• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

This will warm the cockles of your heart.....

Vandals puncture tyres on SIX ambulances as the NHS is pushed to its limit during coronavirus outbreak
By
starspost
-
March 23, 2020

COVID-19-STRAG-19MARCH-1406.jpg

Six ambulances were unable to deliver life-saving care after vandals punctured the tyres in a mindless act as the nation battles the coronavirus crisis.

The emergency response vehicles were targeted at a Make Ready Depot in Ramsgate, Kent, on Sunday.

ulances had their tyres punctured by mindless vandalsSteve Finn

Paramedics already feeling the strain amid the spread of Covid-19 arrived at work shortly after 7am on Sunday to find holes had been deliberately drilled into the tyres in a senseless overnight attack.

A driver was preparing to take one of the ambulances from the vehicle preparation centre to a paramedic station when the damage was discovered.
The vehicles needed to be taken off the road and an alarm was raised at 7.10am.

One enraged paramedic posted a series of photos of the vandalised ambulances on social media.

South East Coast Ambulance Service tweeted: “Six of our ambulances were deliberately damaged overnight in Kent.

“Beyond disappointed that anyone would do this ever, let alone now when our staff are under so much pressure.

“Well done to Fleet & Make Ready teams for getting these back on the road asap.

“And this is in such contrast to the vast majority of the public who are being fantastically supportive of our staff #TeamSECAmb.”

Make Ready Centres prepares ambulances by cleaning, restocking and checking the equipment on ambulances before the beginning and at the end of every shift.

Kent Police are now investigating the incident and are appealing for anyone with information to come forward.

ALREADY UNDER STRAIN

Boris Johnson has already warned the NHS faces being totally overwhelmed by coronavirus just like the swamped health service has been in Italy.
He fears the system could start to fall apart within just two weeks unless Brits heed lockdown advice aimed at stopping the spread of the killer pandemic.
Doctors have already warned a “tsunami” of severely ill patients is about to swamp them as the numbers of people struck down in the UK tops 5,000

This is bad.

by the way, I am too lazy to search the meaning of the thread title.
what is the meaning of "warm cockles of the heart"? Never heard this phrase before.

Guess the race n religion m the nationality of the perp? And why aren't those vehicles parked in a secure compound?

This is bad.

what is the meaning of "warm cockles of the heart"? Never heard this phrase before.
in latin, cochleae cordis refers to “ventricles of the heart”, and brits who first used it were adulterating cochleae with “cockles”, a word they were more familiar with. it’s just a phrase to refer to one’s heartfelt happiness. in sg, sinkie uncles with erectile dysfunction will be happy if their cocks get hard instead of having cockles in their hearts.

This is bad.

Screenshot 2020-03-24 14.33.09.png

Guess the race n religion m the nationality of the perp? And why aren't those vehicles parked in a secure compound?
Vandals puncture tyres on SIX ambulances as the NHS is pushed to its limit during coronavirus outbreak
By
starspost
-
March 23, 2020

COVID-19-STRAG-19MARCH-1406.jpg

Six ambulances were unable to deliver life-saving care after vandals punctured the tyres in a mindless act as the nation battles the coronavirus crisis.

The emergency response vehicles were targeted at a Make Ready Depot in Ramsgate, Kent, on Sunday.

ulances had their tyres punctured by mindless vandalsSteve Finn

Paramedics already feeling the strain amid the spread of Covid-19 arrived at work shortly after 7am on Sunday to find holes had been deliberately drilled into the tyres in a senseless overnight attack.

A driver was preparing to take one of the ambulances from the vehicle preparation centre to a paramedic station when the damage was discovered.
The vehicles needed to be taken off the road and an alarm was raised at 7.10am.

One enraged paramedic posted a series of photos of the vandalised ambulances on social media.

South East Coast Ambulance Service tweeted: “Six of our ambulances were deliberately damaged overnight in Kent.

“Beyond disappointed that anyone would do this ever, let alone now when our staff are under so much pressure.

“Well done to Fleet & Make Ready teams for getting these back on the road asap.

“And this is in such contrast to the vast majority of the public who are being fantastically supportive of our staff #TeamSECAmb.”

