or study, or to be living with a spouse who is working or studying overseas, the passport plus an employer's letter or educational institution's letter, and marriage certificate would be required. For those who were on an overseas vacation or business trip, the passport plus documents showing that the trip had been planned before Nomination Day should be produced, such as receipts from travel agencies, air tickets, hotel booking receipts, or a suitable letter from your employer. Those who did not vote for health reasons should produce a medical certificate, hospital bill or the child's birth certificate.

You can go and take a MC :o
==================================
In other countries, election candidates will try to persuade those who don't wish to vote and come out to vote for them.

The following explanations have been accepted as valid and sufficient reason for not voting :
a. working overseas (including being on a business trip) at the time of the poll

You need to substantiate your explanation when applying to restore your name to the register of electors. For example, those who claim to be overseas to work or study, or to be living with a spouse who is working or studying overseas, the passport plus an employer's letter or educational institution's letter, and marriage certificate would be required. For those who were on an overseas vacation or business trip, the passport plus documents showing that the trip had been planned before Nomination Day should be produced, such as receipts from travel agencies, air tickets, hotel booking receipts, or a suitable letter from your employer. Those who did not vote for health reasons should produce a medical certificate, hospital bill or the child's birth certificate.

In other countries, election candidates will try to persuade those who don't wish to vote and come out to vote for them.

Re-read what you posted and understand the nonsense of it all. The "penalty" for not voting is striking the name off the electoral roll so that the person who didn't want to vote don't have to vote anymore, just what the person wanted, isn't it?

For those whose wanted to vote but couldn't for valid reasons, of course they can provide proof so that they can vote the next time if they want.

So pray tell, how is voting "compulsory?"

silverfox@

Re-read what you posted and understand the nonsense of it all. The "penalty" for not voting is striking the name off the electoral roll so that the person who didn't want to vote don't have to vote anymore, just what the person wanted, isn't it?

For those whose wanted to vote but couldn't for valid reasons, of course they can provide proof so that they can vote the next time if they want.

Alamak, you should click the link and read in full
I am letting jw5 know that if you don't vote, you must have the above valid reasons when presenting your case as to why you didn't vote
VOTING IS COMPULSORY

Voting at Singapore’s presidential election or parliamentary election is compulsory for all eligible citizens. It is part of the responsibility of being an adult Singapore citizen.

So, if the presidential election or the parliamentary election in your constituency is contested, and you are eligible to vote, you must present yourself as a voter at your assigned polling station on Polling Day and cast your vote.

What if I do not vote at an election?
At the end of the election, the Returning Officer will put your name, together with all others who did not vote at the election, in the list of non-voters and pass that to the Registration Officer. The Registration Officer will then remove your name from the certified register of electors.

This means that you cannot vote at any subsequent presidential or parliamentary election, and you are disqualified from being a candidate at any subsequent presidential or parliamentary election.

Can I get my name back on the register of electors for my constituency?
You can do so anytime by applying to the Registration Officer with an explanation as to why you did not vote. Application may be made online via this website or in person at Elections Department or any Community Centre/Club. However, a penalty is imposed if you do not have valid and sufficient reason for not voting. You must pay $50 to restore your name to the register of electors if you do not give valid and sufficient reason.

Please apply early to restore your name to the register of electors after any election. Law prohibits the Registration Officer from restoring your name to the register of electors for your constituency if any writ of election is issued for that constituency. The Registration Officer can do so only after the election for that constituency is over. In the meantime you will not be allowed to vote at any poll or stand as a candidate in that constituency.

Ok then, I accept that you have to have a reason not to vote and to get reinstated the next time.
But if you choose not to vote forever, you still have the choice, right?

silverfox@

Example this constituency is CSJ come and fight, people don't want to vote, so they don't go and vote. Doesn't mean forever they don't want to vote.

But next election if GMS come and fight, maybe those who didn't vote the prev time, wants to vote this time leh:o

cass888

Example this constituency is CSJ come and fight, people don't want to vote, so they don't go and vote. Doesn't mean forever they don't want to vote.

