• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

There is no flooding in SG, only ponding and draining

LHL.jpg

Our govt is no different from the mafia who extract money from the people. We have an authoritarian govt that needs to be voted out.
you talk about vote out the current PAP govt. They redraw the boundaries on every election and this matter has to be brought to court for this.

Are the people balls up to that. I try hard not to disrespect sinkie but i cannot, just look at how they are being pushed around and they dun do anything and accept all the abuse by the govt.

If the people do not balls up and have no self-respect, the PAP is going to win again.

you talk about vote out the current PAP govt. They redraw the boundaries on every election and this matter has to be brought to court for this.
Are the people balls up to that. I try hard not to disrespect sinkie but i cannot, just look at how they are being pushed around and they dun do anything and accept all the abuse by the govt.
If the people do not balls up and have no self-respect, the PAP is going to win again.
We have a corrupt and morally bankrupt Govt.

Monsoon surge in Singapore: Businesses, sports activities, travellers hit by incessant rain​

‹‹
An employee trying to clear rainwater pooled outside Brighton Vet Care (Katong) in Joo Chiat Road on March 20.

1 of 6
An employee trying to clear rainwater pooled outside Brighton Vet Care (Katong) in Joo Chiat Road on March 20.ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN
Heavy rain in Punggol on March 20.

2 of 6
Heavy rain in Punggol on March 20. The monsoon surge began on March 19 and is expected to last till March 21.ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
A flash flood in Mountbatten Road at 3pm on March 20.

3 of 6
A flash flood in Mountbatten Road at 3pm on March 20.ST PHOTO: AZMI ATHNI
The extended north-east monsoon season is due to La Nina conditions since February.

4 of 6
The extended north-east monsoon season is due to La Nina conditions since February.ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
The first tee-off for the opening round was initially planned for 7.30am.

5 of 6
The opening round of the Porsche Singapore Classic golf tournament, originally scheduled for March 20, was rained out.PHOTO: DP WORLD TOUR/X
The Punggol Waterway during heavy rain on March 20.

6 of 6
The Punggol Waterway during heavy rain on March 20.ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
››
Sherlyn Sim and Gabrielle Andres
Mar 20, 2025

SINGAPORE – The incessant rain that has fallen over the last two days has cast a pall over the country, especially in places like the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) and the beaches of Sentosa.

The monsoon surge, which began on March 19 and is expected to last till March 21, has seen warnings of flash floods and resulted in disruptions to many businesses and outdoor activities.

The mercury dipped to 21.9 deg C in Tuas South at about 10am on March 20.

Over the two days as at 7pm on March 20, Jurong West recorded the highest total amount of rainfall at 318mm. In eastern Singapore, the highest amount of rainfall was 298.4mm. These amounts are more than Singapore’s average monthly rainfall of 209.7mm in March, said PUB, the national water agency.

A 15m stretch along the intersection of Mountbatten Road and Jalan Seaview experienced flooding at about 2pm on March 20 for about two hours. There was also flooding within the premises of a nearby property.

Meanwhile, golf clubs such as SICC, Keppel and Sentosa suspended play or closed their courses over March 19 and 20.

The opening round of a professional golf tournament, the US$2.5 million (S$3.3 million) Porsche Singapore Classic, originally scheduled for March 20, was rained out. Organisers of the DP World Tour event at the Laguna National Golf Resort Club said it would now take place on March 21, with the second round set for March 22.

Over in Sentosa, Ola Beach Club at Siloso Beach – where water sports lovers can paddleboard and kayak – saw only 10 per cent of its usual crowd on the afternoon of March 20, said its staff member, Ms Gwen Tan.

The drop in business at the club, which also has a restaurant and bar, has had a knock-on effect: It has had to stop hiring part-timers to help deal with the crowd.

“The businesses around us have also been badly hit,” said Ms Tan. “Due to the downpour, we have stopped hiring part-timers for the weekdays.”

Sentosa’s Tanjong Beach Club saw only half of its usual crowd, while Rumours Beach Club told The Straits Times that 70 per cent of its reservations were cancelled on March 20.

