• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Where to find this kind of woman officer in the SAF?

Charlie99

Should be at least 5 figures per month. :thumbsup:
The last time (2014) I spoke to a 3WO in SG, he indicated that his monthly salary was about $5,000 (and about the same as a Captain).
May be a Captain who is a pilot earns more based on his or her vocation.
If a Captain is paid at least $10,000 a month, then the generals could be in the range of $20,000 to $30,000 a month, more so for those on the SAFOS pay scale.

The last time (2014) I spoke to a 3WO in SG, he indicated that his monthly salary was about $5,000 (and about the same as a Captain).
May be a Captain who is a pilot earns more based on his or her vocation.
If a Captain is paid at least $10,000 a month, then the generals could be in the range of $20,000 to $30,000 a month, more so for those on the SAFOS pay scale.

After retiring will be cushy position in GLC or Stat Board. :thumbsup:

MAJ Nah Jinping
Pilot

1618323333761.png

Few know the long road one has to travel before taking to the air as an RSAF Pilot. Yet, those who complete that journey will soon find themselves moving faster than they’ve ever imagined. Find out what the journey was like for MAJ Nah Jinping.

When did you decide to join the Air Force, and why?
At first, I wanted to be a lawyer. However, a career in the RSAF first piqued my interest when I visited a scholarship fair just after junior college. This was as they promised a professional career that wasn’t desk-bound, while also promising to train your critical thinking skills. I found this fascinating, so I decided to talk to the recruitment officer at the booth. That was when I chose a different route in life, as a pilot.

What was your proudest moement in the Air Force?
That would be the moment when I got my Pilot Wings. Just that one moment, where I found myself standing shoulder to shoulder with the other trainees in the parade square, was a culmination of all the years of anticipation. It also served to prove that all the effort I put in working towards being a pilot finally paid off. The training itself took approximately two and a half years and getting my wings made the journey well worth the fight.

Which part of your job do you enjoy the most?
I enjoy the flying, because every day brings with it different experiences. While flying is often challenging, it can also feel extraordinarily peaceful at times – especially when flying at night, when the rest of the nation is fast asleep. Through all the hours we spend flying, we discover a deeper meaning in what we do – that we are making a difference in protecting Singapore.

I also enjoy going to work because I get to see my friends. The people I work with are not just my colleagues anymore; they are like my brothers-in-arms.

Which moment during your service was the most memorable for you?
In 2016, during one of my squadron detachments in Australia, we executed live bomb drops as part of our training. My most memorable moment would be dropping a live bomb, then seeing it detonate on the target. It reminded me of how our training prepares us for the times when we will be counted on to do our job. It’s also an experience that few others can say they’ve had.

How have you grown since entering the Air Force?
The very nature of the job trains you to expect certain standards, so you learn to only demand the best from yourself. The vocation itself teaches you to be very precise in how you deal with issues. While I’ve always been outgoing, I am more outspoken now and tend to speak my mind in voicing my opinions – all while learning to be more tactful.

MAJ Gurdeep Kaur
Air Warfare Officer (Command, Control and Communications)

1618413268405.png

Every day, the words of MAJ Gurdeep Kaur send our most advanced assets soaring towards where they're required most. But when the RSAF was called upon to aid in disaster relief, her actions proved to speak even louder than her words.

How would you describe the RSAF's organisational culture?
Team excellence definitely features very highly in the RSAF. No one works alone, and whatever you do has an impact on the next person down the line. Even though you have a certain role to fulfill, you will still look out for your team at the end of the day. No matter what happens, you will always ensure that those beside you are doing their job safely and doing it well.

What is the work-life balance like in the Air Force?
Sometimes it can be challenging to manage as well as balance family and work commitments (especially with 3 kids to juggle), but it helps to have an understanding family and thoughtful bosses. While it can get a little hectic sometimes, I am fortunate in that I don't have to pick between the two and get to enjoy proper work-life balance.

What was your proudest moment in the Air Force?
It was when we were called up for OFE (Operation Flying Eagle) after the Indian Ocean Tsunami struck. My airbase was tasked with deploying the helicopters that supported the relief missions, so I was sent to Sumatra to assist in the orchestration of operations. Being able to contribute to and be part of the Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief (HADR) effort was especially meaningful to me.