Make Ready Centres prepares ambulances by cleaning, restocking and checking the equipment on ambulances before the beginning and at the end of every shift.

Kent Police are now investigating the incident and are appealing for anyone with information to come forward.

ALREADY UNDER STRAIN

Boris Johnson has already warned the NHS faces being totally overwhelmed by coronavirus just like the swamped health service has been in Italy.
He fears the system could start to fall apart within just two weeks unless Brits heed lockdown advice aimed at stopping the spread of the killer pandemic.
Doctors have already warned a “tsunami” of severely ill patients is about to swamp them as the numbers of people struck down in the UK tops 5,000
Probably done by those who do not agree with shutdown and want economy to continue.

This is bad.

You must be a chow ah beng who failed PSLE English.
Read cockles only think of hum.

Probably done by those who do not agree with shutdown and want economy to continue.
Probably those that wants the shutdowns to continue as they benefit the most in a medical emergency. Age care homes cannot afford their customers dying in one fell swoop. Doctors etc need customers to be alive to keep their rice bowls. More money is made by keeping the 5 percent alive via ongoing medical treatments vs they dropping dead straight away.

Eh please lah. You are being totally ridiculous. You honestly believe we doctors and nurses want to keep old people alive so that we can earn more money? You think the doctors and nurses working on the frontlines and risking getting infected are doing it to keep old people alive so that they have more customers in the future?

Really?

Crazy lah.

Eh please lah. You are being totally ridiculous. You honestly believe we doctors and nurses want to keep old people alive so that we can earn more money? You think the doctors and nurses working on the frontlines and risking getting infected are doing it to keep old people alive so that they have more customers in the future?

Really?

Crazy lah.
If not how come those in the medical field can be millionaires? N why u never say anything about the age care industry?

Leading surgeon insists she shouldn't be struck off despite failing to disclose 94 misconduct charges and 'charging Queen of Brunei's sister £12million for breast cancer treatment'
Susan Lim smiling for the camera: Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee - who allegedly charged £12million to provide breast cancer treatment to the Queen of Brunei's sister - is before a General Medical Council (GMC) in the UK this week
© Provided by Associated Newspapers Limited
Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee - who allegedly charged £12million to provide breast cancer treatment to the Queen of Brunei's sister - is before a General Medical Council (GMC) in the UK this week
A leading surgeon who failed to tell British authorities she'd been found guilty of professional misconduct in Singapore has insisted she shouldn't be struck off in the UK.

Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee was barred from working in the south-east Asian country after allegedly charging the Queen of Brunei's sister £12million for breast cancer treatment.

Dr Lee, who was also registered to work in the UK, practised in Singapore between 2001 and 2007 and carried out the country's first liver transplant.

But was found guilty of malpractice in 2012 and suspended for three years.

It later came to light that she had not informed British authorities of the case against her in Singapore.

She has not practised medicine since 2013 but is now fighting against being struck off in the UK in a case before the General Medical Council (GMC).

The case against her in Singapore was that she charged £12million ($24m Singapore dollars) for coordinating the treatment of the Queen of Brunei's sister over a six-month period in 2007.

The Singapore High Court rejected an appeal which she lodged in 2013, describing the 'opportunistic and arbitrary' fees charged as 'grossly excessive'.

Today, at a GMC hearing in Manchester, her lawyer Ian Winter QC argued that she had provided a high standard of care and had not sought to deliberately mislead.

a close up of a carousel: Pictured; the Queen of Brunei, whose sister was treated for breast cancer by Dr Lee
© Provided by Associated Newspapers Limited Pictured; the Queen of Brunei, whose sister was treated for breast cancer by Dr Lee
He described her as a role model for 'Asian doctors' and in particular 'Asian female doctors.'

He added that she did not expose the vulnerability of the patient involved because the costs were paid by the Ministry of Health in Brunei rather than her.

As well as this he said if the patient had not died it is unlikely the case would ever have come before a hearing.

He said: 'She has been fully and completely disciplined in the only jurisdiction she has ever practised in.'

He suggested she could voluntarily remove herself from the UK register.

Representing the GMC, Simon Jackson QC argued she should face a sanction and said she had not shown insight into her actions.

He said: 'Even now there are instances where she says it appropriate to charge this because of the nature of the service being provided.'

