• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Today: Suicide Case Dr Allan Ooi's Family Replies and asks MINDEF for Inquiry

Porfirio Rubirosa

Wanted: An inquiry
Answers could help other families avoid the same fate
11:53 AM April 1, 2009
Letter from family of the late Captain (Dr) Allan Ooi
WE WRITE in response to Mindef’s ST Forum statement on March 23 regarding Captain (Dr) Allan Ooi Seng Teik, who ended his life on March 3, 2009. Allan was proud of his SAF study award and pursued his studies and housemanship enthusiastically.

His 12-year bond was to include two specialisation courses, and that it could be terminated, subject to liquidated damages.

The following is an excerpt of his last email: “My job was terrible — no joy, no satisfaction, 10 to 14 hours a day of nothing. A prison. One of my own forging, perhaps, by signing a contract with the SAF at the age of 18. Youth was not an excuse, yes, but I refused to accept being deceived into believing things about the nature of my employment that were simply untrue.

“Twelve years of bonded service became potentially 15 or 16, became unbreakable. How can a bond be unbreakable? How can it be extended at will by an administration, simply by passing a paper?

“And how can the people subject to this bond not even question it, but instead sit in silent resentment and ultimate dissatisfaction?

“I was angry, so angry, which stemmed ultimately from a sense of waste and imprisonment so profound that I had no choice but to leave it entirely. To the people within this system, please change it to better benefit yourselves and future generations, instead of creating a self-perpetuating cycle of, at best, painful obligation, and at worst, utter despair.

“That was certainly the main cause for my severing of ties.’’

Other speculative reasons have appeared detracting from the real reasons for his drastic action so plaintively explained by Allan himself.

We ask for details of Allan’s discussions with his superiors and how a contract is subject to policy changes, including prolonging his bond by three years for one six-month specialist course.

Importantly, why would a bond be breakable only in “strong, extenuating circumstances” when this was not stated in his contract? What are these? We now know Allan wrote to HQMC Manpower in July 2008 with the intention of breaking his bond. What was the outcome?

We feel Allan’s concerns can only be addressed effectively via an inquiry by an independent panel with oversight powers. We hope to help bring possible deficiencies to light in order to avert a similar tragedy and pain to other families.

A reflection of an obscurantist policy by a failed old man. Not to worry, total systemic failure is coming. History repeats itself. Dictatorial resistance against systemic fact is futile. Showtime has arrived. The old man is reflection of a general weakness of man, an insignificant statistic. Enjoy what that will come.

Dear Porifirio

I find Allan's case both sad and an egnima. Firstly as far as I know from friends within the service from SEALS to SOF to Pilots, it is possible to break one's bond, though one has to drag the SAF screaming and kicking through the process. What I can't see or fail to see is how far Allan was along the process of dragging the SAF along, or did he just end his life on encountering the first NO.

Secondly as far as I know every overseas course that an SAF servicemen goes on extends his bond, especially if the course is long and specialized. I can't speak for aviation medicine but I do understand that pilots and special forces face the same issue.

Is that wrong ? Is it wrong if I send an F-16 pilot for conversion, and an instructor course in the new F15SG to extend his bond further in view of the cost of that training ? Ditto NDU man going for BUDS ?

Yes the bond was extended but if he had wanted out and the SAF agreed to let him out then all that matters is that he PAYs more to be out including perhaps the cost of the course. Come to think of it as far as I know the family would have been able to buy him out irrespective of how long his first contract was extended. More riddles I guess

Cheers

Locke

They are allowing his life and death to be re-examined all over again.
I just wonder if that is really what they want.

Like what others said in an earlier thread on this sad yet curious case, there is probably more to it than meets the eye, and in this regard not only with respect to MINDEF but also with respect to the late Oooi as well. A whole can of worms there.

Btw I wonder whether the late Ooi even completed his NS liability requirement before he went AWOL?

Dear Porifirio

I find Allan's case both sad and an egnima. Firstly as far as I know from friends within the service from SEALS to SOF to Pilots, it is possible to break one's bond, though one has to drag the SAF screaming and kicking through the process. What I can't see or fail to see is how far Allan was along the process of dragging the SAF along, or did he just end his life on encountering the first NO.

