• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi / Cabs In Singapore Fall In Here

Y

Yip Hon

but u SPG cabbies damn gian for an ang mo's 20cents and praise.

ang mo give u small praise only your ego inflate big big. por ang mor lumpar SPG!

>

http://business.asiaone.com/Business/Office/Hot+Jobs/Story/A1Story20071029-32905.html

Extract From :
Teo Cheng Wee
Sun, Oct 21, 2007The Sunday Times

With the current construction boom, operators are now earning $4,000 to $5,000 a month including overtime."I have even heard of a few who are paid up to $8,000," says Mr David Christodoulou, operations manager of construction company McConnell Dowell, referring to operators who may be doing more specialised jobs like excavation.

>

http://www.asiaone.com/Business/SME+Central/Dollars+%26+Sense/Story/A1Story20071029-32802.html

Extract
Teo Cheng Wee
Sun, Oct 21, 2007The Sunday Times

Mr David Christodoulou, operations manager of construction company McConnell Dowell, says: 'Two years ago, if you called for a crane you can be sure of getting it the next day. These days, you may have to wait for a day or two.'

ANG MO Promoted to Project Director

http://www.advancelink.biz/coast-sentosa-cove-the.html

For McConnell Dowell, the work involves lane widening at the Harbourfront end of the current Causeway, and the concurrent construction of the parallel new bridge from Sentosa. (See diagram 1)..
McConnell Dowell’s Project Director, Mr David Christodoulou said: “The marrying of the structures into one cohesive roadway – is the precise reason why this project is so exciting.”

Why Singapore Is Not The Friendliest Expat Country
Singapores best and most read expat blog and guide!! Fresh information! ... MR DAVID CHRISTODOULOU: Having arrived in Singapore 15 years ago, I have grown ...

>

The Morale of the stori is You Carry My Balls and

I carry your Balls . In english is call you sketch my

back and i sketch your back , both cabby and any moh

and all jokers all win win lah ...

Y

Yip Hon

>

http://lifestyle.omy.sg/News/News+Spotlight/Story/OMYStory201010200415-194100.html

pic of ang mo :

借钱给德士乘客 司机当选“行善达人”

赫里斯托祖(左)感激苏世宝的帮忙,特地带了礼物和卡片到场祝贺获颁“行善达人”奖的苏世宝。
遇上忘了带钱包的乘客,一般德士司机只能自认倒霉,但康福德士司机苏世宝(55岁)不但没有责怪乘客,还借了对方100元。

苏世宝的这份善心让他在昨天的2010年全国礼貌交通金奖颁奖礼上获颁主办单位首次颁发的“行善达人”(Kindness Champion)奖项。

苏世宝当了17年的德士司机,去年2月,他接载赫里斯托祖(39岁,业务经理)的途中,从对方讲电话的内容中得知对方要请失散多年后重聚的同学吃饭。但德士来到目的地时,赫里斯托祖才惊觉自己把钱包留在家里。没钱付车资,赫里斯托祖以为自己这回遭殃了,不料却得到苏世宝慷慨解囊。

苏世宝说:“我知道这个乘客是真的忘了带钱包。既然我有130元,我便借他100元,让他和朋友好好吃一顿。”

得到苏世宝帮助的赫里斯托祖(David Christodoulou,39岁,业务经理)昨天特地带着礼物和卡片,到场祝贺他。

在我国住了17年的赫里斯托祖说,他在新加坡遇到的德士司机都很友善,但苏世宝的举动特别让他感动,因此他在隔天除了依约把100元和车资还给苏世宝,也送上女儿亲手画的卡片向他道谢,并投函《海峡时报》言论版表扬他。

全国礼貌交通金奖由14个公共交通业者联合举办,并获得陆路交通管理局、交通警署以及新加坡行善运动理事会(Singapore Kindness Movement)的支持。

