• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

taxpayers paying for MINDEF’s officers’ private transport

Yoshitei

Bundled offer by arms dealers to Mindef sure can one, buy 100 jeeps get 1 Audi f.o.c. then become MID plated perks for senior officers.Only thing is that it is not painted green or camoulfaged

Why not?

Greed are used for field vehicles usually used for off road driving and limited to 50km/h.

White ones are called General Purpose cars and are usually limited to 80km/h unless tempered with or for some special purpose.

Yoshitei

btw, most of these car entitled people are ranks above LT-Col because my friend Lt-Col not entitled to car even.

if bigger shots than Lt-Col, imagine driving a QQ or Cherry not nice,,,,
driving a Japanese car, ok only,,,
since high ranking, must entertain sometimes, must be something can see, and big size so audi is a good choice,,,

but most of the time, these BIG SHOT have got chauffers one leh,,, park until like that, must be self driven to go for quickie la

Depends on your duties, I know of several LTC who have car entitlement.

It was mentioned sometime back that Audi was chosen for it's "presence" so in other terms, MINDEF wants this officers to feel "big".

Any officers can demand for an NSF to be his driver, they rarely self drive. Those XX MID ones usually have some Transport Spec as his driver.

Lee Hsien Tau

Stupid. The officer has to pay MINDEF for his trip home. So it is better for the car to be used outside of office hours than not.

SURE or not?

Officer has to pay MINDEAF for his trip home?

Fucking chee-bye cass888 sure or not?

More likely, he declares his petrol, taken from the depot, as part of his 10(1)b income!

Boliao

MID cars are an entitlement and is awarded depending on the appointment you hold; not rank. So even a major can have an entitlement to a transport.

They are given two choices.. have a driver pick them up or they drive. The number on the MID cars are actually tied to the position so guards at the gate knows who is arriving.

Officers do not pay MINDEF for their trip home or vice verse. That's utter rubbish. Audi is also not the lowest bidder. Another rubbish.

Bottom line. The answer is Yes, MINDEF officers are using MID cars for their personal use and paid by taxpayers but these are an entitlement for the post they held. So no matter how you cry out loud, it would be useless.

Maybe you want to ask why President and Prime Minister also has taxpayer pay for their transportation.

jesus

Stupid again. MINDEF already explained before that Audi was the lowest bidder. Lower than Mitsubishi and the Japanese cars if I am not wrong. Jus because you pay a higher price for Audi than Japanese cars doesn't mean that MINDEF is the same.

If you want to be ridiculous and next suggest Geely then I have nothing to say.

Geely in fact will be a perfect fit for SAF's image.

cass888

SURE or not?

Officer has to pay MINDEAF for his trip home?

Fucking chee-bye cass888 sure or not?

More likely, he declares his petrol, taken from the depot, as part of his 10(1)b income!

You bank cheat, check your facts before talking. It's been in place for a long time already, where civil servants given cars have to pay for the trip from home to work and return.

But of course you won't understand. Cheat the bank then blame other people.

Maverick01

Entertain? knn do biz issit....army leh!!!

btw, most of these car entitled people are ranks above LT-Col because my friend Lt-Col not entitled to car even.

if bigger shots than Lt-Col, imagine driving a QQ or Cherry not nice,,,,
driving a Japanese car, ok only,,,
since high ranking, must entertain sometimes, must be something can see, and big size so audi is a good choice,,,

but most of the time, these BIG SHOT have got chauffers one leh,,, park until like that, must be self driven to go for quickie la

I am actually surprised that despire serving NS, singaporeans have no clue what is going on in the SAF. You are absolutely right on all counts.

Many years ago, one joker complained that a Sr Warrant Officer was driving his MID car home to a HDB car park. Mindef clarified that his appointment required him to have a MID car assigned. Of course it was not Merc or Audi.

SOC chaps are given car allowance to buy cars of their own with private plates.

MID cars are an entitlement and is awarded depending on the appointment you hold; not rank. So even a major can have an entitlement to a transport.

They are given two choices.. have a driver pick them up or they drive. The number on the MID cars are actually tied to the position so guards at the gate knows who is arriving.

Officers do not pay MINDEF for their trip home or vice verse. That's utter rubbish. Audi is also not the lowest bidder. Another rubbish.

Bottom line. The answer is Yes, MINDEF officers are using MID cars for their personal use and paid by taxpayers but these are an entitlement for the post they held. So no matter how you cry out loud, it would be useless.

Maybe you want to ask why President and Prime Minister also has taxpayer pay for their transportation.