• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Irrational Fear and the cost of the Wuhan Virus, Is it worth it?

More than 600,000 people die from flu annually. Even though there is vaccine available for the prevailing strains many just ignore the dangers and don't bother getting vaccinated.

The price they pay can be devastating.
The trouble with sinkies is they call every common cold the "flu".

Hence Influenza has been downplayed like crazy.

Most people who come down with the sniffles sore throat and cough do NOT have influenza! But they call it influenza. And then they recover. So they think the Influenza is nothing.

Wrong. Actually flu is very severe in symptoms and dangerous. Which is why we recommend having vaccination. Some protection is still better.

But sinkies will say aiyah just the flu lah.

And then when it is covid19 panic and run around like headless chicken. Damn stupid.

Most people who come down with the sniffles sore throat and cough do NOT have influenza! But they call it influenza. And then they recover. So they think the Influenza is nothing.

Wrong. Actually flu is very severe in symptoms and dangerous. Which is why we recommend having vaccination. Some protection is still better.

And then when it is covid19 panic and run around like headless chicken. Damn stupid.
KNN becas most of the gp have golden mouth lazy and just want to collect consultation for without providing consultation KNN

U have failed to take into account another element with regards to Influenza and that is the weather. In ang mor lands,,they say the flu season is bad this winter. Every damn year the flu season is bad. I have never heard of a good flu season. And that is why the high death rate for flu in yankeeland. In SEA,,,flu means, cough, running nose, sore throat and most important,,Fever. Rest at home for a few days take Panadol and antihistamine and to prevent secondary infection antibiotics. And the flu is much less deadly in SEA than in ang mor lands because the temperature does not go below 25 deg C. In ang mor lands,,snow or cold -5deg C,,,of course the flu is more prevalent. Due to the weather, the flu is less prevalent in SEA than in ang mor lands,,,

And this Wuhan virus,,why is the death rate soo pathetic in areas outside Wuhan? its the weather,.,,that is why in ang mor lands,,,always keep warm, have warm showers and hot drinks,,,and good hygiene. Wash hands etc....I have seen in ang mor lands,,ang mors are not big on hygiene,,,,and in countries with snow,,they don't even bath everyday....they don't wash hands and don't wear face mask when sick,,that is why the flu spreads easily too,,,,the weather and hygiene,,,how warm is SEA now? how many singkies died of Wuhan virus? and in indonland,,,besides the run on masks,,,are ppl dropping dead like the Spanish flu?

One other point is in those areas that are cold and humid,,,it is easier to get sick too,,think HK and Hanoi during winter,....the flu can be prevalent,,but I don't see these countries making a big hoo ha about influenza death. And influenZa hits those with compromised immune systems more,,,like Wuhan virus,,and there are some younger ppl who got hit by the normal influenza and died,,that is just the luck of the draw,,no different to the fatality for the Wuhan virus. Death is part of life,,,deal with it,,and this BS fear of the Wuhan virus is causing more trouble than the deaths via Wuhan virus,,,,no point making mountains out of molehills.

U have failed to take into account another element with regards to Influenza and that is the weather. In ang mor lands,,they say the flu season is bad this winter. Every damn year the flu season is bad. I have never heard of a good flu season. And that is why the high death rate for flu in yankeeland. In SEA,,,flu means, cough, running nose, sore throat and most important,,Fever. Rest at home for a few days take Panadol and antihistamine and to prevent secondary infection antibiotics. And the flu is much less deadly in SEA than in ang mor lands because the temperature does not go below 25 deg C. In ang mor lands,,snow or cold -5deg C,,,of course the flu is more prevalent.

And this Wuhan virus,,why is the death rate soo pathetic in areas outside Wuhan? its the weather,.,,that is why in ang mor lands,,,always keep warm, have warm showers and hot drinks,,,and good hygiene. Wash hands etc....I have seen in ang mor lands,,ang mors are not big on hygiene,,,,and in countries with snow,,they don't even bath everyday....they don't wash hands and don't wear face mask when sick,,that is why the flu spreads easily too,,,,the weather and hygiene,,,how warm is SEA now? how many singkies died of Wuhan virus? and in indonland,,,besides the run on masks,,,are ppl dropping dead like the Spanish flu?