社会发展、青年及体育部兼交通部高级政务次长张思乐昨天担任典礼嘉宾,颁奖给267名公共交通服务员。这是历来得奖人数最多的一次,主办单位认为,越来越多公共交通服务人员获颁交通金奖是因为他们已经开始重视服务的素质。这项活动主办11年来,连同今年得奖者,已有1994名公交服务员服务态度杰出而获得表扬。

第三次得奖的庄美(53岁)认为,其实很多服务人员都想提供更好的服务,但却不好意思主动和人打招呼。他说,只要敢于尝试,就会习惯成自然。

更多报道,请翻阅20.10.2010《联合早报》。

Y

Yip Hon

>

ang mo blog online in feb 2009 to start the balls rolling ,

he , the ang mo , is the biggest balls carrier , he is A FAST

LEARNER ...

http://www.angryangmo.com/2009/02/26/singapore-friendliest-expat-country/

>

Why Singapore Is Not The Friendliest Expat CountryFebruary 26th, 2009 - In AngryAngMo Blog, Singapore Work Because Canada, Germany and Australia

9 Comments for this post

Heinrich Von Burp =)
Feb 26, 2009 at 9:52 pm

SIN isn’t friendly long term for europeans, it is stifling and the locals are extremely parochial.

I am not saying that SIN is not unfriendly, but it is not particularly warm or friendly either. In my opinion the socio-economic condition of this state simply does not make it conducive for a friendly culture, they needed smile campaigns to smile for god’s sake!! Ha ha!

This is why we (foreigners) only mingle with each other at galleries and schools, if you seriously ask yourself who you (if you are german) mix around with most of the time =) you’ll find this to be true. Or if you open your eyes at the enclaves of people and look at their background, you would agree as well.

Also, and no Europeans below 23 stay here long term for the long haul. I don’t think it is at all surprising why SIN isn’t on that list.

Tchus.

P.S Good blog, but i am surprised nothing negative is on it yet. :wink:

sylvia
Feb 26, 2009 at 11:52 pm

Well I can’t find the actual list in the Forbes post, but having lived in England, Holland, Australia, Italy, China, South Africa and Japan I can say that Singapore is definitely a very expat friendly country. Australia is good too but you really have to socialize with local australians and that takes much longer than socializing with other expats that need new friends just as much as you do. I wouldn’t want to go to Germany simply because it’s too close to my home country (Holland) and haven’t lived there, but must say I’m surprised it’s at the second spot!

Jim
Feb 27, 2009 at 2:48 pm

http://www.straitstimes.com/ST+Forum/Story/STIStory_343502.html

MR DAVID CHRISTODOULOU: ‘Having arrived in Singapore 15 years ago, I have grown to love the place. The food is fantastic and the taxi drivers are the best in the world. This was reinforced on Tuesday night when I jumped into a Comfort Cab from Siglap to head into town, and destined to meet a long-lost school buddy. In my haste, I left my wallet at home. Instead of reacting angrily because I could not pay for the fare, the cabby, Mr Soh, brushed it off and offered me $100 for my night out. Needless to say, I was astounded and could not thank him enough. His kindness is something that will remain as one of my fondest memories of Singapore. Thank you, Mr Soh, your deed will be remembered as a lesson in kindness by me and my family
.’

WHAT ELSE DO YOU STILL WANT? KOWTOW TO EXPATS?

Sandeep
Mar 4, 2009 at 6:02 pm

Keep up the good work of sharing information about Singapore!

I have been to many cities in the world. I do like Singapore and it does provide good friendly culture as well as facilities for Expats or tourists. But about the survey, survey’s can be very tough to judge on, as every individual looks at it on its own angle.It also depends a lot on how much we have interacted in the particular city, with people, institutions etc to judge about it!

I always enjoy the survey’s though!

cheers
Sandeep

admin
Mar 6, 2009 at 2:59 pm

Sandeep, yes, the question is whom they asked about this topic and how they decided on these people… the result in the end is a very questionable one.

admin
Mar 6, 2009 at 3:02 pm

Jim, thats a great story! I hope the guys from the Forbes magazine read it too and maybe do some changes to their list… Singapore would definitely deserve it!

catastrophe
Mar 25, 2009 at 4:58 pm

hah… I’m a bit late on the uptake but..

