• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why socialism and communism does not work.

Devil Within

This is one reason why communism do not work.

An economics professor at a local college made a statement that he had never failed a single student before, but had recently failed an entire class. That class had insisted that Obama's socialism worked and that no one would be poor and no one would be rich, a great equalizer.

The professor then said, "OK, we will have an experiment in this class on Obama's plan".. All grades will be averaged and everyone will receive the same grade so no one will fail and no one will receive an A.... (substituting grades for dollars - something closer to home and more readily understood by all).

After the first test, the grades were averaged and everyone got a B. The students who studied hard were upset and the students who studied little were happy. As the second test rolled around, the students who studied little had studied even less and the ones who studied hard decided they wanted a free ride too so they studied little.

The second test average was a D! No one was happy.
When the 3rd test rolled around, the average was an F.

As the tests proceeded, the scores never increased as bickering, blame and name-calling all resulted in hard feelings and no one would study for the benefit of anyone else.

To their great surprise, ALL FAILED and the professor told them that socialism would also ultimately fail because when the reward is great, the effort to succeed is great, but when government takes all the reward away, no one will try or want to succeed. Could not be any simpler than that. (Please pass this on) These are possibly the 5 best sentences you'll ever read and all applicable to this experiment:

1. You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity.

2. What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.

3. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

4. You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it!

5. When half of the people get the idea that they do not have to work because the other half is going to take care of them, and when the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work because somebody else is going to get what they work for, that is the beginning of the end of any nation.

First quote in my signature, that's why. Human nature can not be tampered with.

I disagree. Compassion is also important part of human development.

Don't always think about yourselves.

The current world's problem is due to human selfishness.

we shouldn't be proud of our your die your own problem sinkie culture.

dun exploit people by paying them low wages and forcing them to work long hours.

no man is an island, people will know what an ass you are if you do.

Compassion has never played a part in human development. 99% of all human progress is driven by war.

that is why we have conflicts and wars. because of selfish interests and principal agent problem.

if our main objective is to serve ourselves and whatever we do is primarily for survival, how are we different from other animals?

surely we are all higher intelligent beings, we can do better than that?

Prove me wrong by donating all your money and work full time for free in non-profit organisation. If not, you are just another hypocrite with all talk but "not in my own backyard" mentality.

we shouldn't be proud of our your die your own problem sinkie culture.

dun exploit people by paying them low wages and forcing them to work long hours.

no man is an island, people will know what an ass you are if you do.

Nobody forces them to work if they are not happy. They can always go start a business and become an employer if they feel being exploited.

In a capitalist society, anyone and everyone is fair game. In communist society, that is not so and everyone become a slave except the top few guys.

i onli know communists eat from same big giant pot of rice!!!!! :D

大锅饭

090915163430662.jpg

that is why we have conflicts and wars. because of selfish interests and principal agent problem.

if our main objective is to serve ourselves and whatever we do is primarily for survival, how are we different from other animals?

surely we are all higher intelligent beings, we can do better than that?

Compassion has to be a personal quality not a government policy. You cannot legislate compassion.

I am 100% against any form of social welfare. However, that does not mean I am not compassionate. I support my disadvantaged friends quietly usually without them knowing it.

For example there is a cyclist in our group who can no longer work because he suffered from a brain injury as a result of being knocked off his bike. He recovered but he's never going to be 100%. He still rides with us regularly but he can no longer race and I learned he had difficulty with the cost of maintaining a bike.

To help him out, I quietly told the bike shop to bill him 10% of the cost of repairs and send the bill for the balance of 90% to me so when he needs $200 worth of repairs and spare parts, he only pays $20 and I pay $180. However, he is not aware of this which is the way I want it.

The owner of the bike shop found out about this arrangement recently and chipped in and waived all labour charges so everyone is a winner.

That is what compassion is all about. It's from one human to another. Forcing me to pay high taxes in order to feed some lazy bastard who can't be bothered to work is not compassion. It's daylight robbery.

If we all play our part in our own way, mankind will be better off. We don't need governments to get involved.

