• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Age of Consent - 14 years is the central line of PAP Viv attack.

As I said as long as VW remains silent on the age of consent, it will be simmering in the background. Being gay is essentially a non issue. Its nearly a decade since the first gay bars began operations. One of the Singapore's famous gay is the brother in law of a PAP MP. We had Kumar in National TV for more than a decade.

When the conservatives and bigots tried to capture AWARE, they were unceremoniosly thrown out and GLCs like DBS told the imbecile to walk. If ever there is bigoted minority, it remains as such. The vast majority have no issues with gays.

The Holland / BT area is well educated and well travelled and to them it is not the gay issue. They will laugh if PAP makes it an issue.

The longer VW sits on the age of consent and other supposed agenda conjured up by the PAP, the damage gets worse. The other issue is guilt by association. Ravi is a liability. The law fraternity is not all happy that he is allowed to practice with his condition. They know that he is being used by the govt to make the opposition look really silly. I recall the Yap's shennigans and wild accusations with nothing done to him. Since the 2006, no serious party wants him near him. When I queastioned his credentials then, I was told by Ramseth and GMS that he is alright, fine etc. Now no one wants to deal with him officially.

Don't worry, you are not the only one. Even Chee and the rest of the forummers thought that Viv was talking about gays.

Viv mentioned the video and the video has Ravi and the argument about lowering the age for consent.

Your take is that the PAP is concerned about the age of consent. Well, let them state it openly and let Vincent clarify.

My take is that there's no gay issue with the PAP, but Vivian is using it disingenuously to remind homophobic fundamentalists in his constituency about the dangers of voting for a gay guy, and the gay agenda he might bring with him. And throw in the 'strange bedfellows' bit for good measure.

That's the thrust of the smear campaign - to secure the conservative, largely Christian vote.

lockeliberal

Dear Yellow

It is not enough, because just saying gay cause does not reassure people with the questions raised abt the inuendo. If he is willing to talk about not pursuing the gay cause then he might as well go the extra mile and detail the limits. Now is not the smart ass time to give a vague answer. Yes on policy no on personal.

Look every vote counts and its abt reassuring the swing voters, familes kids etc the swing the damm middle ground. The SDP has worked so hard to rebuilt itself and well why throw it away at the last min

Locke

But as a voter, if the chief comes out and says categorically, "We will not pursue the gay cause", I think that will be good enough for me.

But yes, some of the conservative Christian votes may be lost. But then many of these are PAP supporters in the first place, and in the second, they will never ever vote a gay man into Parliament no matter what.[/QUOTE]

377A is not a divisive issue. Nobody gives a fuck if 2 consenting adults of the same sex do things in the privacy of their home. The Govt has stated that it is not going to prosecute anyone. The issue is guilt by association - smearing VW by pointing to the video that has Ravi and the lowering the age of consent. Young kids being groomed is a serious issue and very damaging. Unfortunately, both these issues were not addressed by Chee in his rebuttal.

In a nutshell, they are using his comments about 377A to tie him to other damaging things lowering the consent for sex.

VW did make public his agenda for repealing S337a and lowering consent age. It's CSJ now scrambling to disavow all these. Read the papers. Read the websites. Read them and weep.

Debonerman

Scroobal wants VW to state his stand on the age of consent. So does Miss Vivian Balakrishnan. A two pronged cyberattack from the same SOURCE. What is George Yeo's stand on this issue? I am sure that depends on the which direction the winds of political fortune blows(no homosexual pun intended.)

karmabear

Scroobal wants VW to state his stand on the age of consent. So does Miss Vivian Balakrishnan. A two pronged cyberattack from the same SOURCE. What is George Yeo's stand on this issue? I am sure that depends on the which direction the winds of political fortune blows(no homosexual pun intended.)

Ooooo, well said well said. I shall praise you with a new chinese term I learnt today. 一针见血!

aurvandil

As I said as long as VW remains silent on the age of consent, it will be simmering in the background. Being gay is essentially a non issue. Its nearly a decade since the first gay bars began operations. One of the Singapore's famous gay is the brother in law of a PAP MP. We had Kumar in National TV for more than a decade.

I don't think VV had a well thought our battle plan while he launched this attack. He mumbled so incoherently that most people don't know what was his main pt. To me, VV seemed to be saying that VW is not suitable to be an MP because he is a GAY PAEDOPHILE.

Most people caught the first part. Only a very small proportion caught the second part. As such, the IB seems to be playing catch up to try and spread it around in hopes that it will go viral. So far, it doesn't seem to be working and top of mind recall is just GAY.