Some swimming schools, such as Bubbles ’N Splashes Swim School, announced the cancellation of classes.

The downpour also hit the food and beverage sector, with some businesses trying to be creative in drawing in customers.

For instance, Western eatery Southwest@Punggol in New Punggol Road is offering a $20 return voucher for guests who visit when it is raining. The 1,000 vouchers will be available on a first-come, first-served basis.

“Our sales were less than $1,000 yesterday and we usually earn around $2,300 on a regular day. I thought of giving return vouchers to appeal to my customers to return,” said its owner Sean Onn.

The Punggol Waterway is filled to the brim during the heavy rain on March 20, 2025.

The Punggol Waterway during heavy rain on March 20.ST PHOTO: CHONG JUN LIANG
Travellers were not spared too.

Those travelling along the BKE towards Woodlands Checkpoint on March 20 faced delays because of a fallen tree before the Dairy Farm Road exit.

Bus operator Tower Transit Singapore, in a Facebook post at about 5pm, said that service 966 would be delayed by up to 30 minutes.

A check by ST on March 20 showed that several flights were listed as cancelled, retimed or diverted on the websites of both Changi Airport and Seletar Airport.

Changi Airport’s website showed several rescheduled arrivals for carriers such as Jetstar and Scoot. A TransNusa flight to Jakarta was cancelled, while other departures to cities such as Seoul, Phuket and Jakarta were retimed.

At Seletar Airport, flights operated by Malaysian low-cost airline Firefly were affected.

In a LinkedIn post, aviation services company Sats called for understanding and patience, saying that its Singapore Hub team may “experience some disruptions” at both airports amid the deluge.

“Our staff have been reminded to be extra vigilant as heavy rain may affect visibility,” it said. “Lightning risks may mean that staff cannot work on the tarmac to service aircraft and loading/unloading of bags and cargo may be delayed.

“Drivers must be careful as wet roads increase the risk of skidding, while wet pathways pose slip-and-fall hazards. Our customer service agents are on hand to give passengers and air cargo customers guidance, especially if bad weather delays flights.”

It acknowledged that the delays caused by weather may impact passengers, as well as airline and cargo customers, but said the team is “doing all we can” to provide support during the monsoon surge.

Netizens, meanwhile, have been documenting the weather online, sharing photos of low-hanging clouds swirling around the tops of iconic buildings such as Pinnacle@Duxton and parts of the Central Business District.

The monsoon surge, known for causing widespread and prolonged rain, typically occurs earlier in the north-east monsoon season, between December and January.

Dr Koh Tieh Yong from the World Climate Research Programme said it is unusual for the north-east monsoon to stretch into late March.

This extended season is due to La Nina conditions since February, which result in warmer sea surface temperatures in the region and the persistence of rain, added Dr Koh, who co-chairs the Asian-Australian monsoon working group under the programme.

The Meteorological Service Singapore said in an update at 5pm on March 20 that the surge was weakening, with showers expected to ease overnight.

• Additional reporting by Vihanya Rakshika and Shabana Begum.
4780a53fd2d28585ecbd52a57ef7ce741116b0ae899648172d0d124fd6b4a362

Henry Ford kept his promise to Americans because car ownership is around 80% in the United States.
In S'pore, a paltry 10% of residents own cars, which is significantly lower rate compared to the U.S.
Indeed he did. Last time only the rich can have cars. Now we are back at square 1. Majority deserves the who they voted in but not the minority.

You didn't get the gist of my statement or question and i dun blame you.

When i say " why people are still buying it" i mean why the price of car so expensive and you still go along with the govt car pricing instead of standing up your right and power as a citizen to push back the high pricing of the car . If the govt is stubborn, then go for a full boycott and bring down the car industry in Singapore. The unity of the citizens.

You go along everyway when the govt is trying to make your life difficult due to their greed and incompetence. How can you blame the govt for not respecting the citizens.

