• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Time to call for probe into RSN French Frigate purchase

The Malaysian case came to light due to the high profile murder of the Mongolian model. Suaram took up the case with the French authority following the unsatisfactory murder trial which reveals some damning facts linking it to the submarine deal.

In SG's case, there was no suggestion of foul play. For what reason would the French authority open an investigation?

Really, the murder of a Mongolian citizen in malaysia is no concern to the French. But, during the trail, there were alleged wrongdoings in the submarine deal, as part reason for the murder. The fact is, the submarine bribery was alleged and not found to be fact in a malaysian court of law.

In Singapore's case, the newspapers and media, and govt. will never confess to anything, even if they suspected bribery happened. Given the fact that DCNS is involved in so many corruption scandals, foul play SHOULD also be suspected in the SIngapore purchase. U don't think its funny that no contract price is mentioned? What have you got to lose? If you go to the French and say "Look, u have a company, DCNS, running around bribing everyone in sight to make a sale, can u investigate them whether they also bribed SIngapore officials?" WOrse come to worse, they say no, we don't want to investigate. We are no better off than. If they say no, than just wait until the PAP is kicked out atthe next election, and than hire a forensic accountant and open the whole can of worms.

Singapore is in the same league as the Australians. Any bribes is usually sophisticated, well concealed and both countries will cry father, mother when someone else is involved oin misdeeds, corruption, sports doping etc.

Singapore is in a league of their own. Not only are the bribing sophisticated (see how lower ranking civil servants can rig a contract for foldable bikes), they control the press. In Australia, the media would be investigating like mad, given if the Australian govt. buys from a company notorious for bribing and if such a large purchase was not revealed in price.

I am sure our defence procurements are not squeaky clean. Hopefully, something will blow up.........soon.

I guarantee u its not squeaky clean. Buy a $2200 bike is already dirty as hell, buy $billion frigates is like giving them free buffet. If u sit around waiting for somthing to blow up, it will not. SImply because they control the media, courts, etc. U have to be proactive, and ask the French to check for you.

I am sure our defence procurements are not squeaky clean. Hopefully, something will blow up.........soon.

Which country's defence procurements is ever clean?

The main thing is, as long as the weapons worked and does their jobs, i dun see a problem.

In the Malaysian case, the subs didnt work as well as they should.

I rather spend my precious time on useful activities like queuing up for the latest iphone than to waste it on investigating corruption. What have all these billions got to do with me? Really bo liao :rolleyes:

Please, who are u kidding? Everyone knows that the only useful activity u do in your so call precious time is to masturbate on your grandmother's panties.

Which country's defence procurements is ever clean?

The main thing is, as long as the weapons worked and does their jobs, i dun see a problem.

In the Malaysian case, the subs didnt work as well as they should.

With this kind of attitude, why don't you just ask them to take all the CPF money for themselves too? If we are Nigeria, I don't care. No one expects an arms purchase to anything other than an exercise in corruption. But when you trumpet to the whole world that u are clean, and u tell your citizens that u need to be paid millions $ to remain clean. u fucking better be clean.

Whether the frigates we bought from the French work or not, I don't really know. But pray tell me, what is their job?

With this kind of attitude, why don't you just ask them to take all the CPF money for themselves too? If we are Nigeria, I don't care. No one expects an arms purchase to anything other than an exercise in corruption. But when you trumpet to the whole world that u are clean, and u tell your citizens that u need to be paid millions $ to remain clean. u fucking better be clean.

Whether the frigates we bought from the French work or not, I don't really know. But pray tell me, what is their job?

Bro I dont want to demean the noble intentions of what you are asserting about what is supposed to be the job of the PAP govt esp when it comes to the corrupted world of weapons procurement BUT seriously..... what do we seriously expect to find? Everybody here is aware how the PAP has managed to twist and wrangle themselves into manipulating important state security agencies such as the ISD and CPIB into becoming their tools so whats there left to argue about whether these agencies are supposed to perform their duties?

The ISD had probably spent so much time sneaking around and spying on the opposition for the PAP that they can even forget to keep a locked gate shut on Mas Selamat. Isnt that obvious to sinkies yet? As for the ensuing "inquiry" on this incident, just go and ask around,.... those clowns still dont have the foggiest idea how that fella escaped till today .... or maybe the escape was so shockingly simple as for him to just walk through the gate even....

We cant do anything as long as we have no questions asked of people spending $400 mil on a farcical Youth Olympic Games, spending the same amount buying a childcare chain in Australian that spectacularly collapsed within 6 months of the acquisition and this damm frigate purchase...until the fascists in white are kicked out properly with all their lackeys and cronies everywhere... perhaps the inquisition can start... until then 60.1 rules the day.