The hearing, which Dr Lee is not attending, continues.

Download our mobile app

If not how come those in the medical field can be millionaires? N why u never say anything about the age care industry?

Leading surgeon insists she shouldn't be struck off despite failing to disclose 94 misconduct charges and 'charging Queen of Brunei's sister £12million for breast cancer treatment'
Susan Lim smiling for the camera: Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee - who allegedly charged £12million to provide breast cancer treatment to the Queen of Brunei's sister - is before a General Medical Council (GMC) in the UK this week
© Provided by Associated Newspapers Limited
Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee - who allegedly charged £12million to provide breast cancer treatment to the Queen of Brunei's sister - is before a General Medical Council (GMC) in the UK this week
A leading surgeon who failed to tell British authorities she'd been found guilty of professional misconduct in Singapore has insisted she shouldn't be struck off in the UK.

Dr Susan Lim Mey Lee was barred from working in the south-east Asian country after allegedly charging the Queen of Brunei's sister £12million for breast cancer treatment.

Dr Lee, who was also registered to work in the UK, practised in Singapore between 2001 and 2007 and carried out the country's first liver transplant.

But was found guilty of malpractice in 2012 and suspended for three years.

It later came to light that she had not informed British authorities of the case against her in Singapore.

She has not practised medicine since 2013 but is now fighting against being struck off in the UK in a case before the General Medical Council (GMC).

The case against her in Singapore was that she charged £12million ($24m Singapore dollars) for coordinating the treatment of the Queen of Brunei's sister over a six-month period in 2007.

The Singapore High Court rejected an appeal which she lodged in 2013, describing the 'opportunistic and arbitrary' fees charged as 'grossly excessive'.

Today, at a GMC hearing in Manchester, her lawyer Ian Winter QC argued that she had provided a high standard of care and had not sought to deliberately mislead.

a close up of a carousel: Pictured; the Queen of Brunei, whose sister was treated for breast cancer by Dr Lee
© Provided by Associated Newspapers Limited Pictured; the Queen of Brunei, whose sister was treated for breast cancer by Dr Lee
He described her as a role model for 'Asian doctors' and in particular 'Asian female doctors.'

He added that she did not expose the vulnerability of the patient involved because the costs were paid by the Ministry of Health in Brunei rather than her.

As well as this he said if the patient had not died it is unlikely the case would ever have come before a hearing.

He said: 'She has been fully and completely disciplined in the only jurisdiction she has ever practised in.'

He suggested she could voluntarily remove herself from the UK register.

Representing the GMC, Simon Jackson QC argued she should face a sanction and said she had not shown insight into her actions.

He said: 'Even now there are instances where she says it appropriate to charge this because of the nature of the service being provided.'

The hearing, which Dr Lee is not attending, continues.

Download our mobile app

There is a reason why Dr Susan Lim was tried. Doctors do NOT earn 12 million pounds for treating cancer lah.

Doctors can be millionaires because they studied hard spent the time training and then treat many many patients and accumulate the billings.

Why do you hate doctors so much? What about lawyers? Businessmen? Anyone rich? To become highly paid and earning high salary you need leverage. Some sort of skill or knowledge or hard work etc.

Age care industry will be badly affected if there is an outbreak in the nursing home.

In fact it is already happening all around the world. The old people will die. Many will die. The last thing on doctors minds is how this affect their $$$.

It is those corporations who own nursing homes that will be worried.

But even then I dont think people are thinking of helping the old people and protect them out of $$$ reasons. Generally people do not like seeing other people dying. I dont know about you.

Seriously to say that the reason why doctors are working hard on the front lines is because of money is the most ridiculous thing!

I am sure many of these doctors are already well to do and if given a choice would rather be safe at home. Money can always be earned later. They stay at work helping the sick old and young out of duty.

I am sorry for you. You actually believe that ALL people are evil and materialistic dont you?

Anyway it is ok lah. You can have your view certainly. Perhaps you should start some protest or campaign to have old people killed with euthanasia instead. Solves the problem and relieves suffering too.

I doubt even Sam would agree with you on this whole doctors want to protect rice bowl that's why call for lockdown. It is totally ridiculous.