One other point is in those areas that are cold and humid,,,it is easier to get sick too,,think HK and Hanoi during winter,....the flu can be prevalent,,but I don't see these countries making a big hoo ha about influenza death. And influenZa hits those with compromised immune systems more,,,like Wuhan virus,,and there are some younger ppl who got hit by the normal influenza and died,,that is just the luck of the draw,,no different to the fatality for the Wuhan virus. Death is part of life,,,deal with it,,and this BS fear of the Wuhan virus is causing more trouble than the deaths via Wuhan virus,,,,no point making mountains out of molehills.
Exactly.

Singapore is warmer hence less spread of the actual influenza virus. But you have high population density.

Most cases are not influenza but the common cold.

Irrational fear?I believe the build up of wuhan cases or Wuhan count of a country or city is slow at first,but once it reaches critical mass which I estimate to be around 135 to 300 Wuhan cases,the growth will accelerate faster and faster,like it took ten days for Wuhan in China to go from 35 to 300,then another ten days to reach 2000,almost exponentially.by this point it will be known as a full blown out break.

If SG doesn't stop further Wuhan cases from appearing,by the time Wuhan count sg reaches the mid 100s,the probability of an epidemic will be close to 95 percent.

U have failed to take into account another element with regards to Influenza and that is the weather. In ang mor lands,,they say the flu season is bad this winter. Every damn year the flu season is bad. I have never heard of a good flu season. And that is why the high death rate for flu in yankeeland. In SEA,,,flu means, cough, running nose, sore throat and most important,,Fever. Rest at home for a few days take Panadol and antihistamine and to prevent secondary infection antibiotics. And the flu is much less deadly in SEA than in ang mor lands because the temperature does not go below 25 deg C. In ang mor lands,,snow or cold -5deg C,,,of course the flu is more prevalent. Due to the weather, the flu is less prevalent in SEA than in ang mor lands,,,

KNN well explained KNN this message should be announced by lhl instead of saying don't wear mask KNN

Exactly.

Singapore is warmer hence less spread of the actual influenza virus. But you have high population density.

We have less count at the moment because we are a secondary infection site,we are in the early stages of Wuhan which China Wuhan was in Jan,
China wuhan is now in the advanced stages with many other provinces rapidly developing into intermediate and advance stages by the numbers.

let's not forget Wuhan count in sg is the highest in the world right now if u discount those on the Jap cruise ship,if number of infected hosts keeps increasing,the spread of the virus will accelerate like growth of bacteria in a Petri dish,small and unnoticeable at first then quickly doubling and doubling until a massive blob.

eh so what's the official ddx for flu and common cold?

I have seen in ang mor lands,,ang mors are not big on hygiene,,,,and in countries with snow,,they don't even bath everyday....they don't wash hands and don't wear face mask when sick,,that is why the flu spreads easily too
you can say that again! :laugh:

Irrational fear?I believe the build up of wuhan cases or Wuhan count of a country or city is slow at first,but once it reaches critical mass which I estimate to be around 135 to 300 Wuhan cases,the growth will accelerate faster and faster,like it took ten days for Wuhan in China to go from 35 to 300,then another ten days to reach 2000,almost exponentially.by this point it will be known as a full blown out break.

If SG doesn't stop further Wuhan cases from appearing,by the time Wuhan count sg reaches the mid 100s,the probability of an epidemic will be close to 95 percent.
actually I heard somewhere that the number of new cases has actually dropped for the 1st time a day or two ago.