I’m a Singaporean living in Germany. I nearly choked on my breakfast when my partner pointed the survey out to me – I’m not sure about the average Asian expat’s pov but I don’t think I’ve ever encountered such racism as I have here in Germany. And this is northern DE I’m talking about.

They see yellow skin, they immediately think I’m a student from a poor, impoverished country. Or they think I’m a street worker. I could go on, but let’s not.

When I tell of my experiences to the locals, they come pretty close to saying that I’m a liar/that I’m imagining all of it. I think just one German guy believes me – only because his partner is not from Europe.

I can see why Singapore can be a bit difficult for some people though (hell, it can be difficult for me). I can’t quite put my finger on it. But the people hide whatever negative feelings they have about expats very well, I think.

Hope I’ve not offended you, AngryAngMo. Great post!

admin
Mar 25, 2009 at 5:13 pm

Hey There Chris (sounds much nicer then catastrophe to me :smile:

No worries, you totally didnt offen me and I more then understand what you write.

If you have time, you like writing and you want to publish your thoughts and experiences about your Time in Germany, you are really more then welcome toe Guest Blog for me!!

It would be great to get a point of view that is exactly the opposite of mine (German Blogger In Sin – Sin Blogger in Germany)… Let me know ya and just mail me at [email protected] !

sara
Mar 31, 2010 at 4:46 am

I live in Ecuador and it is a wonderful country. Its people are so nice and kind, they will give you the most warming welcome. I have put together a helpful fact sheet, and also an article on Ecuadorian manner and customs.

Leave a Comment

>

Y

Yip Hon

>

BROS is loaning a S$100 to a millionaire

a act of kindness ??? Especially when this

millionaire is on the way to meet another

possibilty millionaire friend for a millionaire

weekly enjoy ???? tell me where is

the act of kindness ????

Quote .... Thank you, Mr Soh, your deed will be remembered as a lesson

in kindness by me and my family
.’ .... unquote .... :(

LonewolfAlfa

he is hoping the angmo will fall for him and take him back to america where they will live happily forever after. sad to say, as with all SPGs, they get used and dumped.

Y

Yip Hon

>

http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20101020-243190.html

>

Transport's hearts of gold save the day

267 service stars from the public-transport sector, honoured for their quality service. -myp

Wed, Oct 20, 2010

my paper

INSTEAD of getting mad at his passenger for leaving his wallet at home, Comfort taxi driver Eddie Soh, 55, gave a distraught Mr David Christodoulou a free ride, as well as $100 in cash to help him get by that day.

And CityCab taxi driver Gilbert Wong, 52, who suffers from a severe limp - an after-effect of childhood polio - did not hesitate to help a mother with three kids in tow. He helped to load and unload her heavy grocery bags, which had been placed in the taxi boot.

He said: "I help people because I want to, not to gain recognition." The two taxi drivers are among 267 service stars from the public-transport sector, a record number this year. They were honoured for their quality service at the National Courtesy Award - Transport Gold 2010 event, held at the Singapore Conference Hall yesterday morning.

The event is jointly organised by 14 public-transport companies which include Comfort Transportation and SBS Transit. The event and awards are supported by the Land Transport Authority, the Traffic Police and the Singapore Kindness Movement.

Mr Teo Ser Luck, Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Community Development, Youth and Sports and Transport, was the guest of honour at the event. He said that the travel demand on Singapore's land-transport system is set to increase from the current 11 million to over 14 million daily journeys by 2020.

He added that there is a need to "upgrade" the soft skills - such as graciousness and courtesy - of those working in the transport system.

He said: "Our commuters are increasingly seeking a higher level of quality customer service at every stage of their journey."

Mr Soh was also awarded the top accolade - Kindness Champion, a new category this year that saw two others receive the award.

Comfort cabby
Eddie Soh

Mr Christodoulou, 39, an operations manager with a construction company, told my paper: "I was amazed by Mr Soh's generosity. My two daughters even made him a card as a show of appreciation."

He got in touch with Mr Soh the next day to return him the $100 and pay the cab fare. Mr Soh refused any monetary tokens, such as a tip.

The awards, currently in their 11th year, have recognised over 1,727 publictransport service stars since 1999. Last year, 227 people from the public-transport sector were awarded for their kindness. Mr Wong also returned eight mobile phones left behind in his taxi in a year, one of which was worth over $1,000.

He said: "This is what I practise in my life - what you want others to do unto you, you do unto others first."

>

Y

Yip Hon

MR DAVID CHRISTODOULOU: ‘Having arrived in Singapore 15 years ago, I have grown to love the place. The food is fantastic and the taxi drivers are the best in the world. This was reinforced on Tuesday night when I jumped into a Comfort Cab from Siglap to head into town, and destined to meet a long-lost school buddy. In my haste, I left my wallet at home. Instead of reacting angrily because I could not pay for the fare, the cabby, Mr Soh, brushed it off and offered me $100 for my night out. Needless to say, I was astounded and could not thank him enough. His kindness is something that will remain as one of my fondest memories of Singapore. Thank you, Mr Soh, your deed will be remembered as a lesson in kindness by me and my family.’

This whole story sound like another :

http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?t=77359

Bear-like creature spotted along Ulu Pandan

>

Bear-like creature spotted along Ulu Pandan By Vimita Mohandas | Posted: 12 October 2010 2117 hrs

SINGAPORE:

A bear-like creature was spotted along Ulu Pandan on Monday morning.

The strange scene was caught on an amateur video using a hand phone.

Eyewitness Wilson Tay, a civil engineer, was driving home with his son when he spotted "something strange".

He said his son took the video when the creature was spotted near a dustbin.

By Mr Tay's estimation, the bear was about the height of an average adult human being.

It's as yet unclear whether the creature is for real.

In a media release, Wildlife Reserves Singapore said no bears had been missing from its parks.

Wildlife Reserve Singapore manages the Singapore Zoo, Night Safari, Jurong Bird Park and the upcoming River Safari.

It added it was unable to verify yet, if the creature was a real bear.

-CNA/wk

Y

Yip Hon

>

unlike the ulu pandan bear story and advertisement

by Philip shavers which are now under police investigations ...

these 2 jokers walk away with prizes ... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Y

Yip Hon

>

Quote :

MR DAVID CHRISTODOULOU: ‘Having arrived in Singapore 15 years ago, I have grown to love the place. The food is fantastic and the taxi drivers are the best in the world. This was reinforced on Tuesday night when I jumped into a Comfort Cab from Siglap to head into town, and destined to meet a long-lost school buddy. In my haste, I left my wallet at home. Instead of reacting angrily because I could not pay for the fare, the cabby, Mr Soh, brushed it off and offered me $100 for my night out. Needless to say, I was astounded and could not thank him enough. His kindness is something that will remain as one of my fondest memories of Singapore. Thank you, Mr Soh, your deed will be remembered as a lesson in kindness by me and my family.’

>

Dear Mr David Christodoulou ,

1. i am just surprised by your actions / reactions
to Cabby Eddie Soh offer of S$100/- to you
which you accepted and repaid :

a ) cabbies do not earn much . most cabbies earned
S$50 to S$120 net per day after driving
for more than 12 hours

b) you could have chose one of the following
alternative solutions before just
taking the S$100/- from Cabby Eddie Soh :

1 . you should have at least try to borrow
S$100/- from your long lost uni classmate
, and or other drinking buddies if any ,
before taking the S$100/- , upon arrival
at your Pub.

2. or you could have asked your wife and
or your maid to bring your wallet to
town for you so that you will have money
for the night and have proper ID on you
for the night. Therefore no need to take
cabby soh's S$100/- .

2) I can just go on and on ... there are too
many stories of Passengers running away
without paying their fares . Some paid
partially and threatened . Most cabbies
to avoid further time wasted and lost ,
do Not pursue these fare cheats.

