• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Why Jamus Lim join Workers' Party ?

Jamus Lim

1 h ·

The Workers' Party

2 h ·
In his speech on the proposed amendments to the National Productivity Fund, MP Jamus Lim cautioned that the expansion of the scope to include any economic activities that benefit Singapore may inadvertently dilute the original mandate of the fund for productivity enhancement.

Jamus Lim

1 d ·

The Workers' Party

1 d ·
In his contribution to the motion for Parliament to be a fair arena for debate, MP Jamus Lim spoke about how policymaking in a democratic society benefits from the robust, earnest, and animated exchange of ideas.

Jamus recently had a digital lock installed. :cool:

Jamus Lim

1 d ·
We recently had a digital lock installed at our home (it’s a really nice feature; if you can save up for one, I recommend it). One thing that the digital lock dude will do when they come by your place to set it up is talk about options for getting in. As it turns out, there are usually at least 3 ways. You can use a thumbprint. This works for many folks, but Mom has always had a faded thumbprint that doesn’t get read by almost anything (sometimes airport security can be painful). An alternative is a number pad. You set up an access code, and voila, you can even share that with guests (our little one loves this option, cos she gets to practice her number recognition and she finds it fun). And if all else fails, you can use a card key. They work in the usual way that keycards work; you flash it, and it beeps you in (our daughter also likes doing this, but more when she PayWaves our credit card, which is a foreboding sign for the future).
The reason why so many key options exist is because you don’t want the system to lock you out of your house, when one mode somehow fails (say, one of the number pad buttons is damaged). It’s a good design for digital locks. This sort of balanced design is also good for many other areas of life, including political institutions. That’s why we have 3 branches of government—the executive (ministers and president), legislature (parliament), and judiciary (courts)—which can check and balance one another.
During the discussion over the recent corruption scandal involving Minister Iswaran, Prime Minister Lee explained that CPIB has two “keys” in terms of reporting line: first to the PM, then to the President, should concurrence of the PM not be forthcoming (he also said you can’t have the CPIB “reporting to God,” which is both true yet unfortunate, since we’re talking about high-level ethics here). But the bottom line is that there is one check, in case the PM goes rogue.
The problem is, both the PM and President are part of the executive (so, the same sort of key entry method). And since they’re just two people, there is a real risk that should this single channel fail—a PM is corrupt, and the President blur—then we’re (in PM Lee’s words) “sunk.” In my view, the system can be designed to be more robust. Expand the reporting line to the other branches of government: the judiciary and the legislature. This is a more genuine, failsafe sort of check and balance. There is precedent in other countries for these alternatives. The Brazilian Lava Jato (“Car Wash”) corruption probe reported to a sequence of judges, and in Australia, the anticorruption commission is overseen by a joint committee in Parliament.
When I posed this suggestion to PM, he said that he was happy that I agreed with the need for two keys. I do, but he seemed to misunderstand my point: contrary to his suggestion, I wasn’t supporting the elected president as the second key. Rather, I was making the argument that the keys shouldn’t be from the same keychain. But just as important, I do not buy the PM’s argument that it comes down to finding “good people.” Why not? I think events over the past month or so have revealed that even very good people can stumble. One could blame them, or one can look to redesigning the system so that it is less reliant on individuals. I’ll choose institutions every time. #makingyourvotecount

Jamus continues house and coffeeshop visits. :x3:

Jamus Lim

1 d ·
These past weeks’ house and coffeeshop visits for #TeamSengkang took us through 318C and 318D #Anchorvale, as well as the 289 #Compassvale eating house.
One observation I’ve had in recent times is that new residents—whether from China, India, or elsewhere—have often been extremely welcoming of our visit. Part of the reason for this, possibly, is because of of their recent experience of being a guest in another country, which heightens their sense of hospitality overall. Another could be because they hail from either a country that deeply respects democratic traditions (India) or from where where such considerations have been given short shrift (China), and therefore imbuing them with a keen appreciation for what we have here. Another is simply that they see the tremendous value of alternative voices even if, on balance, they value the work that the government has done thus far (a sentiment that many have shared directly with us, and one not limited to recent immigrants).
This is a useful insight, not least because there is a belief—whether true or not, I am uncertain in the absence of data—that new immigrants will always vote for the ruling party. This perception may not just be mistaken, but unfair; after all, if we hold it, we strip our new Singaporean brothers and sisters from any agency over their choice of who represents them. And I, for one, happen to think that the desire for voice and accountability transcends borders, and is one closely held by people all over the world, new immigrant (or new #SengkangGRC resident!) or not.

