• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What is happening to our MRT!!!! IMPs playing punks!!!???

WHILE ROME BURNS..... ha ha ha ha ha

AsiaOne
Thursday, Dec 15, 2011

SINGAPORE - Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loon will be on overseas leave from Dec 16 to 27, according to a statement from the Prime Minister's Office.

During his absence, Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs Teo Chee Hean will be the Acting Prime Minister.

sam heng

It wasn't too long ago that the PAP use to brand our public transport system as WORLD CLASS. Some forummers would probably remember seeing PAP billboards with these words WORLD CLASS TRANSPORT SYSTEM against the MRT. IT was also used as an election platform in previous elections. PAP has since stopped using this branding with so many MRT incidents over the last 3 to 4 years, some of which are very close to one another, just like the one today coming so soon with yesterday's incident.

What actually happen is this. The PAP had created the myth that an orderly, clean and aesthetic MRT stations is equivalent to a superbly efficient transport system. Many S'poreans had in fact been taken in by this PAP propaganda for many years, confusing orderliness and cleaniless with efficiency. The PAP had always boast of the fact that our MRT stations are so clean, so well maintained etc as compared to the old and run-down underground train stations. Now we all know that this is simply an empty boast that is not matched up with an efficient and incident free MRT system. How efficient and how well the train systems server public commuters has nothing to do with how good the station looks. The London Underground or more commonly called the The Tube is the best example. It has been in use for more than 120 years or so, and yes, it looks run-down and in need of fresh coat of paint. But then, the trains are super efficient, they arrive at very close intervals, huge capacities, and the stations are very near each other such that it's very convenient for commuters as they need not has to walk too far or the need to catch another bus as we need to in S'pore. The Japanese and the Hong Kong train systems are just another two examples where the emphasis is to serve the commuters well ie getting them on time to work etc, very short waiting time and sufficient room to wait for the room. Here in Singapore, the emphasis is on how to build a nice-looking station to be adorned by art pieces. I mean who the hell has the time to go admire those damn art pieces hanging on the walls of MRT stations? All commuters want is for the trains to arrive quickly such that they can get to work or home quickly. But that has never been a main consideration of the PAP here isn't, going by what had happened in the past few years, especially when the MRT is to put to the strain with influx of foreigners.

There were some commuters who commented after yesterday's Circle Line breakdown that they were surprised since it is so new. I wasn't. Because on the 2nd and 3rd day when the Circle Line opened, I already witnessed the escalators having brokedown on 2 to 3 new stations!!! If the MRT can't even take care of escalators well which is no new technology at all, can we expect them to run the trains well.

It is the same with our expressways. The PAP has beautified with lots of greenery and flowers. So it gives the impression that they are really well run and serve their purposes. But just get into any of these expressways in the evenings and you can see the massive jams. In fact even in the afternoons one can witness the jams already. Why? Because they are poorly designed without taking into considerations the future vehicular volumes. They were too busy beautifying the roads.

So never never confuse cleaniless, orderliness and aesthetics as efficiently and effectiveness. it's an impression that the PAP wants to create among its people to cover up the inefficiencies and ineffectiveness of our public transport infrastructure.

If I may sum it up for you..“好看不好吃”。

Microsoft

u were in a train or in a bus? ... :confused:

If in train...think i now jumping up n down spilling vulgarities leow...more 2 add...walkway/bus stop opposite J8 completely overflow with commuters...1 traffic lane near de bus stop are close for commuters waiting 4 bus...:biggrin::biggrin: Tat was an hr ago...now dunno wat de situation leow...:confused:

This is what u get when you vote for pap...they are totally not held accountable for these acts and omissions.

All i can say is that sinkies are stupid...in other countries the transport minister will have been sacked together with the ceo of mrt!

Let me correct it , if i may, i would say this is what you get when you bunch are a low life ball-less cowards sinkie fucks that bend down everytime for your govt to screw you.

Now you bunch of worthless sinkies deserve all the shit you can get... wahhahahhaha

I hope your mrt will break down daily and screw each and everyone of you coward bunch to no end.

If in train...think i now jumping up n down spilling vulgarities leow...more 2 add...walkway/bus stop opposite J8 completely overflow with commuters...1 traffic lane near de bus stop are close for commuters waiting 4 bus...:biggrin::biggrin: Tat was an hr ago...now dunno wat de situation leow...:confused:

Repent! ye Sinners of Bishan , repent! ha ha ha ha :biggrin:

So many cocked ups, train breakdowns eversince Lui Fuck Yew get the Transport job.. As a punishment, Ass Loong will send Ah Lui to Aljunied in 2016...:biggrin: :eek::rolleyes:

What do you expect from a SEA rear Admirer opps Admiral, who can not reverse out a car during the 50 years thing floods, & missed his breakfast.

