• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Volkswagen Singapore is dishonest, lying, piece of shit dealer.

Couple of points addressed to Joetys and Singveld.

I don't get upset as in the past when I come across useless or snotty salespeople. If I a want to get product A, and the present salesperson is useless, I will get another salesperson and still get product A. The coimmission hopefully goes to the correct one. Unless product A is available elsewhere, I will not switch to product B. These salespeople are spoilt that they can't be bothered if you walk out. Some years back, there was an article where the lady selling Mercedes was drawing more income due to commission than many of her customers.

Ask any relative, friend etc and you will realise that Bank staff with experience will tell you that dressing has very little to do with wealth or income. A property agents once remarked that the day he stopped stereotyping customers based on race, dressing or any other attrbute, he started getting great results and many surprised him.

yeah going to another sale person is a good idea, it is just not worth to change buying of goods, just because one lousy sale women.

You're absolutely correct:

VW_Phaeton_301.jpg

No lah, normal Phaeton is not that long. this is a limo version,

Problem is Phaeton is damn long and is bigger than Mercs S class. If you have a chauffeur, maybe ok. But if u are driving it yourself, I can see how it will be a problem getting into some of those multistory carparks and smaller roads.

that i not sure as i didnt notice how long it was when i saw it at the VW showroom. one thing i notice is that older building interior carpark look like design for the old datsun 120Y size. i once drove my boss subaru legacy to a building in raffles place, as i travelling up the ramp, i notice it very small and if the car breakdown on the way up, i would be trap inside as the car door cannot be open.

by the way, merc aren't built the way it used to be. as a kid, i dont see many merc breakdown on the road yet nowasday it a daily occurance. my boss gave up his kompresser as it broke down or have faults every few months. it annoying considering the fact he spend half his time oversea. he gave up the merc after 3yrs and change to a subaru for more reliability.

Kuailan

VW was having gear box problem since day one, they just kept quiet,
silence is golden,that's why now they are advertising lelong!!! less $12K less $8K!!

VW was having gear box problem since day one, they just kept quiet,
silence is golden,that's why now they are advertising lelong!!! less $12K less $8K!!

This is common knowledge but call it what it is, i.e. a recall. Not act like it was some sort of free voluntarily service upgrade bullshit.

that i not sure as i didnt notice how long it was when i saw it at the VW showroom. one thing i notice is that older building interior carpark look like design for the old datsun 120Y size. i once drove my boss subaru legacy to a building in raffles place, as i travelling up the ramp, i notice it very small and if the car breakdown on the way up, i would be trap inside as the car door cannot be open.

by the way, merc aren't built the way it used to be. as a kid, i dont see many merc breakdown on the road yet nowasday it a daily occurance. my boss gave up his kompresser as it broke down or have faults every few months. it annoying considering the fact he spend half his time oversea. he gave up the merc after 3yrs and change to a subaru for more reliability.

U have a smart boss. I am a Subie owner myself, the turbocharged type. There is no reason to buy a BMW 3 series or a Mercs C class over a Subie Legacy unless its for the name. I have the money to buy a 3 series, but the Subie is so much more practical (4 wheel drive), and it handles like a dream, and the turbo kicks in like a rocket. I have had no maintenance problems with it so far other than the routine maintenance. Can't say the same for some Bimmer owners I know.

it is a disgrace to car company if rich people do not wear proper clothing drive around in their car, it will kill a brand.
VW do well to avoid an bad buyer. right clothes for right occasion, you dun wear singlet to business meeting with customer, why would you wear casual when looking at higher tier car in showroom. pls dun buy a bmw and ruin my fav brand.

Buying a car is not a business meeting with a client. That is the dumbest analogy I have heard in a long time. WHat ever happened to the customer is always right? The idea that u have to wear "proper clothing" to drive around in a luxury car is absurd. If a car company want to protect their brand the way that u say, than they need to do criminal checks on all their buyers. Ask Mercedes whether they like Hitler driving around in their car? Didthat kill the brand?

vamjok

i know of 2 incident of someone dress in short and slippers walk in a car shop, pay everything by cash. one is a professor, the other fellow i think wholesaler for fruits/vege. looking down on people by their dressing is plain stupid.

Don't tell that to Singveld woh. According to the moron, u must dress appropriately to buy a luxury car. LOL. I would have dressed poorly or average at best to show the salesperson I don't have a lot of money and hence want a bargain in order to afford the car.
If you go in dressed in Armani suite and wearing a Rolex, the sales person got any incentive to talk price with you or not? SOme people don't get it.

Khun Ying Pojaman

The sales person is stupid because she can always close the sales first and look down on the customer later.

Buying a car is not a business meeting with a client. That is the dumbest analogy I have heard in a long time. WHat ever happened to the customer is always right? The idea that u have to wear "proper clothing" to drive around in a luxury car is absurd. If a car company want to protect their brand the way that u say, than they need to do criminal checks on all their buyers. Ask Mercedes whether they like Hitler driving around in their car? Didthat kill the brand?

this-tall-tall-hitler-mercedes-ride-demotivational-poster-1225381349.tall.jpeg

I thought this is funny that you mention Hitler in a Mercedes. Jake aside when I googled I noticed that these old Mercedes are like the Rolls Royce huge and solid very different from like modern Mercedes.

sammyboi

The sales person is stupid because she can always close the sales first and look down on the customer later.

The VW Golf Jetta all those Bread butter models seems like first time conti owner type , naive buyers who don't know much about car history with pretty lousy resale value.

and then i stumbled upon this. in shangai....i believe singapapore's latest lemon law is especially targetted at Automotive market for incidents such as these.

VW issues software upgrade to resolve gearbox problems, shies away from recall http://autonews.gasgoo.com/china-ne...-upgrade-to-resolve-gearbox-prob-120313.shtml

By Carmen Lee From Gasgoo.com March 13, 2012

Gasgoo.com (Shanghai March 12) - Much like Toyota with its numerous brake issues before it, Volkswagen has begun facing difficulties regarding its DSG transmissions. At the beginning of the month, VW announced that its seven-speed DSG gearboxes may malfunction after the vehicle is not driven for a long time. The potential flaw is estimated to affect approximately 500,000 vehicles from FAW-VW, Shanghai VW and Shanghai VW Skoda.

According to a report appearing in Guangzhou Daily today, affected owners can pay a visit to an authorized dealer to receive a free update to repair the problem. The upgrade takes approximately 30 minutes to install.

In a recent interview, Volkswagen Group China Vice President Yang Meihong said that VW had already come up with three potential solutions to remedy the gearbox problem. The last case solution will involve reporting the issue to the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ). However, Mrs. Yang is confident that the dealership update will resolve the problem. According to Gong Xingbo, FAW-VW's director of public relations, the problems can be traced to the gearbox's retooling for Chinese vehicles, with the actual hardware and design having no flaws whatsoever.

According to an official statement, if a vehicle which has not been driven for a long period of time, the control unit of the gearbox may malfunction, preventing the vehicle from being able to be driven. The problem is most likely to occur under extremely warm or humid conditions.

Nearly all VWs in China are outfitted with DSG gearboxes, with the majority of those being seven-speed variants. According to Mrs. Yang, since the gearbox problem doesn't pose a safety risk, AQSIQ has not recommended issuing a vehicle recall.

The defect rate in the BMWs sold by Performance Motor is rather high. Their service sucks so badly they are about the same league as VW Singapore.

come on man, BMW is most reliable german car, only other is porsche. who are you? are you merc car saleman?

LeMans2011

saab is safer than vw, but it went bust and therefore there is only one choice, BMW.

I think your brain is filled with water. I have visited enough car showrooms (and owned enough conti cars) to be able to pass judgement.

I wear shorts and slippers to Mercedes/Audi showroom and have never been treated badly. Even if one dress sloppily it is rather stupid for salesperson to dismiss the customer on that basis. For BMW you need to tell them you wish to be served and they will assign a salesperson. For Jaguar they have this insecurity that makes them put on airs... the minute you ask about the performance of their cars they will write you off as a buyer, because Jaguar's performance can never match another car in the same price range.

Just go to the VAGSG forum you can hear the complains from VW owners how bad their service is.

SAAB is not in the same league as VW, you twit. SAAB is slightly below luxury range and comparable to Volvo whereas VW is mass-market car just slightly above Toyota.

For BMW, the brand itself produces good cars but the Singapore distributor sucks to the core in that the specially order low specs BMW for the dumb Sinkie population especially those who knows nuts but love saying "BMW is the best". In UK people buy either the 528 or 535. In Sinkieland the distributor started by bringing in the 523 and 535 at 70k premium. With the latest marketing spins they are trying to convince people their 520 is as good and worth paying hundreds of thousands.

I especially detest young punks who drive a 318 or 320... the easiet way to bruise their ego is to overtake them at traffic light with a Kia.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
come on man, BMW is most reliable german car, only other is porsche. who are you? are you merc car saleman?

I only drove the lower end of both BMW and merc and that was years ago. E series for Merc and BMW 318 etc. from my limited experience though, BMW had more issues then Merc. I had a Merc and then 1 BMW followed by a 2nd hand one for my dad. Merc went to workshop on a much lesser basis. Same experience from my friends who had BMWs, of course driving experience for a BMW is different. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I think your brain is filled with water. I have visited enough car showrooms to be able to pass judgement.

I wear shorts and slippers to Mercedes/Audi showroom and have never been treated badly. Even if one dress sloppily it is rather stupid for salesperson to dismiss the customer on that basis. For BMW you need to tell them you wish to be served and they will assign a salesperson. For Jaguar they have this insecurity that makes them put on airs... the minute you ask about the performance of their cars they will write you off as a buyer, because Jaguar's performance can never match another car in the same price range.

Just go to the VAGSG forum you can hear the complains from VW owners how bad their service is.

SAAB is not in the same league as VW, you twit. SAAB is slightly below luxury range and comparable to Volvo whereas VW is mass-market car just slightly above Toyota.

For BMW, the brand itself produces good cars but the Singapore distributor sucks to the core in that the specially order low specs BMW for the dumb Sinkie population especially those who knows nuts but love saying "BMW is the best". In UK people buy either the 528 or 535. In Sinkieland the distributor started by bringing in the 523 and 535 at 70k premium. With the latest marketing spins they are trying to convince people their 520 is as good and worth paying hundreds of thousands.

I especially detest young punks who drive a 318 or 320... the easiet way to bruise their ego is to overtake them at traffic light with a Kia.

Hahaha, I used to drive the very cars you spoke about, traded in for mundane and more family friendly cars years back. Never really went fast in them though, fastest drive i had was definitely not in SG but towards Oakland in a rental car, I wouldn't repeat that experience again though now that I am family man. :smile:

LeMans2011

I only drove the lower end of both BMW and merc and that was years ago. E series for Merc and BMW 318 etc. from my limited experience though, BMW had more issues then Merc. I had a Merc and then 1 BMW followed by a 2nd hand one for my dad. Merc went to workshop on a much lesser basis. Same experience from my friends who had BMWs, of course driving experience for a BMW is different. :smile:

Agreed. Merc had issues a few years back when their cars were loaded with too much electronics... at one time they actually revamped and remove more than 500 electroni components from their E-class model. But their S-class is still tops in the large sedan segment, beat 7 series. BMW is a good drive no doubt especially the 5-series but defect rate is very high.

LeMans2011

Hahaha, I used to drive the very cars you spoke about, traded in for mundane and more family friendly cars years back. Never really went fast in them though, fastest drive i had was definitely not in SG but towards Oakland in a rental car, I wouldn't repeat that experience again though now that I am family man. :smile:

Heehee i meant the young punks who drive badly pissed me of... and i'm sure you are not one of them :smile:
Was driving from town towards old airport road hawker centre earlier, i signalled to turn left into the hawker centre, this BMW 3-series coupe still thought he could overtake me from the left and almost crashed into me. Lucky i was a careful driver and car was good.