• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Thailand is burning

myo539

Looks like the trouble in Thailand is not going to end any sooner.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/392202/1/.html

"PAD protesters drape themselves in yellow shirts and headbands to symbolise their loyalty to Thailand's revered monarchy".

Is the Thai King behind the rebellion?

I don't understand why the Thai government can be so tolerant and can't adopt a Myanmar's heavy hand and send the military to quell the demonstrators once and for all. Or like the Chinese who sent tanks into TianAnMen and squashed the demonstrators like pumpkin. China would not be like what it is today - powerful and prosperous.

I think the Thais basically got no balls. Either the religion has infected their brain or their unnatural respect for their wealthy king has warped their thinking.

My humble opinion. Singaporeans should be thankful that it does not ever have to face such a situation because of our capable leaders. What's your take?

zack123

Looks like the trouble in Thailand is not going to end any sooner.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/392202/1/.html

"PAD protesters drape themselves in yellow shirts and headbands to symbolise their loyalty to Thailand's revered monarchy".

Is the Thai King behind the rebellion?

I don't understand why the Thai government can be so tolerant and can't adopt a Myanmar's heavy hand and send the military to quell the demonstrators once and for all. Or like the Chinese who sent tanks into TianAnMen and squashed the demonstrators like pumpkin. China would not be like what it is today - powerful and prosperous.

I think the Thais basically got no balls. Either the religion has infected their brain or their unnatural respect for their wealthy king has warped their thinking.

My humble opinion. Singaporeans should be thankful that it does not ever have to face such a situation because of our capable leaders. What's your take?

I think you should have your head checked. My humble opinion...

mscitw

King Rama IX is surely involved in this fiasco.

He is working with the thai old class elite to ensure taksin stays out.

putting e interest of his family before the country and seething with rage because his wayang moves to help rural thais are exposed by taksin's real assistance.

downgrader

Thais dont appreciate a good man like Thaksin. They deserve to suffer because they brought it upon themselves

mscitw

putting e interest of his family before the country and seething with rage because his wayang moves to help rural thais are exposed by taksin's real assistance.

Vigilante911

Thaksin need not fight for the Thais. He is a billionaire, for heaven's sake. Why don't the Thais wake up. He is too good for these people.

myo539

Thaksin need not fight for the Thais. He is a billionaire, for heaven's sake. Why don't the Thais wake up. He is too good for these people.

Could we say the same with LKY and LHL? The family is extremely rich many times over and they don't have to lift a finger to enjoy the rest of their life in luxury.

It's a pity for Thailand because once in a while you have a leader who is capable and effective in developing the country and improve the life of the people. The king should open his eyes and see what has happened to his subjects toiling day and night in construction sites all over the world, and their women selling their bodies to feed their children back home. But probably he is enjoying life in his palaces.

Any perversed Singaporean who still cannot appreciate the PAP government ought to be shot before their daughters, sisters or wife become maids and prostititues in some foreign countries.

theblackhole

count your blessings singapore is so peaceful.thanks to our world class governance.majulah singapura!!! kudo to our talented world class leaders!!!

2lanu

Not only Thailand is unstable. More countries will too be political unstable and soon we will have a world without political parties ruling.

theblackhole

agree.soon everything will change like all things.it'll become one global family like before...the golden era is coming.jesus is coming.matreya is coming.kuan yin is coming.siva is coming.the messiah is coming.the golden horse is coming.the golden age is coming...hallelujah!!!

suteerak1099

the protests r just a small bunch of ppl with violent tendencies who wanna make their voices heard, bt obviously using the wrong approach of things. hence, making themselves looking like a bunch of uncivilized trouble-makers.

while the newly elected ruling party is yet to fine tune the problems of the kingdom, these monkeys r just attracting unnecessary attention to deter the new governing party from expediting the necessary reforms. though it may be a constitutional kingdom, to have the military roll out tanks to level the crowd is as easy as a nod from HRM the king. nonetheless, 1 coup too many in such a short span will eventually spell more trouble for the ailing economy.

i cant say that thakshin's the best there is, was or ever will be, bt by far, there hasnt been 1 leader who's strengthened the thai economy in decades. now that he claims to attempt making a come-back, i'd be eager to see how true sooth-sayers have predicted.

2lanu

I dun see Thaksin as bad guy. He did came into Thai politics after Asian Financial Crisis and managed to bring the country on its feet again. Built an airport and more importantly helped the farmers who were being exploited by the crops middlemen.

