• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Traitor Can Only Afford $800/Mth for Sporns Woh!

Not to be racist, but you are making a sweeping, generalized statement about no Singaporean being able or willing to survive on $800 a month. If the Malays with bigger families can do it, then why can't the other races?

Malays with bigger families can do it?

Yeah, those are sleeping in HDB void decks or loitering along the beaches!

not very smart...shld be call HO CHIN MEE.... not use MAGGIE.. MAGGIE is already an existing brand...wait kana sure!!

1-3.jpg

Paying $800 is too much for the Sinkies! You should pay $360 to $460 a month to the Sinkies. Cause I only gave $360 a month for free to the Sinkies that are not working at all.

And I believed that if you pay Sinkies $360 to $460 a month to work as a cleaner, more Sinkies will not work and start taking $360 a month from me to eat maggie mee everyday.

If more people eating maggie mee, I will asked Ho Ching to open up maggie mee factories in Sinkapore. And the maggie mee brand will be called 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee'.

If everyone in Sinkapore eat maggie mee everyday for their daily 3 meals, very soon I'll make big money and can get my 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee' company listed in SGX soon.

Then I can also used the money made from selling 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee' to fill up the financial holes that Ho Ching and me created in the past donkey years.

And in this way, my account books will be 'very clean' and spotless, so in the future General Erection, there's no way this joker Chee Soon Juan will kept bugging me about where's the money that I've invested in China, India or Indonesia.

Hahahaha! Am I smart or what? Hehehehe!

You are still missing the point. Is your family better off with the $500 take home, or without? That is the bottom line.

If you can earn >$800 part time etc elsewhere, then you don't belong in this category. But if you can't, bottom line is that $800 is better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. Better than nothing. At least until something better comes along. To say $500 is too little, not worth it etc etc then stay at home and twiddle your thumbs is preferable is just plain stupid.

Ok then, what if the employer promises to provide you with accommodation and food but no salary? I guess you would say this is still better than sitting at home twiddling thumbs and starving to death. You do know there is a name for this, right? It is called slavery. There must be a line drawn when it becomes exploitation. The developed countries prevent this by trying hard to ensure that everyone has access to a minimum standard of living (unfortunately, Singaporeans are too enamoured by LKY and are like frogs in a well).

Another example befitting the MONGREL who bit his masters hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. The difference with SLAVERY is that you have the option of not working if you don't want to. But stop behaving as if the employer owes you a living and has to pay you more than what you're worth in the market.

Minimum wage is stupid because it'll mean that business will have to operate at a cost which is higher than what the economy requires.

800 minus cpf - makan transport... get only 400

what can u do with 400 now. not to mention the stress at job nowadays

Another example befitting the MONGREL who bit his masters hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. The difference with SLAVERY is that you have the option of not working if you don't want to. But stop behaving as if the employer owes you a living and has to pay you more than what you're worth in the market.

Minimum wage is stupid because it'll mean that business will have to operate at a cost which is higher than what the economy requires.

I don't know what this has to do with CSJ but it is apparent that you can't handle a proper discussion. If you are so confident that $800 or $500 or whatever amount is better than $0, then tell us how would you define when exploitation starts? Or perhaps you live in a fantasy world where you think no such thing exists?

Note that I did not ask the businesses to operate at costs they can't bear. No business will operate in that way as they will go out of business sooner or later. At some point in time, the "cheaper" mentality will need to go if Singapore wants to be called a developed country. If not, just call a spade a spade and tell people that there will be many left behind during the economic progress. Singaporeans can also decide then whether the ministers deserve their current salaries.

If you are so confident that $800 or $500 or whatever amount is better than $0, then tell us how would you define when exploitation starts? Or perhaps you live in a fantasy world where you think no such thing exists?

What's wrong with the basic laws of demand and supply? If someone is paid only $800 and he's offered $8,000 obviously he's worth $8,000 and should move. But if he's worth $800, then he should cut his cloth according to $800 rather than twiddle his thumbs. Why should the employer pay him $1,500 when no other employer would? Legislating minimum wages just skews the economics.

You're the one living in a fantasy world with your haughty indignance at the inequalities of the economic forces at work.

