• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The official OZ bashing thread.

Re: Boom in Australia goes bust as global slowdown hits

DTZ expects 2009 to echo property price plunge of 2008

Prime district property prices fall by 20%; similar decline seen in 2009

(SINGAPORE) Prices of condominiums and apartments in the prime districts have fallen by more than 20 per cent in 2008 on a year-on-year basis, says DTZ.

DTZ is also forecasting a further decline of 15-20 per cent for this segment of the market in 2009.

Based on its preliminary analysis of official data, DTZ said that prices of non-landed freehold private homes in the prime districts fell by 14 per cent quarter-on-quarter (qoq) in the fourth quarter of 2008.

This follows two consecutive quarters of declines of around 4.5 per cent each.

The prime districts include District 9, 10 and 11.

Overall average prime prices fell 21.6 per cent year-on-year (yoy) to $1,160 per square foot (psf), below the level of $1,200 psf registered in Q207.

Freehold non-landed homes outside the prime districts fell in Q408 but at a lower rate of 9.3 per cent qoq or 10.5 per cent yoy.

Landed housing prices also fell 5.7 per cent qoq, or 2.9 per cent yoy, islandwide in Q408.

The fall in prices follows dismal developer sales in October and November with only 112 and 192 units sold in the primary market respectively, compared to the monthly average of 444 units sold in the first nine months of the year.

DTZ said that based on caveats lodged, preliminary data from URA's REALIS showed that the number of transactions in the year is only about 35 per cent of last year's 38,100 units.

On the upside, the percentage of HDB upgraders continued to grow. In 2008, a higher proportion of purchasers with HDB addresses was registered with 37 per cent of all buyers expected to be HDB upgraders in 2008 compared to 22 per cent in 2007.

Based on available caveats in URA's REALIS, the number of buyers with HDB addresses in Q408 is 582. While this is a preliminary number, it represents 43 per cent of total caveats lodged so far in the fourth quarter. DTZ noted that this is higher than the 41 per cent in Q308, 36 per cent in Q208, and 28 per cent in Q108.

'HDB upgraders buy mainly for owner occupation, so falling private home prices is a good opportunity for them to upgrade with greater affordability,' said DTZ senior director (research), Chua Chor Hoon.

But DTZ said that the downturn in the economy will deter buyers from committing to property purchases and sales are expected to continue to remain low in 2009.

Lower rental returns will not help either.

DTZ said that average monthly rents of prime non-landed homes decreased in Q408 by 9.4 per cent qoq or 9.2 per cent yoy to $4.36 psf.

Outside the prime districts, rents held up better with an increase of 2 per cent yoy, despite a fall of 1.2 per cent qoq.

The extent of price corrections is still uncertain but Nomura has already adjusted its forecasts. In March, it forecast average prices in the luxury sector to fall by 32.3 per cent from the 2007 peak over 2008-2010 - 16.9 per cent in 2008, 10.3 per cent in 2009 and 9.3 per cent in 2010.

It now expects luxury prices to fall 43.8 per cent from the peak, and mass residential prices to fall 32.1 per cent as yields move out by an additional 25-50 basis-points.

OCBC analysts also believe that high-end property prices could decline by 15-20 per cent in 2009 due to weak sentiment, unsold inventories and potential risks of buyers' default and fire-sales.

OCBC expects mass market property prices to remain resilient, supported by the stability in HDB prices. For the mid-market properties, it expects prices to fall further in 2009, with a projected decline of 5-10 per cent.

We are all in the same shit... so which shit is more shitty ? or more smelly ? :confused:

(SINGAPORE) Prices of condominiums and apartments in the prime districts have fallen by more than 20 per cent in 2008 on a year-on-year basis, says DTZ.

DTZ is also forecasting a further decline of 15-20 per cent for this segment of the market in 2009.