The problem with this attack is that it seems to have gone awiry. The on going Anwar court case is playing the mind of many Singaporeans. Hence the overwhelming reaction so far from netizens is that this is an Anwar style smear campaign. Trust in the PAP is at an all time low and there will be a significant number of people who will beleive that the PAP is setting VW up just like UMNO set Anwar up. Hence the more the msm plays this up, the more we increase the liklihood that VW will morph to become a tragic hero figure like Anwar.

I think the SDP response so far has been appropriate. There is actually a trap in the response and we will have to see in VV falls into it. Also two can play a smear game. With who is now in the SDP line up, there is naturally speculation of who is really standing behind the SPD "dream team" in Holland Bukit Timah. So far there have been intriguing whispers of something which started in 1993 and which might have lasted for 1.5 years. Someone even suggested that it involved a man, making VV a bi. Truth or just more gutter politics we will have to see.

GCT warned that we should keep this election a clean one and I think it would be wise if we all heed his advice.

yellowarse

Indeed. Scroobal and Locke have stated their position and I've stated mine.

The rebuttal has been made. CSJ has said 'no gay agenda'. Ball's in Vivian's court.

If Vivian chooses to remain silent and let the innuendo fester, as Locke suggests, so be it. The fundie votes were never SDP's to begin with. And the middle ground can see through the whole farce, I believe.

And Vivian is getting lots of flak and negative publicity for the smear tactics. That will definitely cause him some fence-sitting votes.

Debonerman

Indeed. Scroobal and Locke have stated their position and I've stated mine.

The rebuttal has been made. CSJ has said 'no gay agenda'. Ball's in Vivian's court.

If Vivian chooses to remain silent and let the innuendo fester, as Locke suggests, so be it. The fundie votes were never SDP's to begin with. And the middle ground can see through the whole farce, I believe.

And Vivian is getting lots of flak and negative publicity for the smear tactics. That will definitely cause him some fence-sitting votes.

Bro, it's Vincent not Vivian. One is openly gay, the other just pretend to be a normal man and a poor example at that!

neddy

Perhaps he has boys at home and thus able to understand the situation here better.

You may understand this issue better when you have children of your own.

Forumers who are pro-Opposition, anti-PAP and anti-Singapore pitch differently - only obvious to the discerning ones.
o Anti-Singapore forumers hate anything that got to do with SG, think Nair (which btw, would be most surprising to me if he is not lurking in this forum)

Nair is anti Singapore :eek: Gopalan Nair?
I am not supporting him but where are the Singaporeans when he is being wronged for being an opposition figure?
He has good intentions for Singapore but he does it in his stupid way - but I doubt that he is anti Singapore.

Nair is anti Singapore :eek: Gopalan Nair?
I am not supporting him but where are the Singaporeans when he is being wronged for being an opposition figure?
He has good intentions for Singapore but he does it in his stupid way - but I doubt that he is anti Singapore.

WTF:confused: this coming from a quitter like u :oIo::oIo:

u r not qualified :mad:

tioliaohuat

Originally Posted by scroobal

Years ago, I was on an interview panel and interestingly an ACS alumnus hinted why he felt for Singapore by mentioning that he voluntered for NS. I asked him what was the consequence if he did not volunteer for NS. Not only his jaw dropped but those of 3 other interview panel members. He then admitted that he did it to retain his PR and to be with his mum and dad. After the conclusion of the interview sessions, all three members asked me to fill them in. I told them that NS is a not charity and why would someone not take up citizenship yet do NS. When I told them that someone who is not eligibile for citizenship cannot do NS even if he paid the Govt, it then made sense. Mind you the 3 were senior civil servants and they too had no clue.

Fucking scroobal is either up to no good or he had stepped on his own dick! Or the "alumnus" and "three senior servants" are all dead and records pertaining to that interview had disappeared into never never land. So much for trying to cloak one's identity.

Originally Posted by coolguy

These latest 2 SDP candidates are fed by the PAP golden rice bowl.
Seems too good to be true that they are joining the opposition, some more
they choose to join SDP, PAP most hated enemy.
Something smells fishy here. Could they be PAP mole?

