• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Where to find cheap, honest durian sellers?

garlic

As the topic suggests, anyone can intro good, honest durian sellers who wont sell overly expensive for good durians? I know there are the usual geylang, balestier uncles but selling very the expensive. Me looking for those heartland stalls where they are honest, selling authentic "Mao Shan Wang" and not trying to fool us. Anyone can share where their usual durian stalls are?

Sorry did you just ask where to find a kind hearted PAP MP with conscience?

I don't know if this old uncle is still selling his durian beside the mamak minimart at Begonia Drive (off YCK Rd)

durian also so picky ah ?

i very chin chye one............3 for 10 bucks enough liao.............you're just paying mostly for the husks anyway...........

Geyland roadside, just eat at the stall and they can't cheat u.

Geylang lorong 35, there's a NTUC outlet there, next to it has a durian stall, the guy very nice, we bought 3 for $10, eat there, 1 was bad. We decided to buy another 3 to bring home, the guy asked how was the durian, I said 1 was not nice, he gave me 4 durians to take back. Very honest MY chap.

Mandai forest near the zoo. Pick from the ground. It's free.

Wah lao eh. The last time my friend ask me to eat durians and we ended up feeding mozzies at Gambas or Mandai. Then we headed to Bukit Batok to feed the mozzies again. No more. We suspected someone waited there last night just after the rain. Forget it.

honest durian sellers are like honest politicians..

really hard to find!! LOL!! :D

honest durian sellers are like honest politicians..

really hard to find!! LOL!! :D

Exactly! really hard to find.. that's why must gather the power of Bros here...

Don't tell me everytime you all wanna eat durians all go geylang meh? Those around your estate not have? I have one stall to recommed at Jurong West, Blk 502. There is a stall there selling durians, not by the weight but by number. Bought 2 med sized "Mao Shan Wang" for 20 bucks and he gave one small one for free. So, its $20 for three. The durian is authentic and value hard to beat.

(I dont stay near the area, but was visiting an uncle, address might not be pinpoint, but it's around there.)

durian also so picky ah ?

i very chin chye one............3 for 10 bucks enough liao.............you're just paying mostly for the husks anyway...........

Once awhile eat, eat good one mah.. :) cant eat too much also, coz heaty.. but as youngsters nowadays like to say, life is too short to waste calories on bad food :D

As the topic suggests, anyone can intro good, honest durian sellers who wont sell overly expensive for good durians? I know there are the usual geylang, balestier uncles but selling very the expensive. Me looking for those heartland stalls where they are honest, selling authentic "Mao Shan Wang" and not trying to fool us. Anyone can share where their usual durian stalls are?

That "combat durian" in Balestier super expensive. It basically Mao Shan wang and I paid something like $18/KG.. Now I totally don't buy in sinkieland but in JB. Cheapest MSW I got was Rm13/kg last month.

The durian season over liao. Now the durians are smaller and the price has gone up. Many parts of Malaysia now underwater, especially Pahang, Trengganu and Kelantan and parts of Johor.:eek:

What's so nice about durians? I'd rather eat mangoes.

Bro, if u stay in the north area, can try this stall Sembawang Durian Seng (三巴旺榴莲胜) @ Jalan tampang opp. Sambawang shopping mall. This uncle quite friendly and sell all varieties. He was featured in wanbao for giving away over 1,000kg of*durians*to celebrate his 60th birthday.

<<honest durian seller>>

Dis is what dey Ingerleesh expert say is an oxymoron.

There are no "honest" durain sellers.

Durain 101:

1. Hold the durain and smell. DSCF4100-1.jpg as shown in the pic. If you smell green vegetation smell means its not ripe yet. If you smell a mild durain smell instead
means its ripe and ready to be eaten.
2. Hold the durain with 2 hands and shake. (shake the durain & NOT your body ahahaahha ..! )
If you feel nothing means its too wet and sticky meaning either its too ripe or not ripe for eating yet. If you feel balls shaking inside means its loose and not sticky that's the one you want !!
3. Don't take broken & rotten ones, its common sense.

Happy duraining !

• DSCF4100-1.jpg
    DSCF4100-1.jpg
    46.2 KB · Views: 640
Sometimes the stall owner will scold you "Ooei don't shake the durains leh will spoilt it" !! That's bullshit, he knows you know and he don't like you because you're going to take away the good ones...:p

An honest durian seller?

Isn't that a myth like the caring MP?

Or the upright used car salesman?

An honest durian seller?

Isn't that a myth like the caring MP?

Or the upright used car salesman?

It is a myth, either they play hanky panky with the weighing scales..or some play hanky panky with the "fruits", one famous out of favor, 'durian seller' will attest to this! ha ha ha