Based on its preliminary analysis of official data, DTZ said that prices of non-landed freehold private homes in the prime districts fell by 14 per cent quarter-on-quarter (qoq) in the fourth quarter of 2008.

This follows two consecutive quarters of declines of around 4.5 per cent each.

The prime districts include District 9, 10 and 11.

Overall average prime prices fell 21.6 per cent year-on-year (yoy) to $1,160 per square foot (psf), below the level of $1,200 psf registered in Q207.

Freehold non-landed homes outside the prime districts fell in Q408 but at a lower rate of 9.3 per cent qoq or 10.5 per cent yoy.

Landed housing prices also fell 5.7 per cent qoq, or 2.9 per cent yoy, islandwide in Q408.

The fall in prices follows dismal developer sales in October and November with only 112 and 192 units sold in the primary market respectively, compared to the monthly average of 444 units sold in the first nine months of the year.

DTZ said that based on caveats lodged, preliminary data from URA's REALIS showed that the number of transactions in the year is only about 35 per cent of last year's 38,100 units.

On the upside, the percentage of HDB upgraders continued to grow. In 2008, a higher proportion of purchasers with HDB addresses was registered with 37 per cent of all buyers expected to be HDB upgraders in 2008 compared to 22 per cent in 2007.

Based on available caveats in URA's REALIS, the number of buyers with HDB addresses in Q408 is 582. While this is a preliminary number, it represents 43 per cent of total caveats lodged so far in the fourth quarter. DTZ noted that this is higher than the 41 per cent in Q308, 36 per cent in Q208, and 28 per cent in Q108.

'HDB upgraders buy mainly for owner occupation, so falling private home prices is a good opportunity for them to upgrade with greater affordability,' said DTZ senior director (research), Chua Chor Hoon.

But DTZ said that the downturn in the economy will deter buyers from committing to property purchases and sales are expected to continue to remain low in 2009.

Lower rental returns will not help either.

DTZ said that average monthly rents of prime non-landed homes decreased in Q408 by 9.4 per cent qoq or 9.2 per cent yoy to $4.36 psf.

Outside the prime districts, rents held up better with an increase of 2 per cent yoy, despite a fall of 1.2 per cent qoq.

The extent of price corrections is still uncertain but Nomura has already adjusted its forecasts. In March, it forecast average prices in the luxury sector to fall by 32.3 per cent from the 2007 peak over 2008-2010 - 16.9 per cent in 2008, 10.3 per cent in 2009 and 9.3 per cent in 2010.

It now expects luxury prices to fall 43.8 per cent from the peak, and mass residential prices to fall 32.1 per cent as yields move out by an additional 25-50 basis-points.

OCBC analysts also believe that high-end property prices could decline by 15-20 per cent in 2009 due to weak sentiment, unsold inventories and potential risks of buyers' default and fire-sales.

OCBC expects mass market property prices to remain resilient, supported by the stability in HDB prices. For the mid-market properties, it expects prices to fall further in 2009, with a projected decline of 5-10 per cent.

We are all in the same shit... so which shit is more shitty ? or more smelly ? :confused:

ah yet another PAP style tactic. deflect. its not working. just like you suing everyone in the worst country in the world, only reflects how bad your life is there.

hee hee.

Things will get worse than that in Singapore. BUT
I believe that Singapore is able to move faster to get the country out of recession, but at what expense I wonder?[/B]

Things will get worse than that in Singapore. BUT
I believe that Singapore is able to move faster to get the country out of recession, but at what expense I wonder?[/B]

I doubt so. This time round even pharmaceuticals are effected.

Not one single sector is not affected.

Warehouses around the world have stockpiles of crap from sinkeeland. New orders will have to wait till companies clear their old shit.

Countries like OZ and NZ exports primary goods which is always in demand even during bad times.

OZ and NZ currently still export FOOD to peesai, what are we selling them???

Work permits of these countries are low. Retrenched workers still have award wages kind of jobs to go to.

Oz and NZ had good vision as to be a more diverse economy in the early days. Only peesai concentrated on manufacturing and putting all its eggs in one basket.

Anything creative and out of the box was label evil by pappies in the old days. Even music videos was banned. This banned that banned everything banned banned.

Now pappies kalang kabut/ kanchiong and eating their words on casinos, F1, arts, computer games and loads of other shit. Unbanned this unbanned that everything unbanned

Pappies once trying to fool the world on their so called righteousness and ethics now eating their words in clinging on to power.

Re: Melbourne, one of the World's most Expensive and Dangerous Cities

dont you just hate the media? they always make things worse than they are.

I wish the media would expose the fraud being committed in Australia

Australia is a ripp-off!

dont you just hate the media? they always make things worse than they are.

Well, either way, both countries have similarities in their media and in the crime rate. So its rather unfair to compare vis-a-vis when both countries suffer the same problems, and copy each other's system.

OMG:The Great Aussie Lie

tp://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/ar...ectid=10545562

4:00AM Saturday Nov 29, 2008
By Jarrod Booker

Kelvin Lawson left Auckland for Sydney about 10 years ago expecting to encounter the "land of milk and honey".

What he found was the opposite - long working hours, higher taxes, higher cost of living and intolerance and poor attitudes among the people.

He and fiancee Denise Laing moved back to Auckland a couple of months ago to be closer to their ageing parents and friends, and are relieved to be back home.

"I believe a lot of New Zealanders are going to get there and they are in for a shock," Mr Lawson said.

"Australia has been painted out to be the 'grass is greener'. It's not. Unless you are making a simple lifestyle choice as in, say, weather... then there's no other reason to go."

Although Mr Lawson, 48, might have earned more in Sydney "it's not a lot more". And he was hit with a 48 per cent tax rate on overtime he was expected to do working in installing and monitoring communications.

Then there was stamp duty for home ownership and higher costs of car ownership.

Back home, Mr Lawson and Ms Laing were amazed at how much cheaper they found basic food items.

Mr Lawson was also left with an impression of many Australians he encountered not being accepting of other cultures. Being from NZ was not so bad, but "if you're from other any part of the world, mate, they can make it really hard for them".

He was also unimpressed at the lack of sportsmanship shown by Australians, illustrated most recently by their reaction to the Rugby League World Cup loss. "If they win at ping pong, you are going to hear about it. If they lose, it's like it never happened. It's unbelievable

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/12/31/2457194.htm?section=justin

Economists warn of ugly year ahead

Economists are warning Australians they face an ugly year in 2009, with a recession inevitable as the global financial crisis continues.

The fallout from turmoil on the global financial markets is expected to worsen over the next 12 months and into 2010 and Chris Richardson from Access Economics says the new year will see more people affected by the financial crisis.

"So far we've just seen sharemarkets halve, we've seen some sectors like retailers and car dealers hard hit, most people are still doing OK. 2009 will change that," he said.

"This will be an ugly year. Growth will slow, income growth will slow a lot, unemployment will rise, profits will fall quite sharply."

Mr Richardson says it is inevitable Australia's economy will fall into recession.

"Recession is infectious and what's happening around the world is very bad," he said.

"The US will have its worst year since 1982. The same is true for the economies of Europe, Japan will shrink by more than the US or Europe will, China will have its worst year since Tiananmen Square.

"With the other rich nations in the world in recession, we pretty much can't avoid it."

Acting Prime Minister Julia Gillard has told ABC2's News Breakfast the Government is doing what it can to support the economy.

"Are these difficult and unpredictable times? Well, yes they are," she said.

"But what we've done, in view of our own forecasts and the intelligence around the world about the global financial crisis and all of the intelligence here about what it's going to mean for our own economy, is we've done everything, to date, with the aim of protecting jobs and investing in jobs."

Ms Gillard says the Government has moved to stem unemployment and the falling growth rate.

"The economic security statement, a stimulus package, all about keeping the economy moving, keeping people employed," she said.

"The car industry package the same, investment in local governments about local jobs and then, of course, we've got the big infrastructure investments, as well as the COAG money flowing through.

Boom in Australia goes bust as global slowdown hits

ttp://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2...section=justin

Economists are warning Australians they face an ugly year in 2009, with a recession inevitable as the global financial crisis continues.

The fallout from turmoil on the global financial markets is expected to worsen over the next 12 months and into 2010 and Chris Richardson from Access Economics says the new year will see more people affected by the financial crisis.

"So far we've just seen sharemarkets halve, we've seen some sectors like retailers and car dealers hard hit, most people are still doing OK. 2009 will change that," he said.

"This will be an ugly year. Growth will slow, income growth will slow a lot, unemployment will rise, profits will fall quite sharply."

Mr Richardson says it is inevitable Australia's economy will fall into recession.

"Recession is infectious and what's happening around the world is very bad," he said.

"The US will have its worst year since 1982. The same is true for the economies of Europe, Japan will shrink by more than the US or Europe will, China will have its worst year since Tiananmen Square.

"With the other rich nations in the world in recession, we pretty much can't avoid it."

Acting Prime Minister Julia Gillard has told ABC2's News Breakfast the Government is doing what it can to support the economy.

"But what we've done, in view of our own forecasts and the intelligence around the world about the global financial crisis and all of the intelligence here about what it's going to mean for our own economy, is we've done everything, to date, with the aim of protecting jobs and investing in jobs."

Ms Gillard says the Government has moved to stem unemployment and the falling growth rate.

"The economic security statement, a stimulus package, all about keeping the economy moving, keeping people employed," she said.

"The car industry package the same, investment in local governments about local jobs and then, of course, we've got the big infrastructure investments, as well as the COAG money flowing through.

ah yet another PAP style tactic. deflect. its not working. just like you suing everyone in the worst country in the world, only reflects how bad your life is there.

hee hee.

Hey, latest news... I have tendered my document to the Court of Tribunal before Christmas and they begin assessing my case (I am suing the Brisbane Authority, remember ?). Guess what ? The Court has contacted them and the Authority has sent me a letter informing me that they are forwarding my case to the insurance claim dept.

Wahahhaha !!.. KNS.. now they know my true colour. heehee. If i win, i win big time.. This proves the Court is truly independent & impartial :) It feels great living in this freedom world !! I can take any Authority to Court anytime if they make stupid mistakes.. I am using their Act to "slap" them on their face :)

BTW how's your Pappy Court over at your end ? Kangaroo Court sys ? Poor you...

2009, a very bad year for australia

hee hee

OZ Racism worst than expected....

Business Times News: Racial politics still a drag Down Under

THE curious case of an Indian doctor in Australia who was accused of involvement with the failed bombers in London and Glasgow in 2007 exposes the sorry underside of race relations in that country. An eight-month inquiry, ordered by Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd shortly after he won office, has concluded that the evidence against the doctor, Mohamed Haneef, 'amounted to very little' and was 'completely deficient'.

The country's domestic intelligence agency had concluded that the doctor was innocent within two days of his arrest. Yet he was held for 25 days and subjected to intense interrogation. During his time in custody, the Australian Federal Police (the primary agency running the case) indulged in selective media leaks against the doctor and conducted raids on many Muslim homes throughout the country.

Click here to read the full story.

Or cut and paste this URL in your browser:
http://business-times.asiaone.com/m...ews/story/0,4574,311948-1230667140,00.html?OZ

Be very careful if u are a chinese, and be extra careful if u are a indian...who knows during the interrogation, they stick their fist in ur ass to search for WMD...haha...

i do agree with u my bro, someone in the forum say singapore is in deep shit, but we are a export oriented economy and is very nimble with the rise and fall of the global economy..but even bigger countries like britain, japan, spain, germany, USA, and OZ are all in recession, so why single only singapore? OZ has plenty of raw materials but are still facing this crisis, either they are lazy or they mis-managed....they are like pointing a finger at singapore without realising they have shit in their face....
and btw why r u so against OZ?

Re: OZ Racism worst than expected....

Be very careful if u are a chinese, and be extra careful if u are a indian...who knows during the interrogation, they stick their fist in ur ass to search for WMD...haha...

Really ha? I'm a Chinese but Ang Moh girls really love me. Why ah? And as for your next assertion, not exactly fist but some of them tend to stick their fingers up my ass. With their long nails, it feels good. :D

i do agree with u my bro, someone in the forum say singapore is in deep shit, but we are a export oriented economy and is very nimble with the rise and fall of the global economy..but even bigger countries like britain, japan, spain, germany, USA, and OZ are all in recession, so why single only singapore? OZ has plenty of raw materials but are still facing this crisis, either they are lazy or they mis-managed....they are like pointing a finger at singapore without realising they have shit in their face....
and btw why r u so against OZ?

yes the unraveling of the decouplinig theory. there was a forummer on the old site named daniel oz the moron who suggested america is no longer the growth engine of the world, and that china has decoupled. i told this moron the error of his ways and now you can see the result of the world economy, including singapore.

as for australia, i intensely dislike the place as it has gone from being a cheap affordable alternative several years go to one of the most expensive and worst managed, racist, and stupid countries in the world. the hundreds of taxes alone make people upset. the big brother police apparatus is in place there. i honestly believe australia is the worst country in the world.

btw, when the ex-singaporeans here were complaining of the high costs themselves, i casually pointed out australia has become too costly and having house prices more than london or new york was a problem, i was attacked, so i have found a new hobby, making fun of stupid singaporeans stuck in the worst country in the world, australia. just go there yourself and see how bad the place has become - or see how badly behaved the ex-singaporeans here whine. its very entertaining.:D:D:D:D:D

Business Times News: Racial politics still a drag Down Under

THE curious case of an Indian doctor in Australia who was accused of involvement with the failed bombers in London and Glasgow in 2007 exposes the sorry underside of race relations in that country. An eight-month inquiry, ordered by Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd shortly after he won office, has concluded that the evidence against the doctor, Mohamed Haneef, 'amounted to very little' and was 'completely deficient'.

The country's domestic intelligence agency had concluded that the doctor was innocent within two days of his arrest. Yet he was held for 25 days and subjected to intense interrogation. During his time in custody, the Australian Federal Police (the primary agency running the case) indulged in selective media leaks against the doctor and conducted raids on many Muslim homes throughout the country.

Click here to read the full story.

Or cut and paste this URL in your browser:
http://business-times.asiaone.com/m...ews/story/0,4574,311948-1230667140,00.html?OZ

thank you for you valuable contribution to this topic. asians are being beaten to death and bombed in australia all the time, yet the ex-singaporeans here will try to keep this fact very quiet.

Be very careful if u are a chinese, and be extra careful if u are a indian...who knows during the interrogation, they stick their fist in ur ass to search for WMD...haha...[/QUOTE]

This Indian doctor should be held because :-
1. He gave his mobile SIMS card to his cousin who was one of the bomber.
2. Purchased a one-way ticket back to India
3. Only give medical referrals to his Indian specialists
4. Caught transferring a large sum of money out to India when he was working in the UK.

Racism? More like Terrorism?

What would the Singapore govt has done?
How do Singaporean treat foreign workers?

I leave the conclusion to you.

I wish the media would expose the fraud being committed in Australia

Australia is a ripp-off!

Yalor, that one is gone case jialat town there. Shake head shake head.

Same Same Sinkeeland what, before boom now big time drop

Wah Lau! Go to this Ozzieland confirm idiot place for the JI terrorist

Wah Lau end up kenna whack from white man, terrorist, or high cost there

Jialat Town Place = Ozzieland