No, you moron. If you take a job that pays $500, you have forgone the opportunity to look for a job that pays more. U do not have time to follow leads, attend job interviews, and job hunt for the better paying job. In the short run, you have a measely $500 in your pocket, in the long run, you have lost something more valuable. Get your peanut size brain to understand this.

that CASS is always supporting PAP ... parroting PAP by saying a lowly-paid job is better than no job ...

as for the opportunity cost of taking up this job that pays $25/day for 8 hrs work ... thats the reason why u see cleaners, plate-collectors & bus-drivers suddenly call in sick & don't show up for work ... go for walk-in interviews elsewhere lah ... to hell with loyalty & responsibility ...

thats the reason why ppl have to wait 30 mins for a bus, when the waiting time is supposed 2b 15 mins ... driver A comes at 8am ... driver B goes for walk-in interview elsewhere & calls in sick ... then at 8.30am, driver C comes ... no replacement driver for driver B bcos the replacement, being a contingency worker, also cannot sit around and wait for job in high-cost singapore so he/she also went for walk-in interview elsewhere ... :D

Nothing to do with PAP here. Just telling you people not to interfere with the natural laws of demand and supply.

that CASS is always supporting PAP ... parroting PAP by saying a lowly-paid job is better than no job ...

as for the opportunity cost of taking up this job that pays $25/day for 8 hrs work ... thats the reason why u see cleaners, plate-collectors & bus-drivers suddenly call in sick & don't show up for work ... go for walk-in interviews elsewhere lah ... to hell with loyalty & responsibility ...

thats the reason why ppl have to wait 30 mins for a bus, when the waiting time is supposed 2b 15 mins ... driver A comes at 8am ... driver B goes for walk-in interview elsewhere & calls in sick ... then at 8.30am, driver C comes ... no replacement driver for driver B bcos the replacement, being a contingency worker, also cannot sit around and wait for job in high-cost singapore so he/she also went for walk-in interview elsewhere ... :D

u all shd go & watch michael moore 'capitalism - a love story' ... :p

theres an uncanny similarity betw US society & s'pore in recent years ... dual economy, income disparity, corrupted top officials, ppl who are not-so-willing to take placards & stage demonstrations/sit-ins ... (unlike europe where ppl readily take to the streets, americans tend not to do this ... and s'poreans, well, arent allowed to do this) ...

americans have bought into the american dream & believe in upward mobility so they think they can sit & wait for the day they'll prosper ... boy were they wrong !! europeans, on the other hand, know all abt class structure & connections - ur either born aristocratic or not ...

s'poreans must learn to think like the europeans bcos we have a monarchy here - the Lee family ... thats squashing us down ...

first watch the 'blue mansion' - u will know how the Lees function on the inside ... then watch michael moore - u see how the Lees function on the outside ... :D

p/s - btw - min wage shd be $5 an hour ... $26/day comes to only $3 an hour ... but its real, the cleaners at my workplace, who come thru an agency gets paid $26 per day ... Gan must be operating an agency that supplies cleaners ...

What's wrong with the basic laws of demand and supply? If someone is paid only $800 and he's offered $8,000 obviously he's worth $8,000 and should move. But if he's worth $800, then he should cut his cloth according to $800 rather than twiddle his thumbs. Why should the employer pay him $1,500 when no other employer would? Legislating minimum wages just skews the economics.

You're the one living in a fantasy world with your haughty indignance at the inequalities of the economic forces at work.

Hey, forget about the $800 and thumb-twiddling, answer my question of how would you determine when there is exploitation.

Please don't use the PAP refrain of there are sufficient safety-nets blah blah blah. I just want to know how would the government spot exploitation and how are they going to handle that (NTUC has not come up with anything other than Cheaper, Better, Faster and NWC only provides wage recommendations which are next to useless). Will PAP be saying that exploitation does not exist in Singapore just like there are no gays in Iran?

Hey, forget about the $800 and thumb-twiddling, answer my question of how would you determine when there is exploitation.

Please don't use the PAP refrain of there are sufficient safety-nets blah blah blah. I just want to know how would the government spot exploitation and how are they going to handle that (NTUC has not come up with anything other than Cheaper, Better, Faster and NWC only provides wage recommendations which are next to useless). Will PAP be saying that exploitation does not exist in Singapore just like there are no gays in Iran?

Who in the world is talking about safety nets etc? Safety nets, NWC etc just upset the delicate balance of the forces of demand and supply anyway.

Exploitation is only if one is forced to paid less than what he is worth. It is not exploitation if what he is worth happens to be less than what he thinks he deserves.

That is true only if living costs are the same everywhere. Anyway, I think Singapore is on the way to becoming a third world country, so it will be alright. The only problem is why do we need to pay out of this world salaries to get there?

