• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

Re: Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Cannot lah, it will come in a package with stoning, honour killing etc..

Sometimes the punishment may seems harsh/barbaric. But i guarantee u 99% JB or even Msia crime rates will drop drastically. Present punishment meted out to criminals is far far to lenient in BolehLand.

It is true that every party has its strong and weak points and no party is 100% perfect. However, isn't it bad for this kind of bickering within the same coalition especially during the election period? What happens if next week PAS were to retaliate something similar to DAP? Earlier this week, those 6 seats which they were fighting against each other (PAS and PKR) was only finally resolved through Anwar's intervention and thereupon agreed to a compromise. This is already displaying some sort of disunity amongst themselves. They should have got their house in order long before the nomination of their candidates.

It is also true that UMNO's close association to Perkasa lately is not a good idea. However, I believe Najib will still have to please some hardliners within UMNO. Otherwise, he may end up like his predecessor, Badawi, and be ousted. Don't forget also that Mahathir still has a significant influence within UMNO. Until his departure, this infighting will not cease and Najib will be unable to resolve in 1 or 2 terms in office. Old habits die hard.

The above are just my own views and nobody is obliged to agree or disagree with me.

Thanks Winner for sharing your perspective.

For me, a misunderstanding between PKR and PAS on those 6 seats (out of a total of 505 state + 222 p'ment = 727 contested seats) appears a small matter, compared to the multitude of allegations of dishonesty, corruption, vote-buying, cronyism etc plaguing the other camp. What is important is that the mix-up was sorted out quickly. For me, I know there will never be perfection in politics or in politicians. Values I place most importance on when exercising my vote is on integrity, honesty and sincerity. IMO, PAS, DAP or PKR fair far better than BN on these values in the eyes of many. I need not go into details on BN's scandals if one has been following the news. Why, even votes can be bought - we now know that BN has blatantly been dishing out ICs to Filipinos in Sabah for many years - this is just the tip of the ice berg. What about the Global Witness sting video on S'wak's land grab? What about the ridiculous allegations and lies about sodomy against Anwar? All reported in the press. I could go on and on. Cheers~~

Based on my own views again, I predict that there will also be problems and infighting within PR should they win in this GE13. Anwar will of course be rightfully appointed as the PM, but will those hardliners in PAS agree? It has already been expressly said that PAS is also keenly eyeing for the PM post if the PR were to win. DAP can only suck thumb and play second liners because it's already in the constitution that the PM of Malaysia must be a Muslim. Eventually, the DAP will only be limited to their puppet roles, just like the MCA and MIC in BN.

So, come whoever wins in this GE13, there will still be political infighting within the new government. This is the Malaysian politics.

Based on my own views again, I predict that there will also be problems and infighting within PR should they win in this GE13. Anwar will of course be rightfully appointed as the PM, but will those hardliners in PAS agree? It has already been expressly said that PAS is also keenly eyeing for the PM post if the PR were to win ...
dey wil x-over ...

DAP can only suck thumb and play second liners because it's already in the constitution that the PM of Malaysia must be a Muslim. Eventually, the DAP will only be limited to their puppet roles, just like the MCA and MIC in BN.

I heard there's no such limitation as to the PM must be a Muslim; this was from a 40-min talk show with Tony Pua, a BN MP and a researcher as the panelist.

Again there are telltale signs of cracks within the PR coalition:

On Thurday, PAS’ Deputy Spiritual Leader, Dr Haron Din, raised the spectre of a split in the opposition camp when he was reported as saying that it was possible his party would leave the PR due to the strong objection to the hudud’s implementation by its allies.

DAP leaders have said they would not support amending the Federal Constitution to implement the Islamic penal code, noting that hudud has never been part of the PR’s common policy framework.

There are advantages and disadvantages in the hudud. Its strict no nonsense punishments for criminals and thefts alike will of course be able to reduce the overall rate of such crimes. On the other hand, their overly orthodox rule of forbidding female staff from working beyond 7pm will be a great setback for the economy. Manufacturing and production factories paid millions of dollars for their machinery and hardware and will definitely want to recover their returns in the shortest time possible. If you restrict them to operate only 1 shift work, they will need 3 times longer to reap their returns. All businessmen are shrewd and they will ask themselves: Why would I want to set up in your state when your neighboring (non hudud) state has no such restriction, considering that all the other operating costs are almost equal.

2275 Msians shared their views on coming 13 GE

[TABLE="class: norm"]
<tbody>[TR]
eed0a6c4804f496ea73e55bd64208c84.jpg
With the 13th General Elections barely days away, a survey conducted by iProperty.com Malaysia revealed that 79% of respondents want better home financing policies and interest rates.

The findings are a clear indication that affordability continues to remain a major concern in Malaysia.

a32f715bed01449da1937da89c1b89cb.jpg

Property buyers and investors are hoping that the government will look at curbing the escalating growth in property prices. At the same time, the survey findings revealed how consumers perceived the property market and also what measures and regulations they would like implemented.

Aside from wanting better home financing policies and interest rates, respondents also wanted more laws and regulations enforced to protect property buyers and investors and stricter penalties imposed on errant developers.

b2fc77aeb63947b8ab252169203b0553.jpg

With records from the Ministry of Housing and Local Government showing that from 2009 to Dec 31, 2012, 178 privately developed projects, involving 53,058 units of houses, were abandoned in the peninsula.

According to same data, more than 35,000 buyers were affected by these abandoned projects and since last year, the government has injected RM65 million to revive abandoned projects nationwide. With a relatively high number, it is understandable why property buyers and investors want more stringent regulations and penalties imposed.
The government has also taken affirmative steps in ensuring that there are penalties imposed on errant developers. Developers who abandoned their projects will be taken to court and besides being charged, they would also be blacklisted for life.
The survey also revealed that despite the efforts undertaken by the government to cool the property market and make housing more affordable, property buyers and investors want the government to look at introducing new measures that can help curb the escalating growth in property prices.

Among the measures taken to date to rein speculation include:

The introduction of the loan-to-value ratio at 70% for third and subsequent property purchased

Loan processing based on net income instead of gross income

The increase of the real property gains tax (RPGT) by 5% to 15% for residential property disposed within the first two years from the date of purchase and from 5% to 10% for disposal between the third and fifth year.

More than 50% of respondents were also keen in seeing the government provide more affordable housing rather than giving subsidies to purchase property. In addition to that, respondents also wanted better home financing policies and interest rates, more laws and regulations enforced to protect property buyers and investors and stricter penalties imposed on errant developers.

f682ef501af0417b9de5ff3b8004be5e.jpg

It was also interesting to see that more than 51% of respondents stated that the upcoming general elections have affected their decision to purchase property. Among the reasons highlighted were that there could be new measures introduced to cool property prices, introduction of more affordable housing schemes and also that there could be a possibility that property prices could go down.

aa3ae849848e4afbbb411e0a7a47b11f.jpg

When it came to choosing policies that respondents wanted to see the winning party deliver on, the responses were equally divided among wanting more affordable and secure housing, equality for all races and also a government that will stand firm against corruption.

bb346e87abde4f49ac8394963d70e345.jpg

<tbody>
</tbody>

<tbody> [TD]

</tbody>
[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]

http://www.iproperty.com.my/news/67...m_content=&utm_campaign=edm_gesurveyresultsMY

Surprisingly only 22% asked for equality for all races.

More surprisingly only 21% wanted winning party fight against corruption.

I heard there's no such limitation as to the PM must be a Muslim; this was from a 40-min talk show with Tony Pua, a BN MP and a researcher as the panelist.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prime_Minister_of_Malaysia

According to the constitution, the Prime Minister must be a member of the House of Representatives and command the confidence of the majority members of Dewan Rakyat; citizen of Malaysia but not by naturalization.

The Prime Minister and his cabinet ministers shall take and subscribe in the presence of Yang di-Pertuan Agong the oath of office and allegiance and the oath of secrecy before exercise the functions of the office. The Cabinet shall be collectively responsible to Parliament.

Although statutory states that the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has HM's discretion in the appointment of the prime minister, the appointment is invariably given to the chief of the dominant party which commanding the most seats in lower house of parliament.

If the Prime Minister ceases to command the confidence of the majority of the members of the House of Representatives, then, unless at his request the Yang di-Pertuan Agong dissolves Parliament, the Prime Minister shall tender the resignation of the Cabinet.

