• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

What exactly is Swiss standard of living?

xenomorph

Since people keep mentioning Swiss standard of living,

Living and working in Switzerland

1. While the initial bureaucracy may frustrate you, most of my
colleagues have adjusted well to Switzerland and like it. Compared to
the UK it is not that expensive although Americans will find it much
more expensive.

2. Make sure that you know what documentation you need and have all the
documentation that you require before arriving in Switzerland.

3. Switzerland is tightly regulated. It has numerous petty laws - such
as cannot wash the car on a Sunday. If you live in a flat there are set
times when you can use the washing machine. Must get permission to
install an electric socket on the wall. Do not flush loo after 10 pm.
You must not put batteries in the rubbish. This is probably the
greatest culture shock. However once you get used to this there are
only a few rules that you need to know for day to day living.

4. It is not part of the European Union, this may mean that you can
work but not your wife, check it out. The Swiss voted against joining
the EU which was probably very wise but it has implications for those
in the EU moving to Switzerland.

5. Assuming that the husband will transfer jobs to Switzerland much of
the burden will fall on the wife, since hubby will be at work all day.
Since the learning curve is steep the wife should get as much help from
the company and other expats as possible. Starting a Swiss-German
language course will be a good way to meet other expats in a similar
position.

6. While the Swiss are quite insular the cities are fairly cosmopolitan
- in practise there are plenty of expats in Switzerland in a similar
position to you (19.4% foreign ~1,375,000 people).

7. People use trains and buses much more than in USA, they even walk or
cycle to work. A number of my colleagues do not bother to own a car in
Switzerland.

8. Cars are quite cheap (second hand), gas is expensive but not the
most expensive in Europe.

9. TV is crap (mostly foreign language), buy some good books and board
games for the family, take it as an excuse to know your kids better.

10. Beef is expensive, pork and veal are cheaper. Switzerland is not
carnivore friendly, if you like your 32 oz steak, forget it, you are
more likely to get a six ounce (150 g) steak at a restaurant. One of my
colleagues commented that you had better start liking pasta. I would
suggest you get used to Pork in its various forms.

11. While Switzerland is expensive, the Swiss Franc (CHF) has devalued
over the past few years. Also taxes are low. Compared to the UK
salaries are higher, less so for the USA.

12. There are certain Cantons where Foreigners cannot buy property.
Property is very expensive to buy. So you will live in a rented
apartment. If you stay in a hotel the room will be very small and
probably has no aircon.

13. You need to live in Switzerland for twelve years to get Swiss
nationality.

14. You should try to learn the language(s) - Swiss German (maybe
French or Italian), at ABB English is spoken at work. In some cantons
English is spoken quite widely. People at the railway ticket office and
hotel receptionists need to speak English, in Baden English was no
problem, in Chur it was not spoken much at all. See my Swiss - English
menu dictionary

15. There is no evening or Sunday shopping.

16. Cars stop for you at pedestrian crossings.

17. With flats you get what you pay for, do not bother trying to shop
around for a bargain. A decent family 4.5 room apartment near Baden
cost CHF 1,900 per month, a flat for singles is about 1,200 CHF per
month. If you rent a CHF 1,000 flat you get a CHF 1,000 flat if you
rent a CHF 2,000 flat that is what you get. You do not get ripped off,
if you go out to buy something you can buy the best or the second best
and you get what you pay for.

18. It is a beautiful, clean, safe country and the trains run on time,
everything works like clockwork.

19. Health: There are more doctors (3.2) and more hospital beds (20.8)
per 1,000 than in the USA (doctors 2.6/beds 4.0)

20. Not much air-conditioning in summer.

aangsc

Not the 5 C meh ? Cash, Car, Credit card, Condominium, and membership(s) of Country club , maybe also Casino membership now...

ivebert

I am very curious why Sinkies like to buy $100,000 cars that cost $20,000 in U.S.

Then after buying that, they KBKB on ERP charges and fuel prices

If cannot afford, why even make the purchase?
Taking MRT is great and cheap. If you hate the crowd, take the first train?

Really don't understand Sinkie thinking

middaydog

Errrr, which cheek? :biggrin:

this cheek ( see arrow )

right-buttock-32257.jpg

Received_by_Kings

What exactly is Swiss standard of living?

Like some people say, Swiss cottages and also, Swiss chocolates everyday made of low-fat milk (I'm saying this for the girls also).

But, maybe my sense of the local geography is poor, but everywhere I go I have failed to find any Swiss cottages in existence be it at Grange, Tanglin, Cairnhill, or the Holland areas to list a few.

Is this kind of housing unpopular, or is it difficult to build? Probably all of the developers don't know how to get it up too, which is a real pity.

Agoraphobic

Didn't this swiss std. of living thing come from the guy who said Sg will be in 2010 world cup finals? I also remember him saying that sg will launch a satellite into space.

It is his sense of humour. He's funny.

Cheer up!

lianbeng

lianbeng tries to keh kiang: :biggrin:
1) live in Swissotel at Raffles City.
2) eat Swiss chocolates.
3) wear Swiss watches.
4) carry Swiss Army multi-purpose knife.
5) what else leh?

Forvendet

Goh Chok Tong - tongue in cheek.

Goh Meng Seng - Chinese sarcasm English ed can't understand.

Are they related? :confused:

wizard

Swiss standard is for the swiss, not for sinaporean.

It is only a "promise" land use to blaff the voter in 2006.

It is easy to always dangle a CARROT in front of them in every election and it work everytime..

Khun Ying Pojaman

L
But, maybe my sense of the local geography is poor, but everywhere I go I have failed to find any Swiss cottages in existence be it at Grange, Tanglin, Cairnhill, or the Holland areas to list a few.

Is this kind of housing unpopular, or is it difficult to build? Probably all of the developers don't know how to get it up too, which is a real pity.

Pic2.jpg

ivebert

Before you can enjoy Swiss standard of living

Please at least have a degree from NUS/SMU/NTU or US/UK universities.

If not, please keep your Ah Beng status

swiss standard of living today mean that maid carry your backpack, pack your backpack, do your army work for you, and go to field to help you buy hawker food.