3) the last thing cabbie want to happen to them
next is to encourage them to loan
money to passengers .

4) in your case i still feel that you should
Not have taken the S$100/- from
cabby eddie soh ...

5) with your status and resources you could
easily have raised more the S$100/- and more
for the night of drinking if you had try ...
But did you try ??? :(:(:(

-------------------------------- i rest my case ------------------------

My experience with cabbies is that they're mostly nice people. The trouble is with their driving habits. Whenever there're pedestrians standing along the pavement, cabbies suddenly slow down or swerve lanes. The refusal to pick up passengers due to changing shifts can't be blamed on them too. The refusal to pick up passengers close to midnight or nearby outside CBD can't be blamed on them too. It's the system and it's human nature. How to account to the takeover cabbie when cheating into his time by handing over late? Why not rest for half an hour or so when the fare later is 50% more? Why pick up a passenger nearby outside CBD when there's extra surcharge to be collected just a few metres ahead?

Agree that they're mostly nice people and many develop bad driving habits due to their desire to pick up passengers.
The refusal to pick up passengers due to changing shifts is a valid reason, but some badhats have used this as an excuse to choose their passengers and destinations.

I disagree that they can't be blamed for not picking up passengers due to midnight surcharge and outside CBD.
My understanding is that the surcharge starts from midnight, even when the passenger was picked up before midnight and is inside the cab when the clock strikes 12. That means the cabbie still gets a portion of surcharge. I have encountered cabbies who picked me up at 2am and grumbled that they have been circling for 2 hours. Wonder if they had refused a passenger at 11.45pm?

No passenger will wait for a cab a few metres outside CBD, a few hundred metres maybe.
But in my view, both the midnight and CBD surcharges are more about professionalism than anything else. It's because many cabbies reject passengers before 12 midnight and outside CBD, that they have developed a reputation for being greedy and money grabbing, instead of being professionals providing an essential service to customers in need.

JW5, your points are also valid. Taken in literal sense, I must have sounded overdramatising by saying "a few metres ahead." Taken in context of a cab cruising at average of 60 to 70 k.m.h., a few hundred metres is a breeze for the cabbie compared to walking a few metres. However, I do understand the fustration of passengers who happen to be within that radius and had to walk a few hundred metres for a cab.

As for midnight charge, some cabbies don't mind it pro rata if they're still cruising for fares anyway. However, the trouble is most cabbies choosing to rest before that hour.

hotbot

you guys finally come to your senses, i totally agree that most taxi uncles are good people. One more thing, talk, learn and seek advice from them, surely can learn a lot of things from their experience.:rolleyes:

Just be careful of a fat cabbie who likes to scare people with ISD stories. Take it with a pinch of salt and a good dose of Panadol. :biggrin:

KNNBCCB

KRAFTY aka HOTBOT NEW RELEASE...

92327.jpg

hotbot

bro ah!!! it's true that this ISD shit happen to me huh...:(
btw, i am doing biz dev in the ang mo co., only drive when i am free cos the hirer is my neighbour...:o

`QUOTE=Ramseth;591335]Just be careful of a fat cabbie who likes to scare people with ISD stories. Take it with a pinch of salt and a good dose of Panadol. :biggrin:[/QUOTE]

Dr Tan

>

... i recall some years back where our PM said that

Singapore is a small place compared with USA ...

in USA for eg if you failed in your business , etc , in New York

you can pack up and move to California ...

You dont have the luxury of doing that in Singapore.

You screw up in Tampines you un likely to do well in Jurong .

Leave the past behind ; all the best for your new job .

Do drive a taxi whenever you can . Billionaire , Peter Lim has

drove one . Millionaire Robin Loh was one . Not that you would

be a multi millionaire driving a taxi . You learn somehow that

in a special way that you are bless . I know of not one

but a quite a few taxi uncles whose children went on to

be doctors , lawyers and engineers . Most are still staying around

their old childhood HDB estates such as Toa Payoh , Geylang ,

Kreta Ayer , Redhill area .