ME3 Rajeswary
Air Operations & Systems Expert | AOSX

1618499501228.png

ME3 Rajeswary is an expert in all things related to air operations. From state-of-the-art surveillance sensors, networks, communications, to computer systems, she enables the Air Force to see, hear, and recognise every threat – even before they enter Singapore's airspace.

How would you describe your career so far?
I've been in the Air Force for 16 years, and the journey has been extremely fulfilling. It has given me the chance to travel all over the world, from Darwin and Rockhampton in Australia; Alaska and Nevada in the USA; to Cold Lake in Canada. These experiences have been truly memorable – and certainly something that you cannot find anywhere else in the corporate world.

Do you think women can excel in the RSAF?
Of course. Women are given equal opportunities to shine, and sometimes they do even better than their male counterparts. I've seen women in my squadron take up key roles, such as Squadron Command Chief, Officer Commanding, Flight Warrant Officer and Base Coordinator. They prove that if you are capable enough, you can lead and succeed.

What type of unique skills do you think women bring to the RSAF?
Some vocations in the RSAF, such as the AOSX, are not physically strenuous. When strength is not a factor, I think women may have a competitive advantage. Most of us are very detailed and meticulous. So it's natural that when we're given a task, we always demand high standards and give it our very best.

I've been in the Air Force for 16 years, and the journey has been extremely fulfilling. It has given me the chance to travel all over the world, from Darwin and Rockhampton in Australia; Alaska and Nevada in the USA; to Cold Lake in Canada. These experiences have been truly memorable – and certainly something that you
KNN my uncle would like to tell rajeswary of course she will feel extremely fulfilling using tax payer money to travel all over the world KNN my uncle also feel shiok doing nothing at work and getting paid by non profit organisation taking money from peasants KNN but she more shiok can travel over the world KNN

waitifcuk

KNN my uncle would like to tell rajeswary of course she will feel extremely fulfilling using tax payer money to travel all over the world KNN my uncle also feel shiok doing nothing at work and getting paid by non profit organisation taking money from peasants KNN but she more shiok can travel over the world KNN

KLN

Whats with all these expert here, expert there?
KLN, when facing enemy what can you do?
What will you do?

Can you kill?

KLN sia suay KLN

KNN it is certain that she uses less taxpayer money than PAP MPs and Ministars KNN :biggrin:

3WO Cecilia Li
Air Defence Systems Specialist

1618580417249.png

Highly trained and professional, 3WO Cecilia Li is part of a specialised team that is always ready to eliminate any threat in the sky.

Why did you choose to join the RSAF?
I've always been fascinated by the Air Force since I was little. And so I chose to sign on, not merely because I was interested in airplanes, but because the RSAF offered me something that was truly different, exciting and purposeful – a career which made me proud.

What's special about being an ADSS?
In most vocations, candidates generally have to focus on a particular skill. But as an ADSS, I would say that I got the best of both worlds. That's because, besides being technically trained to operate some of the world's most advanced ground-based air defence weapons, I get to be in the thick of the action as I deploy them in almost any terrain or condition.

How do you cope with being out in the field?
I love the outdoors, so being out in the field is where I have the most fun. I get to deploy the RSAF's sophisticated air defence weapons, take part in combat drills, as well as utilise the various field survival skills that I've picked up over the years.

waitifcuk

3WO Cecilia Li
Air Defence Systems Specialist

Highly trained and professional, 3WO Cecilia Li is part of a specialised team that is always ready to eliminate any threat in the sky.

How do you cope with being out in the field?
I love the outdoors, so being out in the field is where I have the most fun. I get to deploy the RSAF's sophisticated air defence weapons, take part in combat drills, as well as utilise the various field survival skills that I've picked up over the years.

KLN

Dont play play.

Highly trained wor.

Combat drills ? KLN, using simulator?

KLN in actual real war combat, can fight meh?