How do you help your fellow human beings?

we sponsored two kids in developing countries. one african and one vietnamese.

govt legislation is needed because they are organized and has social workers to identify where the help are needed.

the same reason why govt. legislation are needed to keep those MADDOFF or Milken in check.

a capitalist economy with social fallback is the best solution for any country to manage economic growth and human decency. how could anyone feel nothing when you see people in economic distress? it is your human nature to ignore it. but your higher conscience will make you feel obligated to help.

any extreme of both will be bad for the country. this is the way to go for highly civilized societies.

we sponsored two kids in developing countries.

Don't do that. 80% of your sponsorship goes to the organisation's overheads including the highly paid CEO. Organised charity is a big scam. Surely we all remember TT Durai.

Charity begins at home and it starts with those you know who need help.

Don't do that. 80% of your sponsorship goes to the organisation's overheads including the highly paid CEO. Organised charity is a big scam. Surely we all remember TT Durai.

Charity begins at home and it starts with those you know who need help.

Not when you do it with a Christian Humanitarian organization. Or you can donate to church, they have missions to developing countries to fund orphanages.

SG problem is low compared to other South East Asians countries, they need more help than Singaporeans, 80% of whom owns a HDB flat with cost half a million.

Legislation is good in one way or another because the state mandates we have to help the weak, poor and the needy. This will inculcate the young to have such values during young age.

Not when you do it with a Christian Humanitarian organization. Or you can donate to church, they have missions to developing countries to fund orphanages.

SG problem is low compared to other South East Asians countries, they need more help than Singaporeans, 80% of whom owns a HDB flat with cost half a million.

Legislation is good in one way or another because the state mandates we have to help the weak, poor and the needy.

Church and Christian Humanitarian organization are the biggest scam! Just look and kong hee fat choi with his multi-million dollars condo.

I'll say this as politely as possible.... that's probably the worst way to help the needy. All churches take care of themselves first. Look at the standard of living of your Pastor, his boss and his boss's boss. Church donations often support the whole family... pastor, wife, 3 kids etc. I've never seen a pastor living in a cheap part of town. They lead comfortable lives and you're paying for it either directly or indirectly

For every $100 you donate to the church, less than $10 reaches the orphan of your choice.
Which shows the government is doing a pretty decent job.
Legislation is good in one way or another because the state mandates we have to help the weak, poor and the needy. This will inculcate the young to have such values during young age.

The young don't learn from legislation. They learn from the example set by their parents. A kid of some rich prick isn't going to become charitable just because there's a tax law that redistributes wealth. If his parents ill treat their maids in front of him and speak in derogatory terms about those who are less fortunate, the kid will grow up thinking exactly the same way.

'If we reject the present form of (free market) capitalism, we must therefore embrace communism." TS is being intellectually dishonest because there is a middle ground.

We have successful socialist democracies in Europe - think Sweden, Denmark, Norway etc.

Compassion has to be a personal quality not a government policy. You cannot legislate compassion.

I am 100% against any form of social welfare. However, that does not mean I am not compassionate. I support my disadvantaged friends quietly usually without them knowing it.

For example there is a cyclist in our group who can no longer work because he suffered from a brain injury as a result of being knocked off his bike. He recovered but he's never going to be 100%. He still rides with us regularly but he can no longer race and I learned he had difficulty with the cost of maintaining a bike.

To help him out, I quietly told the bike shop to bill him 10% of the cost of repairs and send the bill for the balance of 90% to me so when he needs $200 worth of repairs and spare parts, he only pays $20 and I pay $180. However, he is not aware of this which is the way I want it.

The owner of the bike shop found out about this arrangement recently and chipped in and waived all labour charges so everyone is a winner.

That is what compassion is all about. It's from one human to another. Forcing me to pay high taxes in order to feed some lazy bastard who can't be bothered to work is not compassion. It's daylight robbery.

If we all play our part in our own way, mankind will be better off. We don't need governments to get involved.

How do you help your fellow human beings?

Unfortunately, most of the rich don't have compassion or think they need to give back to society. People like you are few in this world.

Compassion has never played a part in human development. 99% of all human progress is driven by war.

We should have an internal war in sinkapore to spur progress. Time to take up arms to fight the PAPpies! :D

The Americans see only black and white ...they don't have a middle ground. So, they are always getting ripped off. Take for example, health care. They pay the highest health care expense in the world because they think their . So, for the benefit of a small group of well-off yankees, the others are faced with financial insecurities when health issues hit them.