Give some ball-less justification on saying car is invented for convenience is making the citizens' ball-lessness even worse. Car is invented for convenience, the high price set is not for your convenience, is for the govt's incompetence convenience.
You still didn't understand. It's not about being ball-less or not. A good product (whether a car or hand phone) is made for sale to people & people exercise freedom. This freedom is taken away with a tax that is so high that people lost that ability to exercise the freedom. Will boycott help? No, it doesn't as it takes away what is supposed to be easily accessible to all or freedom of choice (up to me whether to buy or not to buy ). Imagine govt put COE on Hand phone so only the rich can afford (freedom) to buy to gain knowledge on internet but poor can't afford.

While you feel that car ownership should be a purely personal choice, the govt has to consider the overall impact of car usage on the country. Land scarcity requires the govt to manage the number of cars on the road. It has chosen to do that by making affordability the deciding factor. If you have enough money, you may have as many cars as you are able to afford.
Then we should have balloting like HDB. It's fair to everyone. Now you have money then you have a choice. The numbers can still be controlled or build more roads than housing since our population is decreasing. It's pure greed.

You still didn't understand. It's not about being ball-less or not. A good product (whether a car or hand phone) is made for sale to people & people exercise freedom. This freedom is taken away with a tax that is so high that people lost that ability to exercise the freedom. Will boycott help? No, it doesn't as it takes away what is supposed to be easily accessible to all or freedom of choice (up to me whether to buy or not to buy ). Imagine govt put COE on Hand phone so only the rich can afford (freedom) to buy to gain knowledge on internet but poor can't afford.
What can you do then to that "lost of freedom" to get back that so-called freedom? This is what i am pointing at, what can you, a regular citizen, do? Dun tell me suck thumb and go along with it, that is so lost of self-respect.

Boycott is not initiated by a leader, it is a overall agreement by the people to do it in order to get back that freedom. Can it work or not , it is up to the people to decide to make it work.

What can you do then to that "lost of freedom" to get back that so-called freedom? This is what i am pointing at, what can you, a regular citizen do? Dun tell me suck thumb and go along with it, that is so lost of self-respect.

Boycott is not initiated by a leader, it is a overall agreement by the people to do it in order to get back that freedom. Can it work or not , it is up to the people to decide to make
Look at Raymond & Iris fighting lone battle. What did anyone in SG do for them when we see organs of the State bullying them? Where is the Public outcry, outrage? No Hong Lim?
How about LHY now trying to fight for his family, organ of the state came after him.
The problem lies with majority that had been screwed by the State Time. Only once in 5 years, individual person is important.

Look at Raymond & Iris fighting lone battle. What did anyone in SG do for them when we see organs of the State bullying them? Where is the Public outcry, outrage? No Hong Lim?
How about LHY now trying to fight for his family, organ of the state came after him.
The problem lies with majority that had been screwed by the State Time. Only once in 5 years, individual person is important.
Raymond and Iris are not fighting a lone battle, They have support here in sg and oversea. They appear on social media as 2 person cos they are fighting a cause. This should be the way to correct things out. Iris has cleared her name as one head police officer sabo her and is now in custody.

To fight for your right or correct things in society, you need to do work and do with people. If people do not take a step forward, how to develop the creativity to solve the problem? Raymond has developed GetevenAI for their cause. That is creativity in the working. Your personal freedom and rights is not handed to you just like that, you have to work for it.

One Iris and Raymond couple make such progress, what can a hundred like that do? It is just only if people willing to take a step to stand for their right.

Nothing wrong in waiting once in 5 years, they redraw boundaries every 5 years to their advantage. You can win? plus turn CECA to citizen to get vote. That is your call to wait for 5 years. They also wait for 5 years to deceive you on that day and work for it everyday for that once in 5 years. what work? turn ceca to citizen to get votes, planning the boundaries to be redrawn, Giving CDC vouchers, etc Your govt also work very hard daily for 5 years to that day too to get the right to screw you another 5 years.

But you wait for the 5 years for that 1 day without doing any "Iris koh-like" work, you will not going to be respected for your rights and lose it again and again. You cannot blame me to disrespect sinkies for this. I only respect Iris Koh and the people like them.

