• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why the fuck do we need menu?

char_jig_kar

7pm plus today, at a hawker center next to kovan station. there was this stall selling grass jelly, soya milk, bean curd etc. I stated my order. One grass jelly. But the food stall assistant ask me what is it i want, grass jelly or grass jelly drink?

Gnn. Grass jelly and grass jelly drink is two different item on the menu. It is seperate item on the menu. If I want grass jelly drink I would make a order of grass jelly drink. I will not state, 'One grass jelly'. I don't understand Singaporean hawker stall. Why they love to make a simple order complicated? If an order of one grass jelly is not good enuf, then might as well just take down the menu right? Why put up a menu listing the item: Grass Jelly 1.20, and then at the other end Grass Jelly Drink a dollar plus. For fuck??

Later on I go get ice cream cone from macdonald at some shopping mall around the north east area. And I place an order, 'One choco cone.', the mac donald staff have to point the choco cone on the menu, and ask, 'This one right?' Fuck. Why do I have to repeat my order again?

char_jig_kar

The PAP gahmen love to harp that our country Singapore is a efficient country.

I say, 'LUNG JIAO.' You don't have to do complicated research, sift through all kind of data. No need. You just go jalan jalan around this country. Go hawker center, go food court, order some food. And you will see how fuck up screw up this country is. Efficiency? LUNG JIAO. The hawker, the service staff love to play game with the customers.

char_jig_kar

Let me repeat. And reorganize my message.

The grass jelly stall which i had stated in msg 1, their menu had listed the items pretty clearly. Grass Jelly 1.20. Grass Jelly Drink 1.XX.

So I order a grass jelly. But the staff have gotta ask me what do I want: grass jelly or grass jelly drink?

The macdonald, the menu at the dessert counter, the items are listed pretty clearly too. Choco cone, 1 dollar. After I had placed my order, 'One choco cone.' The staff have to point to the item choco cone, and said, 'This one right?'

Grass jelly is grass jelly. GRASS JELLY DRINK is GRASS JELLY DRINK. Choco cone is not vanila cone or any other type of ice cream cone. It is CHOCO CONE.

NOT CLEAR ENUF MEH???

What is the point of putting up menu and list all the items clearly? So tat the customers could make a decision, and place their order right? So why keep on questioning wat the customer want, even though the customers had place the order which is perfectly listed on the menu? Why do the customers have gotta keep on repeat their orders???

nex time, u grab ze menu ... kip poking @ ze vanilla cone n kip saying ... me wan choco cone ... me wan choco cone ...

char_jig_kar

Singapore is for those who love to live in a Kafkaesque world or those who doesn't mind living in a Kafkaesque world.

Those who hate Kafkaesque kind of world, this (Singapore) IS ONE FUCKING NIGHTMARE!

char_jig_kar

nex time, u grab ze menu ... Kip poking @ ze vanilla cone n kip saying ... Me wan choco cone ... Me wan choco cone ...

lol!!! Thats a good one!

I point at the vanila cone, and shout, 'i want choco cone!'

hahhahahha!!!! SINCE THEY LOVE TO PLAY GAME, WE ALSO PLAY GAME WITH THEM!

ronaldinho

No harm to make it clear

That time I told taxi driver Lido, sekali he took me to Lido the cinema, not Lido Palace

Damn funny, super blur taxi driver, must be new bird

Luckily the two are near each other, one at edge of Orchard Road, the other at Havelock

ahbengsong

7pm plus today, at a hawker center next to kovan station. there was this stall selling grass jelly, soya milk, bean curd etc. I stated my order. One grass jelly. But the food stall assistant ask me what is it i want, grass jelly or grass jelly drink?

Gnn. Grass jelly and grass jelly drink is two different item on the menu. It is seperate item on the menu. If I want grass jelly drink I would make a order of grass jelly drink. I will not state, 'One grass jelly'. I don't understand Singaporean hawker stall. Why they love to make a simple order complicated? If an order of one grass jelly is not good enuf, then might as well just take down the menu right? Why put up a menu listing the item: Grass Jelly 1.20, and then at the other end Grass Jelly Drink a dollar plus. For fuck??

Later on I go get ice cream cone from macdonald at some shopping mall around the north east area. And I place an order, 'One choco cone.', the mac donald staff have to point the choco cone on the menu, and ask, 'This one right?' Fuck. Why do I have to repeat my order again?

