• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

We will raise our quality of life - don't worry

... "How can you be sure? More population, but quality of life remains the same or even better?"

"Actually, the answer is yes," he emphasised. "It's possible."

... Government planners, he said, are using the mantra "prepare for the worst, but and hope for the best." ...
mantra said u can oni hope ...

but dat $8 burger confidently twist it n craim iz possible ...

typical words of a conmen 2 trick daft sinkies ...

poorleedership3.jpg

More like his common sense killed all the cancer cells.

Its is very dangerous for a cancer-ridden leader to lead a country.His cancer relapse could have wiped out his common sense.Why is he wearing a SMU jacket ? Still reminiscing his days as an undegraduate ?

26846904e.jpg

National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan has reassured Singaporeans that the Government is confident that it can cater to a larger population of 6.9 million while raising their quality of life.

Responding to widespread concern over the projected numbers in the government's Population White Paper, Mr Khaw said that the alarm shown by many Singaporeans - that "the planners must be mad" - is a legitimate reaction.

"Of course, they ask good questions. How can you be sure? More population, but quality of life remains the same or even better?"

"Actually, the answer is yes," he emphasised. "It's possible."

Speaking at the HDB hub on Tuesday morning, he said that two conditions must be in place to make this possible: good, long-term planning, and good infrastructure built ahead of time. Government planners, he said, are using the mantra "prepare for the worst, but and hope for the best."

The Ministry of National Development today released its Land Use plan, which details how the planners will find enough land for the 6.9 million population and the 700,000 extra homes they will need.

Mr Khaw likened this effort to throwing a wedding banquet. When one invites 1,000 guests, one must cater for all 1,000, he said, even if they have not RSVPed and perhaps only 600 or 700 ultimately turn up.

This is necessary, he said, to avoid "embarrassment and chaos."

Even as the Government resolves current problems that resulted from being under-prepared in the past, he said that "our eyes must be on the future".

Three blind mice in a row...

men of vision
men of action
no empty talk
no ponding no fooling
no delusions
action is the word
don't worry be happy
be aggressive in your plans
plan like a wedding banquet
singaporeans will have a better quality of life
majulah singapura!!!

no worry. we are a honest, clean and lean government.
we are ACTION PEOPLE. we don't talk but ACTION...
your money is saFE. cpf is cash rich. our savings are enormous.
your money is safe. so don't worry. be happy.let us help you to be happy and gay.

yo! who are you, kopi?COLOR]

LordElrond thinks MIWs run Singapore like a private company, ie squander as much as possible from the company while you are in power, when the end is near, take the millions and live like kings in "welfare-oriented countries" the same countries which they denounced. LordElrond understands this because i ruled Rivendell for 6,500 years and we remained the most prosperous and untouchable kingdom in middle earth.

Sounds like what that fucker Liew mun Loong did to capitaland when they were booming and he knew that his time is coming up. declared a huge bonus from clearing out the landbank and then declared extraordinary profits and big bonus for himself

.... next year? Capitaland has to borrow money from the market again.... cunt..

More like his common sense killed all the cancer cells.

I am more curious about his bapok "broken wrist" gesture like saying... the weather today is too *hot*.......

come on man...load up with more captions...i am no good at this boys!!!

Government planners, he said, are using the mantra "prepare for the worst, but and hope for the best."

What? Usually those that say this in the office are those skivers.

prepare for the worst
if the worst turns out to be a blessing
then must give credit to the skivers
for their aggressive planning and action

Its is very dangerous for a cancer-ridden leader to lead a country.His cancer relapse could have wiped out his common sense.Why is he wearing a SMU jacket ? Still reminiscing his days as an undegraduate ?

Maybe trying to pretend to be a student to chase skirts?

don't worry be happy
many will not live to see 2030
maybe there is a nuclear holocaust
the world disappear together with all our plans and dreams

Kopi, this is bad. How can we hope that a nuclear holocaust will befall upon us and liberate us from our problems. That is a really bad scenario.

Remember the Swiss standard of living promise? The PAP has yet to explain that missed goal.

When the nuclear holocaust comes down on us, as what kopi uncle has forecasted, our reserves should still have the money to pay for a one-way ticket for everyone to either Zurich, Lucerne or Geneva where we can all enjoy the true Swiss standard of living. The Swiss Army will be all waiting for us.

When the nuclear holocaust comes down on us, as what kopi uncle, our reserves should still have the money to pay for a one-way ticket to either Zurich, Lucerne or Geneva where we can all enjoy the true Swiss standard of living. The Swiss Army will be all waiting for us.

Swiss standard of living means being able to purchase Swiss knives and watches only. I suspect that was what GCT had in mind.

mantra said u can oni hope ...

but dat $8 burger confidently twist it n craim iz possible ...

typical words of a conmen 2 trick daft sinkies ...

precisely, like these sneaky bastards will ever admit to the truth that Singapore will be turned into an overcrowded sweatshop where sinkies will suffer in misery?? hahahaha

they say that they are finished right?

Swiss standard of living means being able to purchase Swiss knives and watches only. I suspect that was what GCT had in mind.

Those Swiss Army watches that you find in the stores might be fake watches and not genuine Swiss stuff. Even Rolex watches could be fake as well with China made movements or hopefully a Japanese one.

precisely, like these sneaky bastards will ever admit to the truth that Singapore will be turned into an overcrowded sweatshop where sinkies will suffer in misery?? hahahaha

they say that they are finished right?

I can almost confirm that with the new MRT network, although double in length and possibly stations will not be able to support a 7 million population without increased congestion.

New lines can relieve congestion only if the new population and its associated activities travels or happen exclusively in the areas served by these new lines. This is not possible or extremely difficult to dictate that.

Some of the new population will still wish to congregate at Orchard Road for their nights out, Chinatown for their CNY shopping or the Marina Bay Area to paint the town red. Workers in large MNCs, law firms, financial, money and capital markets will still wish to work with a company situated inside the CBD. So do other industries - they have their favourite hubbing places. Some of these hubs will congest up the transport network with an increase in population. How can we regulate people to work only around where they live or along the new lines?

aiyah why think so far
celebrate this LNY first
this is a Snake Year!!!
It's also Uncle's Year !!!
Horsay liao!!!

Build satellite towns - build satellite Orchard, build satellite Chinatown, Build satellite Boat Quay...build ,build and build
and then we all rejoice when we merge with Malaysia...MAJULAH SINGAPURA!! MAJULAH NEGARA KU!!!!

I think he meant swine standard of living.
this 7 million pop is crazy. remember James bond film skyfall. you put in two rats in a drum(confined area) then three , four, five ,seven and what happens? the rats become cannibals and fight and eats one another. This is no fairy tale but a real scientific experiment.
http://everything2.com/title/Cannibalism+and+other+fun+ways+to+get+rid+of+Rats
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081114214547AA5kRs5

so much for foresight and the next year he would come out with a whiter paper that says 20 m and someone would chime no worry. any mistake come 2030, just says sorry no foresight and let's move on.

And you are sprouting shit,,,

don't worry. there will be enough space for everyone.
the quality of life will be raised.
we will build more housing to accommodate everyone.
our intrastructure will continue to improve to cope with the rising numbers.
so don't worry be happy:)
we have a very aggressive ACTION TEAM in our governance...we act aggressively to tackle all the problems.