• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Want to learn to cook hawker standard char kway tiow at home. Since kenna lockdown got free time, i show you how....

This char kweh tiow got the wok hei 炒锅 气 heat taste in it.

1. Dont use gas cooker it does not get up to 150-200°C heat. Drop it.

2. Use induction cooker, or electric fryer. Why?
Electric fryer comes with min, med and max heat temperature.

This is where we play with the heat. In cooking, orways play with the heat, thats the winner formula.

Max in the electric fry pan can get up to 200°C. Thats where the wok heat for yr kwey tiow to taste like hawker food.

3. Med is for stir fry garlic and onions for yr kwey tiow.

4. Start off add oil and fry your garlic and onions in Med position. Stir fry not necessay cook it, just get it up to heat... after adding kwey tio they get cook as well..

5. Throw in yr kwey tiow into the electric pan and turn on the heat to half way bet Med and Max. This is about 150- 180C heat.

6. Stand by a bottle of water, at this heat kwey tiow get dehydrated so must throw some water to wet the kwey tiow occasionally.

7. Add Indonesian sweet black sauce. ABC brand..Ketcap menis. Why?

8. Cheats... this sauce hv sugar in it and sugar turn black when cooked. Thats where it gets you the burn type surface in your kwey teow. As if cook till burn right.... not easy.... cheat lah..

9. Play with heat, once the black sauce is in, turn heat up Max and stir fried quickly for a 30sec to 1 min or so, then lower heat to Med.

10. Split the kwey tiow in the middle and add eggs in. Turn on heat to Max again and add a little black sauce to it and fry the eggs a bit and push in the kwey into the egg. The result is fried eggs look burn only, but not in burn state. The sugar in black sauce make it look like burn only.

11. Stir fry the kwey tiow and throw water into it again. At 200C kwey tiow get dehydrate quickly so hydrate the kwey tiow to keep it spongy and look shinny...

12. Once u like the look of it to look like hawker cooking, smell the wok heat of the food, thats it. Turn off heat and cool it down...

And scoop it up on a plate ready to eat.

Like that one. Gas cooking from PAP is shit... way to go is electric cooker...

Tioboh hope this helps...

Psst... if you like my bullshit click the like button....

Now that you know how to play with heat, not fire, we say heat here ok.

Can drop yr gas cooker .... now use electric wok, electric fry pan etc..

No wonder we notice hakwer food taste different than yr home cooking .... this is the fucking gas cooker that cannot bring up heat over 150-200°C.

So from on, when at yr favorite hawker stall observe how he play with the heat.. when he fire up turn the heat to max, turn heat down again, fire up the heat again.

Different food has own methods of fire up the heat and cool down and fire up again...

Thats the hawker ways of cooking. No secret way just that we have no electric cooker yet and still primitive using gas cooking at home....

Until wait i fuck show you it make sense.... happy cooking... hope you enjoy cooking ....

and include sex on demand to get yr wife to hv sex whenever you get horny or she feels horny....

Psst... if u like this bullshit click the like button...

This is where we play with the heat. In cooking, orways play with the heat, thats the winner formula.

Max in the electric fry pan can get up to 200°C. Thats where the wok heat for yr kwey tiow to taste like hawker food.

4. Start off add oil and fry your garlic and onions in Med position. Stir fry not necessay cook it, just get it up to heat... after adding kwey tio they get cook as well..

5. Throw in yr kwey tiow into the electric pan and turn on the heat to half way bet Med and Max. This is about 150- 180C heat.

6. Stand by a bottle of water, at this heat kwey tiow get dehydrated so must throw some water to wet the kwey tiow occasionally.

8. Cheats... this sauce hv sugar in it and sugar turn black when cooked. Thats where it gets you the burn type surface in your kwey teow. As if cook till burn right.... not easy.... cheat lah..

9. Play with heat, once the black sauce is in, turn heat up Max and stir fried quickly for a 30sec to 1 min or so, then lower heat to Med.

10. Split the kwey tiow in the middle and add eggs in. Turn on heat to Max again and add a little black sauce to it and fry the eggs a bit and push in the kwey into the egg. The result is fried eggs look burn only, but not in burn state. The sugar in black sauce make it look like burn only.

11. Stir fry the kwey tiow and throw water into it again. At 200C kwey tiow get dehydrate quickly so hydrate the kwey tiow to keep it spongy and look shinny...

12. Once u like the look of it to look like hawker cooking, smell the wok heat of the food, thats it. Turn off heat and cool it down...

I will probably not cook it, but your pointers look promising.:thumbsup:

why never add hum?

Thats how I did it. Was looking for electric cookware, then look at the manual notice the heat level of Med and Max.... thats where all my experiments with food kicks in..

Just cooked my char kwey tiow , yummy..

I will probably not cook it, but your pointers look promising.:thumbsup:

There you goes.... can see the 1st cook fire the wok at high heat, then turn off and fire again....

See his leg moves, he steps on the heat control plate.... when has finally wipe out the previous cooking, notice he started cooking without fire up the heat, thats becos the wok is still hot and cook the stuff that don't need fire up the wok.

Another thing... look the the types of lader he is using. The semi circular shape is the volume or measurement of the right amount of water in one scoop.

There is one full cup lader, 3/4 cup, 1/2 cup type.

So one scoop is 1 cup of water means for 1 cup of water is needed for this cooking.

So watch closely what lader size the hawker chef use. This is accurate water measurement required for this cooking.

Now, you are learning from me fast track. This is how you cook no time wasted.... bang bang bang next please.

Since when gas fired stove cannot achieve 150-200 degC?

There is something about the heat... trade secret.... meanwhile electric cooker can achive the same result as the restaurant kitchen gas cooker, minus the red high fire shooting upwards...

I was just about to mention you! Hey @tanwahtiu. If you have gas cooker like froggy's confirm chop your char kway teow will be better than hawker standard. Regular gas cooker cannot make it. You should see froggy's cooker... I have wet dreams for his kitchen equipment.

This one is my trade secret... only chef like us knows the reason why home gas cooker is out. Trade secret worth alot of money...

I don’t have a problem with my home stove to get that temperature

499B0A08-6C54-4A0F-9A83-5D7C7BFCD86C.jpeg

Bro. You built this to restaurant specification, you twit.

HDB or standard home gas supplier control the gas volume into the house. Fixed according to safety regulation.

You have a large commercial gas cylinder tank installed. About 1.5m tall. Thats for commercial use only... not allowed in standard HDB unit..

Report to police.

I don’t have a problem with my home stove to get that temperature

View attachment 76245