• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why are our Malay comrades getting more obese these day ?..

You are no better than pappies if you think this way.
Freedom of speech! No censorship!
I say let this insightful thread be a sticky!

Actually, all threads from fishypie should be made a sticky...very knowledgeable

Is it better to be fat or thin?
I mean illness more likely associated with fat or thin people?
I think I choose fat over thin

Thin is better than fat IMO and this thread is talking about obesity which is so fat that it's unhealthy,

on a side note i didn't know you're so pro malay until you personally would rather be fat.

If i followed you i would support melamine in milk and poor workmanship in the products i buy.

Its the coconut milk lah. kelings also fat wat.....

Thin is better than fat IMO and this thread is talking about obesity which is so fat that it's unhealthy,

on a side note i didn't know you're so pro malay until you personally would rather be fat.

If i followed you i would support melamine in milk and poor workmanship in the products i buy.

what he meant even if you are thin,does not mean you are healthy.
So if he want to be fat, it is his choice.
Nothing to do with pro-malay or anyting.

what he meant even if you are thin,does not mean you are healthy.
So if he want to be fat, it is his choice.
Nothing to do with pro-malay or anyting.

True but if you followed his postings you would know why i called him out on that. In any case i get called out on being pro this or that too.

Not pro Malay....
I mean usually illness stricken persons sure thin type wasting away...
Fat also have share of illness like diabetes etc....
So just guessing fat slightly better than thin in the health stakes

Not pro Malay....
I mean usually illness stricken persons sure thin type wasting away...
Fat also have share of illness like diabetes etc....
So just guessing fat slightly better than thin in the health stakes

That's not a very good way of looking at things. Firstly the illnesses you described of ppl wasting away being skeletal in appearance is the end result of the illness. You need to look at their before pictures to have a fairer picture. Many of these ppl before getting such an illness were not thin at all and some were even fat. Take aids for eg. If you look at the before pictures of these aids victims some were strong and healthy and not skinny at all but of course they became like that afterwards when dying but still this does not support what you are implying. You are implying that somehow those thin skinny type of ppl will end up wasting away but that's not true. Anyone can get those type of illness and they will end up like that. Doesn't mean a fat person has a lessser chance of getting it and if he gets it doesn't mean that all cos he's fatter somehow he's not going to end up wasting away so you see that's not a very good argument at all.

In today's society being thin is better. Most ppl lead sedetary lifestyles and being fat shows the symptoms of hypertension, high blood pressure and so on and not to mention it looks unslightly and makes a person appear physically unfit, That's not to say a thin person would automatically be fitter or not have high blood pressure but at least he looks fitter. You must also be fair and not equate thin to some starving refugee thin. In this case thin would be say those ah bengs you see on the streets that aren't muscular but are not starving refugee thin.

Careful sia wait you kenna called racist again. I'm serious these ppl are easily offended by anything and refuse to take responsibility for anything.

Like i think recently the press reported that over 50% of new drug addicts are malays or something along those lines and some idiot was writing in complaining about that like it had to be kept a secret. Also i think one of them was complaining about the obesity rate amongst malays wasn't due to their diet and lifestyle like the press was implying but that nowadays most youths indulged in an unhealthy lifestyle which then again negates like it seems that so many malays are fat compared to say the chinese. I think the issue of their diet was also discussed here and someone was being damn defensive about it.

If Gambling is legal, then make drug taking legal. The fair for both race. How come one race sapu all.

malay do not cook like they used to. In the kampung days, its only Rice with ikan bakar/goreng with malay salad (ulam or kerabu). Both taken with nice sambal. It can be sambal machang, sambal belachan or air assam good. And the fishes must be from the sea. Not the river type. sambal is the heart of malay cooking.
Today, they cook beef/chicken rendang or curry everyday. This is not typical malay food.

Obesity is a problem prevalent among most Singaporeans today and NOT only among the Malays.

During the good old days at the kampongs, all had to walk to school, market and even to neighbouring kampongs.

The food on the table was very healthy and balanced with lots of greens and tropical fruits thrown in.