西方国家对COVID-19其实完全无知恐慌缺乏经验。瞎吵瞎害怕。
其实中国已经很快完全掌握了COVID-19。知道好多。学习研究非常快。治疗非常先进有效。非常有信心。把握。
成绩一流。
现在公布的统计:82%是轻症-好多人甚至会不需要医生,自己回复元。还有些人抵抗力强接触病毒也不感染的。
只有5%病人需要进ICU。其他的不必。
绝大多数病人只需要10天就被中国医生治愈出院。

Western countries have no experience of COVID-19 panic. Noisy and afraid.
In fact, Chinese puppets have quickly and completely mastered COVID-19. Know a lot. Studying is very fast. The treatment is very advanced and effective. Very confident. grasp.
First-class results.
Statistics released now: 82% are mild-a lot of people do n’t even need a doctor, they reply yuan themselves. There are also people who are highly resistant to the virus and not infected.
Only 5% of patients need to be admitted to the ICU. Nothing else is necessary.
The vast majority of patients only need 10 days to be cured and discharged by Chinese puppet doctors.

Exactly.

When an immune system is compromised a common cold can be deadly too. But humans are not immortals. Time to go...than go. Death is part of life deal with it

Correct.

As a physician I have learned that anything can happen. Better to be safe than sorry. As a physician I practice as the most kiasu kiasee doctor. Protects the patient and is good for me too.

I get no medals for saving cost, reducing the use of masks and antibiotics and what not.

If a patient comes to me and says they are worried and paranoid I will acknowledge and address those concerns and be very careful and safe. Give the patient what they want. Never disagree with them (unless it is to the detriment to their health and dangerous)

So if you want antibiotics here you go. Yes what if there is secondary infection right?

You want to wear mask? Sure what harm is there to you specifically wearing a mask right. The whole supply stuff is not up to me. and touch wood if I told you not to wear a mask and you kena, then I am the culprit right?

It is VERY different when you are talking to a patient one to one in front of you vs these big motherhood statements.

西方国家对COVID-19其实完全无知恐慌缺乏经验。瞎吵瞎害怕。
其实中国已经很快完全掌握了COVID-19。知道好多。学习研究非常快。治疗非常先进有效。非常有信心。把握。
成绩一流。
现在公布的统计:82%是轻症-好多人甚至会不需要医生,自己回复元。还有些人抵抗力强接触病毒也不感染的。
只有5%病人需要进ICU。其他的不必。
绝大多数病人只需要10天就被中国医生治愈出院。

Western countries have no experience of COVID-19 panic. Noisy and afraid.
In fact, Chinese puppets have quickly and completely mastered COVID-19. Know a lot. Studying is very fast. The treatment is very advanced and effective. Very confident. grasp.
First-class results.
Statistics released now: 82% are mild-a lot of people do n’t even need a doctor, they reply yuan themselves. There are also people who are highly resistant to the virus and not infected.
Only 5% of patients need to be admitted to the ICU. Nothing else is necessary.
The vast majority of patients only need 10 days to be cured and discharged by Chinese puppet doctors.
So why all the quarantine etc n causing medical staff to over work n die due to a flu.? N fucking up ppls holiday too?

KNN people worked hard to die a gracious death eg racing accidents plane crash terrorist attacks but not die of diseases KNN

Die is die. If got illness with 6 months to live.. can party n die of a car crash etc...

Chinese restaurants are losing business over coronavirus fears
Chinese restaurants are losing business over coronavirus fears. An Australian social media campaign wants to change that

By Jessie Yeung, CNN
Updated 5:52 AM EST, Tue February 18, 2020
article video

(CNN) Chinese restaurants in Australia and elsewhere have been suffering for nearly two months, with many reporting a drop in business due to public fears over the novel coronavirus outbreak.
Now, a social media campaign in Australia is urging communities to rally around their local Chinese restaurant, as authorities warn against the danger of misinformation and racialized stigma.
The campaign, launched this week by Australian political activist group GetUp!, encourages people to show their support by spreading the hashtag #IWillEatWithYou and pledging to support struggling Chinese businesses.
"Panic around the virus is unfairly impacting Chinese and Asian communities," the organization warned on its website. "If we don't take action, people will lose their jobs, and their livelihoods."
The Juicy Bao restaurant in Melbourne's Chinatown on February 14, 2020.