Maybe these middlemen dun like this policy that's why ousted him when he was away from Thailand. He tried to please the country protest and sold Shin Corp to Temasek, but still kanna ousted.

silverfox@

the protests r just a small bunch of ppl with violent tendencies who wanna make their voices heard, bt obviously using the wrong approach of things. hence, making themselves looking like a bunch of uncivilized trouble-makers.

while the newly elected ruling party is yet to fine tune the problems of the kingdom, these monkeys r just attracting unnecessary attention to deter the new governing party from expediting the necessary reforms. though it may be a constitutional kingdom, to have the military roll out tanks to level the crowd is as easy as a nod from HRM the king. nonetheless, 1 coup too many in such a short span will eventually spell more trouble for the ailing economy.

i cant say that thakshin's the best there is, was or ever will be, bt by far, there hasnt been 1 leader who's strengthened the thai economy in decades. now that he claims to attempt making a come-back, i'd be eager to see how true sooth-sayers have predicted.

Those thai people who said they love their country and doing all this for country is bullshit. You don't cripple your own country's aviation industry, stranding thousands of passengers by loving your country.
Selfish act in itself for own personal agenda. Sad to see this.:(

theblackhole

lawlessness and anarchy.the thais are really siao.but they can still afford it.singapore one day like this means gone case liao. we cannot afford even one moment of complete chaos and anarchy.it'll be a ghost down worse than sars days! so be grateful to our great leaders and kowtow and pray for their eternal good health always to lead this fragile little country. so all together: kowtow and say thank you a million times. majulah singapura!!!

suteerak1099

Those thai people who said they love their country and doing all this for country is bullshit. You don't cripple your own country's aviation industry, stranding thousands of passengers by loving your country.
ya, that's y i said they're a bunch of idiots that make themselves look like fools, in name-sake of democracy.

meanwhile, this bunch of ppl only represent a spectrum of the entire kingdom's population. they're factually ppl that live from hand to mouth daily, and if they stopped their nuisance & get back to work, there's lesser reason for them to complain of hungered stomachs.

Yes. spot on.

Agree with you.

ya, that's y i said they're a bunch of idiots that make themselves look like fools, in name-sake of democracy.

meanwhile, this bunch of ppl only represent a spectrum of the entire kingdom's population. they're factually ppl that live from hand to mouth daily, and if they stopped their nuisance & get back to work, there's lesser reason for them to complain of hungered stomachs.

Note the protestors clashing with taxi drivers who rely on passengers to eke out a living. So who the hell are they fighting for. It obvious that they are paid.

The king and the Bangkok elite have been behind this for very long. Prem and company never expected the Govt to be re-elected after the previous protest and this tactic is also failing and they are desperate. It now appears that they are shooting at their own people. Gun and ammo for the shooting at the crowd were traced to PAD vehicles.

Einfield

No one can protest for 3 months without financial support from behind.

This is dirty street politics, unfortunately, they use the poor to legitimate their more sinister motives.

wikiphile

I reckoned it is not for himself that he is afraid he can't push out Thaksin whom he cannot control but rather for his son, who has some serious character flaws. That said, a controlled monarchy is not something they are looking forward to :biggrin:

suteerak1099

Note the protestors clashing with taxi drivers who rely on passengers to eke out a living. So who the hell are they fighting for. It obvious that they are paid.

The king and the Bangkok elite have been behind this for very long. Prem and company never expected the Govt to be re-elected after the previous protest and this tactic is also failing and they are desperate. It now appears that they are shooting at their own people. Gun and ammo for the shooting at the crowd were traced to PAD vehicles.
i'm really not surprised that the protestors could hold out this long withuot any financial backing from phantom financers. just hope this chapter doesnt swell into a civil war.

silverfox@

PAD is losing the fight. They are getting desperate that the PPP are still standing. That is why they resorted to all these. In fact, all these only make the rest of the population more disgusted with what they are doing. In short, trouble-making.

Before Thaksin became prime minister, he already read up on his predecessors as to why they either don't get re-elected or get ousted. He did 1 part but didn't do the other part on not being more popular than the King. He got the support of the poor, keeps getting re-elected, even now in exile, he still has the support of the people. But he got too popular, and that in itself is a threat. If Thaksin is not a billionaire, he would have been in prison by now.:o