Most of the surgeons who do elective surgeries and make good money are having it bad business wise now too. All elective surgery canceled.

Most doctors will report a reduction in income rather than an increase. Same with pharmacists.

If caring for old people was So lucrative then you would see all doctors flocking to be geriatricians. This is opposite to the truth.

I am fine with Sam's argument that the hit to the economy might be "worse" than the deaths from covid19. I do think that governments have a big role to play in preventing that though.

Canada has talked about universal income during this period. And they are going to pass a bill to allow Parliament to spend without debate and then raise taxes to get back the income. So I fully expect my taxes for 2020 to be EXTREMELY HIGH. So be it. I am in agreement. It is a time of crisis. We all share the burden. I can always earn money again when the crisis is over.

Now would Sam agree to being taxed 100% above $30k for the FY2020? Or Yourself?

This is bad.

Sam is trying to be Kosher. Bluntly put, he meant prostate stimulating piece of news.

There is a reason why Dr Susan Lim was tried. Doctors do NOT earn 12 million pounds for treating cancer lah.

Doctors can be millionaires because they studied hard spent the time training and then treat many many patients and accumulate the billings.

Why do you hate doctors so much? What about lawyers? Businessmen? Anyone rich? To become highly paid and earning high salary you need leverage. Some sort of skill or knowledge or hard work etc.

Age care industry will be badly affected if there is an outbreak in the nursing home.

In fact it is already happening all around the world. The old people will die. Many will die. The last thing on doctors minds is how this affect their $$$.

It is those corporations who own nursing homes that will be worried.

But even then I dont think people are thinking of helping the old people and protect them out of $$$ reasons. Generally people do not like seeing other people dying. I dont know about you.

Seriously to say that the reason why doctors are working hard on the front lines is because of money is the most ridiculous thing!

I am sure many of these doctors are already well to do and if given a choice would rather be safe at home. Money can always be earned later. They stay at work helping the sick old and young out of duty.

I am sorry for you. You actually believe that ALL people are evil and materialistic dont you?

Anyway it is ok lah. You can have your view certainly. Perhaps you should start some protest or campaign to have old people killed with euthanasia instead. Solves the problem and relieves suffering too.

I doubt even Sam would agree with you on this whole doctors want to protect rice bowl that's why call for lockdown. It is totally ridiculous.

Most of the surgeons who do elective surgeries and make good money are having it bad business wise now too. All elective surgery canceled.

Most doctors will report a reduction in income rather than an increase. Same with pharmacists.

If caring for old people was So lucrative then you would see all doctors flocking to be geriatricians. This is opposite to the truth.

I am fine with Sam's argument that the hit to the economy might be "worse" than the deaths from covid19. I do think that governments have a big role to play in preventing that though.

Canada has talked about universal income during this period. And they are going to pass a bill to allow Parliament to spend without debate and then raise taxes to get back the income. So I fully expect my taxes for 2020 to be EXTREMELY HIGH. So be it. I am in agreement. It is a time of crisis. We all share the burden. I can always earn money again when the crisis is over.

Now would Sam agree to being taxed 100% above $30k for the FY2020? Or Yourself?
So to avoid such a scenario, implement a herd immunity policy. That way business as usual m no disruptions. The fear is the virus is worse than the virus itself. So eliminate the fear, not promote it. Its yr kind that advocates lockdown etc that are stroking the fear

In Italy the infection n death rates r dropping.

If all the fear mongering did not happen n the focus was on herd immunity the bloody virus would be over by now

Italy sees second successive drop in coronavirus deaths
Italy coffin
A priest wearing a face mask checks a book of funeral rites as he gives the last blessing to a deceased person, by a coffin during a funeral ceremony outside the cemetery of Bolgare, Lombardy. (Piero CRUCIATTI/AFP)
24 Mar 2020 03:30AM
Bookmark
ROME: Italy on Monday (Mar 23) reported a second successive drop in daily deaths and infections from a coronavirus that has nevertheless claimed more than 6,000 lives in a month.

The Mediterranean country has now seen its daily fatalities come down from a world record 793 on Saturday to 651 on Sunday and 601 on Monday.

The number of new declared infections fell from 6,557 on Saturday to 4,789 on Monday.

