• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Traitor Can Only Afford $800/Mth for Sporns Woh!

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR>Hiring woes: Blame fussy S'porean job seekers
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to the letters last Saturday by Mr Kang Kee Beng ('Hiring local') and Mr Richard Wong ('Staffing dilemma'). I have had similar experiences when it comes to hiring Singaporeans for some of my projects.
Looking at the unemployment figures, it is easy to say that Singaporeans cannot find jobs and that job vacancies have been taken up by foreign workers, or that local firms prefer to employ foreign workers. However, Singaporeans do not understand the difficulties that local firms face.
First, the salary package that the companies offer is not acceptable to Singaporeans. For example, few Singaporeans will accept a job that pays $800 per month for a daily eight-hour shift, even though this is the best that the firms can offer if they are to remain viable.
Second, most labour-intensive industries, such as construction, cleaning, food and beverage and landscaping, require a lot of workers to run. These jobs require workers who are physically fit and willing to endure hardship. Many Singaporeans will not even consider taking up such jobs. So, local firms have no choice but to turn to foreign workers.
The authorities have decided to increase the hiring quota for Singaporeans before local firms can employ foreign workers. But the authorities should realise that Singaporeans are too choosy when it comes to jobs. Increasing the quota will not solve the unemployment problem. Instead, it hurts labour-intensive businesses.
Entrepreneurs who have just started their businesses will stand no chance of breaking into their respective industries as they must employ more Singaporeans in order to meet the quota to hire foreign workers.
The authorities should educate Singaporeans to take up jobs that they now shun.
Jobs are always available in Singapore and local firms are more than happy to hire Singaporeans, but our people need to change their mindset.
The authorities are cracking down on the practice of hiring 'phantom' workers and illegal deployments. I applaud such moves to clean up the industry, but I am puzzled why the authorities decided to take action only recently, when such practices have been going on for some time.
If the authorities cannot come up with a solution to the problems faced by companies here, then more and more of them may resort to such illegal practices.

=> What are the other cost components? Who are responsible for them being sky high while being the BEST PAID in the world?

Gan Leng Chye

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Mr Gan Leng Chye , I pose back this question to you. "Would you take a salary of $800 if you have a family to feed, aged parents to take care of, and a mortage to pay?" Tell all the readers here, how do you work out your sums?

It's time to stop hiding the money crazy agenda of local companies behind the phase "this is the best that the firms can offer if they are to remain viable". My father's business was even paying more than this amount in the 1980s for his non-educated workers, and it's a small business.

And you are worried about the well being of "Entrepreneurs" who can't employ foreigners? They are not real entrepreneurs then. Perhaps, the real entrepreneurs are those who in the past, while hiring mostly Singaporeans, have turned their businesses into successful SMEs and MNCs today.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: coolmobile at Wed Nov 04 21:40:11 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>To Lobster25 , pg 12- its OK to subscribe to the theory : "Free for all -fittest survive", Government Hands Off.

Sure - to you - as you are at no lost, all you do is pack up and go home.

Base on what sacrifices would people like you deserve the right justify your say?

At least, I can say, if not me, My Parents certainly did. They toll the hardship and line and rode with the then PM Lee's vision
You probably can afford Two Wifes, Two House --Big Hse and Two Cars back in your Homeland.

Many SG Cz has NO OTHER WAY,except Migrate..which many did.

However,as a SG Cz, it is our responsibility to "Voiced" out Loop Holes and the mistake Policy Holders are doing t.

Nothing Really Bad may happen Now, but years down the Road, when People like you have "Finished" Milking the Cow and Current Policy Makers have been lost to Oppositions,...then who is again left to "Rebuilt" and "Pick Up the Shits " ?

Perhaps you like to share your thoughts with me?

Would you be around still, if there is NO More Milk for you to "Squeeze" further?

Fittest Singaporean against Fittest Singaporean ------- fair and acceptable.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: MaluforSG at Wed Nov 04 19:38:49 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>"For example, few Singaporeans will accept a job that pays $800 per month for a daily eight-hour shift, even though this is the best that the firms can offer if they are to remain viable."

I have quite a number of jobs @ $500/- per month for a daily eight-hour shift in order for my business to stay viable. Any taker ? Must go through interview first.