At least hookers are consumed with satisfying their present customers first, and would solicit new ones only after they have done that.*
M. Bakri Musa
Downstream Analysis: Hung Parliament Not Necessarily Bad*(Last of Four Parts)
Many fear a hung parliament as they think that would lead to chaos and uncertainty. Yes, there may be both but neither is inevitable. On the contrary I see many potentially redeeming aspects that could benefit citizens, the permanent establishment, and yes, even those politicians.
For citizens, seeing these freshly-victorious politicians brazenly jockeying for positions would be both instructive and revealing. It would be quite a sight to watch them behave worse than hookers. At least hookers are consumed with satisfying their present customers first, and would solicit new ones only after they have done that. More importantly, they do both discreetly. Those politicians on the other hand would be openly and lustily auctioning themselves to the highest bidder without even a promise of satisfactory performance to their current customers – citizens who had only recently voted for them. Those politicians would whore themselves brazenly. What matters to them would only be the price their new customers would be willing to pay, regardless how filthy and disease-ridden they are. Damn the consequences, for them or the nation.
The jockeying would be intense, shameless and endlessly shifting, threatening both Barisan and Pakatan. It would not be below MCA for example, to align itself with DAP and throw their weight behind Pakatan, demanding an outrageous price in return. Or MCA could demand a stiff price for remaining in Barisan. Not to be outdone, as alluded earlier, PAS could bolt Pakatan and align itself with UMNO in an ugly chauvinistic attempt at reviving*Ketuanan Melayu. UMNO would sell its soul to get PAS support, and PAS in turn would readily sign a pact with the devil given the right price. There would be only one certainty; our politicians would finally be exposed for all their corruptness and hideousness. In the end unfortunately, citizens and Malaysia would be paying the terrible price.
Perhaps the nation needs such a sordid spectacle to jolt it into realizing that elections have consequences, and that the politicians and leaders we have today are far different from the earlier generation that brought us merdeka.
On the other hand, our politicians may well surprise us. Without being unnecessarily Pollyannaish, a few might discover that politics is after all a noble profession, and at its best and essence, a fine exercise in the art of compromise in order to get things done for the good of all.
At the very least a hung parliament would prompt us to be more prudent on our voting and not be so casual with this important exercise of democracy. If that would also encourage otherwise thoughtful Malaysians to offer themselves as candidates, then the whole exercise would not have been futile.
A hung parliament would also have a salutary effect on the permanent establishment. The last time there was a similar debacle, in Perak following the 2008 elections, the permanent establishment including the sultan, did not acquit themselves well. Who could forget the spectacle of the Speaker being hauled out of the Assembly desperately clinging on to his chair, or the Raja Muda, the Sultan’s representative, being forced to cool his heels in an adjacent room while waiting out the mayhem? It was not pretty. The stench stained all, and stayed to this day.
You can be certain that this time, with the real possibility of Barisan being toppled, members of the permanent establishment would be more circumspect for their own selfish reasons. Thus I do not expect blatant displays of partisanship as we saw in Perak. To add flavor to that, the King today, Sultan Halim, was the Sultan of Kedah when PAS took over from UMNO. Thus working with a non-UMNO chief executive would not be a novelty for him.
Once we have established this fact at the federal level, all the other sultans at the state level would follow suit. They would, out of concern for their own survival, no longer be so blatantly partisan. That can only be good for them and the country.
A hung parliament is nothing to fear; it is just another though less clear-cut expression of a Barisan defeat. Stated differently, a hung parliament is a not-so-pretty Pakatan victory.

Abang, no offence if l tell you that 99% of those non-BN supporters are NOT anti-BN by default.
They are being pushed till they cannot "tahan" anymore, just like our dear Singaporean bros & sis who voted alternative parties -> It is unfair to label them as anti-PXP, I have been living in Singapore for more than a decade and I empathize their plight, their reasons to reject/change are genuine.

Read this article and share with us your thought:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...am-malays-chinese-control-malaysia-pamphlets/

Haha, Tat makes two of us. Tats y tat day cant help it lah. Juz need to comment on certain party. As u can see teres 99% anti-BN forummers here. But shall refrain further comment ya.

Abang, no offence if l tell you that 99% of those non-BN supporters are NOT anti-BN by default.
They are being pushed till they cannot "tahan" anymore, just like our dear Singaporean bros & sis who voted alternative parties -> It is unfair to label them as anti-PXP, I have been living in Singapore for more than a decade and I empathize their plight, their reasons to reject/change are genuine.

Read this article and share with us your thought:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/...am-malays-chinese-control-malaysia-pamphlets/

Ah Hia, politics stink like jamban lah. Tats all i can comment.

As for y i said 99% forummers here r anti-BN, u can juz browse thru all the post. Teres not a single good thing said abt BN. They even labelled MCA as traitor. Even Michelle Yeoh was branded a traitor.

http://news.malaysia.msn.com/regional/malaysian-star-yeoh-at-centre-of-political-storm-5

Ok lah Ah Hia. Better not comment further on Msia political parties lah. Must always remember i am juz a guest fm Sinkieland.