The top medical officer for Milan's devastated Lombardy region appeared on television smiling for the first time in many weeks.

"We cannot declare victory just yet," Giulio Gallera said. "But there is light at the end of the tunnel."

Italy medical
A group of nurses wearing protective mask and gear at the Cremona hospital, southeast of Milan, Lombardy. Paolo MIRANDA/AFP
Italy's National Health Institute (ISS) chief Silvio Brusaferro was more guarded.

"These are positive number but I do not have the courage to firmly state that there is a downward trend," the medical expert told reporters.

Italians will desperately hope that weeks of living under a lockdown in which even a jog in the park was eventually banned was the price worth paying for beating back the new disease.

Saturday's record toll was followed by a late-night address to the nation in which Prime Minister Giuseppe Conte announced the additional closure of "non-essential" factories.

His government also banned travel to help a country that turned into the new epicentre of the pandemic last week get through a critical stretch in which restrictions are supposed to finally show results.

"Now more than ever, everyone's commitment is needed," Health Minister Roberto Speranza said after Monday's figures came out.

Italy's toll now stands at 6,077 - more than that of China and third-placed Spain combined.

READ: Why Italy? The factors behind a coronavirus disaster
NERVES STARTING TO FRAY

Italy has sacrificed its economy and liberties by closing and banning almost everything to halt the spread of a virus the government views as an existential threat.

READ: Italian police recycle oxygen canisters from coronavirus victims
The nation has rallied around its exhausted doctors and tried to deal with life under a state of emergency with humour and grace.

Entire city blocks have organised balcony parties with nightly DJs. There have been singalongs and synchronised rounds of applause.

But Italians' nerves were clearly starting to fray and the pushback on social media against the ever-changing rules and tightening regulations was getting strong.

Twitter posts went viral ridiculing mayors and regional chiefs who threatened to jail joggers and fine people for walking their dogs too far from their homes.

The government's new partial ban of seemingly random industries added to an air of confusion in the face of a disease Conte has called Italy's biggest disaster since World War II.

Auto part makers were allowed to stay open but steel mills were shut. News stands could still operate but book stores could not.

DECISION TIME

The reality is that Conte's team is running out of things to close or ban.

Other nations are also watching the Italian numbers to see if Conte's ban-everything tactics work.

Italy is on the frontline of a war against a disease being fought by means that currently restrict freedoms and devastate economies.

Some are starting to openly ask if this price is too high - even as the global death toll soars.

Officials pleaded with the nation of 60 million - people accustomed to celebrating life outdoors deep into the night - to sacrifice individual liberties for the common good for two weeks.

The initial restrictions placed on the northern epicentre of the pandemic around Milan expired on Sunday and the national measures are set to end on Wednesday.

Conte indicated last week that he might need to extend the restrictions indefinitely.

His decision is expected within days.

"If everyone - and I stress everyone - respects our bans, we will emerge from this very difficult test first," Conte said on Monday.

So to avoid such a scenario, implement a herd immunity policy. That way business as usual m no disruptions. The fear is the virus is worse than the virus itself. So eliminate the fear, not promote it. Its yr kind that advocates lockdown etc that are stroking the fear

You should know that the lockdown is not something the doctors did. It is the politicians.

In any case the raison d'etre of doctors is to preserve life not promote death.

You can do your part by quickly catching covid19 and go visit all the nursing homes, aged homes hospitals and spread the virus around.

You should know that the lockdown is not something the doctors did. It is the politicians.

In any case the raison d'etre of doctors is to preserve life not promote death.

You can do your part by quickly catching covid19 and go visit all the nursing homes, aged homes hospitals and spread the virus around.
The doctors are the ones arguing against herd immunity. Not all doctors are saints. Yes visiting my old relatives in age care soon. It pains me to see them living there without dignity. Pee and shit n wait for diapers to be changed

in latin, cochleae cordis refers to “ventricles of the heart”, and brits who first used it were adulterating cochleae with “cockles”, a word they were more familiar with. it’s just a phrase to refer to one’s heartfelt happiness. in sg, sinkie uncles with erectile dysfunction will be happy if their cocks get hard instead of having cockles in their hearts.

download.gif

Laughing Emoji GIFs - Find & Share on GIPHY