The novel coronavirus, formally known as Covid-19, has spread to 28 countries and regions since it was first identified in mainland China in December last year. Globally, it has infected more than 73,000 people and killed 1,873, the vast majority in mainland China; in Australia, there have been 15 confirmed cases and no deaths.
But the outbreak has also seen a rise in anti-Chinese sentiment, xenophobia, and prejudice against people of East Asian descent -- especially in Western countries. Now, it is claimed, Chinese restaurants are bearing the brunt of this backlash.
Chinese restaurants take a hit
Photos of Chinatowns across Australia, Canada, the US, and other countries show empty restaurants and quiet streets. Staff are the only ones seated at the tables, playing cards and waiting listlessly for customers.
Some restaurants have signs on the windows announcing that the interior and its surfaces are disinfected daily, in an attempt to reassure worried diners.
But these efforts often aren't enough. Shark Fin House, a well-known Cantonese dim sum restaurant in Melbourne, closed last week after reporting an 80% drop in business, according to CNN affiliate Seven News.
A sign on a Chinese restaurant in Melbourne, Australia, on February 14, 2020.
Ying Hou, the owner of Melbourne Chinese restaurant ShanDong MaMa, has seen her business drop by about half since January -- but many neighbors had it much worse, with only a handful of customers on any given day, she said.
When she told some fellow restauranteurs that she had lost 50% of business, "they said, 'You're doing well,'" she told CNN.
"I'm a small business owner, I have rent to pay, mouths to feed — I'm trying my very best," she added. "I don't even care about profit. As long as we can keep the restaurant running."
And it's not just Chinese restaurants -- other Asian businesses have also been affected. The Vietnamese restaurant Bia Hoi, also in Melbourne, has seen an 80% drop in business, said owner Jerry Mai in an Instagram post last week. Mai's other venues in Melbourne's central business district are down by 50%, she said.
"Chinatown and Glen Waverley (district) are ghost towns right now," she said in the post, blaming "fears of illness" for the decline. "I'm not exaggerating when I say that restaurant doors will close unless something happens right now."
Fear and stigma
This drop in business amid health fears happened almost exactly the same way 17 years ago -- in 2003, during the deadly Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) outbreak that ravaged China and Hong Kong.
Panic over the outbreak, which killed 774 people, also led to a drop in business for Chinese and Asian restaurants during that time too.
Many people of Asian descent were treated like pariahs in Western countries -- there were reports of non-Asian people covering their faces in the presence of Asian coworkers, and real estate agents who were told not to serve Asian clients.
Now, as the region grapples with another deadly virus, authorities in Australia are trying to avoid a repeat of 2003's fearmongering.
Last week Anthony Albanese, leader of Australia's Labor Party, said in parliament that Chinese-Australians have been targeted as a result of the outbreak, Seven News reported.
"The fact is any racist behavior will not be tolerated and it must be called out," he said. "All of us must stand up and speak out against the ugly, divisive and racist behavior which has been directed to some of our fellow Australians."
The novel coronavirus outbreak
A medical worker rests at the isolation ward of the Wuhan Red Cross Hospital in China's central Hubei province on Sunday, February 16.
1 of 68
Hide Caption
Australia's 2016 Census showed that the country is home to more than 1.2 million people of Chinese ancestry. In a press conference, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison also urged unity instead of stigma.
"I think it's very important that all Australians reach out and support (the Chinese Australian community) at this time in particular, as we go into the weekend, I'd encourage you to go and support businesses," he said.
"They are such an integral part of Australian life and it's important at this difficult time, particularly for the Chinese Australian community, that all Australians are putting their arms around them and supporting them in every way they can."

