• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why RSAF buy expensive Gulfstream private jet for early warning radar?

New production of same aircraft albeit different version. The E-2C has to be retired due to old age. There is a mandatory requirement that may need to be done which might be too costly such as replacing the basic structural components, skin, longerons and fuselage.

we did the same refurb to amoured vehicles, im sure we can do that to aircrafts.

infact, didn't we do that to the F5 and A4s way before F16s came to the picture?

we did the same refurb to amoured vehicles, im sure we can do that to aircrafts.

infact, didn't we do that to the F5 and A4s way before F16s came to the picture?

Vehicles and aircraft are different, so cannot be compared. 25 years is a bit too long in the tooth don't you think? We don't want our men to fly and risk their lives if possible. There are many men on board during a normal flight.

nah beh lah...E2D Hawkeye lao pok liao, become Cockeye LOL

somemore turbo prop, fucking noisy, fucking slow. Some more with a fucking big rotating dish on top, no need scan, visual contact can see liao. How to run from heat seeking missile. And last i heard. a few are grounded so operational one, a few.

gulfstream good, sleek and fast, no rotating dish to give away the silhouette on radar. Outline look like normal commercial plane, so can spy here spy there.

honestly, go X change passport better lah....otherwise other cuntries see the chop, will get you into trouble esp many of you chiong JB, scarely detained and made to nude squats LOL

just like go chiong Geylang must take cover mah....same like going X.

We did not do much to their structure, only at certain locations when we re-engine the A4s. Most refurbishment are on avionics which is what is onboard the aircraft.

We can do the same for the E-2C's but the structure needs a re-work.

Vehicles and aircraft are different, so cannot be compared. 25 years is a bit too long in the tooth don't you think? We don't want our men to fly and risk their lives if possible. There are many men on board during a normal flight.

nah beh....sometimes SAF say things also not consistent lah...like the A4 and F5, extend visa dunno how long liao....F5 still operational right?

Why spend so much money on such "defensive" toys?
Who are our enemies in this region?
Are we not a respectable member of ASEAN?
Which insane nation will ever want to attack us?
What would the attacker achieved by invading us?
What "natural resources" do we have that these "enemies" wants to makan us someday?

Come on policy-makers....
Spend that money on the poor, unemployed and sick among us.
Lets love our neighbours and they too will love us.
Let us truly practice what we always preach, "PROSPER THY NEIGHBOUR"

somemore turbo prop, fucking noisy, fucking slow. Some more with a fucking big rotating dish on top, no need scan, visual contact can see liao. How to run from heat seeking missile. And last i heard. a few are grounded so operational one, a few.

gulfstream good, sleek and fast, no rotating dish to give away the silhouette on radar. Outline look like normal commercial plane, so can spy here spy there.

honestly, go X change passport better lah....otherwise other cuntries see the chop, will get you into trouble esp many of you chiong JB, scarely detained and made to nude squats LOL

Somethings like speed, comfort, range, fuel economy and noise are the major considerations. Those who never set in a turboprop aircraft may not know how bloody noisy, slow and uncomfortable it is.

i understand where you're coming from and i agree the lives of the flyboys are indeed important.

i just hope the gulfstream is chosen for its performance and not due to other ahem merits. ;)

i understand where you're coming from and i agree the lives of the flyboys are indeed important.

i just hope the gulfstream is chosen for its performance and not due to other ahem merits. ;)

I think we have to trust our military to do due diligence. I am not against spending our money wisely and in this case I think it was a good decision.

144 squadron with 7 F5S used as trainer/interceptor. On their last leg I think. The rest either donated or sold.

nah beh....trainer? Isn't that one that crash in Taiwan a F5?

they think they can emulate B52 - extend n extend n extend...just like LKY....keeps going.

It's justifiable lah. I am sure when you got abundant resources like the Sultans, you desire to buy a LamBoGenie or Furlali in addition to the Lexus, Mercedes or BMW in your possession. Sama sama, Singapore is a rich nation so must have class and spend on latest collection. Not only does it look nice, but also protect the country as well. Challenge is when enemy planes take off - they would reach Singapore before these aircraft can take off. But never mind, it's nice to have.

These sophisticated planes are purchased after very careful consideration and evaluation; they are high technology and have great economic value - if the need arises, Singapore will be ready to host such planes for maintenance, repair or even manufacture of parts. Just like Singapore was among the first in the region to build air terminal to host the new double-decker A380 - more such planes can land in Singapore - creating new and more jobs and more wealth for the people in the process. And of course the manufacture of airplane engines.

Let's us not deceive ourselves - the pragmatic Singapore government with all the top brains think long term and strategically to protect the wealth of the country - and ever mindful of the bottomline. That's how Singapore survives and prospers - my humble cock sucking opinion.

Why don' t you go straight to the point. You want good leaders to run this country, you pay obscene salaries for them. LOL

Ha ha .....rotating dish. I always laugh when I see the plane. Carry big dish like want to collect rain water.

Americans are using the E2-D. Same plane, new upgrades. Singapore didnt buy

It is still not fully operational and by 2012 perhaps a few will be delivered. We had our first G550 in 2008. How long will it take if we were to order the E-2D as the US will take first priority in deliveries?

New production of same aircraft albeit different version. The E-2C has to be retired due to old age. There is a mandatory requirement that may need to be done which might be too costly such as replacing the basic structural components, skin, longerons and fuselage.

If they can upgrade those Vietnam era A4S skyhawk in the 80s why not E2C? Even the USN is still using and they are using it for carrier landing which stresses much more on aircraft structure.

nah beh....trainer? Isn't that one that crash in Taiwan a F5?

they think they can emulate B52 - extend n extend n extend...just like LKY....keeps going.

The A4s we bought were in service in early 1950's. They hardly flew and were mothballed in the Arizona desert. Their structures were almost new and therefore it was a good buy. The Malaysians bought some but we were first and we took the best. Those that Malaysia bought were hardly flown and grounded, It was a sheer waste of money whereas we got our money's worth.