ME2 Crystal Soh
Air Force Engineer - Maintenance | AFE (M)

1618591027880.png

A pilot may be responsible for flying and landing the aircraft. But there's also a whole team of dedicated professionals working behind the scenes, making sure that it is in top condition to fly. ME2 Crystal Soh is one of them.

What's the most rewarding part of your job?
Personally, I get great satisfaction when I see the aircraft that I’ve spend hours maintaining take flight. Knowing this equipment helps our pilots fulfill their duties efficiently and safely fills me with pride to be part of their success. But the most rewarding part would be the overseas humanitarian and peacekeeping missions. These missions widen my perspective about life, and are truly worthwhile, as I get to use my knowledge and skills to help people who are in need.

Do you think women get the same opportunities in the air force?
Yes. I undergo the same training and I'm equipped with the same knowledge and skills as everyone else. There's nothing in this job that a woman cannot do. And when it comes to opportunities, we all get ample room to grow and develop professionally. I would say that, if you are willing to learn and work hard, you will succeed.

What's the work-life balance like in the RSAF?
The RSAF has always been supportive of endeavours outside of work. The 5-day work week allows me to pursue my interests and hobbies. Parent care leave lets me take care of my parents when they need help. And the FLEXible Benefits Scheme (FLEX) has given me the financial aid to further my studies. To be honest, I've also never had problems with taking leave – even urgent leave – as long as the reasons are fair.

LTA Ng Pin Ning
Air Warfare Officer (Ground-based Air Defence) | AWO (GBAD)

1618666849330.png

LTA Ng Pin Ning works with the world's most advanced anti-aircraft weapons, keeping the skies of Singapore safe – from the ground-up.

What were the challenges you faced as a female AWO (GBAD)?
I have high expectations of myself, so I always take the extra step to do more during training and in operations. This is to ensure that I raise the standard for my team, as well as to prove that I am a leader they can trust. With that being said, I think the challenges that I face are the same as everyone else on the team. We strive hard together to excel in what we do. And when we're out in the field, everyone looks out for one another, regardless of gender.

Was your training tough?
Cadet days were definitely physically demanding. During my Summary Exercise, I was required to march with the weapon system and my full battle order right after four days of non-stop activities. I almost crumbled. However, with help and motivation from my peers, I managed to pull through. The training was tough, but the friendship and camaraderie that it led to will be something that I will cherish for a lifetime.

Why would you recommend joining this vocation?
Being an AWO (GBAD) is something quite different from the rest of the vocations in the RSAF. It's like a hybrid between the Army and the Air Force – we are deployed in the field, but work with the rest of the RSAF as a network. The job is highly demanding, but the sense of achievement is equally high. So, if you are out to challenge yourself and build strong bonds with the people around you, this vocation is for you.

ME2 Crystal Soh
Air Force Engineer - Maintenance | AFE (M)

View attachment 108334

A pilot may be responsible for flying and landing the aircraft. But there's also a whole team of dedicated professionals working behind the scenes, making sure that it is in top condition to fly. ME2 Crystal Soh is one of them.

What's the most rewarding part of your job?
Personally, I get great satisfaction when I see the aircraft that I’ve spend hours maintaining take flight. Knowing this equipment helps our pilots fulfill their duties efficiently and safely fills me with pride to be part of their success. But the most rewarding part would be the overseas humanitarian and peacekeeping missions. These missions widen my perspective about life, and are truly worthwhile, as I get to use my knowledge and skills to help people who are in need.

Do you think women get the same opportunities in the air force?
Yes. I undergo the same training and I'm equipped with the same knowledge and skills as everyone else. There's nothing in this job that a woman cannot do. And when it comes to opportunities, we all get ample room to grow and develop professionally. I would say that, if you are willing to learn and work hard, you will succeed.

What's the work-life balance like in the RSAF?
The RSAF has always been supportive of endeavours outside of work. The 5-day work week allows me to pursue my interests and hobbies. Parent care leave lets me take care of my parents when they need help. And the FLEXible Benefits Scheme (FLEX) has given me the financial aid to further my studies. To be honest, I've also never had problems with taking leave – even urgent leave – as long as the reasons are fair.

Crystal is quite the chiobu. :geek: