• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Vivian says tougher life? We will make it torture for him!

steffychun

Tougher life for ministers in next five years: Vivian
They will have to take a 'deep, hard look' at policies and respond to re-energised Parliament
By Elgin Toh
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan and his fellow MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, Mr Liang Eng Hwa, during a thank-you parade in the constituency yesterday. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

p>THE going looks set to get tougher for Cabinet ministers over the next five years because of the political change sweeping through the nation, said Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, on Saturday.

To draw the right lessons from the May 7 elections, every minister will have to take a 'deep, hard look' at his ministry's policies.

'From a Cabinet perspective, I'm sure life is going to be tougher for ministers in the next five years, because it's not just the presence of more opposition MPs; our own MPs are going to be re-energised and are going to be, I think, far more active in pursuing issues which they feel deeply in their hearts, and to reflect the concerns and anxieties of their residents.

'PAP MPs have always spoken their minds, and I think we will see even more of that,' he said.

Dr Balakrishnan was speaking on the sidelines of a parade to thank voters in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. His team, including Mr Liang Eng Hwa, Mr Christopher de Souza and Ms Sim Ann, won with 60.1 per cent of votes. His comments came a week after a general election that saw the People's Action Party (PAP) returned to government with the lowest share of votes since independence.

Said Dr Balakrishnan: 'The PAP will have to transform itself or be transformed. It's better that we initiate this process and that we initiate it quickly and vigorously.'

WTF, transform? not reform meh? What they want to transform into, superman?

Correct use of word shd be reform, reform is to put or change into an improved form or condition; to amend or improve by change of color or removal of faults or abuses, beneficial change..

WTF! suppose to be highly educated but don't know proper term to use.

They will have to take a 'deep, hard look' at policies and respond to re-energised Parliament
By Elgin Toh
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan and his fellow MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, Mr Liang Eng Hwa, during a thank-you parade in the constituency yesterday. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

p>THE going looks set to get tougher for Cabinet ministers over the next five years because of the political change sweeping through the nation, said Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports, on Saturday.

To draw the right lessons from the May 7 elections, every minister will have to take a 'deep, hard look' at his ministry's policies.

'From a Cabinet perspective, I'm sure life is going to be tougher for ministers in the next five years, because it's not just the presence of more opposition MPs; our own MPs are going to be re-energised and are going to be, I think, far more active in pursuing issues which they feel deeply in their hearts, and to reflect the concerns and anxieties of their residents.

'PAP MPs have always spoken their minds, and I think we will see even more of that,' he said.

Dr Balakrishnan was speaking on the sidelines of a parade to thank voters in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. His team, including Mr Liang Eng Hwa, Mr Christopher de Souza and Ms Sim Ann, won with 60.1 per cent of votes. His comments came a week after a general election that saw the People's Action Party (PAP) returned to government with the lowest share of votes since independence.

Said Dr Balakrishnan: 'The PAP will have to transform itself or be transformed. It's better that we initiate this process and that we initiate it quickly and vigorously.'

Transform? from a butterfly into a moth? or a frog into a tadpole?:rolleyes: wtf!, all these transform this transform that...are they alien transformers, than GMS is really screwed..:biggrin:

Maximilian Chua-Heng

1305385174.png

By Elgin Toh

See the trouble there? He is saying that they have been cruising but only nowthen need to stick the spurs in their own backside because of arrival of opposition, NOT because of the need to do what is right!

Why is he saying that EVERY MINISTER? Is he hinting he will be next DPM? He's got a problem with just the YOG accounts and he is concerned about other ministers' problems?

'From a Cabinet perspective, I'm sure life is going to be tougher for ministers in the next five years, because it's not just the presence of more opposition MPs; our own MPs are going to be re-energised and are going to be, I think, far more active in pursuing issues which they feel deeply in their hearts, and to reflect the concerns and anxieties of their residents.Talk is cheap.

'PAP MPs have always spoken their minds, and I think we will see even more of that,' he said. It is true that they have always spoken their minds but only when they attack ANYTHING that LKT and CST said in parliament in the past. No groupthink? I have never heard any PAP member say anything which is even half-complimentary of what the two oppo MPs say.

Nine days, and they want to transform? Where is the conviction of all the things and manner in which they have handled things in the past?

LeMans2011

Presence of 6 Opposition MPs will make life tougher for these guys? My gawd... he is admitting their policies can't withstand the tiny bit of scrutiny. If 6 MPs can make life tougher for 81 MPs, those MPs in the other democracies must be falling sick and dying from work every other day... these guys don't realise every statement they make give away their innermost thoughts

bullfrog

Ministers like VB who have been used to jiak liao bee have now to expect more spurs in their hides to slog harder in the manner of servants. For too long, they have behaved like masters and lords, nay, even mini-gods.

Bigfuck

Presence of 6 Opposition MPs will make life tougher for these guys? My gawd... he is admitting their policies can't withstand the tiny bit of scrutiny. If 6 MPs can make life tougher for 81 MPs, those MPs in the other democracies must be falling sick and dying from work every other day... these guys don't realise every statement they make give away their innermost thoughts

Tougher means more pay? I thought PAP should be glad to serve Singapore with high standards as part of continual skills upgrading. If Singaporeans must upgrade, why Ministers cannot? MP do research paper one meh? What so cham? Meet the People session is like a few minutes per session and also do not know how many times a month.

1. aiyoh!
2. what transform or reform, the same flock of sheep, blah to the same tune all over again.
3. yes, tough time ahead shall equate more pay as sheep blah tougher leh!

now i think back, is it possible that those who resign know that it's gonna be tough and won't be like last time, and that's why they opt to go?

cooleo

If those morons think they can find a job that gives them higher pay with same amount of work of MP, then they should go ahead. Without pulling some strings and using their PAP links, u think those morons can do well?