• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Is Funeral Necessary After One Dies?

kulgai

hello, who knows why is funeral necessary after one dies?
is it one of the tradition? if so, the reason?
hmm..

The short answer is this - It is not necessary at all.
So, why does every dead person have a funeral?
Tons of reasons but I'll just list a few:
1) Pay last respects. Now, this is strange. If you had been respected whilst you were alive, that should be good enough. If you hadn't got respected whilst you were alive, what's the point of this last respect? Gee, I don't get it.
2) Last spiritual rites (whatever the religion). I think this is also pointless. whatever good or bad you did in your life, there's no way you can change that. Not even the last rites. This is just a hope on the part of the living that the soul would be cleansed in preparation for next life (next life of cos means differently for different religions)
3) To collect condolence $$. I can understand this is necessary for the poorer families but then again, if there's no funeral there's not much expenses. :wink:
4) Create business for funeral parlors, monks, caterers, etc,etc. This is big business so I don't think it will disappear anytime soon. :biggrin:
5) Family and friends gathering. A lot of people actually enjoy attending such gatherings. It's party time!:wink:

Asterix

Video to summarise all the reasons, how about it? :eek:

[video=youtube;vMaUBOFDo6Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMaUBOFDo6Y[/video]

Stompiss

I thought you said you would never start one TCSS thread every day?
Oh yah.. And I thought you left for good? Why are you back again? Can't bear to leave your power points and infractions right? What shameless bitch, dun preach people about power when you also can't let go of it >>>>LOL<<<<

hmm..

aiyoh... some folks answered this in the net before.
in the past, when a person dies, their relatives wanted to be sure the deceased is really dead before burial. so the body was kept under watch for a few days, and that was the beginning of the first funeral.
later evolved into a tradition where friends and relatives could come pay their last respects.

aiyoh... some folks answered this in the net before.
in the past, when a person dies, their relatives wanted to be sure the deceased is really dead before burial. so the body was kept under watch for a few days, and that was the beginning of the first funeral.
later evolved into a tradition where friends and relatives could come pay their last respects.

So if they find out that the deceased is not really dead, do they cancel the funeral and demand a refund? :biggrin:

funerals in the past weren't elaborate, just a candle flame or oil lamp plus some family members by the side.

Kohliantye

lianbeng says: that's just another culture practice lah! :biggrin: the Tibetans are world known to feed dead bodies to botak head vultures on mountain top leh!

Lianbeng, the Tibetan culture makes them chop the body into peices.

The Parsis (originally from Persia (Iran) would usually bring the shrouded corpse and hang it upside down over a deep well.

The birds of prey will then descend on the corpse and finish it up.

The bones fall into the well.

Some other people even release the corpse into the sea to be devoured by the marine species.

Kohliantye

In ancient China, the rich people even engage the services of proffessionals wailers (criers) at funerals.

hmm..

Is depend on race and religious and personal feeling.
Funeral for generally is sending one dead person to another world and respect the RIP in one ceremony hopefully the dead person will be happy and peacefully find another peaceful world.

escher

Not necessary to have funeral for that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY when he mati.

How to?

The rest of us will be so busy yam senging and singing and dancing on tabletops and streets that no one will bother to go even if to spit on his fucking face or shit on top.
The vicious bastards in PAP with no fucking moral compass in the first place will be taking knives out to hoot and hooot each other to get at those hundreds of billions bastard LKY stole from all of us

Ah Loonie will be too scared and shitting in his pants to bother

WE ALL HOPE SMEAR OF SHIT ON SOLE OF SHOE WILL DIE VERY PAINFULLY AND VERY SLOWLY BEFORE HE GO UNDER THE GHOULS AND DEMONS THAT WILL RAPE AND SCREW HIM INTO ETERNITY

whoami

Javanese Black Magic practitioners there even summoned the spirits of this newly buried corpses and when summoned, these spirits would hop around in their funeral shrouds..

Tat one is called pocong.

Seriously, have u ever personally seen one?:smile:

Tat one is called pocong.

Seriously, have u ever personally seen one?:smile:

So its called Pocong?

Not yet.. But our Indon maid ever showed us a You Tube video of this decomposed corpse in tattered funeral shroud.. Happened in Indonesia when they recorded the ghost on a HP..

CB Kia Tonychat last wish if he up the lorry is to request Singapore Casket staff put his coffin outside the Parliament gate because he wants to protest against the PAP for the last time..

blindswordsman

Why? Simple. When deceased crossed over to the other side, he would know who had sent him and who did not send him on last journey. Those who took his money and did not send him on last journey, better watch out.

1. live like a dog and dies like a king
2. live like a king and die like a dog

If u are 1 then your descendant find you worth something to give you a funeral and grateful you live like a dog to make them (descendant) live like a king.

If u are 2 then your descendant find you a scumbag you made them (descendant) live like a dog while you live like a king. There is no funeral for you.

hmm..