Porfirio Rubirosa

sadly n unfortunately i think locke and scroobal may be right on this one...

if vincent fails to come out now in public to once n for all nail down all these divisive n explosive issues...i fear SDP may hv won the battle but shall lose the war n i suspect by a hefty margin...

quick backgrd which may be of help...i gather vivian's father-in-law is a pastor(or a church elder at the v least)...ang yong guan is a member of city harvest church...tan jeey say is a methodist(i think) and going by his initial short interview in tnp(when he was spotted hving a discussion wif csj), jeey say appears to be a devout(fundamentalist?) christian as i recall he used the words "i am a christian and it is my calling and conviction" to enter the political arena as he feels that pap has lost its "moral compass" by going down the casino route...

so all in...vivian's attack appears to lie not just wif vincent alone...but also conquer n divide intra jeey say and ang vs vincent, in fact may also include michelle as well...no doubt ang,jeey say n michelle hv come out to support vincent...but i think this may only relate to vincent's sexual orientation per se...dont think this extends to "377A n other gay rights issues" as mentioned by vincent in the ravi video...

also no doubt vivian's initial modus operandi may hv back fired...but i think the damning m&d may hv already stuck n now harden all the way to the polls...especially since vivian latched onto jeey say's use of the words "moral compass"...

finally i hv pasted below the complete n full statement issued by vivian plus the 3 other pappies...i suggest all those interested in this dark arts saga read the entire statement to understand its complete ramifications, intended or otherwise...dark clouds loom my friends...hope i am proven wrong though...

Dear Friends of the Media

Please find below a statement which is being sent on behalf of the PAP team contesting in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC. We would appreciate it very much if you could kindly publish the statement in full, and attribute it to the PAP team contesting in the Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, led by Minister Vivian Balakrishnan.

Kindly call me at [phone number deleted] if you have any queries or if you need any clarification.

What is his agenda?

A video has been posted on the internet showing Vincent Wijeysingha participating at a forum which discussed the promotion of the gay cause in Singapore.

The discussion at the forum also touched on sex with boys and whether the age of consent for boys should be 14 years of age.

In the video, Wijeysingha was introduced as being from the SDP.

In addition to other comments, Wijeysingha stated: ‘I think the gay community has to rally ourselves. Perhaps one outcome of today’s forum would be, for those of us who are interested, to come together to further consider how we can address the 377 issue as well as further rights issues in relation to gays and lesbians.’

We believe that candidates should be upfront about their political agenda and motives, so that voters are able to make an informed choice.

The issue is not Wijeysingha’s sexual orientation. That is a matter for him.

The video raises the question on whether Wijeysingha will now pursue this cause in the political arena and what is the SDP’s position on the matter.

Vivian Balakrishnan
Liang Eng Hwa
Christopher de Souza
Sim Ann

genetics

The Pigs-and-Parasites are trying to sway our focus of attention from the real issues of the day. They are using diversion tactics to confuse the electorates.

My dear brothers and sisters, true-blue singaporeans, let's not be swayed by their smooke-screen.

They can leave the gay issue for another day to discuss and debate in detail.

This GE is about FOREIGN TALENT-vs-SINIGAPOREANS, Transparency vs cronyism, and accounitibility and integrity! It is pretty obvious what the Pest-and-Parasites' tactic : Distraction !!!

The Pest-and-Parasites are trying to move the argument from FTs import (which they cannot possibly win) to a straw-man they have manufactured, for example, this gay-bashing garbage. They simply cannot afford to let the FT issue or the Cost-of-living issue become the hottest topic, because that is what everyone in Singapore is up in arms about !!

Looks like character assassination is their game plan and Vile Vivian is leading the charge. He doesn't care how disgusted people are with him how much filth he himself gets covered in. Desperate times, desperate measures.

It's an utterly puerile scheme that would have been laughed at if tried in any other 1st world nation but many unsophisticated sinkies will fall for it without thinking twice about who stands to gain by this move. We have to rebut this kind of shit whenever possible with our friends and families (SMS, call, email them proactively) and point out what PAP's agenda is. Stop the wicked vivian balakrishna bollocks rolling in its tracks.

Move the discussion back to

(a) PAP's love affair with FTs,
(b) job losses for sporns all the way up the ladder and
(c) Ministers' obscene salaries.

If enough people express their anger publicly, this vicious and cynical straw man will backfire and blow up in Vile Vivian's face just like the Gomez affair made people sick of LKY and his bullying methods.

sense

The truth is usually hard to swallow, esp. for the fanatics - applicable to all parties.

Moment-of-Truth.gif

dankos

3 pap dogs spotted early this morning

1) sense
2) Cpt (NS) Brandon
3) Char_Azn

nomination day so they need work harder.

sense

Self-confessed, foul-mouth, "loose cannon SDP" puppy: dankos

Tell yourself:
Everything-will-be-Alright.gif

ah_phah

the idiot talking nonsense. he think that we forgot they distributed condoms to the YOG athletes??? most of the athletes were minors, and clearly below age of consent... they issue condoms for what? scared the kids go home pregnant & declare that the baby was 'made in singapore'?

then now, he blasting VW that his motion for age of consent to be reduced to 14 is a crime???

knn, kelingkia kong kelingkia wey