Veges, fowls and other livestocks were reared and used as food.

Chickens were not "injected" to be fattened and the same applied to other animals.

Fresh milk was bought from the Bayee-Susu. Remember the men in loin-cloth on a bicycle loaded with milk bottles.

Bakeries were based in kampongs and their end products was more palatable compared to today's bread like Gardenia, Sunshine that can last for a week.

As kids we were all busy chasing "layangs" or engrossed in games like police and thieves, hantam-bola and soccer.

There were many forested regions to wander into to catch spiders, longkang fishes and get a bite of our favourite fruits like guavas and jambu-ayer.

KFC, McDonalds, Long John Silver and many other "junkies" had yet to set foot on the shores of our Singapore Harbour Board.

Today, we live as cooped-up chickens behind closed doors in what we call "high-rise apartments".

Many other unhealthy activities have "over-powered" us and laziness has crept into our sedentary lives.

So, please do not pick out a single race as the culprit.

Lets look at ourselves, our children and grand-kids more closely.

If Gambling is legal, then make drug taking legal. The fair for both race. How come one race sapu all.

malay do not cook like they used to. In the kampung days, its only Rice with ikan bakar/goreng with malay salad (ulam or kerabu). Both taken with nice sambal. It can be sambal machang, sambal belachan or air assam good. And the fishes must be from the sea. Not the river type. sambal is the heart of malay cooking.
Today, they cook beef/chicken rendang or curry everyday. This is not typical malay food.

Hello what talking you? All cos malays do an activity is illegal and chinese don't so must make the illegal activity legal to be fair? If malays fuck underaged gals then must make that legal?

FYI drinking alcohol is legal and kelings do it so where got discriminate?

Not typical malay food and then what? Don't make sense not typical malay food so they eat it till become so fat?

Obesity is a problem prevalent among most Singaporeans today and NOT only among the Malays.

So, please do not pick out a single race as the culprit.

Lets look at ourselves, our children and grand-kids more closely.

True but malays have higher incidence of being fat compared to other races even though everyone exercises less nowadays.

Never mind you can follow narong and say being fat is better.

1. bro, me choose to be healthy & happy above all other things.
2. i am younger than allan principal, weight: 65kg at 1.73m, still have all the hair, top & there:D
3. regular bonking at least twice weekly:cool:

All races have healthy and unhealthy food!
Chinese food unhealthy:
Fried kway Teow,
Bak Kut teh
Pig's Organ soup
Chai Tau kway with lark oily
Fried Oysters lark oily
Deep fried prawn
Pig's tail soup
Laksa full of Coconut milk
Mix veg rice avoid those oily stuff! (No More economy rice with price increased!!)
Roast Pork especially the fatty piece
Chicken rice full of chicken oil in the rice
Duck rice especially Yu Kee employ PRC trying to make money for their bosses!! Balls carrier!
Prawn noodle oily like hell with lark

The Better Choice:
Fish soup but getting expensive
Yong Tau Foo soup
Fish ball soup kway teow
Char siew mee
mee siam mai hum
PRC hand made noodle
Sum Loh kway teow with Slice fish

Malay Food to avoid:
All Fried stuff
Curry with lots of coconut milk
Nasi Lemak with lots of coconut milk & Fried stuff
Sayo Lodeh take veg without gravy
Mutton curry

The Better choice:
Mee rebus
Mee Siam mai hum
soto rice avoid top oily surface
Ayam peyet avoid the fried chicken skin
Lotong avoid gravy but take veg

India Food to avoid:
Nasi Briyani with mutton or chicken very bad for chloresterol
All deep fried stuff avoid
Mee goreng very oily
Prata one of the worst uses mutton oil Ghee!

Better choice:
rice veg with Dal curry
Tosai with masala curry potatoes
Rice with selective veg and meat choose carefully!!

Thats all folks!!
Hope these would u choose better choice food for your good health
stay health excercise every day, can walk, cycle, run, golfing walk or swim!

Obesity is from the genes. Some eat and never ever grow fat. Some just simply cannot get rid of fat.