• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Should Sporns Feel Proud of China A Team Vs China B Team? How Much $ Wasted?

Jun 2, 2010

Paddlers deserve cheers, not jeers

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I READ with much disappointment about netizens' criticisms of our women's table tennis team. They should be applauded for their consistent efforts for the national team, not jeered at.
As Senior Parliamentary Secretary (Community Development, Youth and Sports, and Transport) Teo Ser Luck said, some of them were nobodies when they came here. Now they have beaten the giants, China, with their hard work and sacrifices.
The critics said it was simply China B versus China A and that our foreign talent should be sent home and we should let Singaporeans show the world how it's done.
The same Singaporeans who would prefer playing soccer online than on the field? Or the average Singaporean parent who would prefer that their children pursue careers in medical or legal professions rather than in sports?
Until we are ready to offer our blood, sweat and tears to fight for our country in the sports arena, we should at least cheer the team which has put Singapore on the world sporting map.
Phillip Tan

Watchman

Put so much effort on one event .

But when students get 6 A1 and did badly in Mandarin/ Chinese language .

You stop them progressing .

manokie

Jun 2, 2010

I READ with much disappointment about netizens' criticisms of our women's table tennis team. They should be applauded for their consistent efforts for the national team, not jeered at.
As Senior Parliamentary Secretary (Community Development, Youth and Sports, and Transport) Teo Ser Luck said, some of them were nobodies when they came here. Now they have beaten the giants, China, with their hard work and sacrifices.
The critics said it was simply China B versus China A and that our foreign talent should be sent home and we should let Singaporeans show the world how it's done.
The same Singaporeans who would prefer playing soccer online than on the field? Or the average Singaporean parent who would prefer that their children pursue careers in medical or legal professions rather than in sports?
Until we are ready to offer our blood, sweat and tears to fight for our country in the sports arena, we should at least cheer the team which has put Singapore on the world sporting map.
Phillip Tan

So what if they were nobodies

Look at Li Jia wei

she is now going back to china after achieving success with SG's help

Watchman

With this much you can always negotiate others to lose to you .

Thereafter you can share with your graceful competitor .

On the ground people are struggling .

Who gives a shit about a FT sportsman 's road trip ?

Privpho

Agreed! What direct benefit or wealth does this convey to the struggling man in the street, who knows there will be no social safety net in place should he get retrenched and replaced with a cheaper FT? Who cares about the success of an imported table tennis team!

Phillip Tan

He sees the trees but missed the forest altogether. It's exactly because Singaporeans aren't interested in participating in the sport that makes importing foreign talents meaningless to them, even if they win.

So, are the ministers and sport officials blind or stupid? No. They don't formulate and execute policies for Singaporeans. They do it for their own interests and careers, measured in terms of international successes. Table table was one of the sports earlier spotted to yield high possible chance of success since SEA is generally weak in it whereas young talents and experienced coaches from PRC are plentifully available.

It's not that Singaporeans are interested that the sport is developed and heavily invested in. It's because it has the highest chance of international success, and therefore artificially promoted and propagated. In the 70s and 80s, yes, there was a generation of young table tennis aficionados. Carrying ping pong paddles and balls in schoolbags were nothing uncommon for schoolboys during those days. Ping pong tables at void decks were a common sight. Where are these now?

An analogy, to the masses of generation after generation of football players and fans in countries like Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Germany etc. winning the World Cup is very important, something that they feel proud without needing government investment or propaganda to promote it. Buy them an American Football Superbowl, they'd yawn and go home to sleep.

Boliao

He sees the trees but missed the forest altogether. It's exactly because Singaporeans aren't interested in participating in the sport that makes importing foreign talents meaningless to them, even if they win.

Fucking brilliant! My sentiments exactly. Stupid fuck doesn't understand why no body gives a shit if they win or lose. We're more concern about the millions wasted on them while Singaporean are being left behind

GORG1

Fucking brilliant! My sentiments exactly. Stupid fuck doesn't understand why no body gives a shit if they win or lose. We're more concern about the millions wasted on them while Singaporean are being left behind

I seldom contribute but I cannot tahan on this matter so here goes..

I just fail to understand if our govt choose not to understand our sentiments on this matter or acting blur. My view on this matter is really not that we are jeering the table tennis team but we are really disgusted with the govt's policy on importing talents at all costs to win a medal. Is this not the majority views of most of us here, no?

Watchman

I seldom contribute but I cannot tahan on this matter so here goes..

I just fail to understand if our govt choose not to understand our sentiments on this matter or acting blur. My view on this matter is really not that we are jeering the table tennis team but we are really disgusted with the govt's policy on importing talents at all costs to win a medal. Is this not the majority views of most of us here, no?

Yes :smile: You are indeed repeating after everyone who have said so .

GORG1

Yes :smile: You are indeed repeating after everyone who have said so .

yes but why our media keep saying we are jeering the team? hell no, in fact i like all the china babes incl wang yuegu, thogh not as good looking as the others but i find her cute in her own determined and unassuming ways :p

amadeus

You people still don't get the point. Singapore is too small to have a pool of potential world-class talents to choose from. That's why we have to tap on the really talented pool of players outside this small island.