Another PAP hypocrite. Singaporeans' worth is compared to people in China, India, etc while the leaders' worth is beyond any comparison because Singapore is unique. :confused:

Btw, being forced to pay more than the value you are getting is also exploitation. :oIo:

That is true only if living costs are the same everywhere. Anyway, I think Singapore is on the way to becoming a third world country, so it will be alright. The only problem is why do we need to pay out of this world salaries to get there?

Another PAP hypocrite. Singaporeans' worth is compared to people in China, India, etc while the leaders' worth is beyond any comparison because Singapore is unique. :confused:

Btw, being forced to pay more than the value you are getting is also exploitation. :oIo:

You guys must really be indoctrinated by the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

These workers' wages are based on demand and supply conditions in Singapore. Not third world countries. If economic forces (in Singapore) say they're worth $800, why should employers be forced to pay them $1,600?

The leaders' worth is what 66.6% say they're worth. Stop harping on it.

You guys must really be indoctrinated by the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan.

These workers' wages are based on demand and supply conditions in Singapore. Not third world countries. If economic forces (in Singapore) say they're worth $800, why should employers be forced to pay them $1,600?

The leaders' worth is what 66.6% say they're worth. Stop harping on it.

You are clearly forgetting the millions of workers from third world countries that were shipped into Singapore with the government's blessings. So, how can this be economic forces in Singapore? More like economic forces of the world. If so, I don't see why their worth is not subject to global economic forces as well. I can say whatever I like. If you don't like it, don't read it or sue me, like what your masters like to do.

Cass888 - I beg to differ from your point of view. Your view seems to point to a perfect Demand and Supply model and it is too simplistic a notion. An employer never pays a worker what he/she is worth, they often pay what is the lowest acceptable amount, at least for most of the local bosses, from what I know. And this "Lowest Acceptable Amount" is what other similiar companies pay and not what the person is worth. If you are in similiar shoes, with minimal avenues, can you really get a higher salary, even if you think think you are definitely worth more?

Moreover, these workers earning sub-1000 salaries, they have lower education and easily exploited. If following your line of argument, would you then condone the sweat shops in India? or the child labour in Pakistan earning less than a dollar a day?

It is more a question of "wanting to pay" and not "the ability to pay" The business owners has the ability and is not willing. In situations where the business is not able to pay, maybe it is not a viable business after all...

By the way, when we legislate minimum wages, we are not saying a minimum of $20 per hour, but say $5 per hour or so, where a person is able to make a decent living in Singapore, and the key word is "decent", not decadent.

;)
His conscience is slowly eaten up by his own greed

in the end he's all prep for hell!

everything hell here hell there , heaven here , heaven there . if there is hell , pestor will not be rapist . if your "fucking invisible gay dog " is not greed then why churches must collect 20% of your monthly pay ? other religions dont do that , even your cults need money ....:D;) . your cults are no different from PAP ..

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Do you agree with this cheap employer?</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>8:39 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 1) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>24233.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Nov 11, 2009
THARMAN TO BUSINESS GROUPS:
Keep the feedback coming <!--10 min-->
Economic Strategies Committee will consider every idea put before it <!-- headline one : start --><!-- headline one : end --><!-- Author --><!-- show image if available --><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR></TR><TR></TR><TR></TR><TR></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Francis Chan </TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
M-7.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

-ST PHOTO: MUGILAN RAJASEGERAN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
FINANCE Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam on Tuesday urged businesses to keep contributing ideas on how to grow the economy, telling a business forum: 'I can tell you frankly that we're open to all ideas.' He said the Economic Strategies Committee (ESC) that he chairs will look at everything that is put before it. The ESC, which was set up in May to look at new ways of growing the economy, is consulting widely for suggestions. On Tuesday, the industry forum discussed the wide range of recommendations which business groups and the Government Parliamentary Committee (GPC) on Finance and Trade and Industry have put forward. The GPC's recommendations centred on the themes of sustained growth and capability development. It wants the Government to step up efforts in building Singapore's 'external wing' and to encourage more local firms, especially small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), to collaborate in overseas ventures. During the panel discussion, Mr Tharman saidthat Singapore, which already has many multinationals, is also becoming an 'interesting' destination for smaller firms from other parts of Asia, the United States and Europe.

Do you agree with the comments of this cheap employer Misnomer below?

Latest comments

<TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>We need more cheap foreign labour. That would keep business costs low. Unless you can force locals to take on jobs that pay $400 to $800, work 12 hours a day, 7 days a week.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: Misnomer at Wed Nov 11 08:19:23 SGT 2009</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>