Secondly as far as I know every overseas course that an SAF servicemen goes on extends his bond, especially if the course is long and specialized. I can't speak for aviation medicine but I do understand that pilots and special forces face the same issue.

Is that wrong ? Is it wrong if I send an F-16 pilot for conversion, and an instructor course in the new F15SG to extend his bond further in view of the cost of that training ? Ditto NDU man going for BUDS ?

Yes the bond was extended but if he had wanted out and the SAF agreed to let him out then all that matters is that he PAYs more to be out including perhaps the cost of the course. Come to think of it as far as I know the family would have been able to buy him out irrespective of how long his first contract was extended. More riddles I guess

Cheers

Locke

leegime must dare to allow an inquiry conducted by independant party and the truth will be out to show who is right and who is wrong.

only the truth will vindicate .

i doubt SAF will allow an independant inquiry, PAP will lose votes if the problem arised from SAF.

another thing, get Dr Chee (SDP) to be inside the panel for inquiry, and we will see the whole picture.

the family deserves the right if singapore is truly a democratic society..

The Ooi family could have taken the governement and PSC to court in interpret the contract (bond). They had the means.

Why gone on the Aviation Medical Course if there is indeed a bond to it.

There is more to this.

One common way to break the bond is to be declared incompetent and it used to be favourite way out for those who could not afford the pay off. Turn up for work but don't anything right.

Dear Porifirio

Cheers

Locke

Dear Scroobal

Thats what I can't figure. There are always ways around, under , through, over the beauracracy so Dr Ooi's decision to kill himself does not make sense to me in any form.

Locke

What do you think Mindef shall do now? Ball appears to be in their court.
The Ooi family could have taken the governement and PSC to court in interpret the contract (bond). They had the means.

Why gone on the Aviation Medical Course if there is indeed a bond to it.

There is more to this.

What do you think Mindef shall do now? Ball appears to be in their court.

They will let the Police to complete investigations and the outcome will come from the Coroner. In this case from Melbourne. I am sure they will wait until the Coroner's Inquiry.

Dear Scroobal

Thats what I can't figure. There are always ways around, under , through, over the beauracracy so Dr Ooi's decision to kill himself does not make sense to me in any form.
Locke

I know exactly what you mean. Breaking bond in practically every cohort begins within the 1st term of uni - purposely failing exams. In some cases, scoring very well in tests and then blank sheet in exams. This has been going on for years.

There is no no way in hell could he have gone for the Aviation Course unless he signed a second bond.

Its usually a mixed bag where suicide is involved. Scholars killing themselves is nothing new. One of the earliest cases, a president scholar killed himself at Changi Barracks toilet. I know another that jumped off a block in Toa Payoh even before the Uni began. Who knows.

Somethings cannot be explained. The Japanese have been trying to solve it for years.

suwrap31m.jpg

KNN! U think I like being PeeAm and called Ass Loon ah? Daddy also told me that short of strong, extenuating circumstances, I could not back out leh! *hee*hee*

Mindef has a tradition of covering up whenever their goons forced peasant conscripts to their deaths. Usually the conscripts hail from poor families who cannot prevail over this evil organisation.

Now Ooi's family decided to take a pot shot at Mindef, it is fruitless because Mindef has sufficient experience to stonewall any attempts to put itself in bad light regardless of conscripts or 'professional' soldiers.

Ooi's family will be solely disappointed.

Now Ooi's family decided to take a pot shot at Mindef, it is fruitless because Mindef has sufficient experience to stonewall any attempts to put itself in bad light regardless of conscripts or 'professional' soldiers.

Ooi's family will be solely disappointed.

You're absolutely right - there is a BOND which required 2 sureties to sign personally at MINDEF for the UK aviation course - No Doctor can be so stupid as to ignore this glaring fact? A lot of servicemen sign for overseas course to "enjoy first, pay later" - so why is a rich kid exempted from this ritual?

10-14 hours of doing admin work and non-challenging medical cases (mostly routine air force medicals, checking recruits balls) is too siong? Go ask the bangla who work 14hours a day for $30.

