• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

the city state...

This is a video of former Chief Secretary, Anson Chan, signing autographs before joining a protest march some years back.

Chief Secretary is kind of like head of civil service.

If people like Ngiam Tong Dow, Lim Chong Yah, Tommy Koh, etc would do this instead of merely writing or talking, do you think the Government will dare to arrest such prominent people?

Anson Chan was partaking in an activity which is already well accepted by Hong Kong people. To get Sinkies used to the idea of protests, we need lots of prominent people to participate and lead them. Then, the Government will have no choice but to tolerate such protests even though they are technically illegal but morally right. Only a 3rd World country will not sign the International Covenant on Political and Civil Rights and yes, this 3rd World country is Singapore along with only about 20 others. Those lousy Ministers ought to receive 3rd World ministerial salaries to accurately reflect this state of affairs.

[video=youtube;LXY5ncMco2Q]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXY5ncMco2Q[/video]

From there, if they still don't listen, then massive protests, Hong Kong style, would be in order - legal or otherwise.

16th February 2013
Hong Lim Park!
see you folks there!

PAP needs numbers to boost the price of HDB flats. Something is amiss in the CPF and the supposedly 'strong reserves'.

Singapore was a pleasant place when the population was 1.25 million.

Isn't that small? 3.5 mil will be just nice. Lots of room for the birds and critters to roam. We are losing our sanctuaries very soon. Concrete jungle will add heat to our environment. More air-cons, more heat.

PAP needs numbers to boost the price of HDB flats. Something is amiss in the CPF and the supposedly 'strong reserves'.

as of current, PRs can buy resale HDB... time to monitor the influx of PRs and any changes to the HDB policies :o:o:o

couldn't help it but kept thinking about the conversation me had with Uncle Teo a couple of days ago, several questions kept bugging me, and me would need to call upon the collective wisdom of our learned brothers here in the land of SBF to help me solve these questions :o:o:o

1. land mass and population size
our land mass is roughly 700 sqm, currently having over 7K folks per sqm. me find that it is way too crowded for me likings. in your opinion, what is a comfortable range for our population density?

2. food and water
looking at the number of reservoirs we have, coupled the output from the NEWater plants, how long can it sustain our need for clean and fresh water? are our water treaties with our neighbors still in force? when will the treaties lapse? how to keep food at affordable prices?

3. transportation and infrastructure
based on our comfortable range for our population density figures, are our transportation systems designed to withstand such load and capacity? would we need to build taller buildings or have deeper basements? would there be enough public housing?

4. defense and international relationships
why are we spending so much on military hardware when unconventional warfare methods can easily damage our economy more effectively than an all-out conventional warfare scenario? how do we go about establishing ourselves as a sovereign and friendly nation?

5. education and economy
why is the attrition rate in the teaching fraternity high? is CPF really capable of sustaining our Citizens in their retirement age? what will be our pillars of economy in the long run? are we chasing more band wagons in the future?

6. healthcare and quality of living
based on our comfortable range for our population density, is our healthcare system capable of handling the increasing load? even our ever falling birth-rates and the ever falling floor area in public/private housing seems to correlate...

7. immigration and foreign talents
how do we attract real talents and keeping them rooted here instead of having them using Singapore as a stepping stone and/or just a cash-cow?

me think me starting to grow a strand of white hair already :*::*::*:

Most important aspect of the SWISS STANDARD OF LIVING 188 human per square kilometer!

We should think of practical yet innovative ways to make the MIW develop empathy for the ordinary people, without doing anything illegal.

It's about time these arrogant elite overpaid laggards and their family members experienced the problems faced by the ordinary chap and his family members, otherwise they will continue to be heartless, clueless, idealess and materialistic, devoid of compassion and empathy.

Singapore was a pleasant place when the population was 1.25 million.

I agree too.

But it was called a "fishing village".

With 6.9 million in the pipeline, we will become a "Fish Market" like the good old Kangkar and current fishery port.

The stink will be much worse.

His smile, the things he says and the way he says them, gives me the creeps.

Reminds me of Yeo Ning Hong's smile when car taxes used to be raised after his parliamentary speeches.

Prof Yeo... any relationship to PY other than sharing the same surname?

YNH was never a holder of a title like Prof. Maybe you mistook it to be Proffessor Yeoh Ghim Seng, who was the longest serving speaker of Parliament from 1970 till 1989.

No idea about his relationship with PY.

YNH was never a holder of a title like Prof. Maybe you mistook it to be Proffessor Yeoh Ghim Seng, who was the longest serving speaker of Parliament from 1970 till 1989.

No idea about his relationship with PY.

YNH often had a Dr title in front of his name. He was not called Prof maybe because he was never a Prof.

YNH often had a Dr title in front of his name. He was called Prof maybe because he was never a Prof.

Remind me of "Proffessor, Dr, Senior Acupuncturist", Sinseh, Trichologist (Hair Grower) ZENG GUO-YUAN