Please look at my signature.... Hehe
sibei sian.
what is wrong with all the result
Okay .... after a terrible night we have some idea of what went wrong:
(a) People across the board were concerned by AHPETC and were worried oppo cannot run TC well
(b) Sinkees were too easily placated by piecemeal measures like slowdown of FT import and the cooling measures of the housing market. They failed to see the bigger picture. Too focussed on the piecemeal measures and did not realize the broad policies are intact.
(c) SG50 + post LKY effect lingers in memory of older voters.
Tuck Yew must be regretting his decision to resign. Breakdown some more also nevermind lah.
does singaporeans think this is a joke?does sinkies think this is some kind of feel good happy happy funtime aimai aimai suka suka popularity contest or something,after everything that has happened in the past 10 years,do they not realise what is stake?do they not know what is in store for their future?sinkies truly deserve their fate,if this island sank into the ocean like atlantis,the daft and stupid peasants truly deserves it.
Okay .... after a terrible night we have some idea of what went wrong:
(a) People across the board were concerned by AHPETC and were worried oppo cannot run TC well
(b) Sinkees were too easily placated by piecemeal measures like slowdown of FT import and the cooling measures of the housing market. They failed to see the bigger picture. Too focussed on the piecemeal measures and did not realize the broad policies are intact.
(c) SG50 + post LKY effect lingers in memory of older voters.
Other than the reasons you stated, there are a few other reasons that could have led to the huge swing to the PAP:
i) The problems going on in Malaysia especially the 1MDB issue. Voters can't help but to observe how much better Singapore has done compared to Malaysia after 50 years.
ii) The poor performance by Chen Show Mao in parliament. Voters had high expectations of him but were deeply disappointed as he is almost a non entity in parliament. So voters are no longer impressed with candidates with good academic credentials as they may turn out to be another Chen.
iii) The circulation of the bookies list with so many votes going to the opposition causes concern among the middle ground and so they voted PAP to balance things up for fear of PAP not becoming the government. Some even say the bookies list was sent out by the PAP to cause anxiety.
iv) About 200,000 to 300,000 new citizens voters (PAP achieved its aim of loose immigration policy).
Too many voters bought into the nostalgia, the hype of SG50 and the post-LKY feel-good factor.
It seems that the people out there do not wish to vote in a plural, diverse Parliament yet.
The opposition has its work cut out for it.
Too many voters bought into the nostalgia, the hype of SG50 and the post-LKY feel-good factor.
It seems that the people out there do not wish to vote in a plural, diverse Parliament yet.
The opposition has its work cut out for it.
More like we never expected our countrymen to be so cheap and stupid. Better increase CPF withdrawal age to 80. Population can go 10million. More PMETs should lose their jobs. More deserve to collect cardboards and wash toilets. Sell tissue paper.
Truth be told, too many people underestimated the impact from the mismanagement of AHPETC.
WP can continue to wayang on the AHPETC issue and suffer further in the next GE or they can buck up, be honest and clean up their act.
WP was given the opportunity to shine during the past many years and Shame on you for dragging down the alternative representations!!
I'm disappointed but well, it is the choice of Singaporeans. You deserve the government you voted for. My friends and I have fulfilled our social responsibilities but results are disheartening. You cannot save those who does not wished to be save.
Since the last GE, about 200,000 to 300,000 citizenship were issued to FTs from China, India, Burma, The Philippines, Vietnam... It's a kind of upgrading to these new citizens. They are doing "答谢神恩" (thanks giving) in return for their new leaves of life.
I doubt the AHPETC issue played a major role. Many other factors came into play. One thing I am certain - WP took 10 steps backwards and may not recover from this setback. All the PAP need to do before the next GE is throw more freebies out.
She quit her previous job and went full time as a MP. Now she just lost her job. Residents whom she served now rejected her. This is the reality as an opposition MP. It is understandably disappointing for her.
That is what I do not understand, regardless of the feelings for the funeral, and the glory and joy from the SG 50 celebrations.
It is the present and future that is more important.
I hate to say it, but with such an overwhelming support of the PAP candidates (and their policies), then may be Singaporeans should not complain about immigration and the resulting crowded space, crowded MRT and buses, undesirable body odour and anti-social (based on SG's norms), CPF, scholarships and university places for foreigners, etc.