Jamus poses with a father and his 2 kids. :smile:

365460470_809963600785565_1808614277669301039_n.jpg

Jamus is concerned about price of HDB flats. :cautious:

Jamus Lim

5 d ·
One topic that Singaporeans of all stripes have repeatedly flagged to us in recent times has been concern over housing, specifically pricing on HDB flats, given how four-fifths of Singaporeans live in public housing. Flats are getting smaller, and more expensive. New records for resale prices, widely shared in the news and on social, hardly help. Even those who already own their flats fear that their kids won’t be able to afford homes of their own.
In my view, this is the underlying context for why the Ridout Road episode sparked such wailing and gnashing of teeth. It wasn’t about the specificities of permits, the propriety of bidding, or burden sharing of renovation costs. It was about what Singaporeans had been repeatedly told about why HDB costs so much—limited land, high construction costs, and the need to price land according to market principles—versus the perception of how their leaders don’t seem to face such constraints. For example, Minister Tong stressed that pricing for black-and-whites excludes land, since rentals only consider built floor area. Fair enough, except that, in contrast, HDB prices fully incorporate the market price of land, backed out from resale prices of comparables.
This leaves many Singaporeans—who are repeatedly reminded that HDB needs to pay for land at genuine “market prices” just so that we don’t raid the reserves—suspicious, of how there is one market for rich B&W tenants, and another for poor HDB dwellers. But there isn’t! (Or, at least, there shouldn’t be). Even if we wish to take the estimates of the Chief Valuer at face value (see what I did there?
1f61c.png
), how we price in the land component is entirely a policy choice. If we say that land has to be priced into B&W rental pricing—because, after all, there is amenity value to green spaces, and this extra land can also be “improved” with pools and tennis courts—then the valuation will automatically be higher for sprawling estates. By the same token, if we tell the Chief Valuer that land for public housing should reflect its additional benefits as a public good (there, I did it again
1f61c.png
), then that land should be discounted to capture the spillovers of having a population sheltered and secure.
This is but one area where the #workersparty thinks that fresh thinking (on a roll here
1f61c.png
) can help improve our nation’s public housing model. Over the course of the coming week, we will release a series of videos to highlight our ideas. Stay tuned! #makingyourvotecount
Postscript: Democratic strategist James Carville once quipped that if there was reincarnation, he’d not come back as the president or pope, but as the bond market. In Singapore, it seems like if we do choose to return, best to do so as the Chief Valuer.

Jamus considers a dilemma. :redface::confused::barefoot:

Jamus Lim

3 d ·
In the first of our #workersparty HDB series, my #SengkangGRC teammate Chua Kheng Wee 蔡庆威 breaks down the fundamental dilemma in the current HDB-CPF model: that, on one hand, we want to have affordable public housing that all Singaporeans can call a home, while on the other, we want this same house to be the main way that we finance our retirement, since we pay for it with our CPF. These goals are hard to reconcile, since in one case we want the flat to be as cheap as possible, but in the other, we want it to fetch as much as possible. #makingyourvotecount

Jamus puts on his historian hat. :notworthy:

Jamus Lim

3 d ·
Today, I put on my historían hat for the second of our #workersparty HDB series, and walk us through the evolution of our nation’s public housing, from the earlier years of providing a home the masses, to where the program started deviating from this original goal. #makingyourvotecount

Jamus offers a diagnosis. :thumbsup:

Jamus Lim

4 d ·
The third in our #workersparty HDB series, I offer our diagnosis of why public housing has so expensive in recent years: ranging from how we build, to how we price, to how we sell our flats. I also offer some suggestions for alternative models that are better suited for an HDB operating in the 21st century. #makingyourvotecount

Jamus discusses proposals. :thumbsup:

Jamus Lim

5 d ·
In the final installment of our HDB series, Chua Kheng Wee 蔡庆威 and I sit down and discuss various #workersparty proposals on how we can make our housing ecosystem work better, so that we return to HDB’s original purpose: to ensure every Singaporean has a home to live in. These include a universal lease buyback scheme, more widespread SERS/SERS+, different lease duration schemes (a 70+29 option), and expanded public rental schemes. #makingyourvotecount

Jamus wishes Doc Park much success. :smile:

Jamus Lim

5 d ·
This past Saturday, I attended the opening of the new Park Orthopedic clinic, at Gleneagles Medical Center. Derek is an old, old friend, and I couldn’t be more delighted that he’s managed to strike out on his own.
Derek was born in Malaysia, and came to Singapore to study, before undertaking his medical training in New Zealand and the UK. Along the way, he started a family (with another doctor), and now the eldest of his three children goes to school at our alma mater. As our rugby vice-captain and fullback, Derek’s always had a safe pair of hands; it is wonderful that he was able to parlay this gift into a profession where he now is also able to give back to society.
Our multi-decade friendship notwithstanding, I view Derek as a quintessential example of the sort of talented migrant that brought Singapore to where it is today, and the sort we hope to continue to attract to grow roots here. Here’s wishing Doc Park much success, as he launches his new labor of love.
May be an image of 2 people, flower arrangement, prairie gentian, baby's breath and text

k1976

Jamus Lim

1 h ·

The Workers' Party

2 h ·
In his speech on the proposed amendments to the National Productivity Fund, MP Jamus Lim cautioned that the expansion of the scope to include any economic activities that benefit Singapore may inadvertently dilute the original mandate of the fund for productivity enhancement.
Why he mentioned the obivious and bijar other people lobang de woh?

k1976

Jamus Lim

1 d ·

The Workers' Party

1 d ·
In his contribution to the motion for Parliament to be a fair arena for debate, MP Jamus Lim spoke about how policymaking in a democratic society benefits from the robust, earnest, and animated exchange of ideas.
If other party are really interested in exchange of idea and move forward.... Then everything will be better tomo, but is it really so?