But next election if GMS come and fight, maybe those who didn't vote the prev time, wants to vote this time leh:o

Then pay $5.

silverfox@

Ok then, I accept that you have to have a reason not to vote and to get reinstated the next time.
But if you choose not to vote forever, you still have the choice, right?

Of course, not to go and vote, definitely is your choice. They cannot arrest you, but will just remove your voting rights. That's their reason of voting is compulsory

Thick Face Black Heart

Ai yo.

Simple what. A person has to decide whether he/she always wants to vote, or always don't want to vote.

There is no in-between. As in, you can't choose suka-suka some erection vote, some erection don't vote.

And even then, it is debatable. If the person can keng some excuse and erection dept believe, he can vote again.

With more opposition in parliament I hope they'll go after the state control media. When that happens expect expect a breakup of the PAP monopoly on news and a more balanced coverage of the mismanagement that goes on in Spore.

Part of politicking is debate, that's how a consensus is reached.
Tell me who in the PAP can debate, other than LKY :confused:

Right now PAP MPs don't even have to pretend, they just read prepared speeches. Some don't even attend parliament when LKY is away on one of his holidays.

Thick Face Black Heart

In singapore parliament, debates are stage-managed by the PAP. The one reason I can find for voting in a few more oppo is that it would be harder to stage manage, but of course, only marginally harder.

Opposition MPs also read pre-prepared speeches. Of course when you only have two or three in parliament, people notice at once if one if absent, but if you have a dozen clowns, it's different.

The first objective is to find a way to get professionals, academics, industry leaders, and the street-smart corporate guys into the opposition fold first. Each has a role to play, the academics to the background work, the pros and corporates charge upfront. We have not done this. Despite all the table banging in the past few years, we are still at the 2006 level in terms of quality capacity (capacity itself has grown, no doubt). The opposition is still not presentable.

Part of politicking is debate, that's how a consensus is reached.
Tell me who in the PAP can debate, other than LKY :confused:

Right now PAP MPs don't even have to pretend, they just read prepared speeches. Some don't even attend parliament when LKY is away on one of his holidays.

silverfox@

Opposition MPs also read pre-prepared speeches. Of course when you only have two or three in parliament, people notice at once if one if absent, but if you have a dozen clowns, it's different.

The first objective is to find a way to get professionals, academics, industry leaders, and the street-smart corporate guys into the opposition fold first. Each has a role to play, the academics to the background work, the pros and corporates charge upfront. We have not done this. Despite all the table banging in the past few years, we are still at the 2006 level in terms of quality capacity (capacity itself has grown, no doubt). The opposition is still not presentable.

You don't need clowns, Joker calibre is needed. :p

Boliao

Good credible ones please. Clowns should stay in circus. Giving them a chance in parliament is committing suicide and they are not making a fool of themselves but playing a fool with people's lives.

Wrong. A clown who tries to do the right thing is definitely better than one who is always wrong but never in doubt.

The problem with our current government is a total lack of accountability where clowns who are worst-than-real-clown thinks they are doing you a favor even when they are wrong.

The result is you have Betterest Lim who thinks that minimum wage is too easy a solution, so they want to try something else more challenge than solve the problem.

Wrong. A clown who tries to do the right thing is definitely better than one who is always wrong but never in doubt.

The problem with our current government is a total lack of accountability where clowns who are worst-than-real-clown thinks they are doing you a favor even when they are wrong.

The result is you have Betterest Lim who thinks that minimum wage is too easy a solution, so they want to try something else more challenge than solve the problem.
A clown who tries to the right thing is perhaps even better than someone who is sometimes right and sometimes wrong, but never in doubt.

Thick Face Black Heart

A clown who tries to the right thing is perhaps even better than someone who is sometimes right and sometimes wrong, but never in doubt.

I say singapore can wait. If people like Besotted reflects the mentality of the average employer (from the start, already discriminate against sinkees, think of ways and means to tweak the system so as to allow for greater exploitation of cheap but LOW-QUALITY labour) .... then I say: we have time. Let a more presentable oppo emerge 1st. What's the rush?