Raymond and Iris are not fighting a lone battle, They have support here in sg and oversea. They appear on social media as 2 person cos they are fighting a cause. This should be the way to correct things out. Iris has cleared her name as one head police officer sabo her and is now in custody.

To fight for your right or correct things in society, you need to do work and do with people. If people do not take a step forward, how to develop the creativity to solve the problem? Raymond has developed GetevenAI for their cause. That is creativity in the working. Your personal freedom and rights is not handed to you just like that, you have to work for it.

One Iris and Raymond couple make such progress, what can a hundred like that do? It is just only if people willing to take a step to stand for their right.

Nothing wrong in waiting once in 5 years, they redraw boundaries every 5 years to their advantage. You can win? plus turn CECA to citizen to get vote. That is your call to wait for 5 years. They also wait for 5 years to deceive you on that day and work for it everyday for that once in 5 years. what work? turn ceca to citizen to get votes, planning the boundaries to be redrawn, Giving CDC vouchers, etc Your govt also work very hard daily for 5 years to that day too to get the right to screw you another 5 years.

But you wait for the 5 years for that 1 day without doing any "Iris koh-like" work, you will not going to be respected for your rights and lose it again and again. You cannot blame me to disrespect sinkies for this. I only respect Iris Koh and the people like them.
We can only do our part once every 5 years with that little power we have. Other than that the power rests with those with authority.
Hence the strikes, demonstrations, petitions are really important in a society for powerless people to come together as people's power. But looking at how our State Time had been playing with sinkies mind for so many years, I have given up hope on sinkies looking at the struggles & bullying of own ordinary sinkies & still accept the same group bringing out political tools. Redrawing of boundaries also didn't get the group low votes. Therefore either suck thumb or get out of this bubbles.

We can only do our part once every 5 years with that little power we have. Other than that the power rests with those with authority.
If Iris koh think like you, she will never clear her name. You do not have little power,you are more powerful than you think .

your statement are so rigged with fear. Good luck to you.

Raymond and Iris are not fighting a lone battle, They have support here in sg and oversea.
You are right. RI are not fighting a lone battle. The support that they have been receiving is minimal. However, when RI start making headway in the legal battlefront, more people will come forward to support them. It always works that way. The big balls will start the fight, and if they lose, the small balls will ridicule the big balls and pat themselves on the back in consolation by saying they are wise for not joining the fight. As the big balls begin to break new frontiers, the small balls will be inspired as the risk of being labelled as a loser, a label that the small balls themselves like to put on others, will have been reduced with more victories won by the big balls. I know because I have small balls :biggrin:

As one with super small balls, I can give money without exposing myself. I cannot afford to give $1,000, but I can give $10. Even if I cannot give $10, the least I can do is not to ridicule the big balls when they are fighting my cause. If I ridicule the big balls, indirectly I'm supporting the tyrant against whom I have been voicing my dissatisfaction. If I ridicule the big balls, I put myself in an analysis-paralysis position.

I KPKB about the tyrant day after day, but when someone with big balls appears I ridicule them. Why? I ridicule the big balls who are fighting my cause because I fear they will lose, I fear standing with losers and I fear being identified with losers. It's because I'm small balls, nature dictates that I don't have the capacity to think like big balls. As small balls, I cannot create the outcome I want; I am only able accept an outcome created by others.:cry:

If Iris koh think like you, she will never clear her name. You do not have little power,you are more powerful than you think .

your statement are so rigged with fear. Good luck to you.
Their pofma, coi, secret committee & even can turn Reeasah to hit Pritam, hit own Elite Bro till go UK. What do u think?
Iris now in the line of fire is either to cave in or fight. How many Irises? Can't fight alone. Just see the continuation hit one after another. No use at all because the majority didn't do their part for so many rounds.

Their pofma, coi, secret committee & even can turn Reeasah to hit Pritam, hit own Elite Bro till go UK. What do u think?
Iris now in the line of fire is either to cave in or fight. How many Irises? Can't fight alone. Just see the continuation hit one after another. No use at all because the majority didn't do their part for so many rounds.
I cannot tahan Liao,you sound very vaccinated.