• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Time to call for probe into RSN French Frigate purchase

Recently developments in the Malaysian submarine bribery scandal casts some serious suspicions on the French Naval shipbuilder DCNS and their way of doing business in Asia, and by direct association, such suspicions must also be cast on the 2000 deal to buy 6 stealth frigates for the RSN.

The following is the background on DCNS deals in Asia.

Around 2006, Malaysia ordered 2 Scorpene class submarines build by DCNS for $1.1 billion. The company has now been found guilty by a French court of paying $45 million in bribes to obtain confidential Malaysian MINDEF documents on the submarine requirements, as well as paying $142 million in bribes to companies controlled by Najib’s close friend and policy advisor. (Note all dollar figures are in USD). Let’s be clear on this, they were found guilty, so these are not unfounded allegations.

In 1991, DCNS sold 6 frigates to Taiwan for $2.87 billion. A French court found in 2010 that DCNS had paid unauthorized commissions resulting in an inflated price for the frigates. These illegal commissions went to politicians, military officials and middlemen in both Taiwan and France. How much were the bribes? Well, the French court awarded Taiwan $861 million in interest payments, lawyers fee, and refund of these commissions. It was estimated that the original bribe amounts totaled $600 million out of a contract price of $2.8 billion, or a staggering 21% of the contract price was paid in bribes.

In 2005. India orders 6 Scorpene submarines from DCNS for $1.8 billion. This purchase is also embroiled in a bribing scandal. But than most arms purchases in India are, so let’s just not be too surprised here. This time, the bribes appear to be over $100 million.

Now we come to our fair land. In 2000, RSN orders stealth frigates from DCNS in the face of competition from the American shipyard Littons, and the Swedish shipyard Kockums. DCNS wins this contract, but the really fishy thing is that the purchase price for these 6 frigates have never been revealed! Given the history of DCNS’s business methods, I find this very questionable. On other MINDEF purchase like the F-15SG, dollar amounts were revealed publicly. There might be a source somewhere with the contract price, but I am not aware of it. If DCNS follows normal business practices, than we can expect hundreds of millions $ to be paid out in unauthorized commissions, and bribes to Singapore politicians, and military leaders.

If the PAP purports to be transparent and corruption free, it must prudently order a probe into this deal in light of developments in Malaysia and Taiwan, just to assure themselves that everything is clean. It cannot be plausible that DCNS will commit bribery and corruption in every country that it does business with, except SIngapore. The French probe into the Malaysian submarine deal was initiated by a Malaysian Human Rights organization Suaram. Therefore, even if the govt. does not want to investigate this purchase, other NGOs in Singapore and even opposition parties can contact the French govt. I suggest that Chee Soon Juan take this up with the French govt., or even an opposition party can do so.

In addition, the people of Singapore must look at this in the overall context of the industry. The defense industry around the world is notoriously known as one of the most corrupt industries in the world. Singapore spends $10 billion per year on its military budget, one of the highest per capita in the world. The spending is uncontrolled with no watchdog in place. I have yet to meet one Singaporean who can explain to me why we need submarines, tanker aircraft, or even stealth frigates and F-15SGs. Even military men I know (up to rank of Colonel as I am not privileged to meet generals and ministers) can’t explain all these purchases and what they mean in the scheme of our overall defence strategy. Singaporeans work themselves into a frenzy over $2200 bikes and million dollar salaries, but this is potentially $billions in wrongdoing. Lets all ask some serious questions here.

What should we be asking that will get us answers?

Everything will just be blanked out in the grand name of national security lor what else?

As if we will be able to do a massive expose like the ones the malaysians are having with Najib and his wife. they were exposed because they were stupid and greedy BUT even then so what? He is still the PM and things are still hunky dory.... nothing changes... and what if you expose high level defence corruption in Singapore? hahahahahah... which court will convict and which agency will investigate .....

What should we be asking that will get us answers?

Everything will just be blanked out in the grand name of national security lor what else?

As if we will be able to do a massive expose like the ones the malaysians are having with Najib and his wife. they were exposed because they were stupid and greedy BUT even then so what? He is still the PM and things are still hunky dory.... nothing changes... and what if you expose high level defence corruption in Singapore? hahahahahah... which court will convict and which agency will investigate .....

The answer to your question is to look at the Malaysian example. If it was left to the Malaysian govt. and najib to investigate their DCNS deal, it will never happen. In the Malaysian case, a non govt. malaysian agency requested the French court and govt. to look at the deal. Unlike the Malaysians and Singaporeans, The French have no problem pursuing a real corruption investigation against such a big contractor like DCNS. This was went the shit hit the fan, and names from the Malaysian side were revealed.

Recently developments in the Malaysian submarine bribery scandal casts some serious suspicions on the French Naval shipbuilder DCNS and their way of doing business in Asia, and by direct association, such suspicions must also be cast on the 2000 deal to buy 6 stealth frigates for the RSN.

Lets all ask some serious questions here.

Your whole passage reads "kong simi lan cheow"?

Frigates with airbourne surveillance means longer attack range, longer sea time. Time also to replace our corvettes.