Recently I have been thinking what is the point of having a rich govt or rich country with budget surplus? What for a govt/country collect so much money from citizens and then use the money to throw to foreigners or use the money for their political purpose eg linking of votes to upgrading. All citizens of the world should demand all country govts to be in debt and poor, better for govt to be poor and citizens to be rich haha..

This sounds like Greece.

Don't you think this is a worrying sign for such a small country (or city)?

http://www.economicshelp.org/blog/774/economics/list-of-national-debt-by-country/

Ok lah Abang, saya also a guest from sweet potato land ;)
There are bad eggs in opposition parties too, personally I condemn such behaviour.

Hope we have a clean and fair election on 5-May-13, only that will peace and prosperity prevail.:)

Ah Hia, politics stink like jamban lah. Tats all i can comment.

As for y i said 99% forummers here r anti-BN, u can juz browse thru all the post. Teres not a single good thing said abt BN. They even labelled MCA as traitor. Even Michelle Yeoh was branded a traitor.

http://news.malaysia.msn.com/regional/malaysian-star-yeoh-at-centre-of-political-storm-5

Ok lah Ah Hia. Better not comment further on Msia political parties lah. Must always remember i am juz a guest fm Sinkieland.

Letter from London – William Chan

MAY 2 – Dear undecided voter,

I know that you want what is best for Malaysia. Yet, I also understand your fears and insecurities for your family’s future. I appreciate that the possibility of a new government after 56 years of incumbent rule may seem daunting. I can sense your doubt and scepticism about the opposition. I appreciate that the constant barrage of unsolicited political views can at times feel nauseating but I would be grateful if you could please hear me out.

I wish to address “three inertias of change” which may hinder the undecided voter’s appetite for change. Once one is able to see though the mephitic rhetoric and the ‘straw-man’ arguments of the mainstream media, I am optimistic that you will recognise that your fears have been misplaced.

1. The pragmatic argument

“The opposition lacks the experience to be in government,” says the pragmatist.

This is factually misleading. Many of the opposition candidates hold advanced degrees in economics, politics and management from reputable institutions. All three parties have had experience running state governments. Moreover, cabinet members are responsible for the high-level policy decision making, whereas the execution and administrative roles are left to the civil service (which doesn’t change irrespective of the ruling political party).

Moreover, the underlying premise of the argument is fundamentally flawed. It is circular to say that one must have been in government before to be able to perform well in government. Imagine if the British had told us that no Malaysian can be prime minister because no Malaysian has ever been prime minister before. Imagine if your boss told you that you could never be promoted because you have never held the position you coveted before.

Conversely, it could be said that it would be beneficial for BN to gain some new experience in opposition. Indeed, with their omnipotent control of the mainstream media – imagine what an effective opposition BN would make. Any misfeasance by PR while in government would be splashed on the front pages of all the mainstream newspapers for all the rakyat to be informed. Perhaps, once in opposition, BN may even learn to appreciate the importance of freedom of speech and transparency in a democracy. BN would also be familiar with all potential illicit mechanisms by which financial leakages and outflows occur – hence, they would be able to monitor PR with intense scrutiny.

“The civil service will collapse if a new government is elected. It will be kucar-kacir,” say the risk adverse.

It is undeniable that with all democracies, there will be a period of transition when a change of ruling party occurs. It also true that, given the length of BN’s grip on power, any potential transition of power may take longer than in other democracies. However, it is entirely fallacious and, in fact, somewhat offensive to think that our entire civil service will crumble at the mere change of ruling party. However, in fact, the two are completely different concepts. We are a constitutional monarchy and not a dictatorship – under Art 132 of the Federal Constitution, the civil servants serve under the pleasure of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and not under the leader of the incumbent political party.

2. The philosophical argument

An argument often made against PR is that it lacks the political cohesion ostensibly necessary to form a stable government – contrast the secular DAP party against the theocratic PAS. The BN have exploited this to its full effect – “Malaysia will become a Christian state” they warn the Muslims, “Johor will become the next Kelantan” they advertise in a mainstream English newspaper (a tad insulting to our fellow Malaysians from Kelantan, if you ask me).

This was a mental block which I initially struggled to overcome and I believe that many share similar concerns. However, having read the literature, I do not think that the diverging ideologies of the respective PR parties are cause for concern. In point of fact, the opposing ideologies within PR will force its, constituent parties, whom hold roughly the same number of seats, to engage in meaningful discourse and compromise rather than having legislation merely rubber-stamped through parliament. The ideological tension within PR produces a moderating effect positioning PR in the centre of the political spectrum. For example, the free market entrepreneurship beliefs of the young generation of PKR leaders could be moderated by the socialism of DAP and the Islamic values of PAS.

