• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The most overrated dishes..

Fishypie

Got to be these two dishes :
Beansprouts with saltedfish:
beansprout.jpg
Sambal chilli kangkong :
kankong.jpg
Price ranges from $8s/$10m/$12B from normaL zhi char staLLs & even more at Restaurants..
Basic ingredients are perhaps $1.50 max, just imagine the markup ! :(
Which is why seldom do we order vegetable dishes when dining out, esp when a simiLiar portions
of chicken or meat dish is about the same price..but vegetables ?..:eek:

u go eat ipoh bean sprout chicken ... u sure feel kena ketok if u order bean sprout ...

title shud b overcharged dishes ... me dun tink dey r rated anyway ...

u go eat ipoh bean sprout chicken ... u sure feel kena ketok if u order bean sprout ...

title shud b overcharged dishes ... me dun tink dey r rated anyway ...
Oops, perhaps the titLe is abit misLeading.Paiseh.With regards to that ipoh stuffs 5 of us Sinkies kena jiaLat jiaLat,
it was Like 1 chicken,1 dish of bean sprouts,some drinks ..totaL was RM$75 !.DayLight robbery.:(

ya i agree bro....very cheap raw material but high markup. I hardly ever order these 2 dishes. Cook at home if I have a yen for them
Got to be these two dishes :
Beansprouts with saltedfish:

Alot of hawker and restaurant foods are overrated. The best is to learn to cook yourself. But I think the french and italian fuckers takes the cake in overrated dishes. At least South East Asian cuisine got lots of flavour.

Agreed.They gave some simpLe dish a twist of strange & exotic wordings on the menu, and that's another
30% up on the order ! ! :eek:

sinkies prepared to overpay for ordinary ang mor food so in the end it becomes overrated.

Agreed.They gave some simpLe dish a twist of strange & exotic wordings on the menu, and that's another
30% up on the order ! ! :eek:

Chicken rice stalls which offer oyster-sauced vege or fried bean sprout sets or stand-alones are opportunists making good sidelines out of the recent vege is healthy fad. I'd just order the chicken and the rice. Frying kills most of the vitamins anyway. For real good vege, I'd rather order an extra piece of vege for my yong tao hu. When eating at a chap chai png stall, I'd always order one meat two veges.

must pay expensive rental , staffs , chefs , PUB bills .

Onion omelette is another bo-hwa-to-order dish :

omelette.jpg

2 eggs+1/2 chopped onions =$6.00min.knn.:rolleyes::D

Fish

Title salah. Both dishes goes very well in any selection and when you bring family with kids or entertain friends for a simple meal you not going to avoid it. The vendors know it and price reflects the demand. Agree on the high mark-up.

Even if you don't order it someone in the group will bring it up. Paiseh. Fall in the category of blackmail. Just like coffee or tea after a meal in the restaurant. When people started skipping desserts, the bevarage prices went up.

This one definitely overrated. This dish if you miss no one will notice. The price is high because only a bodoh will order so might as well ketok the guy. In the old days we call this nightclub dish.

View attachment 5644

Both dishes need skill. Bean Sprout and Kang Kong cannot be overcooked. Stir fried usually 15-20 seconds in high heat.

You are paying for the skills. I trained with these 2 vegetables and I can tell you it is not easy to produce a tasty one. The other dish I trained very hard is fried rice and still not very satisfied. :(

how u order tis in chinese? ... if u wanna eat omelette, order 芙蓉蛋 la ... ask wat ingredients dey gif ... usu, nowadays, dey gif shrimps ... bruff ppl versions gif char siew ... chip versions r as wat u haf shown ...

Most overrated dishes for me:

1. Shark's fins
2. Bird's nest
3. Abalone