:oIo: Ooi Ooi Ooi

Inquiry? Can, but rich family must pay for it.

This guy comes from rich family, blessed with good looks, good health and still got public money for scholarship and then turn around and say job boring not challenging etc

This is rich ah sia kia with everything good in life but is a WEAKLING and little bit buay song killed himself

What about the thousands of others who slogged who take in on the chin

Come on guys, those who support this guy shows how weak our society this

Singaporeans are so self-absorbed

People who defend this fella must be ah guas themselves

Rather than point the finger ...
05:54 AM April 2, 2009
Letter from Tan Hau Teck
My sympathies go out to the family of Captain (Dr) Allan Ooi.

However, I totally disagree with some of the comments about how Mindef is to blame for his death.

Now, it could be that Dr Ooi’s job in the Singapore Armed Forces was a rather stressful one. He probably wasn’t happy, and he didn’t want to be bonded. However, he was the one who signed on the dotted line. He knew what he was getting into when he signed the Local Study Award. And his extension of bond came about because he went for further specialist training — training which he consented to.

If he did not want to be bonded, why did he go for further training?

Some argue that he was too young to bond his life away like that. Well, that is a slippery slope argument.

If he’s too young to sign a bond, then how old must one be? And perhaps then we should increase the age for young men to serve National Service or to get married, as they are probably too young to hold a rifle or to have a family too, right?

I can’t believe that his family is asking for an inquiry into his death. Who will pay for this inquiry? Why should tax payers shoulder the “blame” for his death?

If anything, the family should examine how, if Dr Ooi was as unhappy as they say, no one picked up the signs that he was going absent without official leave (Awol), and subsequently committed suicide.

He had written in to HQ Military Corp in July, and he only went Awol in October. What did his family and friends do in that three months? And why didn’t anyone fly over to Australia in the three months he was Awol?

There are many questions to be answered in this case, and unfortunately, not all of them can be answered by Mindef.

Instead of always pointing the finger ... perhaps it’s time we look around us and see what we can do for the people near us.

0 Comment Print Email

Forgot all about the Coroner's Inquest:o Cheers
They will let the Police to complete investigations and the outcome will come from the Coroner. In this case from Melbourne. I am sure they will wait until the Coroner's Inquiry.

Home > ST Forum > Story
Family of dead SAF doctor seeks answers

WE WRITE in response to the March 23 letter by the Ministry of Defence, 'SAF offered doctor alternative posting', regarding Captain (Dr) Allan Ooi Seng Teik, who ended his life on March 3.
Allan was proud of his Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) study award and pursued his studies and housemanship enthusiastically. He, and we, understood that his 12-year bond included two specialisation courses, and that it could be terminated, subject to liquidated damages.

When Allan signed on at 18, he had looked forward to serving out his bond as a true doctor, treating patients rather than being deployed to perform unrelated administrative tasks almost all the time.

Within his last e-mail to us, timed for release after his death, he spoke of his job as being 'terrible, no joy, no satisfaction'.

We seek answers to the following:

What were Allan's discussions with his superior? What are the specifics of the other posting offered as mentioned by Mindef and were these documented?

Why would a bond be breakable only in 'strong, extenuating circumstances' as stated by Mindef when this was not stated in his contract? What are these circumstances?

We now know Allan wrote a letter to the Manpower Branch, Headquarters Medical Corps in July last year with the intention of breaking his bond. What was the outcome?

How can a contract be subject to policy changes, including prolonging his 12-year bond by another three years for one six-month specialist course?
We feel Allan's concerns can be addressed effectively only via an inquiry by an independent panel with oversight powers. We hope to help bring possible deficiencies to light in order to avert a similar tragedy and pain to other families.

Family of the late Cpt (Dr) Allan Ooi

there is a standard clause in saf contract - subject to exigencies of service. yes, saf contracts are subjected to policy changes which have been going on for decades.

but if allan is determined to break the bond and willing to pay saf, i don't think saf can stop him.

let's hear from the BOI, if any.
Posted by: the_ultimate at Thu Apr 02 08:29:04 SGT 2009