Chee Soon Juan take this up with the French government? They will put their intern to talk to him (if lucky, chiobu intern)... ....

http://www.naval-technology.com/projects/lafayette/

http://www.malaysiandefence.com/?p=1950

While we got ours for US$80 million, the malaysians are getting theirs for US$2.8 billion. Malaysia boleh? :)

"Kockums" ,DCNS wins this contract, but the really fishy thing is that the purchase price for these 6 frigates have never been revealed! Given the history of DCNS’s business" quote

Maybe we should ask "fark yew" the no porn "Kock don't kum" since he was a Rear-admirer in the Navy...he should know about the ships.!?

The answer to your question is to look at the Malaysian example. If it was left to the Malaysian govt. and najib to investigate their DCNS deal, it will never happen. In the Malaysian case, a non govt. malaysian agency requested the French court and govt. to look at the deal. Unlike the Malaysians and Singaporeans, The French have no problem pursuing a real corruption investigation against such a big contractor like DCNS. This was went the shit hit the fan, and names from the Malaysian side were revealed.

The Malaysian case came to light due to the high profile murder of the Mongolian model. Suaram took up the case with the French authority following the unsatisfactory murder trial which reveals some damning facts linking it to the submarine deal.

In SG's case, there was no suggestion of foul play. For what reason would the French authority open an investigation?

The Malaysian case came to light due to the high profile murder of the Mongolian model. Suaram took up the case with the French authority following the unsatisfactory murder trial which reveals some damning facts linking it to the submarine deal.

In SG's case, there was no suggestion of foul play. For what reason would the French authority open an investigation?

The 'foul' opps! fowl! is taped at the beak, tied at the legs & caged, so how to "cluck or quack"?? and there was no 'all lady good man" scandal! no , " dar she blows" thing..so we won't see the 'darkness', who knows?. There is a saying, "the person who guards the well, will take a sip of water from it, once in a while", but too many sips...

Singapore is in the same league as the Australians. Any bribes is usually sophisticated, well concealed and both countries will cry father, mother when someone else is involved oin misdeeds, corruption, sports doping etc.

It will emerge when like the Choy Hon Thim case, the estranged wife and son went personally to CPIB with banks accounts in hand and lodged the complaint. Even then the arseholes led the key man who organised the racket, managed the payments escape via the causeway while out on bail. The guy comes out from Hill Street CPIB office, takes a taxi to Rochor Rd, takes Johor Singapore bus, to JB, then to KL and flight to OZ.

Until clear anti bribery laws like in the US and this recently introduced in UK, these things will continue to slide. In the French case, nobody is going to prison.

Singapore is in the same league as the Australians. Any bribes is usually sophisticated, well concealed and both countries will cry father, mother when someone else is involved oin misdeeds, corruption, sports doping etc.

It will emerge when like the Choy Hon Thim case, the estranged wife and son went personally to CPIB with banks accounts in hand and lodged the complaint. Even then the arseholes led the key man who organised the racket, managed the payments escape via the causeway while out on bail. The guy comes out from Hill Street CPIB office, takes a taxi to Rochor Rd, takes Johor Singapore bus, to JB, then to KL and flight to OZ.

Until clear anti bribery laws like in the US and this recently introduced in UK, these things will continue to slide. In the French case, nobody is going to prison.

Now it is faster, you take a taxi to the MRT Station, while on the way, do an Air Asia Booking on your iPhone Apps, check in Changi Airport and then to LCCT in Sepang, take a taxi from there to KLI or a flight from LCCT which will take one to JB...then to Australia.

The 'foul' opps! fowl! is taped at the beak, tied at the legs & caged, so how to "cluck or quack"?? and there was no 'all lady good man" scandal! no , " dar she blows" thing..so we won't see the 'darkness', who knows?. There is a saying, "the person who guards the well, will take a sip of water from it, once in a while", but too many sips...

I am sure our defence procurements are not squeaky clean. Hopefully, something will blow up.........soon.

Recently developments in the Malaysian submarine bribery scandal casts some serious suspicions on the French Naval shipbuilder DCNS and their way of doing business in Asia, and by direct association, such suspicions must also be cast on the 2000 deal to buy 6 stealth frigates for the RSN....... Lets all ask some serious questions here.

Yes, I support you. We should ask some serious questions.

My first question : Are French women pretty or sexy?

Oui!, Anglais, but J'etaime...is C'est Si bon...C'est Si Bon...ooooh! Je'etaime C'est si bon!

My favorite line, from Nicolas Anelka:

FR: Va te faire enculer, sale fils de pute!
EN: Go get yourself fucked, you dirty son of a whore!

My favorite line, from Nicolas Anelka:

FR: Va te faire enculer, sale fils de pute!
EN: Go get yourself fucked, you dirty son of a whore!

Pute from putere, ahh! that is where we get the "pooki" as in Malay from & "puki" as in Tagalog... ha ha ha ha

"Kockums" ,DCNS wins this contract, but the really fishy thing is that the purchase price for these 6 frigates have never been revealed! Given the history of DCNS’s business" quote

Maybe we should ask "fark yew" the no porn "Kock don't kum" since he was a Rear-admirer in the Navy...he should know about the ships.!?

He knows for sure, but if he took a kickback for the contract, why should he say anything.

I rather spend my precious time on useful activities like queuing up for the latest iphone than to waste it on investigating corruption. What have all these billions got to do with me? Really bo liao :rolleyes: