• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why do people keep their kitchen or washroom lights on overnight.?

This 5th one is interesting infact.. as the others are but obvious and not valid in this case

ANd if they keep it on whole night teh light is very distracting to physical neighboursany times.
Some of them also leave the room or the living room lights on the whole night.
As my block is unblocked, I can see from my flat far away many blocks bound to have a few of such people.

Doctor: "How are you coping with your failing eyesight?"
Patient: "I am doing fine since my wife installed the light sensor in the bathroom. Every time I want to pee, I open the door and the light comes on automatically."
Patient's Wife: "You idiot! So you are the person who has been peeing in the refrigerator all this time."

During the olden days, I use to see some shady figures during the evening and night time. I hear the dog barking all the time at that particular direction at that particular spot. So we will

Anyway, my elderly uncle start run multiple dogs around the spot continuously for a few weeks. They are big Alsatian dogs. Dogs are fearless. After a few weeks, the spot is rid of such paranormal activity.

We even resort to standing in front of the spot and waited for the figure to appear. Well it did appear, we walk near it shining torch light on it. The figure was gone a few weeks.

during the night. people sleep, the household pests like lizards, cockroaches etc all come out from hiding.

When the pests see the light, they will think that the residents are up and about, so they won't be searching openly for food. As I live within close proximity to the Rail Corridor, I notice lots of lizards in my home. I leave them alone because I know that they are hunting insects, and when there are many lizards, it means that the insect population is substantial, and being kept in check.

Have you noticed a neighbour constantly keeping their kitchen or washroom lights on constantly ?

Why do you think it is for?

1- may be they are scared?
2-may be they are always hungry ?
3-may be they want something from others?

When I was a child I noticed lights on by next building neighbours followed by deaths around...so am keen to know if anyone knows the reason?

People only do that during hotel stay as electricity is paid for in the package else is siao lang already.

a few lights on is ok if it saves a few bones and lives. give these old farts a break (no pun intended). don’t be a freaking nag who kpkb about others living the lives they want. what i can’t stand are ocd aunties and unkers who have to switch off everything before they go to sleep, including the wifi router that serves their security cameras and sensors in landed homes. the whole lot gets dark, and when they kpkb why security cams and sensors not working when they wake up i told them their wifi is off. “oh, i have to leave it on whole night?” “yes, if you wish to browse your tablet or watch your favorite k-drama after midnight too.” “oh, no wonder my tablet doesn’t work late at night. i thought sumting wong.” “yeah, you fool! need to turn on wifi first. or just leave it on. it doesn’t consume much electricity in idle mode. moreover electricity is cheaper in non peak hours, especially past midnight.” “ok thanks.” “bakaru!”

My mom says online banking is so easy and convenient. All she needs is to call me to drive over to her home every weekend to use her smartphone to pay her bills. LOL!

for old folks with vulnerable joints and bones it’s for safety.
Yes. Elderly folks tend to wake up at night to pee, toilet light serves as night light to help them move around in the dark and it save them the trouble of switching on/off the light regularly.

for safety of the elderly when midnight wake up go toilet lah .... :whistling:
Put this urine pan by the senior's bedside.

images

When the pests see the light, they will think that the residents are up and about, so they won't be searching openly for food. As I live within close proximity to the Rail Corridor, I notice lots of lizards in my home. I leave them alone because I know that they are hunting insects, and when there are many lizards, it means that the insect population is substantial, and being kept in check.
Actually that may not be ttue

I notice if bathroom lights are on. The pests like cockatiaches mostly form the gutter will be pulled towards sthe light that they see form the sink hiel in. Your bathroome and would rush up towards it ...

more likely those old farts don’t have a clue about small led night lights. they are old school traditionalists sticking to decades old ways. turning on the ceiling light is the only thing they know and trust. so leave it on when they go to sleep as they know no other alternatives. some are so ocd and stingy they shut down everything and walk in the dark to pang jio.
my home got old farts, middle-aged farts and young farts. The young farts are usually the ones guilty of not turning off lights (and even ceiling fans). I need to install more security cameras and implement a demerit system. When they have no points left, I'll kick them onto the streets.

Standing lamps? You stay in pte apt?
Hdb don't have this kind of atas setup le.
All homes can have standing lamps lah, so don't need to always use ceiling lights. Standing lamps create a warm and cozy atmosphere, also good for spot lighting when reading.