China sees fall in coronavirus deaths but WHO urges caution
Ryan Woo and Samuel Shen
BEIJING/SHANGHAI (Reuters) - China reported on Tuesday its fewest new coronavirus infections since January and its lowest daily death toll for a week, but the World Health Organization said data suggesting the epidemic had slowed should still be viewed with caution.
Apple Inc warned that its sales would suffer as the epidemic hurt both its supply in China and its demand, an announcement that knocked the wind out of global stock markets.
For more Reuters coverage of the Coronavirus, click: here
ADVERTISEMENT
The head of a leading hospital in China's central city of Wuhan, epicentre of the coronavirus outbreak, died of the disease on Tuesday, becoming one of the most prominent victims since the disease first appeared at the end of last year.
Chinese officials reported 1,886 new cases - the first time the daily figure has fallen below 2,000 since Jan. 30 - bringing the mainland China total to 72,436. A figure of 98 new deaths marked the first time the daily toll in China had fallen below 100 since Feb. 11, bringing the total to 1,868.
World Health Organization Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said Chinese data "appears to show a decline in new cases" but any apparent trend "must be interpreted very cautiously".
Outside China, there have been 827 cases of the disease, known as COVID-19, and five deaths, according to a Reuters count based on official statements. More than half of those cases have been on a cruise ship quarantined off Japan.
China says figures showing a slowdown in new cases in recent days show that aggressive steps it has taken to curb travel and commerce are slowing the spread of the disease beyond central Hubei province and its capital, Wuhan.
But Tom Wingfield, a senior lecturer and physician at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, said: "It is too early to be certain whether this represents a sustained reduction in COVID-19 transmission and that the epidemic has peaked."
ADVERTISEMENT
The numbers appeared encouraging, said Mark Woolhouse, a professor of infectious disease epidemiology at Britain's University of Edinburgh, who described himself as cautious.
"Though it is unrealistic to reduce the transmission rate to zero it may have been reduced to a level where the epidemic is brought under control," Woolhouse said.
"It may be that epidemic is simply running its natural course, and is starting to run out of new people to infect. It could also be that the unprecedented public health measures introduced in China are having the desired effect."
Chinese state television said Liu Zhiming, the director of Wuhan Wuchang Hospital, died on Tuesday, the seventh health worker to fall victim. The hospital was designated solely for treating virus-infected patients.
GLOBAL REPERCUSSIONS
While China says its lockdown of cities and tough curbs on travel and movement have limited the spread of the virus, this has come at great cost to its economy, with repercussions for global businesses.
ADVERTISEMENT
Stock markets had nonetheless roared ahead, boasted by expectations of stimulus measures to keep China's economy humming. But Apple's warning it would fall short of guidance for quarterly revenue because of slower iPhone production and weak Chinese demand sent markets lower.
"We have been pointing out that the market reaction in past weeks was excessively constructive and this could be a wake-up call to all investors that ignored so far potential negative impact," analysts at UniCredit said.
Chinese state television quoted President Xi Jinping as saying China could still meet its economic growth target for 2020 despite the epidemic.
Economists are warning of potential mass layoffs in China later this year if the virus is not contained soon.
"The employment situation is OK in the first quarter, but if the virus is not contained by end-March, then from the second quarter, we'll see a big round of layoffs," said Dan Wang, an analyst with the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU). Job losses could run as high as 4.5 million, he forecast.
Firms in China's services sector and small manufacturers are bearing the brunt of the impact so far. When cameraman Mark Xia returned to his job this month after holidays, the Shanghai video production house where he worked told him to take three months' leave with no pay. He is looking for a new job.
ADVERTISEMENT
"I understand the company's cash-flow is tight," Xia, 25, told Reuters. "We postponed some shooting due to the coronavirus outbreak, and that's had a huge impact on our revenues. That's the reality."
South Korean President Moon Jae-in said the economy was in an emergency situation and required stimulus as the epidemic had disrupted demand for South Korean goods.
Singapore announced a $4.5 billion financial package to help contain the outbreak in the city-state and weather its economic impact.
Singapore Airlines Ltd said it would temporarily cut flights in the three months to May, as the epidemic hits demand for services touching and transiting the key travel hub.
Japan, where the economy was already shrinking and the epidemic has created fears of recession, the spread of the virus has prompted Tokyo to put limits on public crowds while some companies are telling employees to work from home.
(Reporting by Ryan Woo in Beijing and Samuel Shen in Shanghai; Additional reporting by Lusha Zhang, Gabriel Crossley and Se Young Lee in Beijing; Writing by Raju Gopalakrishnan and Peter Graff; Editing by Clarence Fernandez and Nick Macfie)

Dummies ever considered this is man made and cccp is still hiding sonething? The arrogance of confidently saying we can handle when its completely new is astounding. You idiots will fit well in pap