I doubt if an individual can screw up the system so badly. The best screw ups are a team effort & the PAP has the best team:o Those really responsible have probably been promoted:confused:

Microsoft

Repent! ye Sinners of Bishan , repent! ha ha ha ha :biggrin:

OK...jus watch de news...now i understand y bishan so jialat...there r many who cum frm circular line, alight at bishan n xfer 2 a north bound train...problems ish...there was absolutely no notification to those commuter along circular line bout de breakdown at bishan so all happie happie travel there 2 get an early xmas present...courtesy frm AssMRT...:biggrin::biggrin:

Watched the news coverage on CNA. Lots of pissed off Ang Mohs. :biggrin:

It's amazing that Lui Tuck Yew and Saw Phaik Hwa are still keeping their jobs.

Watched the news coverage on CNA. Lots of pissed off Ang Mohs. :biggrin:

It's amazing that Lui Tuck Yew and Saw Phaik Hwa are still keeping their jobs.

sorry...the latest taxi fare increase have their plates full liao...MRT breakdown is deserts.

Conqueror

It wasn't too long ago that the PAP use to brand our public transport system as WORLD CLASS.

There were some commuters who commented after yesterday's Circle Line breakdown that they were surprised since it is so new. I wasn't. Because on the 2nd and 3rd day when the Circle Line opened, I already witnessed the escalators having brokedown on 2 to 3 new stations!!! If the MRT can't even take care of escalators well which is no new technology at all, can we expect them to run the trains well.

So never never confuse cleaniless, orderliness and aesthetics as efficiently and effectiveness. it's an impression that the PAP wants to create among its people to cover up the inefficiencies and ineffectiveness of our public transport infrastructure.

Survey shows nearly 8 in 10 public transport commuters dissatisfied

Neo Chai Chin
May 16, 2011

SINGAPORE - When it comes to getting around the island, Singaporeans apparently have a worse journey experience than do commuters in New Delhi or Kuala Lumpur.

The Republic ranked 18th in a survey of 23 cities on public and private transport journey experiences. Copenhagen, Seattle and Sydney had the most satisfied commuters, according to the inaugural Journey Experience Index by business research and consulting firm Frost and Sullivan.

Singapore scored 54.5 points, below the global benchmark of 61. Those travelling on public transport indicated a higher level of discontent: Out of 740 public transport commuters and 674 private transport commuters polled here, 77.5 per cent and 57 per cent respectively were dissatisfied with their journey experience.

A comparative breakdown for the other cities was not immediately available. However, one reason Singapore did not do better in the index could be the relatively high percentage of journeys made on public transport, as cities with higher car usage tended to record greater satisfaction in the overall journey experience, said Mr Vivek Vaidya, Frost's Asia-Pacific vice-president of its automotive and transportation practice.

The index gave equal weightage to four areas: Timeliness in reaching one's destination, value-for-money, convenience and overall journey experience.

Mr Vaidya said the main frustrations of public transport commuters were overcrowding, switching between different modes of transport as well as getting to and from their homes and train stations.

Car owners said their journey times were predictable, but groused about the lack of value-for-money, with charges such as Electronic Road Pricing, he said.

Transport analyst Lee Der Horng of the National University of Singapore was surprised that Singapore ranked below cities such as Beijing and Kuala Lumpur. But the findings suggest room for improvement in bus services here, he said.

A significant percentage of commuters get to train stations by bus, and "now that we have more MRT lines, transfer between (different) modes becomes more and more common", he said. Train services are relatively predictable, but buses, which are subject to road and traffic conditions, are less so, he said.

"So, how to eliminate those uncertainties in bus services - that's what the operators and regulator should pay extra attention to," he said.

Frost's findings vary from a customer satisfaction survey commissioned by the Land Transport Authority, the results of which were released earlier this year.

Of 3,100 public transport commuters polled last October, 92.2 per cent were satisfied with service, according to the latter.

Respondents gave an average service rating of 7.3 out of 10. Commuters were asked to rate satisfaction levels in eight areas including comfort, waiting time and reliability.

Associate Professor Lee noted that the two surveys' methodologies were different and should not be compared.

In reply to queries, the LTA told MediaCorp it was doing its best to increase transport system capacity and will spend S$60 billion over the next 10 years to expand the rail network.

Since last June, when LTA began quarterly reviews to improve heavily utilised bus services, 51 services have been improved through higher frequency and deployment of higher-capacity buses.

"The LTA will also continue to build new road infrastructure to cater to travel demands," a spokesperson said.