Blame it on idiots who say "soya bean" when they want soya bean drink...

char_jig_kar

I look at the menu, the item, the bowl of grass jelly, the name for it, is not 'no. 2' or 'item 1', it is 'GRASS JELLY'. There are no number on the menu.

And so I make a mental note on it, and place the order. But NO! The service staff is buay song with the order which I made!!! IT IS FUCKING CLEAR LIAO! WAT THEY WANT? 'I WANT A BOOOOWL OF GRASS JELLY.'???

char_jig_kar

No harm to make it clear

That time I told taxi driver Lido, sekali he took me to Lido the cinema, not Lido Palace

Damn funny, super blur taxi driver, must be new bird

Luckily the two are near each other, one at edge of Orchard Road, the other at Havelock

Thats different bro/ friend.

The item on the menu, the grass jelly, its very clearly stated, 'GRASS JELLY'. So I made a mental note on it, and order, 'One grass jelly.' BUT THE SERVICE STAFF NOT HAPPY WITH MY ORDER! She has to ask me its grass jelly or grass jelly drink? But the menu had clearly listed the item grass jelly as grass jelly. SO EACH TIME I WANNA ORDER GRASS JELLY I HAVE TO STATE IN PERFECT ENGRISH, 'A BOWL OF GRASS JELLY PLEEEASE.'??

You stated Lido to the taxi drive. But Lido is vague. It could be Lido cinema. Its not that clear as the items on the menu.

char_jig_kar

Blame it on idiots who say "soya bean" when they want soya bean drink...

The service staff might be peeved by customers who do that. But they cant take it out on people who had made A VERY SPECIFIC ORDER JUST LIKE ON THE MENU, 'GRASS JELLY'. IF GRASS JELLY IS NOT CLEAR ENUF, THEN THEY HAVE TO REDO THEIR MENU AND PUT NUMBERS ON IT.

For example:

1: GRASS JELLY

2: SOYA BEAN MILK

3: GRASS JELLY DRINK

tomoko

Look at it from the hawkers view. Suppose you own the stalls. Idiots come order "grass jelly" when they want "grass jelly drink". The hawker then wasted time preparing the grass jelly. If grass jelly is a combination of items like cendol, the hawker may even have to throw out the grass jelly. So it is natural for the hawker to clarify the order to prevent wastage and time.

The menu should be add the word "desert" to indicate there are 2 different types of grass jelly for sale and place the 2 different grass jelly items together so a person ordering knows there are 2 different types of grass jelly.

When ordering, the customer should not shortened the order to "grass jelly" as grass jelly is too vague and people need to indicate they want drink or desert.

1: GRASS JELLY DESERT

2: GRASS JELLY DRINK

3: SOYA BEAN MILK
<!-- / message -->

char_jig_kar

harlo. the item on the menu, it state that a bowl of grass jelly, the name of it, is 'grass jelly'. so i order it according to the menu. AM I WRONG FOR ORDERING WATS STATED ON THE MENU??

if 'grass jelly' is too vague, then its not me thats in the wrong. the menu, its the stall which put it there, its the stall, they are in the wrong.

So that they can differentiate between those customers who want spring opinions in their char kway tiao and those who don't. Hehehe. :0)

tiulehloumoh

Seem that people like u must have bad karma, everywhere you go, u can't get what u want, people tend to give you trouble....... whatever u do, everything doesn't goes as smooth as you want..... now even the drink seller also cannot please you......... so do some good deed to ward off these bad karma....ok...:wink:

char_jig_kar

Its not that i ganna bad karma. Its majority of Singaporeans just go thru the motion, don't care about whats happening. They cant read facial expression. Or couldn't be bother.

In the case of the grass jelly stall, I know the service staff get some kick out of talking down to the customers. Its not just me. Anyone go there they order 'grass jelly', she would run this 'little software' of hers, asking customer, 'grass jelly or grass jelly drink?'. She get a little fun out of it.

Singaporeans are like sheep. They ganna screw up service, they don't know. All they know is exam topic and agenda that the PAP gahmen spell out for them: get certification, get flat, life is good here, etc etc etc.

char_jig_kar

Funny how a fellow forumer with a moniker 'tiulehloumoh' (*fuck your old mom*) come talk to me about karma. You think you are above the cycle of karma with your moniker??