Of course, the lowest you need to pay your labour, the more viable it is. In fact, it would be much better if you do not need to pay at all.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: crazyzyzy at Wed Nov 04 19:13:39 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

1-3.jpg

Paying $800 is too much for the Sinkies! You should pay $360 to $460 a month to the Sinkies. Cause I only gave $360 a month for free to the Sinkies that are not working at all.

And I believed that if you pay Sinkies $360 to $460 a month to work as a cleaner, more Sinkies will not work and start taking $360 a month from me to eat maggie mee everyday.

If more people eating maggie mee, I will asked Ho Ching to open up maggie mee factories in Sinkapore. And the maggie mee brand will be called 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee'.

If everyone in Sinkapore eat maggie mee everyday for their daily 3 meals, very soon I'll make big money and can get my 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee' company listed in SGX soon.

Then I can also used the money made from selling 'Ho Ching Maggie Mee' to fill up the financial holes that Ho Ching and me created in the past donkey years.

And in this way, my account books will be 'very clean' and spotless, so in the future General Erection, there's no way this joker Chee Soon Juan will kept bugging me about where's the money that I've invested in China, India or Indonesia.

Hahahaha! Am I smart or what? Hehehehe!

800 per month for work in singapore in 2009 is like slavery in ancient rome.
singapore employers have a warp mind, their greed run parallel to their master greed.

upper society (Pap) greedy, below(pap dogs) cannot be honest.

my spectacle alone cost 1000 dollars, how to have a living wage on 800 per month? oh my god. if one day pap are overthrown, should hang all the business employers on trees too. like the french revolution.

800 per month for 8 hours everyday?

That is 3.3 sing per hour worse than mac donalds!

Labour exploiters like him should burn in hell after amassing a fortune by exploiting the underclass.

Still got cheek to write to the press!

In this world, either you 'eat' others
or
others 'eat' you.

Reality bites.

:o :( :o

800 per month for 8 hours everyday?

That is 3.3 sing per hour worse than mac donalds!

Labour exploiters like him should burn in hell after amassing a fortune by exploiting the underclass.

Still got cheek to write to the press!

problem is entrepreneurs like him are not smart enough to make money, thats why complain..
they only know how to cut costs, not improve revenue..

800 per month for work in singapore in 2009 is like slavery in ancient rome.
singapore employers have a warp mind, their greed run parallel to their master greed.

upper society (Pap) greedy, below(pap dogs) cannot be honest.

The whole family can work at it x5 .

In this world, either you 'eat' others
or
others 'eat' you.

Reality bites.

:o :( :o

His conscience is slowly eaten up by his own greed

in the end he's all prep for hell!

The whole family can work at it x5 .

Eddie teo head of the civil servant should be realistic!

And stop complaining about our scholars have no emphathy towards our peasants population!

If his boss sets a bad example everybody learns!

Based on logic like this, Singapore will soon need to import Africans to do jobs that pay $200 per month so that businesses can remain viable. After that, they will probably need to restart the slave trade so that they can have zero labour costs in order to remain viable. What a great economic strategy, I am amazed there aren't more countries following our practice. :rolleyes:

This is easily calculated:

Assuming a 26 day work, per month:
1. Transportation cost ( with rebates thrown in) $3 per day = $78
2. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner @ whatever eating places $11.30 ( include one kopi si) = $293.80
3. Hanphone bill $150.00
4. Utility Bills - assuming living alone - $150.00
5. Contribution to Singapore pools - $200.00

Total : $871.80 = a deficit of $71.80
this does not include, conservancy chgs, HDB, other fees etc..plus 'hoon kee' ( cigaratte)

Wheras a S$800.00
1. Bangadeshi gets Takas 38,652
2. Indian gets 26,973
3. Filipino gets 27,166
4. Chinese gets 3,896
5. Malaysian gets 1,956
6. Indonesian gets 5,488,445

Many of these workers, the boss pay for their housing, food...even if it is deductible, they do not have to pay like SINkies for their own housing, etc..

Mr. Gan...is another typical SINkies employer, I have come across in my working life..who berates his own countrymen....in other countries, he would have been dragged out to the streest..and Hor Lan Gan...

That is why, without a minimum wage guideline for age, type of industries & adjustments for inflation..the dimwit SINgaporeans workers...are screwed left & right..daily. Their rice bowls are taken away by the huge influx of foreign workers who depressed their earnings, while they have to fork out their hard earn money to service an extremely, unbearable expensive Government.

Mr. Gan....."@#$#@%$#"...

WAKE UP sinGAPOREANS!!!!

This Gan Leng Chye should be renamed GAN LUN CHEOW!!

I think this is a ghost letter.

His initials are GLC lah!

This is easily calculated:

Assuming a 26 day work, per month:
1. Transportation cost ( with rebates thrown in) $3 per day = $78
2. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner @ whatever eating places $11.30 ( include one kopi si) = $293.80
3. Hanphone bill $150.00
4. Utility Bills - assuming living alone - $150.00
5. Contribution to Singapore pools - $200.00

Total : $871.80 = a deficit of $71.80
this does not include, conservancy chgs, HDB, other fees etc..plus 'hoon kee' ( cigaratte)

Your calculation a bit off. In the first place why in the world of F**k is that joker doing spending $200 a month on SG Pools if he only earns $800. My personal monthly spending usually hovers around the $800 mark and I don't even really try to penny pinch. I think your calculation should look closer to this

1)Transport - $80(after selling the car, which I realize I almost never use, the expenses are down 1000+%. These days I usually top up my EZlink only twice a month $40 each time)

2)Food - Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, daily budget $15 * 30days = $450(I dun usually take breakfast but I added another $5 per day since most pple do. And U only calculated 26 days, the rest of the 4 days no need to eat ah.)

3)Handphone Bill - $50(Seriously if that guy was THAT poor he has no business paying $150 every month the cheapest plan is around $30 which I am currently paying, I also carry a company blackberry which has an Unlimited data and basic call plan and the monthly bill is only about $100 a month so $150 is a ridiculous amount for phone bills)

4)Utility Bills - $100($150 for utilities? What does he do, turn the air con on all day? Someone who earns only $800 a month will get subsidized utility bills. I have 2 Uncles getting that, 1 on those pay per use scheme and I have never seen it exceed $100)

5)HDB rental - $50(I'm assuming he is so poor that he is able to rent direct from HDB)

6)Conservancy charges - Waived(FYI, someone who is this poor can apply to get his conservancy charges waived.)

Total = 680. Which means he still have cash left over a month. For a single person its barely enough so I think your calculation is way off. And note that I took the higher end of most of my example, the actual figure should be lower then this. I eat at Restaurant at least twice a month and my own monthly budget is only around $800+ so I think its fair enough to assume that someone who is poor and penny pinch would do way better then me

However if the guy has a family then he is pretty much totally screwed. On a side note, does any of you actually have any poor friends or relatives, it seems to me like a lot of you do not realize the poor gets to pay a lot less then us for a lot of things. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying they have it easy but from what I can tell from my relatives experiences, you cannot take what we usually pay and apply it to the poor

that's why I advocate that pple who cannot be entrepreneurs please go and work for others. If I have to run a business that pays my staff less than 1k a month, I might as well save the hassle. These businesses are parasites cos they push up rental, consume resources (water, electricity) and yet produce little revenue to contribute to society.

Mr Gan Leng Chye , I pose back this question to you. "Would you take a salary of $800 if you have a family to feed, aged parents to take care of, and a mortage to pay?" Tell all the readers here, how do you work out your sums?

MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan I pose back this question to you: Is $800 better or $0 better? Is it better to do the $800 job or is it better to sit at home and twiddle your thumbs complaining that $800 is too low. Tell all the readers here, how do you work out your sums?

Based on logic like this, Singapore will soon need to import Africans to do jobs that pay $200 per month so that businesses can remain viable. After that, they will probably need to restart the slave trade so that they can have zero labour costs in order to remain viable. What a great economic strategy, I am amazed there aren't more countries following our practice. :rolleyes:

Naaaah legalised slavery except that they still have no idea how to make it sound politically correct yet. :rolleyes:

MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan I pose back this question to you: Is $800 better or $0 better? Is it better to do the $800 job or is it better to sit at home and twiddle your thumbs complaining that $800 is too low. Tell all the readers here, how do you work out your sums?

Please take your schoolboy arguments and comparisons back to school. We are talking about how to ensure that wages should be sufficient to ensure a minimum standard of living. I am sure no Singaporean wants to live in the same conditions as our forefathers who came here to work as coolies (next you will be telling everyone that $200 is better than $0). If our esteemed leaders can't find a solution, I would suggest they take an immediate substantial paycut and be extremely humble rather than spouting the same crap like you do.

Yeah man !