• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What is Marina Barrage for?

The only purpose of the barrage is to flood Sillypore.
Other than that it doesn't serve much purpose in generating electricity like any other dam.

Yah hor. Maybe its to show the world especially our neighbours that we also got dam and are capable of generating hydro-electric pawer if we want to. LOL.

I wrote in a previous thread that I have not seen flooding that often in my younger days 30 years ago when the rain was much heavier. I remember that there were times where torrential rain fell over days continuously and there were no flood in orchard or other parts of town. However, with just 2 hours of heavy rain nowadays we see flood at several part of Singapore.

I kind of suspect that the marina barrage has something to do with our current situation but hoping that some bro here with the knowledge can shed some light.

the barrage is definitely affecting the floods. it is not channeling the water out fast enough.

Alas, if only the barrage flood gates are just as wide as our FTrash flood gates. :rolleyes:

the barrage is definitely affecting the floods. it is not channeling the water out fast enough.

Alas, if only the barrage flood gates are just as wide as our FTrash flood gates. :rolleyes:

nothing in the world is bigger than our flood gates. they give out PR and pink IC like there is an endless supply. these trash then in a few years time, cash out and use the pink IC as singaporean to immigrate to USA , australia or europe. I sincerely they dun tell their new host that they are singaporean. it is disgust me.

In the event that unforeseen events occur and the Malaysian supply of water is cut off before the 2061 expiry of the agreement, the water in the barrage will be able to take up the slack.

You also have to realise that water consumption does not remain static. It will increase over time. The barrage is an integral part of long term self sufficiency.

Surely you would not want to be in a position where the country can be easily blackmailed by its neighbors.

All the details are available at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_supply_and_sanitation_in_Singapore

Agreed. Provisions and precautions are necessary but why the fucks he chose to block the river mouth? There are so many other ways....shit water is one 'success' in which he forced people to drink. Another thing, why do they need to pump out when the water level inside the dam is higher than the sea? All they need is to open the gates and water will rush out into the open sea effortlessly saving a lot of money on the giant pumps.
What fucking engineering design is this?

Agreed. Provisions and precautions are necessary but why the fucks he chose to block the river mouth? There are so many other ways....shit water is one 'success' in which he forced people to drink. Another thing, why do they need to pump out when the water level inside the dam is higher than the sea? All they need is to open the gates and water will rush out into the open sea effortlessly saving a lot of money on the giant pumps.
What fucking engineering design is this?

The issue has the tackled from multiple fronts. No one solution is sufficient.

If you're such a hot shot civil engineer, why don't you give us your proposal.

The barrage is for couples to take wedding photos..

In the event that unforeseen events occur and the Malaysian supply of water is cut off before the 2061 expiry of the agreement, the water in the barrage will be able to take up the slack.

You also have to realise that water consumption does not remain static. It will increase over time. The barrage is an integral part of long term self sufficiency.

Surely you would not want to be in a position where the country can be easily blackmailed by its neighbors.

All the details are available at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_supply_and_sanitation_in_Singapore

Go do something wise and gainful for once and stick your head in unflushed public toilet bowl and drink and drink and drink

Your intelligence not likely to improve. But then I do not give a flying fuck to you as you nothing but a smear of shit on that smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY

call a failure a failure. so were their pathetic attempts to fix it. even the casino got flooded! well done!

The issue has the tackled from multiple fronts. No one solution is sufficient.

If you're such a hot shot civil engineer, why don't you give us your proposal.

Those m'fkkers in white are paid in millions and they should have the abilities to respond to my criticism instead of me providing them with solutions.
Alternatively they could post here with an offer for my consideration.

Those m'fkkers in white are paid in millions and they should have the abilities to respond to my criticism instead of me providing them with solutions.
Alternatively they could post here with an offer for my consideration.

Your criticism doesn't warrant a response. However, it does show how stupid you are which will help everybody in the long run.

It is to enable the country not to be dependent upon Malaysia for its water supply.

The floods are small price to pay. The gains far outweigh the problems of flooding.

What the sinki gomen did not tell us is that a big chunk of johore (about the size of jurong) is is under sinkie control as it is a water catchment area. No malaysian allowed to enter. And all that land and water given for only RM3 million return annually. Just not worth it.

Your criticism doesn't warrant a response. However, it does show how stupid you are which will help everybody in the long run.

How many times have you responded? He..hee...do I need to say more?

It is to enable the country not to be dependent upon Malaysia for its water supply.

The floods are small price to pay. The gains far outweigh the problems of flooding.

1]the necessities in sillypore : water , food , electricity
electricity being generated using oil or gas.
2] all above come from other places.
3] do you have solution for food and electricity ? how to not dependent on others ?
4] sillypore was forced to make own water because the scum had grown to
be boastful , arrogant.
5] such a small cunty yet it like to agonize , belittle others.
like to be lumpar one in everything.
6] what if indonesia and malaysia build a low bridge across the malacca strait ?
how do the tankers and container ships come to the port ?

I cannot image what is the Eco damage of doing this....likewise the reclaimation of land in sinkieland.
Even a structure like the causeway has environmental impact on the surrounding waters

What eco are you talking about? The Kallang river and it's connected waterways were dead for decades, filthy smelly streams of nothing. Turning it into a freshwater reservoir is the best thing they could have done with it. It is being protected now like all the other reservoirs.

And how on earth does it compare with the causeway or land reclamation??

What the sinki gomen did not tell us is that a big chunk of johore (about the size of jurong) is is under sinkie control as it is a water catchment area. No malaysian allowed to enter. And all that land and water given for only RM3 million return annually. Just not worth it.
Fucking LKY and son LHL are so selfish and greedy,they just ignore the Health of people,Spore and Malaysians,they will go toHELL unless LHL wakes up his fucking idiot!
Johor Straits causeway a health hazard: hydrologist
http://www.taipeitimes.com/News/world/archives/2006/02/15/2003293105

Fucking LKY and son LHL are so selfish and greedy,they just ignore the Health of people,Spore and Malaysians,they will go toHELL unless LHL wakes up his fucking idiot!
Johor Straits causeway a health hazard: hydrologist
http://www.taipeitimes.com/News/world/archives/2006/02/15/2003293105

How about getting to the root of the problem and NOT discharge pollutants into the sea at all! Hiding the rubbish further out into the sea does not make it go away. This out of sight out of mind thinking STINKS. The author clearly has politics on his mind.

LKY says he do not want to have a statue after he mati.

He very clever, he built a Marina Barrage instead as a replacement.

The best memorial to that bastard smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY is to build a public toilet above him so all can shit onto his fucking face from above.

Or to mummify that bastard LKY into a kneeling position in from of memorial to General Lim Bo Seng. LKY happily said he VOLUNTEERed to work for the Japanese Kempei Tai so he can eat and live better. LKY directly responsible for the death of Lim Bo Seng and he was there translating Lim screams under interogation.

How about getting to the root of the problem and NOT discharge pollutants into the sea at all! Hiding the rubbish further out into the sea does not make it go away. This out of sight out of mind thinking STINKS. The author clearly has politics on his mind.
Thank you,Brother PPT,wow,you are so powderful leh,"getting to the root of the problem and NOT discharge pollutants into the sea at all!":thanlk you for telling all the fuckers not to do that.more powderful than LKY,LHL,Najib,MadMati combined leh -of course second to our very own powerderful Kopi,cheers