In Finland, one of the world’s most legitimate and prosperous democracies, no party has had an absolute majority in the parliament since independence, and multi-party coalitions have been the norm. Indeed, the popular “rainbow government” of the Lipponen era consisted of the radical left wing (Left Alliance) and the right-wing party (National Coalition). Consensus based politics can also temper the harshness of ideologically driven government policies. In the UK, the more Keynesian based Liberal Democrats have, to some extent, blunted the sharpness of the Conservative Party’s fiscal austerity. Indeed having a political party which is overly homogenous in the ideological beliefs of its members can cause it to become insulated and self-delusional.

3. The normative arguments

“The gratitude argument”

This non-sequitur argument runs something like this – through BN we gained independence so we should be loyal to BN. To vote against BN would be unpatriotic and ungrateful.

First, the sad reality is that the BN of today is very far removed from Tunku’s BN of yesteryears that we wistfully read about in our sejarah books. Decades of complacency and decadence has made BN lose its moral compass. The statesmen of 1957 era have been succeeded by opportunistic politicians. In point of fact, if you really are a true believer of the good of BN you would vote against them in the election – like a caring parent would reproach their child if they caught their child stealing. Not being in power will help to root out the corrupt members of BN who are just in it for personal gain. With the opportunities for kick-backs gone, the corrupt will quickly abandon the BN boat – separating the good guy ‘Michael Chongs’ from the mice. Rather than being a desperate party willing to do anything to hang on to power, 5 years out of power will give BN the breathing space to rediscover and to rethink what it truly stands for. Losing this general election would not spell the death of BN, indeed, it would be its rejuvenation and reformation.

Second and more fundamentally so, just because one is grateful for the past actions of a political party doesn’t mean one should necessarily keep them in power indefinitely. Should African-Americans feel obliged to vote for the Republican Party since Abraham Lincoln (leader of the Republican Party at that time) signed the 13th Amendment abolishing slavery? An incumbent party should be judged on the progress that it has achieved during its most recent term – nothing less, nothing more.

It is absurd to think that voting against the ruling party would be unpatriotic. Were South Africans unpatriotic in ousting the apartheid regime? Indeed, a patriotic Malaysian would vote against the ruling party if he believes to be the best for Malaysia or vice-versa. In other words, two equally patriotic Malaysians could vote for two completely distinct political parties. Our loyalty to our country should be given unconditionally and perpetually but our loyalty to a certain political party should only be given when that party deserves it.

Another version of the argument manifests itself as such – we should be grateful to BN for the development that they have brought to our country as without BN, we would have ended up like [insert random destitute country, and avoid any comparisons with countries which have made more progress than us]. As has been said above, the government’s mandate is only for 5 years. The real question to ask is therefore, how much progress has Malaysia achieved in the past 5 years? Do you feel safer walking outside? Has public transportation improved? Has the costs of living improved? Do you feel like your children will have a bright future staying in Malaysia?

“I distrust them both. Both sides are a disappointment. I’d rather abstain from voting,” say the disillusioned.

Whether you decide to vote or not, inevitably, come 5 May either BN or PR will be voted into power. If you are happy with how things have been for the past 5 years and want them to continue this way, then vote BN. If you believe we could be better than we are now, then see what PR can do in 5 years. After all, BN has had 56 years to get their act together. If you are still 50/50, I would have to humbly suggest voting in favour of PR.

For, despite the opposition’s abundance of optimism, most independent think-tanks and opinion polls suggest that BN will likely retain its simple majority, given the media bias and the asymmetry of information, in particular in the rural areas which have a higher proportion of seats per voter. In a fully functioning democracy, it is of fundamental importance that the government knows that ruling is a privilege and not a right. If PR is elected and fails to do better, we will readily boot them out as well come the next election (and I promise to write an equally critical article). Let the politicians fear the power of the people, and not the other way around. In any case, whichever party you chose to vote, I urge you to please exercise your constitutional right to vote – apathy is the Achilles heel of a democracy.

The purpose of this letter was not to dissuade the hard-core BN supporter nor was it for the indulgence of the PR supporter. Neither was it meant to shift the inertia of the apathetic. It was for you, the genuinely concerned but undecided voter, who is yearning for Malaysia to do better but is trepiditious of unchartered waters. I think, in the end, we need to ask ourselves do we want another 5 years of scare and hate mongering and racial divisiveness and more of the same shenanigans – or can we take a leap of faith for a better, cleaner, more honest Malaysia? Remember, courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. Come Sunday 5 May, I hope that you will have the courage to do what you believe is right.