Still don't get it? Still thinking that our government is not giving enough opportunity for the locally-born youngsters? I suggest you better start playing in more local competitions now and watch more international tournaments to really understand the reality of the table tennis scene.

If you people were to keep whining and making incendiary remarks, it will only breed the feeling of unwelcomeness to our China-born talents. If they feel unwelcome, you cannot blame them when they leave this small island for a greener pasture.

All these arguments can go on and on but at the end of the day, put yourself in the shoes of these China-born sportsmen and sportswomen.

Of course there are also the black sheeps among the foreign sports talents, just like some of the envious whining Singaporeans.

GORG1

You people still don't get the point. Singapore is too small to have a pool of potential world-class talents to choose from. That's why we have to tap on the really talented pool of players outside this small island.

Still don't get it? Still thinking that our government is not giving enough opportunity for the locally-born youngsters? I suggest you better start playing in more local competitions now and watch more international tournaments to really understand the reality of the table tennis scene.

If you people were to keep whining and making incendiary remarks, it will only breed the feeling of unwelcomeness to our China-born talents. If they feel unwelcome, you cannot blame them when they leave this small island for a greener pasture.

All these arguments can go on and on but at the end of the day, put yourself in the shoes of these China-born sportsmen and sportswomen.

Of course there are also the black sheeps among the foreign sports talents, just like some of the envious whining Singaporeans.

Dear Mr Amadeus

Yes, we recognise SG is too small to develop world class sports talents, and we should except that. Our point here is, what is the reason behind this urge to win a medal if it's not our local bred sons & daughters. We don't mind at all if we know we've tried our best but don't win a medal at the olympics mah but should another Tan Howe Liang be bestowed to us then we rejoice lo. Why must the govt die die must spend money to win medals when we know it's short of buying them from the open market? If the reason is to inspire the local aspiring sportsmen/women I think it will prove counter productive. If I were a local aspiring sportsman/woman, looking at this development, I'd rather concentrate on my academic studies as at the back of my mind, I have this constant fear that no matter how much I train(at the expense of my academic pursuit I'd still may be outgunned by a ready made FT should the govt import them for my field of sports) how? neither here nor there, no chance to rep country and no paper qualifications (not forgetting that even with paper, nowadays also not guaranteed desired jobs) jialat :(:(

Sideswipe

What most of us can't understand, what is so important about winning medals in international sports that our govt spent millions of dollars and import foreign athletes in any sports to replace locals.

We should focus on developing local talents, let them represent Singapore in international competitions. If they can't win or just not good enough then so be it. No medals, no Singaporeans will die, no big deal.

Boliao

You dumb fuck! How stupid can you be? If you cannot understand simple English then you should not be posting.

Read this - WHO GIVES A FUCK ABOUT MEDALS IF IT IS NOT WON BUT A BORN AND BRED, TRUE FUCKING BLUE SINGAPOREAN?

You're so fucking thick it's not even funny enough. You should be shot, revived and then shot again.

Hammerton

allo ... please remember this ...

What the women table tennis team really is, is that they are Mercenaries! Dogs of War! They sell themselves to the highest bidders! They have not loyalty and even fought against their motherland! We spent tons of money and resources to train, groom, nurture and reward them into world-class players! Like all Dogs of War, no doubt when the time comes (whether they've earned enough or a higher bidder come along), they will turn on us! Li Jiawei is an excellent example, I am sure over the course of time, others will follow suit!

With the amount of money and resources invested in them, we expect, no, We DEMAND Result!!! It like a business deal, when we invest, we expect returns! Simple as that! Nothing to shout about! And don't push the blame to how S'porean felt, OK!

shelltox

You provide million of $$ to bring the foreign talent to singapore and when they win, singapore name is in the news (free advertising). You provide for some lazy singaporens goofing and whinning at the neighbourhood kopitiam, that singaporean is going to ask for more and he think he deserve more. Singaporean sportpersons are not hungry enough to want to win at the olympics. Recently, if I am not wrong there was an altheltics meet for the regional school boys. The time of the 100 m sprint event which was won by a school boy was better than our adult atheltes.

shelltox

The D24 and the 猫山王 which we enjoy so much are hybrid of the local malays durians and thai durians. we are willing to pay top $$ to enjoy the fruits. If you go to cameron highlands the next time, you may want to try the 山榴莲 . after tasting it ,please let me know which you prefer

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
FT fighting against FT wats there to cheer about?
some more PRC Chinese fighting against their own people very common since emperor times mah.

hockbeng

Jun 2, 2010

Phillip Tan

You are right Mr Tan! Until we are ready! If we are not ready, then let's not waste time and money on this foreign talent sports nonsense. We will not starve if there is no Spore table tennis team.
In fact, sports is not crucial to our economy so no one really cares!

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
chinese saying: 长他人志气、灭自己威风!
destroy our own pride based on others' esteem.
why use other people's hands to slap our own face leh?