Bro I dont want to demean the noble intentions of what you are asserting about what is supposed to be the job of the PAP govt esp when it comes to the corrupted world of weapons procurement BUT seriously..... what do we seriously expect to find? Everybody here is aware how the PAP has managed to twist and wrangle themselves into manipulating important state security agencies such as the ISD and CPIB into becoming their tools so whats there left to argue about whether these agencies are supposed to perform their duties?

The ISD had probably spent so much time sneaking around and spying on the opposition for the PAP that they can even forget to keep a locked gate shut on Mas Selamat. Isnt that obvious to sinkies yet? As for the ensuing "inquiry" on this incident, just go and ask around,.... those clowns still dont have the foggiest idea how that fella escaped till today .... or maybe the escape was so shockingly simple as for him to just walk through the gate even....

We cant do anything as long as we have no questions asked of people spending $400 mil on a farcical Youth Olympic Games, spending the same amount buying a childcare chain in Australian that spectacularly collapsed within 6 months of the acquisition and this damm frigate purchase...until the fascists in white are kicked out properly with all their lackeys and cronies everywhere... perhaps the inquisition can start... until then 60.1 rules the day.

There are several ways to go with this.

1) The oppo MPs can start with asking how much the frigates costs. I think this is the starting point. If MINDEF refuses to disclose the price, it will again make them look bad in light of all the other corruption incidents and Npark hanky panky going on. If MINDEF can disclose F-15 purchase price, why not frigates. The oppo party can also ask, in light of DCNS business practices, what measures were taken to prevent a Malaysia or Taiwan style bribe scandal. Than see what the PAP says. The main point, they have to dig deeper and deeper. The PAP can just shut them down and not bother to reveal anything. But this will have to be stated as a matter of publci record.

2) If the oppo party are shut out of any info (and I predict this is what will happen), the next step is France itself. SOmeone in the oppo can contact the French media and ask them to do an investigative journalism piece on the SIngapore purchase. After India, Taiwan and Malaysia, I think they will be salivating at exposing more corruption, and unlike the SPH, they really do investigations.

3) Remember that a Malaysian human rights org. started the whole French investigation into their submarine buy. Imagine that, how a human rights NGO can do that? What do we have to lose by asking? If there is no wrongdoing (not likely), than no big deal. If otherwise, thanits about time the PAP got taken down a couple of notches.

Look at the pussy cat WP in parliament nowadays. You think they dare to take on the govt? Not a chance.

With the way Tema-sick is losing billions, undeclared, spending money in the defence industry pales in comparsion! LOL

Really? So why WP keep quiet? They must be on the take right?

Yes could be. But look at the way sinkies work themselves into a frenzy over the tender for $2200 bikes. There are even netizens doing their own CSI. U would think that they would wet themselves over billions of $ over the tender for the frigates.

Military budget and spending cannot be questioned, because it is a sacred cow.

Recall the recession years. The defense budget saw no cuts. On the contrary, it was increased.

If you criticize it, you'll be demonized and be called all sorts of names: insane, unpatriotic, putting Singapore's national security at risk etc. Typical trait of a fascist state.

When it fact, military spending often sees the same corruption and greasing of palms. The only difference is that they hide behind uniform, the flag and make themselves seem noble.

Just after Singapore participated in RIMPAC using the stealth frigate, you want to sell it back to France.

Where did I say I want to sell it back? As usual, u shoot ur mouth off without reading the posts. The French would never buy them back. And I don't give a shit about what naval excercises we participate in. I want an investigation into the procurement of these frigates with a specific eye on corruption. U should get an education and learn how to read.
P.S. still haven't figured why we got kicked out of taiwan?

Military budget and spending cannot be questioned, because it is a sacred cow.

Recall the recession years. The defense budget saw no cuts. On the contrary, it was increased.

If you criticize it, you'll be demonized and be called all sorts of names: insane, unpatriotic, putting Singapore's national security at risk etc. Typical trait of a fascist state.

When it fact, military spending often sees the same corruption and greasing of palms. The only difference is that they hide behind uniform, the flag and make themselves seem noble.

In SIngapore, many things cannot be questioned, like where are the money from GIC invested (national secret, according to Old Goat). The time is long past for accepting "sacred cow" as a satisfactory answer for PAP policies. Your last para is correct though. And its not only military commanders that benefit. If you subscribe to the belief that nothing happens in singapore without the Lee/Kwa knowing about it, than u will believe that they also have their hand in the military defence budget pie. Normally, the SAF/MINDEF guys are just the bag man. They would have received or demanded large kickbacks from DCNS, keep a little for themselves, and than push the rest of the bribe up to their political bosses. The only question was how big was it, how was it split, and with whom.